E2 Shop System Reviews

by Shoptech Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About E2 Shop System

We help shops and manufacturers of all kinds and sizes work smarter for improved efficiencies, greater flexibility and bigger profits.

Learn more about E2 Shop System

Showing 665 reviews

Deb A.
Accounting
Plastics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2020

"Company grows with E2 Software"

Comments: We have been able to utilize the estimating (bill of materials / labor) system to effectively quote customers. We are able to track sales data, as well as purchasing data to make better business decisions about products and materials. Everything is integrated in the system so we can trace expenses back to the invoice and purchase order, or the sale back to the quote, as well as clearly defined job costing.

Pros: This product is extremely easy to use, and very forgiving of mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes, and E2 makes it possible to catch and correct mistakes, while keeping an audit trail all along. We have had the system for 20 years and our company has been able to grow and use more functions of the software such as quality and scheduling. We had planned a 6 month dual period with our old software but deployment was so seamless that we only ran double for 1 month. Everything is integrated from the initial customer quote through order entry, the invoice, receipts, and the General Ledger. Tech support has been so helpful, and team members are knowledgeable of the job shop business as well as the product!

Cons: The only issue I have struggled with is user access to data. To give a user rights to view certain data, they also are allowed access to edit it. We can work around that with creative report writing. I can think of no other big drawbacks to the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2020
Monica B.
Operations
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2019

"We think this is the perfect software!"

Comments: We can't say enough about the outstanding support and customer service from the folks at Shoptech. They have always been an absolute pleasure to work with - extremely responsive and knowledgeable!

Pros: We are a 20 person precision machining and sheet metal fabrication shop. We do everything from prototype to large quantity production runs, and E2 Shop System does everything we need it to! This software follows a part from cradle to grave; from establishing raw material part numbers all the way thru to cash receipts, it ties every aspect of a job together, and is extremely user friendly! I love that we can collect real time information on the progress of a job, and when all is said and done, we know EXACTLY how much it cost us to produce a part. It allows us to give our customers the best possible price without any guess work on our end. We have been able to keep our accounting bills to a minimum, as the software allows you to produce balance sheets, income statements, 1099's - EVERYTHING! In 2017 we decided to convert to the Web Based version, and it was an absolutely seemless transition. I LOVE that we can do quoting, bookkeeping, analysis, etc. remotely. No longer needing to maintain a huge server has been great too!

Cons: I can honestly say that I don't feel like there's anything "missing" with this software. Of course, there are the occasional "glitches", but Shoptech is very responsive and quick to come up with a fix! If I HAD to find something to complain about, it would be that the "maintenance fees" are a bit high for the web based version. However, not needing to maintain a server and the expense associated therewith, it's probably close to a wash!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2019
George M.
Vice President of Operations
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019

"Finally moving away from E2"

Pros: The user interface is easy to understand and navigate. The routing and BOM functions work well. Outgoing paperwork (packing slips, vendor returns, RMAs...etc) are generated easily. The quality module works well for us. Ultimately its a great software for smaller job shops; ie, less than 25 employees.

Cons: The scheduling system doesn't work. The system consistently puts out a schedule that doesn't make sense. We are a quick turn, CNC machining job shop, and need a software that enables us to understand our capacity. Often times, jobs that are due tomorrow are on the second page of the report, and jobs that aren't due for 6 weeks are at the top of the list. We worked with tech support and cannot get a resolution. We implemented E2 in 2003 and only started trying to use the scheduling module in the last year. It was a great software initially, but now that we have grown we need software that does what we need it to do. Beyond that, items frequently go corrupt. Unprocessing and reprocessing anything (work orders, purchase order, NCs, CAPAs...etc) risk corrupting the file. If you double click on certain things the system crashes. If two people are in an item at the same time, quantities and/or lines duplicate. Once supplies are received or product is shipped, the system will not allow certain changes to be made. The personnel efficiency reports generate numbers that don't make sense. We've visited this repeatedly and cannot sort out a solution. Just last week I reviewed the efficiency reports for our production crew, and a job they were given 4 hours to setup showed "ESTIMATED SETUP" time of 2.27 hours. Our settings are correct but for some reason the system comes up with understated estimates, despite what we tell it to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019
Paul S.
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2016

"E2 Shop System for a Job Shop"

Comments: This software has all of the features necessary to quote a project, purchase for a project, and move the project successfully through the shop from one work station to another, accurately accumulating time as it goes. It will give you insight into your jobs as to estimated performance versus actual performance, it will give you control over your purchasing and a 30,000ft level view of your work center loading. Overall, it has the capabilities to meet a wide variety of manufacturing requirements with good reporting, and useful tools

Pros: The software is pretty easy to use. We can usually get new employees up and running fully on the software with only a couple of days of training. If you implement the time keeping module it allows for excellent review of jobs and verification of timing for your work. By far the best part of E-2 is the support. They have a wide range of support tools including Webex training's, customer support, and even analysts who can help implement, and improve your software usage.

Cons: Like most software it is built around a model that may not exactly match your business model. In this case the issue is Parts vs. Jobs. Our shop tracks jobs through the shop that are composed of multiple parts. E-2 works best if one part is one job. While it is possible to run multi-part jobs you lose some of the functionality of the software when you do. The other limitation is eliminating duplicate data. If you have customers, materials or parts that were duplicated, or just plain created incorrectly, it is cumbersome to remove them from the E-2 system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2016
Richard D.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/04/2013

Comments: We are a custom fabricator of precision metal parts and assemblies. We are very diverse in our customer market base, each of which has their particular needs and associated challenges. We started out several years ago using Excel spreadsheets for quoting that became increasingly complex and customized. The maintenance aspect of the quotes and quoting process became very convoluted and messy. The biggest problem with a Microsoft product system was the ability for any user to accidentally make changes to the quoting sheet for one particular customer and that calculation would carry over to other quotes. We knew that we needed to improve the process of quoting and tracking time associated with each project. In addition, we wanted to add BOM and stock tracking capabilities, so we began to look at all of the options available. We researched JobBoss, Citrux, Syspro, Intuit and Microsoft Dynamics. Each of the software platforms had pros and cons. For us, the determining factors were price per function and the feature set offerings that were specifically designed for manufacturing. We did not want to custom tailor a software package for our shop. We wanted a software that was already set up for the way we do business, all we had to do was populate the fields and learn the basic functions. Overall, E2 has been a good decision for our company. It has allowed us to scale up and spend much less time tracking order status, employee and machine utilization and keeping track of BOMs without the use of Excel spreadsheets, which we used to use for everything. Excel was a good starting tool for us, but was not sustainable as we have grown. We are much leaner now than before and I feel that we are able to generate and evaluate useful BI data for evaluation. We like having the ability to know the time it takes us to process a particular job through the shop, and the ability for administrative employees to be able to check the status of a job. We have recommended E2 to two of our supply chain partners since inception. One of the companies uses it and does well with it. The other company never embraced it and made the commitment to fully transition over to it. The moral of the story: It is a good tool, but it is not a five minute process to transition into it. It requires a champion within your organization that will learn it and be willing to get the data transfer set up so that your company can make a hard-stop transition over to using the system and not look back to your current system. Human nature is to resist change and you will have to manage your staff’s desire to keep using your current system because it’s comfortable and quicker, due to their knowledge of the current system. We have had a few issues along the way that have been frustrating (probably 5 times in 6 years). On a few occasions we have lost some data and had employees that were unable to input data into the system. We believe that the root cause was the system failing in some way while an employee was logging data. For example, If I am inputting data into an order and there is a fault (for any reason: power dip, hardware on my computer, etc) the E2 system sees this a problem because I was in the main database and when the network connection is re-established. We back up our data daily and can always revert to the previous day’s data. This was a fairly easy fix, but the primary frustration was the lost time determining that the system is no longer recording the data that we put in. Ratings:
Initial Install and data transfer, 7 (The tool to do this has gotten better since we migrated our data)
Training and support, 9 (Support has been good)
Ease of use and how easy to work with, ( Initially, 7. Now that we are comfortable with it, 9)
Any hiccoughs or glitches, (Yes, but minor, and probably in line with industry standard.)
Accuracy of info generated, 9 (You must ensure that employees are logging into and out of jobs accurately. This takes time, but will become a learned behavior. We have a lady in our office view the employee's log twice per day to ensure that they are logged into a job. If not, then they have to explain why)
We would purchase E2 again.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/04/2013
Lee L.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2011

Comments: Delta Gear (formerly TIFCO Gage & Gear) is a privately held entity providing advanced machining services to the aerospace industry. E2 was implemented at Delta Gear in 2004 after the company was acquired and moved to our current location in Livonia, MI. In keeping with the company mission to strategically invest in the latest machining technologies, Delta Gear also upgraded the business system to an enterprise-wide solution that could centralize critical processes, provide real-time status, and still be relatively easy to use and maintain. E2 was selected and quickly implemented using the primary modules of estimating, sales, purchasing, shipping, and billing. This model served the company well for about five years. However, as the company grew and customer requirements increased, we recognized that our model needed adjustment and that there were E2 functions available that could help us meet these new demands. Accordingly, in mid-2009 we initiated an improvement project to move us to the next level of E2 and business system effectiveness. First, an internal E2 ‘champion’ was dedicated to the project with the charge to be a functional leader/liaison between the system, our staff and E2 support resources, which have always been very responsive and helpful. Next, a full evaluation of our Table master data was performed and we discovered that we could significantly increase our performance visibility by improving that data. With that foundation in place, we began to implement unused E2 functions. For example, Document Control became a key tool in our successful migration from ISO 9000 to AS9100. Also, our legacy paper-based Non-Conformance and Corrective Action program is now centralized on E2 and links to the associated items and jobs to which they apply. Employee training records were also migrated to E2 and we are now testing the Work Center and Tooling Maintenance functions. Even more important has been the improvement recognized by better use of the Advanced Scheduling and Purchasing systems. After tailoring our work-center master data, we can now identify potential bottlenecks and address them before they occur. Purchasing is now using the auto-ordering tools that pull from job requirements defined in bills of materials and orders. Finally, these efforts have allowed us to effectively use most of the QuickView module to provide real-time performance data as well as to export reports for monthly business metric presentations. These are then logged into Document Control as objective evidence for AS/ISO, or customer surveillance audits. By embracing the disciplines embedded in E2, we are steadily moving from a ‘reactive’ to a ‘pro-active’ planning approach for our entire enterprise. Our business has recently moved to a larger state-of-the-art facility and we are confident that E2 will be able to handle our growth effectively.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2011
Lisa T.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2012

Comments: We are a small third-generation custom sheet metal fabrication shop that has garnered a reputation for high quality, honest work, and trying to help all of our customers meet their increasingly shorter delivery times. Before E2 Shop System, we were using an outdated custom-written software for the Mac and updating that software into the 21st century was proving difficult and expensive. One day I received a mailer from ShopTech that said ''Are you controlling your shop, or is it controlling you?'' I thought to myself 'Isn't that the truth!!' So I called the number and talked to Greg in sales and after much consideration, we made the leap to the windows-based E2. It took approximately one year to fully migrate over to E2 once all the new hardware was set-up. I believe it could have been faster if we had an actual IT person. That being said, I'm not trained in IT, nor had much experience with Windows, but E2 was fairly easy to set up. It does take some getting used to, mostly because people are used to other software and have to make the mental switch, but once you figure out how everything ties in together, it's easy. The tech support staff was fantastic in helping me set up a windows server and they connected me with another customer that had done the same thing, which was extraordinarily helpful. We still use our Macs, but we LOVE E2 Shop System! My father even prefers the quoting method of E2 to the old custom program! It has allowed us to improve turn-around times on jobs and eliminated the constant bother of trying to figure out where jobs were in process in the shop. It has also improved our billing process; simplifying many tasks. It takes about 5 minutes to run the month end pdf reports for the accountant, vs an entire day of sorting actual paper in the old system. Everything is tied together and searching the system for just about anything is super-easy. I have customers call me all the time to look up information for them that they can't even find in their own systems. Our shop floor employees love being able to see what job they are clocked in on and eventually they will be able to know what job they should work on next. I haven't had time yet to delve into the wealth of data to analyze and quantify the exact benefit of E2, but just from our books, we can tell a marked increase in revenue, and we now can tell the actual real-time cost of jobs, rather than waiting until the next day's import. We have yet to harness it's full potential, since we are so small and focused on production, but there's only one way to go from here....up!!! Thank you SO MUCH to Janelle, Corey, Melissa, Greg and the rest of the ShopTech team that has helped me over the years. You have no idea how fantastic it is to call tech support and get the same, friendly, English-speaking, and knowledgeable people every time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2012
Verified Reviewer
Industrial Engineer
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"E2 was easy to learn and the layout follows a logical manufacturing flow"

Comments: E2 makes our manufacturing easy to track and analyze. It is a very simple but powerful software.

Pros: My favorite part about E2 is the simple layout and design of each module. Anyone with an understanding of the flow in manufacturing can learn this software quickly. Also, the software is somewhat flexible which makes it easy to tailor around your company's specific style of processing jobs and orders. There is also a lot of useful data you can pull from the system to analyze manufacturing costs. My favorite is the Job Cost Summary which allows you to see in detail every cost of a specific job.

Cons: The one module I find difficult to use is the Scheduling module. For our company's style of manufacturing it has been hard to use and implement. We mostly build to stock, but we get a lot of build to order jobs that have to be rushed through manufacturing and really mess up the scheduling. I still have a lot to learn about the Scheduling module, but I wish there was a way to use sales history to continually update the job completion date. This would allow us to reschedule our work in progress to fill the shelves before we run out of stock. This module has a lot of promise but for now seems a bit cumbersome to use effectively.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Virginia A.
Systems Manager
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2016

"My experience with E2 Shoptech software."

Comments: For 2 + years now I have had the pleasure of using E2. I have been in the manufacturing business for over 37 years. Many of software programs have come across my path. Without a shadow of a doubt E2 surpasses the software that I have utilized.

Pros: E2 is a very user friendly program. E2 is easy to maneuver through the software. E2 also offers a traditional standard view or a ribbon view which allows the customer to choose their preference. One of the many particular things I LOVE about E2 is their senior consultant Alicia Fox. I just have to say that Alicia goes above and beyond to help out the customers along with Rhonda Dowd account manager whose response time to my inquiries is outstanding! Also the available online tutorial and the technical support which in my opinion is phenomenal! it offers. "Hands down the BEST software that I have ever used"!

Cons: One thing I would have to say where E2 falls short in my book. The ability to view some of the information. What I mean by this is, some user fields only allow a partial view. Especially in the accounts payable/vendor field.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2016
Vanessa M.
Business Development Mgr
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/01/2019

"EAM"

Comments: Overall I would say I am pleased with the software on a daily basis. We have learned to work around the restrictiveness but it is often a repeated topic for us and is what we consider a major flaw, Had we know before purchase how restrictive it is to making changes we might not have opted to buy,

Pros: The system does have some great capabilities, it allows full visibility for our production floor. It also encompasses added features such as Quality, Accounting and Scheduling.
And customer support/tech support is amazing. If it wasn't for their support your software wouldn't be as successful as it has been for me. And lastly your help section has improved light years, that too is so Helpful!

Cons: The software can be cumbersome at times and too restrictive. The way it ties together orders, work orders, inventory and purchase orders makes it next to impossible to make changes once processed, We work in an ever changing environment and the software makes it next to impossible to be able to support our customer changes without a LOT of extra work behind the scenes. You also need to focus on adding the "bells and whistles". Minor add ons often make the user experience so much more pleasant, Lastly there is a major lack of Note fields throughout the modules and your CRM portion could use lots of improvements as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/01/2019
Vickie S.
Corporate Treasurer
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2020

"E-2 Review"

Comments: This software has been a great find for us. This is the first software I have found to work for a manufacturing company. I would recommend this software to anyone looking to change and move their company into a new direction. It saves us a lot of time with the reports available and our users find it easy to maneuver and get the information they need for their job done promptly.

Pros: This software is very easy to use and works perfectly for our type of business. We are a metal stamping company and this software allows us to create each part separately and it's own flow of material to create the end product. It works great for inventory and the accounting.

Cons: The only problem I have with the Software is it does not incorporate the payroll. We have another system that is imported into the software but I would love to have a one stop shop when using this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2020
Nj G.
C.O.O.
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2016

"E2 Shoptech"

Comments: It has helped tracking of real job cost exponentially. For our type of service there needs to be other options available for reports (I realize we can pay you for custom reports but for our type of business it seems like it should already be there). Also I think that in estimate/quote/orders there should be two lines for misc. tooling/charge because a lot of times there is a setup charge that is recurring and tooling charges that are not always recurring but are incurred none the less. You should also be able to bring data into estimate from quote instead of only the other way around. Small business service companies don't have the time to create an estimate in order to give a price on a job. We can look at a part after being around for almost 60 years and say, eh that looks like about a $200 job. We purchase no material, it is all customer supplied so there are no costs associated with the job other than our labor and occasionally tooling so it is a waste of time to make an estimate when you may not even win the job. We type up a quote and then maybe 3 days or maybe 3 weeks later we win the job I want to be able to go into estimate at this point and pull in the info from my quote...part number, pricing, description....then I can add the routing and the part notes.

Pros: Easy to navigate

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2016
Mollie Z.
Office Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019

"Great Option for Small Manufacturing Business"

Pros: E2 Shop is very user friendly! It is easy to navigate and easy to understand. E2 Shop has the best customer service we have experienced and has a wonderful online discussion board and help documents to help along the way.

Cons: We have experienced a good amount of "glitches" and software "hang-ups" that require a system repair which we were advised to do every 2 weeks. (All have proven to be software related).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Nick R.
Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"User friendly and intuitive"

Pros: The software easily allows the effective administration of the business process, from quoting to customer all the way to receipt of payment. Everything is intuitive, and the user interface is easier than any other ERP system I have used. As with any ERP software, you will get more out of it if you have thorough, comprehensive, and accurate inputs into the system. E2 or any other ERP software is not a magic pill, but rather a process overhaul. There is work involved to getting the most of this or any other software, I believe you can get to where you want to be if your company can utilize the E2 software effectively. I would highly recommend E2 for any job shop.

Cons: The software might be more difficult to use for batch or continuous-flow operations shops. There is buy-in involved to get the most out of the software, but this is true of any ERP software and cannot be avoided.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Tara T.
Administration
Mining & Metals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/01/2018

"Amazed at all the capabilities of the software Love the web based version!!!"

Comments: I love this software. The moment I was introduced to the software I was hooked. It can be overwhelming when you first try to implement it and get into using it everyday but the support staff are amazing. I have worked with both the E2 shop server based software and the new web based version and the web based is so easy to implement, and the fact that it is self maintained, helps for everyone who doesn't have a full time IT person and feels like they are technically challenged. Also it does not matter what size your shop is, if you want true accurate job costing, this is for you.

Pros: The ease of use and the mobility of the web version is amazing that you can have access any time, any where. Being able to use smart phones and tablets for data collection puts a terminal in every persons hand. No more taking time to go to a terminal to log in and out. Which was our number one complaint from employees when we first started using E2

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/01/2018
Patty M.
Office Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2020

"Northfield Precision"

Comments: All in all we are very pleased with the system.
It covers all of the aspects we need for our business and operates well on a daily basis.

Pros: We are very pleased with features that we use from the software.
We do not use data collection as it does not fit into our business, but we may use it in the future.
The system is easy to use and navigate with no lag time.

Cons: We do find the search aspect to be a little difficult.
When entering lines for orders, the popups can get in the way, such as the box for quantities that comes up as well as similar part numbers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2020
Austin E.
Quality Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2019

"Quality area"

Comments: I like E2 for its simplicity. Its easy to navigate for all our employees who use it.

Pros: The quality area of E2 is very well laid out and easy to use. It is very straight forward and easy to input information.

Cons: The thing I would want to see is more filter options when looking at the shipping summary. It can be broken down well but could use more filters. The one I ran into is that it accounts all line items of a work order. So if a work has 4 sublines, it says that they are all late when in fact it is just one thing that is late.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2019
Darla B.
Vice President
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Good tool"

Comments: The system works well in going back to find orders, customer tracking and works for providing packing slips.

Pros: Easy order tracking system, user-friendly, is now web based.

Cons: Adding inventory and parts is laborious.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Brian S.
President
Oil & Energy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019

"I'm sold!"

Pros: We now have a way to track literally every aspect of our business. Production times are tracked to the minute. Material costs are tracked and updated to the penny. Invoicing has become nearly instant and requires far fewer personnel hours. Shipping and receiving documents available with the click of a button. We have also virtually eliminated duplicate data entries, which were a real time loss before. I thought about researched E2 for a couple of years before signing up. Arguably, the best business decision I have ever made.

Cons: I wish there were more in person training options available. i.e. Training courses my people could attend live and in person. There is an abundance of on-line training available, but it can be hard to grasp in the initial stages of implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019
Martin B.
Ingineer
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/03/2020

"Review E2"

Comments: Very good

Pros: Easy to use, the report, the inventory control,

Cons: the old version more easy to use, attached file, no technical support in french,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/03/2020
Kelly R.
Office Manager
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/09/2019

"E2 Helps Our Shop Stay Organized"

Comments: We use E2 for quoting every job request we receive. Once we enter the routing for a part we can use it every time that part is ordered. We also successfully use it for purchasing. It is a great shop management tool.

Pros: E2 helps us keep track of every quote, order and purchase we have. It is very easy to search for parts, customers and vendors. The reporting capabilities are also very helpful. The interface between E2 and Quickbooks is seamless and super helpful. We have also enjoyed the fantastic customer support we have received over the past many years.

Cons: At this point there is nothing that we like least.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/09/2019
Michelle P.
President
Oil & Energy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2019

"Machine Shop and Plastics Injection"

Comments: We have been a customer of E2 for over 15 years. In that time we have learned about the functionality of the system, as well as made adjustments to our system to ensure that we enter the best possible data to get out the best possible data. E2 is flexible, easy to use and a good choice for both a Job Shop and Plastic Injection Facility.

Pros: E2 software is diverse enough that we can use it both in our Job Shop Machine Shop as well as our Plastic Injection Facility and it allows us to very decently track our costs.

Cons: The reporting function in the Accounting module of E2. We found that more flexibility in combining the E2 system with Quickbooks. It works seamlessly and allows for better financial reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2019
Inge C.
Office Administrator
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2019

"E2 Shop System review"

Comments: Our overall experience has been very positive, we still need to explore the software more to utilize all features.

Pros: The software is user friendly, I like that when you create a customer or vendor quote, the quote number can be used to create the sales order or purchase order. From the sales order number you create the packing list, and from that number the invoice. This way you do not have to re-type the information every time you create new paperwork. There is a nice flow to the program

Cons: I do not have any negative comments regarding this software, so far it has been working positive for our company

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Jason D.
owner
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020

"Standard Machine shop ERP"

Comments: We used E2 for about five years. The last three we integrated with cloud reports llc which made a huge difference however we have outgrown the system and are moving on.

Pros: Easy to use. Has the basics. Can be utilized with cloud reports llc a seperate company that is a must have

Cons: customization and advanced functionality is lacking. We purchased the accounting module and if I had it to do over again I would have used the quick books integration instead. The all in one functionality of using E2 accounting module is tempting however it is limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020
Bob L.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2013

Comments: Our company is a precision CNC machining job shop with ISO9001:2008 certification. We specialize in difficult to machine raw materials and products. The software we were using prior to E2 was designed by a private individual but was not expandable to cover our needs as our business grew. When we were upgrading our business software, we wanted a product that would provide information necessary to create charts and reports for administrative purposes, shop travelers for production, inventory management, quality control, purchasing, quoting, shipping, and receiving. Also important to us was the ability to link drawings, material certs, and other documents to the various parts that we produce for our customers. We looked at several products but chose the E2 Shop System because it provided all these requirements and was the most user friendly in our opinion. We could also sync it with our QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions software and not have to pay for additional accounting software. We have been using E2 now for 10 years and have had nothing but a great experience with our E2 software and the support the company has provided us when we needed help, updates, etc. The training provided to our employees was very thorough and was very easy to learn. Our implementation was a very good experience. We recently completed our ISO9001:2008 certification. When the Stage II auditor called us to arrange for our audit date, one of the questions he asked us was what kind of software we used for the shop. Before I could answer, he asked if it was E2. I told him it was, and he told me that over his 25-year career, he was very familiar with E2 and thought it was one of the best shop system software products available. I agree. It is a product that can be expanded as your business grows. As the owner of a small business for 28 years, I highly recommend the E2 Shop System for your business as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2013