Oracle MICROS Simphony POS Reviews

by Oracle E-business

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.4 /5

About Oracle MICROS Simphony POS

Oracle MICROS Simphony POS fits every restaurant size & format: casual, quick service, independent, franchises, pubs, stadiums & more.

Learn more about Oracle MICROS Simphony POS

Showing 14 reviews

Christian K.
Technology Operations Manager
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/07/2020

"Simphony Review - Minor DKL Food Group"

Comments: Overall the software is a decent POS software, the customisation ability is a good fit for our business with the ability to fluidly adjust our products and menu to maneuver our business into strong customer sentiment positions. Earlier versions were prone to bugs, however the later versions appear more streamlined and database resource utilisation is lighter than it used to be. Once knowledge base is established and internal support personnel skills are enhanced the support of the software is quite easy.

Pros: The software once configured and implemented is easy to use, it's heavily customisable, allowing the ability to adapt for changes within the business and products. The ability to update the software from the enterprise level out to all Properties\Workstations, is a convenient ability to have when managing a fleet of stores and POS terminals It ties into its own reporting system and the MyMicros App makes store sales checking a breeze

Cons: The software and the back end design is very complex, it takes a lot of training with skilled trainers in the Oracle business to build and maintain those skill sets. Cost can be quite expensive when starting out, when there is a sufficient retail footprint the pricing can be negotiated to competitive rates

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/07/2020
Jean R.
Office Manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2020

"What Happened to Micros? Oracle. Make a wise choice don't choose Simphony."

Comments: We used Micros Res 3700 and loved it had no choice but to make a switch as Oracle is not supporting Micros Res 3700 any longer. We choose Simphony because Micros Res 3700 had the best support, including live support. Micros had service was 24/7. It was a really bad choice. Oracle Simphony has basiclly no support, you call support, they issue a ticket or tell you that someone will be calling you back and you never hear back from anyone. There is no support live help desk . Since, Oracle purchased Micros, service and support has suffered greatly. They are always trying to upsell you to purchased 3rd party items, that they eluded where included in product during the original meetings. Micros NYC/Oracle is by far the worst software installers/developers that I have ever worked with. Make a wise choice, don’t choose Oracle Simphony.

Pros: The ease of menu updating and cusomtization.

Cons: There is no live support, no service, no support help desk; most times it takes days, weeks, even months to hear back from anyone. Since our installation in July, 2020, 3 months later and there are many unresolved issues, with the credit card readers, time clock, reports not balancing to each and many other among other things, that just don’t work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2020
Vishal P.
Technical Manager
Food Production, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2020

"Oracle Simphony"

Pros: Oracle Simphony cloud solution is easy to deploy and manage while being a scalable product at a global level, this inturn enables us to move quickly to match our business needs.

Cons: Custom development can sometimes be difficult to manage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2020
Adarsh N.
Food and Beverage Associate
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/01/2021

"Oracle Micros POS is very good"

Comments: This is a great software i have ever used, easy to use, easy to learn and very user friendly, i don't think there is anything else who can compete with this particular software, i have been using this software everyday from last 4 years, its been a great software and it has become part of my life now.

Pros: I have been using this software on daily basis from last four years, it is a great software for billing purpose, you can get a personal id for yourself, everyone can findout who has punched or voided the order, easy to use, and bills can be printed easily when needed.

Cons: I don't find any cons in this software apart from one thing, whenever we are printing bills it make lots of printing noise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/01/2021
Markus R.
Manager
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2020

"reliable and easy to use"

Pros: Cloud based usage
easy to manage different stores

Cons: it offers a big variation of functions, but to get customized solutions is a long way...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2020
Kendall L.
Business Systems Analyst
Entertainment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2020

"Finally a POS for the Events Industry"

Pros: The biggest win for us was that this product recognises Events against transactions. For any business in the Event Industry this is always a struggle in POS and has enabled us to develop integrations with our other corporate systems.
Additionally I'd like to acknowledge the Project Team for their supportive and motivated implementation.

Cons: The EMC user interface is due for a refresh

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2020
Matt F.
Project Co Ordinator
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2020

"Oracle = A great global partner"

Comments: I have been happy with our experience with Simphony. They provide a great product

Pros: One stop shop. POS, purchasing and reporting. The software has great capabilities and covers all areas a hospitality business requires

Cons: Most adjustments to the program involve an additional purchase. Immediate support not often available

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2020
Sam W.
Hotel / Restaurant Owner
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2021

"Run Away. Do not look back"

Comments: Completely horrible. This company has got to be the WORST company to deal with, I can't imagine a worse roll out. Oracle did not honor the date they committed to having us up and running so we were forced to opened our location without a POS system (recipe for disaster). They sent a drunk programer to our location that was incompetent, followed by other programmers that always left us with varying issues that consumed hundreds of hours to resolve with customer support from India and other parts of the world that takes hours to get an actual live person. Their account representatives do not respective you as a client with valid concerns, nor do they accept accountability and will continue to charge you to fix their own companies screw ups. This POS is far too expensive, compared to others. My employees hate the system and it takes too long for them to navigate through it, costing them time in providing good customer service. SAVE YOURSELF THE PAIN AND STAY AWAY. I greatly regret not having chosen a different company and system.

Pros: The reporting software is pretty thorough

Cons: The complexity and backward nature it was set up, with an inability to modify it without great expense. Everything not completed on original set up will cost thousands of dollars to correct by an oracle programmer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2021
Mike P.
Operations Director
Restaurants, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020

"Simphony"

Comments: effort put in on setting it up - worth it - architecture is good & functional. Never really had any down time - if internet down - all printers & KDS still work on the LAN. Have a good account manager too which helps!

Pros: Moved into teh cloud from Res to Simphony - was a great move for us - less spend on hardware, updates through icences /subscription to services. We integrate a lot through simphony with accounts, loyalty, takeaway/delievry platform, Gift certificates. Has great inventory mgt capabilities with theoreticals. We manage the one database across different concepts and countries pretty easily. Integretaed with payroll, Open table, Windcave - Tablets for servers. Real time updates pretty much on phone app. Kiosks integrated. It all works!

Cons: Sometimes support a little clunky, but we get there in the end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020
Fabiana S.
Management Training and Development
Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2020

"Versatile and user friendly"

Comments: Had great technicians helping with installation, for any

Pros: Very easy to handle database, integrates with 3rd parties applications (i.e Givex, WindCave, Omnivore, Open table, OrderUp!, HotSchedules), outstanding installation team and great support technicians ready to help 24/7.

Cons: Labour Management and Table Management System are both very basic. The functionalities offered are not sufficient to our company's needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/07/2020
Anders L.
Field CTO
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/09/2020

"POS platform, not just a POS"

Comments: We are integrating self-service ordering with Simphony, and it is a good solution that works for a huge amount of monthly transactions. Simphony gives us great flexibility and supports our solution in a good way.

Pros: Simphony is a whole suite of software including Gift & Loyalty, Reporting & Analytics and also provide extensibility by developing additional modules that can extend functionality in Simphony. It has API:s for integration and is well documented.

Cons: It was hard to find out the correct deployment model in some cases. Setting up a large Simphony installation comes with a large amount of options and choices that is needed to get it up and running in a stable production environment. It takes some work to find the optimal deployment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/09/2020
Lars S.
Founder
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/07/2020

"Simphony POS"

Pros: Very functional system, we like the professional handling and it is easy to use. Important for us is the use as cloud service AND on - premise (not only cloud like other POS systems)

Cons: Some interfaces are missing (Liquid Dispenser System). Kitchen Display System (KDS) does not meet all of today's customer requirements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/07/2020
Kiran N.
National General Manager, Technology Solutions
Facilities Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/07/2020

"Modular SaaS for Hospitality"

Comments: Oracle's team have gone above and beyond in supporting us with the roll out from the initial days to getting data setup orchestrated and delivered.

Pros: -Enterprise architecture
-Data Modelling of the application which aids in a multi-tier data setup but rolls up efficiently for reporting purposes.
- Offline Mode

Cons: - Browser compatibility
- Device Flexibility

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/07/2020
Minar K.
Banquet Sales Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020

"Very comfortable and Easy to use"

Comments: Billing system not taking that much times. Item wise report can generate very easily. Also any new items can add easily. Simply its very easy to use for everybody. Can teach to others very smoothly.

Pros: Its very positive program and very easy to use also easy to maintain the inventory system.

Cons: Inventory system is very good. Can control the costing very easily

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020