15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

Splunk Enterprise Reviews

About Splunk Enterprise

Search, analyze, and visualize data from your entire data ecosystem. Monitor, alert, and report on your operations to drive resilience.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Pros:

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons:

So, first time user it can be difficult to use it.

Splunk Enterprise ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Splunk Enterprise has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 227 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Splunk Enterprise before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (227)

Subham
Subham
Incident responder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best SIEM in the market

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been awsome so far. I would rate it 8.5/10.Splunk has been as effective soluntion when it comes to triaging and monitoring of day to alerts.

Pros:

- Easy to triage and monitor alert (Very fast and gives effective results as compared to other produts)Arcsight,Devo etc- Customer Support is excellent- Threat Hunting can be done effectively with the help of Splunk(IOC based,Corellation based etc)- Log parising is very effective & intelligent.

Cons:

- The only think i liked least about splunk is the cost involved/pricing model in case of high data volumes.

Davis
Principal Security Researcher in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The most expensive tool, requiring highly-skilled employees, capable of limitless value

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Splunk's SPL is a flexible, straight forward query-language with aspects of SQL, R, Python, and Bash. The fact that an analyst can learn to be an engineer through using the platform provides ease of growth. It is unmatched in its automation to make data actionable, while providing reporting and visualization capabilities.

Pros:

Splunk is provides a single tool for log aggregation, log analysis, and visualizations. Threat hunting, applying threat intelligence, and incident response are easily repeatable; pushing organizations to proactive security processes.

Cons:

Splunk is expensive, especially when an organizations is exploring and building new security or data use cases. It also requires a lot of engineering maintenance, making the quality of the data highly-dependent on the skill(s) of those supporting it. Many organizations do not maximize its benefit because it is poorly managed or supported by low-skilled employees.

Alvaro
Software Developer in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Platform that generates very good reports and data extraction

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Produces analytical information with highly interactive tables, charts and graphics. Highly customizable to obtain specific data.

Cons:

It can be complex at first to customize search queries since Slpunk handles its own terms and typing methods.

Patrick
IT Application SR Dev in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spunk Review

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons:

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

DEEPAK
software developer in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

splunk review

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

great monitoring tool. We have been using it for monitoring puposes, creating visualizations and dashboards which helps us to keep track of how our service is behaving. easy UI and excellent search analysis

Cons:

UI can be a bit more intuitive and dashboards support can be made btr and easy

Kerry
Operations Coordinator in Türkiye
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The only tool you need to manage production data

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: I'm very pleased with the data management capabilities Splunk Enterprise has given us. Before we implemented it, we were really struggling to make sense of some of the big data we get from our machines, but now, we can get very detailed insights into hw the machines are performing at any time. It's helped us monitor performance, issues, and opportunities much easier.

Pros:

I love how detailed you can have the dasboards and charts go. It supports tons of chart types, and custom reporting elements. But above all, with the automaetd monitoring, you can have access to continuous insights from large data you wouldn't have been able to make sense of otherwise.

Cons:

It's quite difficult to set up in the beginning. It took us a lot longer than expected to map our production data onto the system. But once you have it up and running, it works like clockwork

Ajay
Lead it engineer in India
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best log monitoring tool

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Powerful search language Advanced visualisation Flexibility to accept logs from any source High availability Ease of administration

Cons:

The cost is too high compared to other log monitoring tools.

Jason
Head of Security Assurance in UK
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A valuable SIEM tool that aids Cyber defences

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall a rather good experience based on the Customer Service we receive and the extent to which they make our use of the tool a good experience

Pros:

The saying "you only get out what you put in" is rather apt when utilising Splunk as a SIEM tool - i.e. the more logs / data you can feed into the solution the better the results. Ingesting multiple log files from numerous systems / applications is essential when reviewing security incidents and ensures everything is in one place.

Cons:

For all that is good with Splunk, the costs are rather high and could force Customers to other solutions unless they make themselves more competitive in the pricing market

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Splunk, a must try for all data management persons

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

1. Excellent ML background 2. Dashboard looks classy 3. Multiple external entries possible unlike a lot other tools

Cons:

1. Very limited variations in reporting 2. Real-time model is not great 3. Not mobile friendly

Michael
Network and Security in France
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splumk review

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Ease of use, really convenient, specially for logs reporting and search with the indexer

Cons:

Can be tricky to use sometimes without the proper training

THOMAS
Management Reporting and Business Analyst in Zambia
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk an Enterprise Business intelligent user tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Is a robust and intelligent management tool that enables everyone with user computer knowledge to navigate in real-time, consolidate vast data into a visualized report of dashboard features , reliable and web based, no major equipment required for setup, user need a smartphone or compute to access the platform through the web, you can navigate the system as long as you have computer knowledge without any training required(user friendly) .

Pros:

It an intelligent business tool that provided me an opportunity to customize and build report from large volume of data from different departments within the 13 Africa countries in telecommunication sectors. The platform allows data to be consolidated accordingly to the organization need and produces visualized reports of dashboard features. I also noted that the system can analyst unstructured large volume of data speedily and is reliable and web based allowing for user flexible accessible from any part of the world if you have internet. The systems have been reliable and secured from the time (2 years) I started using it without any system intermittent, system errors and cyber-attack.

Cons:

The system is built and use-able with structured and unstructured organization though the price in foreign currency could hamper small and medium organization to use it especially in most Africa country where the local currency has depreciated against the major trading foreign currency.so the Forex pricing is a challenge. The navigation of the platform will require minor training though if the user is computer proficient, they would management with minor challenge and interpretation of the data. So, first time user it can be difficult to use it It will depend on internet for access and internet tend to be pricey in most African country and therefore could increase the business cost for small and medium enterprise. It can increase business cost if not fully used

Amit
Solution Architect in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best tool for Distributed logs data analysis

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as well as server logs and analyze data for their usage. We created several reports/charts for visualization. We use splunk as security logs tool to see the firewall traffic, tracing any vulnerable access, any database related crash ..etc.
It helps easily to find issue and fixed quickly by black listed in system.

Pros:

Splunk Enterprise is best tool to analyze the data based on different visualization. It help us to lookup distributed logs for micro-services . It enables field based lookup. For complex logging, we can use search query using expression. We can create multiple reports/charts for visualization such as a pie or bar chart for our data. Best feature what i like , We can visualize our search results and share them with others using dashboard panels. If Already have a dashboard, we can add a new panel from a report, clone from another dashboard, or add a prebuilt panel. Fully customization available. Interfaces is very flexible. We export it in different formats, or refresh it to visualize the newest data. Online Support is available through different community.

Cons:

Search query builder is fully based on technical. for Non technical users, its really difficult to lookup logs. Sometimes, error thrown by query builder is more difficult to understand. Deep Learning is required to use splunk for production data. For Large application installation, it need to manage more.

vikram
vikram
Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk for Log Monitoring

5.0 last year

Comments: Splunk is best data monitoring and visualization tool. We can set alert for log and monitor log . It provides different modes for searching Fast, Smart and verbose. By using Splunk we are getting all system log in one place .Splunk has capability to handle large and big size data. It has best GUI , one can easily adopt and do customization and based on requirments.

Pros:

We are using Splunk for log monitoring . It is integrated with Kubernetes and pivot cloud via data bus. By Splunk we get Realtime log application. It provides best visualization of data generated by system. Splunk also provide option to filter data based on data range and time. We can configure email alert for specific issue. Splunk also provide ML model for data. Splunk use simple query to get data ,everyone can easily learn Splunk query.

Cons:

I haven't found any issue yet the only problem with Splunk I have that log in Splunk is scattered . We need to build good query or better logging mechanism at application side.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great platform for data analysis and visualization

5.0 last year

Comments: Splunk Enterprise is a great data analysis and visualization platform to show real time status with live dashboards.

Pros:

Security Information and Event management, log analytics, custom dashboards and workspaces

Cons:

Auto upgrade management and notifications for Add-ons. Leaning more towards config file based implementation instead of UI based implementation

Chetan
Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk the best analytic tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It gives best Return on Investment as analyzing the data and giving proper insights in form of Dashboards and notifying with help of Alerts if any kind of threat running in infrastructure and apart from that Deployment and use is very easy.

Pros:

There are lot of features which Splunk offers - 1) We can onboard data from any server, device or system using Universal Forwarder 2) Onboarded data are later stored in Indexers and searched further in Search Head for analyzing the internal logs 3) Using the data we can create customizable Dashboards and get proper insights of data and create Alerts to identify any kind of Threat or anomalies running in environment 4) Deployment is very easy on-prem servers 5) We can also use Hybrid Deployment on Cloud as well.

Cons:

1) As it give large amount of features but licensing is too high 2) There are lot of other Open Source software which can be used as alternative of Splunk as Analytic tool because Splunk is paid one.

Mohammed
CISO in Bahrain
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best SIEM

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great SIEM that beats the competition, we utilized it for various functions

Pros:

Splunk appsStrength and capabilitiesIntegration with most solutions

Cons:

Resource utilizationLimited local partner support

Or
Sr. Software Eng in Israel
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk helps us to walk in the darkness, for sure in the Prod arena

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are in Autodesk, use it much, as part of the monitoring tool. We like it and would like it to be improved and even more useful

Pros:

Dashboards feature is amazing, I use it much. Alerts and queries are easy to set up. Mostly it works fast so it's kind of Dev friendly so it's easy to onboard the new guys

Cons:

Alerts should have a better way to manage it. There should be a way to promote alerts to different environments - so we will be able to set the Dev/Stg/Prod Sometimes some things that we want to do take a while searching on the internet for a solution - they might think how to do it better - maybe some examples or better documentation

Mark
Network Admin in Canada
Mining & Metals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for log analysis

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Pros:

We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Cons:

I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

neha
Software Engineer in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great log analysis software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated. Gives very powerful insights into the logs Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons:

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Rob
CEO in Canada
Computer Networking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros:

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons:

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helps you predict IT problems

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Splunk Enterprise's real-time monitoring keeps us ahead of potential problems. A must-have tool!

Pros:

Splunk Enterprise is a great tool for security analytics, IT operations, and business intelligence. I especially like the way it can help me identify potential threats and improve our IT infrastructure.

Cons:

The pricing for Splunk Enterprise may be out of reach for some small businesses.

Samuel
Software in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerhouse in data management and analysis

5.0 last year

Comments: A complex but rewarding journey of data exploration and anomaly detection.

Pros:

Powerful and versatile data mining tool with excellent integration capabilities.

Cons:

Challenging initial setup and learning curve, particularly with query language and high cost.

André
André
System Administrator in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very reliable and powerful resource

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros:

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons:

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Pros:

Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Cons:

Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

Lina
Senior Software Developer in Latvia
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Master of multiple event log data collection with excellent intrusion detection capability

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Flexible product with extensive data collection capability for complete visibility to ensure effective threat investigation.

Pros:

Advanced security analytics to quickly detect malicious threats within our networks and devices with rapid response and effective alert prioritization to accelerate investigation.

Cons:

Great integration to collect multiple data easily and in built-threat intelligence that helps to accelerate our investigations. Full of incredible features, there is nothing to dislike.