M1 Reviews

by ECi Software Solutions

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.7 /5

About M1

ERP software for job shops, custom and mixed mode manufacturers and make to order manufacturers.

Learn more about M1

Showing 25 reviews of 64

Lauren B.
Industrial Engineering Manager
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"M1 Review"

Comments: I use the software daily. Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

Pros: Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information.

Cons: There are not any modules available that we know of that can assist in training to understand the features that M1 has to offer. There are several features that we don't use. Features that we wish we knew more about are scheduling and the possibility of integrating a bar code scanning system. Our IT admin has been working on this with M1.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Sales Engineer
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2019

"M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had"

Comments: Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros: All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons: Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Grant K.
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2016

"Do not use M1"

Comments: The implementation was extremely difficult with very little support from M1. We were told 6 weeks but 14months later it was working although still many unanswered questions. Then the support for real live changes has been terrible

Pros: Excellent promises by the sales people - they never eventuate though!

Cons: Support - they are the worst

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2016
Todd M.
Director of Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018

"Lifesaver"

Comments: For us it was really the staff that made us feel at ease with out decision, from the salesperson to our implementer to the folks in support. They have really come through for us over the time we have used M1.

Pros: M1 has helped us track serial and lot numbers effectively and allowed us to streamline many processes across the company. Have used it for five years now, we rely on the data it generates to run our business in the most efficient and cost effective way possible. Our implementer took the time to learn our business and made suggestions on how the software could assist us in areas we had not even considered. We definitely choose the right software!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018
Kody F.
Director of Operations
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018

"Great Software"

Pros: We have been using this software for 10 years and I don't know how we ever survived without it.
Product Configurators really helped us streamline our estimating and planning processes.

Cons: We have tuned M1 to a point where we have very little issues. It took some time to really figure it out but we realized that the core system didn't really need a lot of the customizations that we thought it did.
I'm not good at cons...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
Pam G.
Director of Procurement/ Special Projects Manager
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/09/2017

"ERP made your way"

Comments: This is a great solution for a small or med sized business that feels they are unique or different. The intergration with 3rd party software(s) that are commonly used by businesses looking for an ERP system, The add on modules are robust but some are lacking, such as the purchasing planner. With any software, each has something special about them and for me, M1 has a special niche in the software customizations and ease of use.

Pros: This is the most customizable ERP I have ever dealt with or implemented. Love, Love this as it easily can modify to serve the challenges of about any size company, growth rate, and experience levels. This is the best feature of this software.

Cons: The main con from my exoperiences has been the support personnel and the lack of knowledge of the product and the response. With that said, let me say that it is not complelely fair as the compaqny has experienced a rapid growth and with that comes new personnel and the years of experiences are just not there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/09/2017
Marie R.
General Manager/Owner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2018

"Try M1 First!"

Pros: We replaced Global Shop with M1. We like M1 because is quick and efficient. We are working on more customized reporting and moving to the newest version - very exciting for our company!!

Cons: Getting new downloads up and running is a little difficult. Hard to coordinate M1 Support with our outside IT Consultant

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2018
Benjamin B.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"Good ERP System"

Pros: The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons: It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Pierre P.
Production & Business Systems Manager
Pharmaceuticals
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2015

"My experience with this product is positive"

Pros: All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons: Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2015
Bill R.
President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2017

"Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!"

Comments: We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Cons: Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2017
Susan S.
Administrative Lead
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/08/2009

"M1 Review"

Comments: This software continues to be extremely reliable. M1 is very innovative and always increasing the capabilities of the software by listening to the customers' wants and needs. We have been able to grow with this software and will continue to do so in the future. It was the best buy we have ever made in software.

Pros: Highly customizable to fit your needs
User friendly
Tremendous search capabilities
Great service staff
Highly reliable

Cons: Quality Module. Quality module lacks reports and some linking of data, however, we can create any report we need through Crystal Reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/08/2009
Phillip H.
General Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009

"M1 User Review - Metlink"

Comments: I am certainly happy we chose M1 for our ERP software. It has been enhanced and updated in line with our own business growth. One of the biggest pluses for me is that it helps communication throughout the business. For example, any user can add comments that are then available to all users.

Pros: All modules integrate together.
One ERP system covers all areas of the business.
Ability to customise for special needs.

Cons: On older computers it can be a bit slow. Especially if you have multiple windows open.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009
Nate G.
Special Projects
Aviation & Aerospace
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2016

"Great support, good product"

Pros: I very much so like the ability of user customization on tables and search grids.

Cons: Some things that I was lead to believe were not true about the capabilities of the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2016
Carol C.
Document Control Mgr and Senior Mechanical Design Engineer
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2015

"My experience so far with ECi M1"

Pros: Most expandable system for up and coming manufacturing companies that do mixed mode manufacturing for OEM equipment. Very complex equipment that requires many different disciplines of manufacturing.

Cons: I would like more training videos for standard usages and work flows.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2015
Rex M.
IT Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009

"M1 Very User Friendly"

Comments: I would definitely recommend this product

Pros: User Friendly, Easy to implement, easy to administer, very customizable

Cons: Weak Quality module, Poor Lot number capabilities

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009
Sean F.
IT Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009

"Bowen & Groves Review"

Comments: strongly recommended.

Pros: Very intuitive, very customizable

Cons: I can't think of any.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2009
Joe H.
IT Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2015

"M1 = good production foundation to build from"

Pros: Overall architecture is well thought out from a flexibility, customization and IT standpoint. It uses standard database (MS SQL), reporting (Crystal reports) and customization (VB) languages. You can use their resources or find your own to dive as deep as you need to but you also can do quite a bit without being an IT professional.

Cons: Support experience ranges widely from good to very slow to respond. They have made efforts to improve and you see benefits slowly but it still isn't a good consistent support experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2015
Steve B.
President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018

"Great ERP software"

Comments: I recommend this ERP software on a regular basis, it is a great value added to our company

Pros: We have been using this software for over 13 years and the fact that it is an open system allows us to implement special features that is only relevant to our business and it is very easy

Cons: The quality management in regards to the inventory was lacking when we implemented the software and I don't know if it was improved since then

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018
Marie kris S.
Process Engineer
Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018

"Effective Eci M1"

Pros: I like this software because it is very effective and efficient to my team. This is a software with complete package. The functions and features are very nice.

Cons: When I'm starting to use this software I can't experienced any negative. Very recommended to all type of organization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Mike P.
Director of Manufacturing
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2019

"Solid ERP System"

Pros: Ease of use, functionality, reporting, scheduling.

Cons: Nothing yet. We've been using V7 and are getting ready to switch to V9, looking forward to the upgrade.

Vendor Response

by ECi Software Solutions on 16/10/2019

Thank you Mike! We always appreciate the feedback. Best regards. The ECI team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2019
Kris Q.
Purchasing/Manufacturing
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2016

"M1 is GREAT!"

Pros: I love how everything is tied together. When in doubt I right click and see where that PO, Sales Order, Receipt, etc. has been used and what it is linked to.

Cons: Mostly it's a cosmetic thing. I've never been overly fond of how it's laid out but the next version should make that better and truly with time you just get used to it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2016
Grant A.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/03/2015

"M1 experience from the UK"

Pros: The product does seem to have the potential to fulfill all requirements of a small parts manufacturer.

Cons: The customer support starting at the implementation stage right through to after sales ongoing support is poor. The supplier attitude is "Wellm you bought it, so get on with it." There seem to be very few people in the organization who actually know how it works and how to correct bugs and issues. The reports package is full of flaws. We have spent a lot of money trying to improve the product ourselves.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/03/2015
Darren W.
General Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009

"Great package for the small to medium manufacturer"

Comments: Great package for the small to medium manufacturer. Would definitely recommend this to organisations wanting to upgrade to a new windows based package.

Pros: Easy to use and train
Ability to customise
Affordability
Reliability
Interaction with Windows programs ie. Outlook

Cons: Limited sales analysis
Limited financial analysis

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2009
Annette P.
Office Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2009

"M-1 Software evaluation"

Comments: Best value on market for features available.

Pros: We are still implementing, but so far, everything is working as demonstrated.

Cons: Importing of products is sort of complicated since some of the items in the product setup is in different database files. Therefore, manual entry or several imports are required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2009
Mary may L.
Transport Control Analyst
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2018

"Good Software to use"

Pros: This product is very user- friendly. It is really reliable for us in the industry. Definitely recommended.

Cons: Just waiting for the upgraded features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2018