Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT delivers complete fund accounting features so you can streamline financial processes and demonstrate accountability.

Learn more about Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Showing 154 reviews

Bill G.
Executive Director
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2021

"We didn't need a Ferrari to do the job of a Ford."

Comments: Be certain of what you need and what is a reasonable price to pay for your organization... so that you don't get locked into a long contract that becomes a drain on your fundraising efforts instead of supporting your efforts.

Pros: It probably has every feature and more than you'll ever need or want. It's especially good for very large organizations that have large budgets and lots of donors to track.

Cons: My organization is small... we don't need all of the bells and whistles that come with this software and it is way to expensive for the portions that we do use. This really was a ferrari... when a ford would have been more than capable... we opted for a better suited software for our size organization and much more budget friendly for our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2021
Ashley N.
Senior Manager, FP&A
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2021

"Overall easy to use and pull data"

Pros: Overall Financial Edge NXT is easy to use. I mostly use it to query transactions. It is easy to pull the data that I need.

Cons: Setting up queries is not intuitive. However, once you have set it up you can use the same one over and over again. I wish the output downloaded to a different version of Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2021
Dennis W.
Dennis W.
Director of Technology
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"Moving your database to the cloud?"

Pros: The actual move from our local database to the Blackbaud servers was seamless: Have everyone logout, make a backup, upload. Easy as that.

Cons: We did find that the citrix receiver is a bit slower and cumbersome to connect to the servers. In hindsight, we would likely have stayed with an on premises scenario and continued to access our local compy via Remote Desktop Connect (even though it was not supported by Blackbaud).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Robert E.
Ass Dir Acctg
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Blackbaud Financial Edge (BBFE)"

Comments: BBFE has both strengths and weaknesses, as might be expected. It is a true fund accounting software with the ability to handle thousands of funds. Being able to push data in and exporting data out are 2 features that are usually very important, and BBFE mostly does that well. BBFE allows for attaching various homegrown codes to the data at the fund, account, and transaction level. This is not a panacea but can be helpful. The software can be used in a fairly high volume a/p environment and the g/l functionality is also pretty good.

Pros: Exporting data is easy, so long as the export you are looking for is available. Importing fund codes is do-able but may require some significant preparation of the upload. BBFE allows for a seemingly unlimited amount of codes to be attached to funds, accounts, and transaction lines. This is very helpful. BBFE has some built in custom reporting facilities that can be helpful. BBFE has a detailed security model that can help with internal controls.

Cons: Reports: many of the builtin reports do not contain running totals and grand totals as well as header information page-to-page as one would like. Exports: the data exports are not true sql type, but are a simplified version, which is sometimes adequate. You might need another sql facility to adequately access the data and control the data joins. BBFE imposes credit memos and disallows negative invoices--depending on what you are doing, that could be a big problem that will need to be addressed. BBFE automatically computes and shows balance forwards and each year does not stand on its own, so for some data analysis you might have to compute balance forwards in order to avoid having to download all historical data. BBFE doesn't enforce cash balancing for JEs (if 2 funds are exchanging cash, the JE can give more cash to the recipient than was removed from the payer). BBFE doesn't seem to understand control funds (a fund that holds detail information that belongs to a pool of other funds)--this will require booking JEs that would be unnecessary in some other fund accounting software. BBFE enforces using an outside service for production of 1099s.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
George H.
Data Analyst
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"Financial Edge - the application that works with Raiser's Edge"

Comments: Overall, FE is a good application if you are already RE but do not have an existing accounting application. If your organization is small and do not have an IT team, then look at Blackbaud to host your RE and FE applications and let the professionals take care of your application hardware infrastructure.

Pros: If you are using Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge (RE) software and need another application to perform accounting functions, Financial Edge (FE) is the application that will take care of Vendor tracking, A/R, A/P, etc. Rather than using another accounting application (ie. Quickbooks), Financial Edge integrates with Raiser's Edge. When you post gifts from Raiser's Edge, it goes over to Financial Edge and updates the information. The information for batch number, Appeal, Funds, Campaign migrate over to FE from RE. The user interface, look and feel between Financial Edge and Raiser's are the same. If you know RE, then FE will be easy to catch on. If you are hosted by Blackbaud, then you will be looking for FE/NXT

Cons: While there is a lot of integration from RE to FE, this comes at a cost. The FE application is expensive compared to other financial applications. If you are hosting FE on-premise, I believe Blackbaud charges by the number of users. You also need to a server with SQL to run FE. This is not like QuickBooks which can install on a local PC. If you are hosted by Blackbaud, then you will be looking at FE/NXT and again price will your main concern.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Jeremiah P.
Sr Project Accountant
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2017

"Financial Edge User"

Comments: I have been using Financial Edge for almost four years now and the the strides they have made from my first impression to now are outstanding. When I first started my job I was thrown into the systems and provided little training and while the system (Accounts Payable, General Ledger) were easy to learn they were a little clunky looking and the features that made them powerful (attributes, global changes) were not something you would find on your own. We recently (been a little over a year) moved to the NXT version and while all the functionality is not there yet I do appreciate BlackBaud taking the time to listen to their customers while building out the functionality instead of just updating it based on the database view. While this make take more time to build out (which can be frustrating) it will hopefully allow for an even more powerful platform in the end that allows us to be a more effective and efficient team in the end.

Pros: New functionalities being rolled out that allow us to use more systems working together instead of isolated.
Community boards to allow users to make suggestions and learn from each other.

Cons: That NXT is not complete yet (but I understand why and agree with their methodology).
Customer support can be clunky at times when the first person is not able to help you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Donor & Community Engagement
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/03/2018

"FE and RE are standards for managing your data"

Comments: RaisersEdge allows my organization to keep track of tens of thousands of individual records. Without these we wouldn't be able to interact successfully and efficiently with our clients, donors and partners. Financial Edge allows us to produce accounting reports and maintain our large assets.

Pros: RaisersEdge is easy to use and store data. RaisersEdge has vast capabilities and reliability. FE makes the process of accounting and check printing very easy. Both products integrate well with other software

Cons: Even though RaisersEdge has many different tools - you may not be likely to use many of them regularly. Instead I find I reuse the same tools and end up bypassing a lot of what I could do, instead sticking to the essentials. Those extra functionalities just are not that useful to me

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/03/2018
Daniel W.
Business Administrator
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018

"Full featured software but not cheap"

Pros: Great functionality, and able to handle everything our local non-profit organization needs it to do, including integration with the donor management side, Blackbaud Raisers Edge. An example of the good integration is that gifts recorded in Raisers Edge then can be posted over to Financial Edge, to avoid duplicate entry. Good audit trail for all transactions, with inability to change posted items.

Cons: The desktop version is being phased out with customer support and account reps strongly encouraging a move to the web based version, which is in fact more user friendly (per the demos I've seen) but is also more expensive, and it already was not cheap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Victoria W.
Director of Finance
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2020

"Financial Edge is indispensible for us"

Comments: We have been able to run a very busy finance office with only 1.5 employees for several years now. We also have been able to do much more efficient and flexible reporting to business units (detail) and to board management (summary).

Pros: The NXT online service is very easy to use and very flexible to our needs for reporting. The support is good, most reps are very responsive and I love Blackbaud University.

Cons: It's really expensive. And requests for customization are hard to get through. But it's overall so easy to use that we can live with the small tweaks for now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2020
Todd V.
Dir of Operations
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Financial Edge"

Pros: FE is great for a fund accounting software. It does all the basics. A/P is simple and easy to accomplish. The fixed asset module works great. the ledger is fine. It can get more complicated than necessary due to the ledger structure

Cons: FE is too hard to get help. There is a lot online, but sometimes you just need to have someone talk you through an issue. I have had an issue once where I needed to have their IT dept. fix a corruption in their software when I was closing a fiscal year.
This software simply costs too much for maintenance and support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Jennifer G.
Accounting Technician
Government Administration, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2018

"Powerful"

Comments: I would like to see NXT have all the functionalities that the database view has. I cannot do everything I need to do in just NXT, so we have to use the database view daily.

Pros: I like most of the reporting. I also like the functionality in the database view. I really like the last invoice input view in NXT to help me keep my obligation description consistent.

Cons: NXT does not do everything I need it to and there are a lot of mouse clicks to finish a transaction, although I am seeing improvements as time goes on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2018
Dave H.
Financial Analyst
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018

"Terrific Coud-based Financial software for non-profits"

Comments: Accessibility, ease of use, and non-profit focus - that’s what brought us two years ago. I would add to that now - great support, innovation and scalability.

Pros: Easy, intuitive, clean interface. The look is modern and simple; but don’t let that fool you; the database and tools are robust and tremendously helpful.

Cons: Some modules still in transition to the new web view. But what they’ve done so far is very promising for the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Christine S.
Sr. Finance Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/04/2018

"Solid financial reporting software for a mid-sized org, relatively easy to learn."

Pros: - Love being able to run reports including un-posted transactions
- Love being able to attach documents to journal entries in NXT view

Cons: - Journal entry template is clunky to use & requires a lot of clicking
- Journal entries are listed "backward" in NXT (compared to database view)
- Can't view the entire journal entry on one screen in NXT & only see line numbers once the entry is posted in NXT view

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/04/2018
Nancy M.
Senior Database Specialist
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"BB Financial Edge - a Perfect Solution for non profit accounting"

Comments: So many ways in which FE is the best solution out there. I love how it integrates and makes each task seamless.

Pros: Ease of use. Ease of implementation. Ease of customer support.

Cons: AS our company has grown, we have become accustomed to finding work arounds to use because of the integration with Raisers Edge. Attributes in Raisers Edge helped us so many times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Monica D.
Database Administrator
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2019

"Financial Edge is a Great Product"

Comments: I haven't used Financial Edge often but enough to run a few reports and post over daily batches.

Pros: Financial Edge is the best product especially if you are working with Raiser's Edge. It's the perfect companion to Accounting.

Cons: It has a steep learning curve; however, once you understand the basics of what it can do. You'll absorb a lot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2019
Karyn B.
Controller
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017

"Blackbaud Financial Edge is easy to use."

Pros: Financial Edge is user friendly, and offers a variety of customizable reporting formats. Built in links from sub-ledger to general ledger allow for drilling to move along quickly.

Cons: We recently upgraded to a hosted database from housing on our own server. There have been some issues with processing delay and getting kicked out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017
Karen T.
Partners in Mission
Religious Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2017

"eTapestry is very robust and comparable to RaisersEdge, for a smaller scale organization."

Comments: This is an easy to use software tool!

Pros: The query, reporting and newly added wealth rating features are easy to use and has assisted in the improvement of my interaction with donors.

Cons: Updates sometime cause changes in the queries and or account that need to be updated. If I do not check the updates, my reporting could go wrong.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2017
Charlene W.
Office Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Financial Edge"

Comments: We are in the process of switching over to Financial Edge. This has been a quite a setup. The features that this offers for reporting are just insane! You may still need to customize a few reports but if you play with the system long enough you can manipulate what is there to work for you. The support team is amazing! They are right there to answer calls and if you are lucky enough to get a good one they might just share an email address with you.

Pros: Customer support
Upload your data input or do data entry, you can do either.
Reports are easy to use and read.
Cloud-based = work from anywhere

Cons: We had some issues but with the help of customer support we are working thru them and putting them behind us.
Set up is a little pricey but in the end, it will be worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Tina P.
Controller
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/02/2020

"Great Product That's Getting Better"

Pros: Easy to use
Wide range of training available
Excellent customer support

Cons: Expensive
Exporting reports and spreadsheets is cumbersome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/02/2020
June S.
Asst Accounting Supervisor
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2017

"Accounting Support"

Comments: The exporting from the cloud requires multiple steps.

Pros: The dashboard and real time updates enable us to get an accurate update on accounts. We can get an immediate picture of budgets etc.

Cons: Exporting excel spreadsheets and crystal reports is an issue. Files must first be saved to a cloud folder and then opened and processed on your hard drive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2017
Mark W.
Controller
Philanthropy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2016

"Very good software for nonprofits of all sizes"

Comments: I have used Financial Edge 7 for Nonprofits after having used QuickBooks Online, Abila (fka Sage), and Microsoft GP Dynamics for nonprofit financials. I find Financial Edge to be the best of the four softwares that I have used. It is the most intuitive of the four that I have used. The biggest help to me is Blackbaud's outstanding support system. In addition to a great FAQ section on their website and many paid training sessions, Blackbaud offers a free chat service with knowledgeable tech representatives able to assist in most questions.

Pros: Intuitive mapping of how to complete processes, dynamic reporting and general ledger options, excellent support.

Cons: No ability to "drill down" into reports (something that is fixed in Financial Edge NXT), some slower processes in general.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2016
Saima D.
SENIOR ACCOUNTANT
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/04/2018

"FINANCIAL EDGE NXT"

Comments: Financial Edge NXT is well suited for educational institutions.

Pros: We are a private school and use Financial Edge NXT for our daily accounting/finance operations. Very self explanatory and easy to use. A variety of reportings available.
Easy to add new vendors in the system.
Adding a new invoice is fairly simple.

Cons: Hope they quickly change to the web view faster, so we don't have to switch between web and database view.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/04/2018
Melissa L.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2013

Comments: Financial Edge is a program that is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It provides great functionality by allowing reports to be created ad hoc using the visual chart organizer, which is helpful for producing reports specific to audit or tax prep. Also, the ability to run queries which can be exported into excel format makes reconciliations simpler. It would be nice if functionality across modules were similar. For example, adjustments to AP and AR are clear and easy to do but it is more difficult for adjustments to cash management. Requests to the support center are returned quickly and with positive results. The combination of Raiser's Edge and Financial Edge creates a seamless process between constituent (donor) management, including contributions and the subsequent recording in the financial software. This is very helpful as you can search directly from FE and it will open a donor record in RE. Blackbaud also hosts an annual convention which allows users to meet with other organizations to discuss solutions to common problems and they also hold many short seminars during the convention which were extremely valuable. All in all, it is much improved over QuickBooks, which we used prior to FE.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2013
Barb W.
Accountant
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2016

"FE review 2016"

Pros: You can continue to work after the month end date.

Cons: A little high in price. The recurring journal could be setup to generate in a batch instead of individually. Report dates for month end are time consuming to change. Wish that in the A/R system you could remove old clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Andrea T.
Sr. Accountant
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018

"Many wishes"

Comments: Ready for FENXT to become fully functional.

Pros: Like the ease of use as well as the availability of reporting. Like the connectivity between RE and FE.

Cons: Creating budgets is cumbersome. Wish there were more excel like functions for calculating totals. Getting issues resolved can be very time consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018