15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

New Zealand Local product

ProWorkflow Reviews

4.5 (251) Write a Review! New Zealand Local product

About ProWorkflow

ProWorkflow is industry leading project, task, and workflow project management software for teams looking to optimize workflows.

Learn more about ProWorkflow

Pros:

It's very intuitive and easy to use. I love the upgrade they released a while back that allows you to drag/drop the tasks in order.

Cons:

When invoices transfer to xero they keep the hourly rate - so I can't activate auto invoice reminder in xero otherwise i have to remove that rate off each task (no time for that).

ProWorkflow ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

ProWorkflow has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 251 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ProWorkflow before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (251)

Jessica Rose
Jessica Rose
Managing Director in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bring on tick Friday - Love ProWorkFlow

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our team are able to collaborate more. We have a greater transparency with clients & are overall much productive.

Pros:

Our team are able to collaborate & we are able to manage both projects (development/design) as well as monthly recurring tasks (agency social media posting/community management). ProWorkflow weekly workload app is a life saver & the team proactively have a "tick Friday" were we go home early if all boards are cleared and completed. Our business is able to see where the profitability lies within our services & where we can make improvements. Highly recommend this tool due to its ease of use & flexibility.

Cons:

For recurring tasks / monthly repetitive services of an agency you cannot just duplicate a current "project" and rename it. This would be an awesome time saving feature to have.

Hayley
Project Coordinator in US
Graphic Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

QA Graphics-Pro Work Flow Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall Pro Work Flow has been a great experience. Their online chat and help service always helps when I'm stuck trying to update something or do something specific in a report. My customers have found it very easy to use as well which is a huge plus for me as we deal with hundreds of clients a month and multiple clients per project. The ability for me to be the administrator and to see everything for messaging, time reporting, time auditing, etc has also been a great tool for our business as well for my team.

Pros:

I like the ease of functionality on this software. I love being able to toggle between my work and my users and the ability to categorize projects, tasks, etc. The archive function is amazing and very easy to use. The ability to communicate between customers and my staff with the software is very smooth as well. Also, the ability of my customers to respond directly in their email inbox was a game changer. In the world where everyone has a million sites and passwords to remember, they don't necessarily have to remember this one in order to do business with us. My [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and I also really like the reporting that is available for staff time reporting, monthly project updates, etc.

Cons:

I feel like the app could use work. Honestly I don't use it and my clients tend not to use it as well. It's a bit hard to navigate to specific projects and the view is a lot different than the website so it's hard to communicate with them where they need to go.

Joe
Director in Australia
Environmental Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

No good for fixed fee projects

2.0 last month New

Comments: We gradually built a series of Excel project management tools to fill the gaps in this software's offering, covering things like weekly staff planning, project performance assessments, and calculating the value of work in progress. ProWorkflow didn't seem particularly interested in our difficulties. They are time-and-expense focussed only. They didn't inquire why we left them after many years.

Pros:

It's pretty good for timesheets, and the price is good.

Cons:

If your projects mostly have fixed fees and payments linked to milestones, don't pick this software. It's geared for time and expense payments only.

Kendra
CEO in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I've tried everything else... ProWorkflow is the cream of the crop

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been a customer for many years. I feel like a value to the company with the communication I get from you guys and support. I love how you take feedback and actually make your product better based on our suggestions. It makes me feel like I'm a part of building this great software.

Pros:

The customization is unmatched. You can really make this exactly what you need it to be. I have a very creative and visual brain but need to stay organized. This allows me to create what works best for my brain and has changed the game for onboarding clients, running projects and much more. I now come across like a type-a CEO.

Cons:

I wish there was more automation. That would be really great. I had tried out dubsado for this, but it is a really crap product in comparison. It automates and love the templates they had, but when it came to project management, there's no comparison.

Sarah
Creative Director in New Zealand
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ProWorkflow is the best task management tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use Easy to customise Easy to track time and projects Connects seamlessly with xero I love it, I tested many demos, it has an attractive interface, accuracy, great support - this task management system gets a 9.8/10 from me :)

Cons:

Sadly there is no pause button on the timer When invoices transfer to xero they keep the hourly rate - so I can't activate auto invoice reminder in xero otherwise i have to remove that rate off each task (no time for that) Large scale project management and team communication tools could have improvements made

Leah
Art Director, Designer in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Out of the Box Solution for Creatives

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Favorite things: Job numbers, Messaging, Custom task templates, expense and notes feature. Private notes feature.

Pros:

I've been using ProWorkflow for over a decade. The time tracking, custom task templates, messaging and client interface make it a critical part of my business. The few times I have had to contact customer service they have been responsive and exceptionally helpful. ProWorkflow is the administrative backbone of my business. At a glance I can see where a project is, how much time has been spent on it, what tasks have been completed and which ones are outstanding. I can add documents, notes and information specific to each project. When a project completes, it is archived and very easy to pull up should I ever need to reference it again. If you are looking to for a way to EASILY manage your projects and workflow - this is the software for you.

Cons:

I dislike the fact that contractors cannot track time in the software. So if I have 10 contractors I use, I have to buy full account access for each of them, even though they may only use the software 2-6 times a year. This has always been my biggest complaint. Add time tracking to the contractor designation and charge 1/2 of the employee rate.

Michael
Principal in US
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Keeps Management Simple

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Proworkflow has allowed me to grow my business to where I am now. Scheduling was predictable and I always had flexibity to shift my schedule around on the fly without a lot of pain. The work flow from quote to projects to invoicing has been seemless.

Pros:

Proworkflow requires minimal effort to stay on top of your business. I think the importance of this gets overlooked too often. Setting Quotes and invoices are minutes at most, and setting projects and adding tasks can be done on the fly with little investment of your time. You can see the impact on resources scheduling before you even finish setting up your planning your tasks. I don't have enough words how valuable of a tool this has been without scrambling our brains to operate.

Cons:

If you need a more sophisticated system for proposals and invoices Proworkflow is not there. It will give you just enough flexibility to customize a quote and send your invoices to quickbooks/Xero directly from a quote or proposal. But if you need quote/proposal templates for multi page terms and conditions, and percentage invoicing or progress billing, be prepared to do these manually.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An impressive software at last

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our organization had more collaboration and transparency with clients since we opted to this software and productivity increased as projected. Thumbs up for a seamless operation.

Pros:

This software has a perfect team integration, custom field addition and also the integration of other financial softwares. Aside from the appealing interface, I love the fact that it easily connects with zero with an excellent tracking tool.

Cons:

Its almost impossible to duplicate a recurrent project,I believe such should be possible knowing fully well this is a monthly project. Another issue i have which must be considered is on the purchase of full account access on each of our contractors, its not economical if we have to purchase account access for 25 contractors who seldom use the software except when needed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Straight to the point solution

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, a great solution that cuts through the noise for you in the already-crazy world of project management with great value for money as well.

Pros:

- Great support for Agile sprints, you can tell that the Agile methodology was thought of in the product's design, offering so many tools and features that enable working on sprints and other fast-paced projects. - Nice Milestone and Kanban visualisation as well. As I said earlier, points your attention to the most important thing to note; straight to the point. - Great value for money too.

Cons:

- Not great support for all invoicing scenarios; that would be useful to integrate into some projects that perhaps require follow-on funding or fractional and/or incremental payments. - It doesn't have great support for extra-platform communication with colleagues and third parties that are outside the platform, this could be useful when interfacing with clients who may not be registered users

Tyson
Tyson
Digital Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Fantastic staff. We have a complex setup using a request for and through their team, and the team at Zapier, we've created great functionality for all types of requests. All of our designers and marketing staff use PWF to maintain over 2,500 requests to-date.

Pros:

Fantastic PM platform for teams with multiple users all looking to collaborate on projects down to the task level. Due dates are great to keep things on time. API integration into BOX is huge for us. We also take advantage of Zapier integration to allow the information import from complete online request forms automatically into the project request.

Cons:

Some features could be added to improve usability. The option to send a message or file to anyone via email address, not just registered users, and let them respond. The ability for those non-registered users to view a project for say, status, or who is assigned to it. Or the option to give outsiders the ability to view a project status in process. Also, a process for project/task reviews by non-users. For example, a triggered message with a button to approve, or reject, or provide feedback that feeds back directly into the platform. Our users would also like more customization on the "Home" screen as to which detail is displayed rather than the default info.

Scott
Consultant in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best combination of features and ease of use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is great. One of our business verticals needed a better way to intake and triage a large number of low-complexity projects that consist of the same general set of tasks. PWF's feature set with project and task templates made this very easy. Additionally, the excellent user interface made PWF a great way for users to not just manage their projects/tasks related to this business line but to also use it to manage their work from other business verticals too (i.e. more personal project management software). We got to a comfort level where we deployed the ability for some of our customers to directly send project requests through the software which further streamlined our processes and also made the customers happy that they could now have insight into project progress and interaction with the team assigned. Again though, the key was the overall user interface which made user adoption easy; something we'd struggled with using other project management software.

Pros:

The user interface is fantastic. Super clean. Easy to navigate and made overall learning curve for all users nice and short. One thing I learned after a couple of years of having deployed other work/project management software is that the software is only useful if people use it. Sounds obvious, but if something is complex and requires lots of time to learn, or the user interface isn't quite as intuitive, then the adoption rate won't be as high and the entire purpose gets defeated. PWF is so thoughtfully laid out and the features are in obvious places that basic users were able to be effective after just a few minutes of hands-on exploring. Our adoption rate was nowhere near these levels prior to deploying PWF.

Cons:

The feature set compared to some of the bigger competitors in this space was a little less robust. However, depending on what you need it may be just fine, as it was for us. There were some things that others had that PWF did not, but for us those were less critical. My one gripe is that the development of this software has gone in fits and spurts. We've been with PWF for almost 5 years now and just recently did we start to see developments/improvements be deployed at a somewhat regular cadence. Again though, we made the decision to go with PWF based on its featureset originally so the new improvements are just gravy to us.

Georgia
CEO in New Zealand
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful, Genius, Highly Tailored!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

ProWorkflow is a big secret that people don't know about. I have seen it all, and I have tried it all- You name the tool, and I've seen it. I have been continuously looking for the exact thing that would work for my situation, making me a national expert on what other tools are out there and ProWorkflow does the job! What's great is that no one else has been able to steal this- ProWorkflow is genius - I understand that the first 30 days takes learning and I was committed to being a power user and thought it was amazing that someone would call me! The CEO himself as well! His dream and vision are clear, and it takes a particular kind of person to create this. My clients love the reports and how instantaneous it is. I tell my clients about ProWorkflow and when they into the tool and see what it's all about they go "what! this is couture software but at Walmart prices!! ProWorkflow is like my car- I know it's going to be there when I need it and work when I get in the car. ProWorkflow is powerful! The folks that thought this up - are geniuses and this goes back to one thing, the customer experience, and research and this is what the CEO did. He created ProWorkflow from the experience from the customer of the customer.

ProActive Software Response

6 years ago

Thank you Georgia!

Justin
Division Manager in US
Market Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ProWorkflow has powerful features yet is still very intuitive for Project Managers and Team Members.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Introducing Project Management in a Marketing environment is very difficult. This is a group of people that don't typically like to be dictated timelines and held accountable for documenting their hours and progress on projects. ProWorkflow was the only Project Management software I found that had the robust features I needed to effectively document projects and manage resources, while providing an intuitive interface that creative team members would embrace.

Pros:

I started using ProWorkflow as a project management tool for marketing teams. They liked that it was well designed and extremely easy to use. There is so much flexibility -- such as entering Time Spent -- that users have options in finding what workflow suits them best. What I personally like most is how quick and easy it is to navigate between the different screens. Practically everything is a link, so it's very efficient moving around within, and between, projects.

Cons:

If I HAVE to identify a shortcoming with ProWorkflow, based solely on my own preferences, it would be the reporting tools. They are very robust, even including a custom report builder, but it's never been as intuitive as the rest of the software.

ProActive Software Response

7 years ago

It's great to hear that you're loving ProWorkflow Justin! Thank you for the brilliant review.

Gina
Practice manager in New Zealand
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Organising our projects in PWF

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are not using all of he features of PWF - only really using it to time-track some monthly projects and track certain types of billing. The projects help us track our work on projects and also accurately invoice our clients. I know PWF is capable of doing more, but haven't had the need to use the other features.

Pros:

We enjoy being able to load a task template each month for repeating projects. Also having multiple people able to track their time in the projects from various locations. Being able to print reports of tasks and times inside of the projects.

Cons:

It is a bit "buggy" in certain browsers - ie Can't seem to be able to create a pdf (in chrome) when wanting to print a "tasks and time" report so I just "print" it and then save as pdf that way....also, unable to open new project and use template in one of the browsers (Safari I think). There is usually a workaround though. I find the archive section a little difficult to navigate when I need to search for quite a few archived projects ie when you hit the back button it takes you out of the archive page, but perhaps I've overlooked something.

Georgina
Graphic Designer & Illustrator in Australia
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great option for sole traders with diverse businesses

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great company, great product and really nice support staff.

Pros:

It's quick and efficient to track time (can even do it from the app on my phone) and create invoices, even for low-value projects.

Cons:

Because it's so powerful and has so many features, it can be a bit overwhelming working through the parts and learning how to use it for your own needs. But customer service is second-to-none and they're always available to assist.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

One of my Favorite Project Management Software

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Once I decide to purchase this software, my business would improve efficiency for scale.

Pros:

I was excited to try Proworkflow's free trial. After trying so many different products, proworkflow suits most of my business needs. I like the features such as a user friendly dashboard *a must* (plus it feels & looks professional and can be brand personalized). Next in line is the actual functionality - Project Management includes agility timelines, timesheets, budget tracking & tasks. Has a ton of tools which are easily accessible, projects have a great layout with customizable templates for seamless workflows. I especially like the Client/Vendor Collaboration portal. I can upload files, organize and set privacy. Reports have a clean and easy to read layout and are pretty much a one click to print. Lastly, the integrations are useful - google docs, drive and quickbooks are my favorites. Overall, ProWorkFlow could be a great investment, The Solo price is $10/m w/out plugins such as Quotes Manager and Invoices Manager. The Advanced price is $30/m includes plugins such as Quotes Manager and Invoices Manager (which is reasonable).

Cons:

What makes me sad is the time it has taken me to finally discover this software. During my trial, I was not able to test drive the Quotes Manager or Invoice Manager. Otherwise, not sure exactly what the Advanced level offers that Solo doesn't. To completely setup the software without help would probably add an extra 20+ hours to my workload. I am definitely considering to make the switch to Proworkflow. A major bonus would be added features such as the ability to send project contracts and project questionnaires.

ProActive Software Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ProWorkflow Product Review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are doing a much better job of keep track of our time for each project with the use of ProWorkflow.

Pros:

We have been using ProWorkflow for 5 years. It is very easy to use. We can customize general settings, look and feel, and project settings. We are able to create our own project categories, tasks and reports. We are able to easily add additional users when needed.

Cons:

I would like to see some enhancements to the notes section and contact section. Such as being able to have categories for Notes, like we do for projects. For the contacts tab. Add a tab under Companies for Contacts and Notes. I need to see all my contacts for a company on one page not off to the side. The profile page should display key standard fields, but then I would like to add custom fields too. Such as Customer start date, key contact, account number, etc.

Heather
Graphic Designer/Photographer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Saved My Sanity

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: For a long time my company didnt want to spend any money on project management and insisted that an excel sheet tracker was "good enough". I complained and researched, finally finding PWF. It had everything we needed and more. The stuff we didnt need wouldnt be a hinderance either. I work in house so we dont need to do any billing or invoicing. After doing some time saving analysis and working through a trial period I finally convinced my company to subscribe. I easily set-up the account details and the PWF team helped us separate the accounts into our 3 divisions. Each division is able to manage their own sites and job lists as they see fit which is also a huge benefit because we all have slightly different job sets. I even labeled my division header with "Project Sanity Site".

Pros:

Easy to use, and very customizable. We can track all of our jobs and keep a record. I am able to track my time so my coworkers understand how long a project can take. (Its not really magic!) I made job templates with key information so that my clients dont forget details, each type of project as a different template!

Cons:

nothing!

Stefanie
CEO in Canada
Graphic Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great PM Tool for small to medium size companies

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been using PWF since we started the company 5 years ago and we are big fans of it. When talking to industry leaders, the tool is not known at all. Having said that our team members old and new like it. We have only recently started to work on creating reports which has given us lots of insights on how we run our business, which clients we should focus on, each team member productivity level, ect.

Pros:

It's easy to train people on how to use it. It's cost effective. The customer support has been consistently good... keep it up! :)

Cons:

The interface, UI/UX should be improved. New features should be implemented each year to grow the software over time. one thing it would be nice to have a ticket system with tech and it companies could use. Need to be more flexible when used by users, more like boot camp

Suzanne
Creative Director (aka taskmaster) in New Zealand
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proworkflow for design

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The ability to task and track and invoice are fantastic, this really has changed the way we work for the better.

Pros:

WE use PWF everyday for tasking and keeping track of hours allocated and spent on projects. We also use it for invoicing+ quoting. Its a great programme for keeping track of everything and the apps are great.

Cons:

The idiosyncratic tendancies that the apps have - the Weekly workloader for example, its difficult to see at a glance the project title as the client name is first. We have several projects with the same name. The hours allocated to a task are also not noted on this app. The ability to drag a task from one day to the next would be great too. I find that custom reports are very hard to create too...

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ProWorkflo is a good value

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Early on, PWF was ideal for our production system and really advanced our internal efficiency. But as we grew and our projects became more complex and diverse, PWF had a hard time keeping up. The templates - for what we are doing - became very unwieldy, and the dashboard feature really did not have the capacity to give us the snapshots of our many projects that we needed. I truly like PWF, but it may be that we simply outgrew it. New features to answer our concerns - storage, dashboard, snapshots especially, along with the ability to streamline templates, could easily bring us back to the fold.

Pros:

Flexibility of template creation, internal team communication.

Cons:

Will not connect with our NAS. Connection through Dropbox is awkward. Does not have nearly enough storage on its own servers for our purposes.

ESME'
Director of Finance in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Back of the house user

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The goal is ROI reporting. After entering quotes, freelance hours, employee hours, invoices, expenses, we are hoping to receive financial and burn ROI information although uncertain of PWF's abilities to pick up all aspects in a concise complete report.

Pros:

Definitely a great cost for the money. Linking capabilities among the various tabs (tasks, file attachments, calendar, quotes) is somewhat seamless. The multiple options of time keeping is a plus.

Cons:

Reporting is lacking. Various report drop options is lacking and not clear. Lacks pliability. Invoicing is also lacking with the QuickBooks external quotient not adjustable which makes it unusable. The creator hasn't had to create 50 manual invoices because the unnecessary key strokes, date input inflexibility, cursor flow inept, lack of default movement is frustrating, time consuming and leads to errors.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Photography, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Scheduling Simplified

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall Proworkflow is a great out of the box solution. There are some workarounds we need to implement to make it work for us but it's a key part of our business processes running smoothly. Definitely would recommend to others!

Pros:

This allows us to see our jobs and assigned employees at a glance. Our whole team uses it as the main tool for scheduling the work for the week, checking off tasks and keeping our customer service on point.

Cons:

Reporting isn't the best. Would like to be able to see hours scheduled per person on any given day more easily (right now I have to manually calculate it because the reporting isn't accurate). This makes doing our production schedule take MUCH longer.

Emily
Marketing Strategist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So many great features!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As an agency, we've tried a couple of products to manage our clients, projects and expenses. This is by far the best one we've come across.

Pros:

I like the functionality and how intuitive it is to use. This product is robust but not overwhelming.

Cons:

I feel like if reports could be sent in emails automatically. Or say, when a project is 75% complete, the project manager is notified by email, that would be helpful!

Fran
Sr Designer/Sr Project Manager in US
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ProWorkflow Review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our experience has been great. The customer service is always prompt and helpful. If they can't answer a question right away, they will get back to you in a timely manner.
It's helped us keep track of our projects in a much more efficient way.

Pros:

We have been using ProWorkflow for several years now and have had a great experience. It is easy for us to track where we are in a project for both time and budget wise. It's a great central location for everyone to keep notes and contact information.

Cons:

We wish it was easier to track some of the pre-project start up information. Or a way to track marketing calls to potential and old clients.