15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Onfido

Onfido helps businesses to build identity verification around their unique needs with an end-to-end, AI-powered platform.

Learn more about Onfido

Pros:

Easy integration using SDK, fast report result, extensive document type coverage for identity verification.

Cons:

Nothing to tell really here. I'm not sure I can tell some private stuff here.

Onfido ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Onfido has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 29 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Onfido before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (29)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

very helpful and flexible tool to answer our daily bases.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: great tool by a great company. very nice and helpful employees that always assist you with a smile
great working methodologies to understand user needs

Pros:

great customer support and sales fair negotiations tool function with no downtime

Cons:

support from onfido finance team is slow

Martin
Managing Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Boosted our customer acceptance rates

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We switched from an Experian solution to Onfido, and saw an immediate improvement in acceptance rates. This increased revenue while reducing customer support costs.

Pros:

It was quick and easy to implement, and customer support is great. Loved the SDKs and the great customer experience when switching from desktop/laptop device to mobile to capture identity documents with a camera, or take a selfie.

Cons:

The new Studio workflow product provides the decision-tree that has been missing to date, so there are very few negatives.Might like better accuracy for watchlist screening, as 99% of "consider" results are false negatives, but appreciate this is probably down to the quality of the PEP/Sanctions data available from Government sources.

Paul
Owner in Netherlands
Online Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Do not expect customer support after implementation

3.0 last month New

Pros:

Great KYC checks and user friendly maintenance portal.

Cons:

Do not expect any customer support: from the beginning Onfido sent us incorrect invoices. We informed their billing department several times by email, however never received a response. Also tried to call them, they do not have a phone number. In February they switched off their application without prior notice. After we left negative feedback on another platform, they suddenly replied and promised they would solve the issue. In the mean time we had several sessions with their customer support and technical team. They discovered an issue in their software that caused the incorrect invoices. They promised to solve this and correct the invoices. This is not three weeks ago. Again I sent numerous reminders to continue and solve the issue, so we could restart using the tool but complete silence on their behalve. I am really shocked after all the time we spent to solve the issues together with their team, this is the result. Complete waist of time. Now we switched to Sumsub that actually gives customer support.

Kagera
Project Manager in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Experience With Onfido

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

It comes with great authentication solution It is the best for identity management

Cons:

With Onfido, it has been amazing. Never experienced issues.

Francisco
Software Technical Leiter in Germany
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Onfido is the best option for starter projects

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Onfido was a key piece in our first electromobility project; we had no previous experience with data and identity validation tools and the sales team clarified all our doubts and put us in contact with specialists who helped us to clarify some doubts of our implementation.

Pros:

I really like the dashboars and the intuitive interface they have for viewing any applicant's information.

Cons:

It seems to me that you should improve a lot the technical support, it usually takes 24 hours to receive an answer by email. Maybe a chat with agents in real-time would be good to incorporate.

Abdul
CFO in Ethiopia
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best in the market!

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

We rely on Onfido to capture customer ID as part of our onboarding process. Onfido's data validation and document integrity services allow us to determine customer document authenticity and detect potential fraudulent customers.

Cons:

No issues so far. Overall, we have had a great experience in the last 3 years we've had Onfido.

Michael
Senior Financial Crime Manager in UK
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great team!

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The team at Onfido are really helpful and responsive, with a genuine desire to help you get the best from their products. This is helps what sets them apart from other eKYC providers.

Cons:

The recent move to deleting customer data could have been handled better, with more notice, however this is a minor point.

Juan
Risk and Fraud Analyst in Uruguay
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Onfido Review

4.0 8 months ago

Pros:

I like how Onfido's team prepare our monthly meetings, in order to see all the relevant aspects of the last month and see how they can improve the product. In addition to that, is a product that is constantly improving, and thats what i like the most.

Cons:

An aspect that i think Onfido can improve is the quantity of accepted documents in several countries, because there are some countries that doesn't have much accepted documents.

Saad Wahid
Operations Director in UK
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nymcard Review

4.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Onfido excels in user-friendly interfaces and responsive customer support.

Cons:

Common challenges or concerns with identity verification services in general can include potential false positives, integration complexities, or the evolving nature of fraud tactics

Pavel
Senior Operations Manager in Austria
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Onfido review

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The ease of use of the portal. Decisioning speed.

Cons:

Difficulties when asking for a specific changes. Some changes are impossible as this will require global changes made in the system which will affect all customers

Luke
Vice President in US
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Modern, fast, secure ID verifications

5.0 last year

Comments: We've looked into and tried a number of vendors for ID verifications, and Onfido has far and away been the easiest to work with, with a fast, modern, flexible, and relatively affordable system that supports a very wide range of ID verification documents worldwide. They're support team is also excellent, very responsive and helpful.

Pros:

Onfido's user-facing and back-office/admin tools provide an excellent UI with a modern, intuitive interface. It's easy for customers and staff to use, and the platforms delivers results incredibly fast, usually within seconds. The API also integrates well with our other systems.

Cons:

I'd like to see more filtering, display, and reporting options in the back-office dashboard -- specifically, being able to more easily drill down on sub-status results (e.g., being able to see at a top level how many IDs are are getting flagged for problems and for what reasons; which IDs received general "caution" flags vs. potentially more serious "rejected" and "suspected" results; innocently expired IDs vs. potentially fake or stolen IDs, etc.). Onfido does a great job of catching a wide range of data and analysis on IDs, but it can sometimes require some digging to figure out what exactly triggered a consideration flag on an ID, or to determine big-picture trends. (That said, Onfido's system is far more clear around all of this than most of their competitors.)

Samir
Lead Program Manager in France
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Onfido is the best in class for Identity Verification

5.0 last year

Comments: Amazing and very positive

Pros:

Technology, quality of UX, Quality of the API, customer support.

Cons:

Nothing to tell really here. I'm not sure I can tell some private stuff here

Laura
Senior Key Account Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great and trusted document validation provider

5.0 last year

Comments: Great

Pros:

Trusted processes. Keep an imposing over time.

Cons:

It could support more on fraud detection.

Robert
UNDERWRITING MANAGER in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

UNDERWRITING MANAGER

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Easy to use the system and it has added more tools for us to detect fraud.

Pros:

Easy to use the system and it has added more tools for us to detect fraud.

Cons:

The set-up process took longer than expected.

Aristote
Head of Onboarding in Germany
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Onfido Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and software detect PEP and people under sanctions

Cons:

Discrepencies between the information received and the actual information provided by the client (sometimes). Also, when a customer update his KYC it does not reflect on your platform.

Najmi
Compliance Officer in Malaysia
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Best identify verification products ever!!

Pros:

I love the identity verification features where it is very helpful for my daily KYC check.

Cons:

Sometimes when there's a part of the customers National ID get blurred by the glaring, eventho we can still see thru a bit, it still shown as "Consider". But overall, I really loved it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reviews

4.0 last year

Comments: ok

Pros:

The service from your people is fantastic

Cons:

Slow processing of id documents resulting in some dropoffs

Azali
Head of Compliance in Malaysia
Capital Markets, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Onfido product review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good customer support and good products

Pros:

Easy integration using SDK, fast report result, extensive document type coverage for identity verification

Cons:

others products package i.e. aml report & compliance report need to further enahnced.

Rebekah
CDD Manager in Gibraltar
Gambling & Casinos, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overall Takes Care of Itself

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Pretty good overall, it would be nice to have more regular contact but mainly just for checking in as we do not tend to experience many headaches

Pros:

Ease of use - which means identifying any problems as quicker as possible

Cons:

Loads times can sometimes be a little long but overall no real complaints. We had an issue that was raised a while ago now and sometimes it can take a long while to get to the bottom of it so maybe better regular updates on any issues.

Jeffrey
Financial Products Lead in Malaysia
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The solution is good but it can be better

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The UI design is user friendly and the team is keep working on more advance features for the businesses.

Cons:

Onfido does not provide details stats and reporting for the clients (me) to work on future optimization

Adam
Software Developer in UK
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pretty decent

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

API documentation was nice to work with, product worked as expected. Sandbox environment with good uptime!

Cons:

Had a few minor issues with sections of the API documentation at the time (has since been rectified).

Derrick
Co-founder in Canada
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Onfido not good for startups needing mobile SDK

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Simplicity of the app was amazing and the invitation for users to verify their ID . It was my preferred device until I ask them to allow us to use the mobile SDK .

Cons:

Don’t ask them about their Mobile SDK if you are building a mobile app . Things get messy in their terms of use . They want you to pay $10,000 and you loose the money if there is very little users and if you go above the $10,000 then they ask for money . Everything is designed to make them rich. It is not good for start ups

Helder
Product Owner in Angola
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Really nice support from ONFIDO Team

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We needed a solution that could enable a remote identity validation to perform the account opening process on our mobile app. As all the banks worldwide, we had compliance and regulatory issues that should be take in consideration and the partner in that field should be experient doing this kind of job. As we don´t have a lot of banks in Angola offering this kind of solutions, we had to choose a partner that could offer us the possibility to read and validate angolan documents with confidence.

Pros:

The ability to perform remote identity checks in a quick an accurate way. The fact that the development and software updates are always one step forward from our needs.

Cons:

The lack of support to Outsystems framework.

Mitko
Risk Manager in Bulgaria
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant product!

5.0 last year

Pros:

The product offers very user friendly experience.

Cons:

The only "con" we can mention is the somewhat higher pricing.

Muhammad Zaid Jamil
Head of Compliance in Malaysia
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

e-KYC Make It Easy

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Onfido is facilitating a seamless customer journey during the onboarding process by leveraging their proprietary electronic Know Your Customer (e-KYC) solution. This solution is enhanced with advanced Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML) technologies and the expertise of document specialists to ensure accurate customer identification.

Cons:

Nothing in particular. No negative feedback as of now.