Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.1 /5

About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Showing 10,540 reviews

Briana C.
HR Director and Director of Accounting
Security & Investigations, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Great ticketing and project management system!"

Comments: JIRA has allowed us to better track customer issues. The labeling method allows us to quickly search by issue type. Clusters of issue types are then turned into product enhancements to ensure our clients needs are met. Integration with Zendesk and Confluence was easy and has allowed for greater productivity.

Pros: JIRA ticket and project management system allows users to track client issues as well as plan projects. The JIRA platform has a very high rate of up time. JIRA search feature allows users to search for issues to provide historic context and documentation of projects and issues. It is easy to setup and maintain. It has many features for tracking the number of issues, their age and the number of closed issues per user.

Cons: We have not experienced many issues with the software. What few issues we have experienced were quickly taken care of by support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Entrepreneur
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"In big development teams the custom workflow of JIRA allows you to build a solid agile process"

Comments: Scalability of our development teams was the biggest benefit, this product enabled us to grow and not lose productivity in the process. We were able to maintain good line of sight to what teams were producing and which ones were on track and which teams were off track. This invariably reduced the cost of our development, enabling us to grow faster and get product to market quicker in a highly competitive space.

Pros: JIRA gives you the essential tools to manage your development projects and comes into its own when you scale up managing larger teams and 100+ developers. User stories, epics, issue management, backlog management, task assignment, tracking charts for scrum, kanban boards etc give you the visibility you need when operating in an multi-team Agile development structure. The visibility of the state of your project(s) and workflow is the key benefit for using this software in an enterprise environment. Another key benefit is you can extend to use Atlassian's suite of products where there is great integration such as Service Desk, Confluence & Stride - although most of our teams eventually developed a preference for Slack.

Cons: JIRA can be a little complex at the outset to the uninitiated, some tasks require searching for in the menu system. Customization does have an overhead attached, for example adding attributes with logic etc. Email notifications can be overwhelming if you are attached to multiple teams, a digest option would probably be better than one email per update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2019

"Best and Must have tool for Agile methodology"

Comments: If you're into agile development then think no further, JIRA is the tool for you. It's ease of use and implementation makes it the best tool for tracking everything related to your project, It's a must have tool for agile methodology.

Pros: It has every Scheme to work with, may it be different Issue types, Workflows, Field configuration, Permission, Notification, Screens, Custom fields etc. It can be easily configured. JIRA and Agile methodology goes hand in hand. I believe Agile methodology brings out the best from JIRA and completely utilizes it to it's best potential, From flexible and rapid Issue creation and updation to have easily traceable developing environment, It does all with ease. Managers and Scrum Masters can not have a single meeting without JIRA Kanban Board. Every issue, every story is traced with in-depth details. from it's creation, execution till it's completion, Even after completion the history of every issue is maintained and can be over viewed with ease.

Cons: From feature perspective there are no such feature to dislike about JIRA. They're simple and easy to accomplish, Operations like Creating or Editing Issue(s) are easy and can be done by anyone. There lies the problem of such operations performed by any one. Rather they should have some access level of control with which they can initialize on individual issue to individual member involved with that issue. Even if someone does edit an issue on accident, they should atleast be prompt about the changes they're about to make, or save. and only after successful confirmation from the user, JIRA should allow those changes to be saved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2019
Kent B.
Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"A developers perspective of Jira"

Comments: I have enjoyed using Jira at work. It helps keep our team on the same page and gives insight into what everyone else is doing. My opinion is that they have hit the mark in a big way and they just have some cleanup/maintenance issues to take care of.

Pros: 1) Jira is performing well in the industry which results in lots of people integrating with them. The most impactful for us was the integration done with Zenddesk our ticketing system. Our support engineers are able tie Zenddesk tickets to our Jira issues and when issues are updated, so is the Zenddesk ticket. Very Cool! 2) Notifications were very well done in Jira. There is an in-app notification system (A bell in the bottom corner) but they can also be sent via email. They also are very smart about sending you only updates that involve you so that you are not notified too much. 3) Smart task ordering and prioritizing that work well in a development environment.

Cons: Most of the cons that I noticed are rather nit-picky however I believe there is room for lots of improvement.
1) Give for example the sprint page. There is a little star in the upper right corner. If I hover over the star I get a description that says 'Star'. That is not a great description of what that button will do for me. Users are dumb and won't figure things like that out on their own.
2) I think the UI is a tiny bit clunky. I see lots of wasted space here and there. Often times there are things that do not seem that important that seem to take up a lot of space. Also I'm not a big fan of huge collapsable side menus. 3) The many features that are offered in Jira make for a steep learning curve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2020

"Best scrum board"

Comments: It is our enterprise wide solution, we use several products from Atlasssian which works seamlessly with all of them right out of the box.

Pros: We use JIRA extensively to manage all of our development projects. It works great to manage Epics , stories, tasks and sub-tasks in our Agile development shop. It can be customized with necessary workflow rules to suite your agile process. It has extensive reporting capabilities right out of the box. It also has tight integration with other Atlasssian products such as bitbucket and confluence.

Cons: It is a little tricky in creating sub-tasks and manage them separately. They are not added in management reports without having to write some custom reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2020
Tamás S.
Software Test Automation Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020

"JIRA review"

Comments: We are using it to manage stories and bugs for software development projects at my company.

Pros: If once you correctly set your project in it, then it is very useful to handle it's stories and bugs. There are countless settings, properties and plugins.

Cons: It is not always user friendly. Some properties are hidden if you don't have right to change them, so it's hard to figure out whether you don't have right for something, or it's just hard to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020
Stever jose G.
PMO
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"Control of hours management for services and projects"

Comments: Have a better control of the hours of each project to measure profitability
Have a clear picture of the hours executed by the collaborators, facilitating decision making when mapping a person in other activities.
Facilitate the online client that can see the progress of their requests
The power of the reports is very good
It has an integration with Power BI that we have not exploited yet but it will be the next steps.

Pros: Have an organization in the projects and services provided by the company to measure the profitability of them.
The reports modules to measure the speed of the work teams.
Have a detailed control by activity for the consumption of project hours
For cases of customer service, the power to share the information online and live consumption of hours and progress of the tickets generated to solve events.
The customization of fields to adapt them to the functionalities and requirements of the company.
The ease of creating reports based on the declared queries.
Make a general dashboard for the whole team and that the management line can edit, customize and share specific dashboards with different metrics.
The integration that you have with Project Server and Project Server Online of 365 facilitates the administration of projects and the record of hours per activity is reflected in both platforms by the time sheet

Cons: The addon to integrate project Server Online asks to deactivate the module of hours and in my current case is basically the corde of use. so we were willing to sacrifice integration hoping to have a response from the manufacturer that we can do to integrate Project Server Online. If there are several admins and use different languages when one of them creates the types, subtypes or queries, the other user gets complicated when palicarlo because they are created in another language. example task - tarea

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
Sreekumar J.
Co-Founder
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018

"The best way to synchronise requirements, roadmap, agile roadmap, scrum, reporting and much more in a single solution"

Pros: I have been working in information technology field for more than twelve years. For a long period, I was a big fan of Bugzilla. However in my previous company, when we have migrated to Atlassian Jira, it was a very difference experience. When the entire organization moved more in to agile, the product also changed priorities around understanding customers' problems. The migration was tough as we were not in a position to ignore the requirements from our users. The import functionality helped us a lot and thanks to our engineering team to put huge effort in doing research on Jira. I love the way information is organized across, projects, boards with decent agile reporting capabilities. Being in product management, I have enjoyed the flow of user stories, backlog review, estimation, roadmap and Atlassian Jira's functionality to customize workflow. The transparency which Jira brings to the product management team is a big plus. What we are working on, what is going to come next and when, what is in the pipeline are a big relief to any customer facing product development organization. Another beauty is the categorization of user stories and epics, which helps the product owners to start filtration of issues at the entry level itself. The knowledge handover from product team to other teams collaborating for product success ( Eg:- CS, Marketing) became seamless with Jira. The dashboards are great for monitoring purpose. Finding Jira, an effective and comprehensive solution to ensure that every action in a user story is accounted and traceable across the product life cycle without loosing the goal of delivering iterative and incremental value to customers, as fast as possible.

Cons: I like learning new things. Jira require good learning and is not a very light tool. The user interface act a bit confusing sometime. Setup, project/workflow creation, user management etc. are tough tasks and require brains from Dev ops with good knowledge of agile practices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Scrum Master
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018

"JIRA usage for Agile projects"

Comments: Currently, my organization is moving from waterfall model to Agile model (hybrid), JIRA has helped a lot to standardize the reporting of granular project details to be reported as a consolidated approach as to how the sprints within a project are moving forward. JIRA has given the transparent view of how the projects/sprints for a product is moving forward and managing the interdependencies within a project.

Pros: - Manage multiple projects under one project in JIRA and works well for a complete program
- Email notification when any changes made in JIRA makes collaboration efficient
- JIRA board (Scrum Board) in JIRA and defining specific project JQL to filter the issues in JIRA makes it more user friendly for scrum masters who are managing multiple scrum teams in a program
- Automated dashboard creation and ability to create different charts makes it very easy for showing management rpeorting on different scrum teams progress in a sprint
- Sprint and version reports (out of the box) which provides burn down charts and which issues are lying in one state for more than a specific period of time helps scrum team to move forward and resolves impending issues
- Ability to link issues for dependency and flexibility to define SDLC life cycle for an issue on a board makes it very handy on any type of project

Cons: - No single view is available to see clearly how dependencies are moving forward
- There are times when single issue has to be given to multiple people like in pair programming one way is to create sub task but that is not an approach that was liked by scrum teams
- There macros / gadgets that comes with the JIRA product are very minimum they should add more gadgest for reporting purpose.
- Yes, there are different third party gadgets but sometimes those are not JIRA / atlassian recognized and for enterprise application and corporates using JIRA does not go ahead to deploy those third part gadgets on the server model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018

"A very powerful task tracking system"

Comments: JIRA is easy to use and great for managing work tasks on a project, however customization options are often only available to admins.

Pros: Our company uses JIRA to manage work tasks. It has all the important features for assigning work to team members, tracking how long each task takes, notifications, capturing comments and hours worked. The tools allows for the flexibility to create your own JIRA ticket types or categories, with any kind of number of input fields. Data fields may be dropdown boxes, tags, values, or free text. Fields inherently have the ability to recognize hyperlinks and add those in once you type out a link, and it also recognizes JIRA links, such that if you enter a JIRA ID tag, it automatically creates a hyperlink to that JIRA entry. JIRA supports Agile development schemes and tickets could be easily tracked through a JIRA Dashboard. JIRA filters are also easy to use. You may use the basic query that provides you with simple dropdown fields for common elements, or you can create more advanced queries using JQL.

Cons: Being a JIRA user can be limiting as you only have the ability to enter data for the fields that are currently configured. You have to go through IT or the admins for any form of customization such as adding/removing/hiding fields, setting what kind of text format is in each field (e.g. plain text vs rich text) and modifying which fields are required vs optional. When you have rich text formatting, sometimes it can be frustrating getting the text to show up the way you want. The workaround for this would be to use the Text tab instead of the Visual tab so that you can modify the formatting tags.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Ajesh G.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2019

"Finest application for the Agile software lifecycle"

Comments: I use JIRA in all the Agile software development for classification and bug tracking for every user with Dashboards. I am satisfied with the JIRA features but I think JIRA needs to provide more integration towards CICD tools so that user can get more idea about the bug tracking.

Pros: Easy to create Agile dashboards to track bugs in different development life cycle. We can also extract informations regarding the user specific tickets created and worked for any period of time. Also we can attache documents to gives an entire idea about the the bugs and time tracker in comment section provides how much time it takes to fix the bugs. In the software industry JIRA is one of the widely used Bug tracking platform. The idea of classification of tickets like EPIC,Task are very useful to identify the work load needed for that ticket.

Cons: Need exact date and time of the ticket creation and comments when the ticket gets older, right now it describes like the ticket is "created more two weeks ago". JIRA also needs to integration with CICD tools for more information regarding the bug tracking and fixing. JIRA should provide a dashboard for each user how much time he worked on a ticket to track the overall work time and also it will be very easy for the Administrator also.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2019
Mikael S.
Head of Product
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019

"The best tool for a product manager"

Comments: My experience has been great with JIRA and I have setup the product in my last two organizations. In my current role, the entire company has moved all their projects to JIRA. Despite some pesky UI bugs here and there, JIRA does everything that I need and has become a critical piece of my day-to-day work. It's never easy to build a product for product people, but JIRA has found a way to do most of what I need. I only wish the business would invest a bit more effort into their support team, but since many companies are already using JIRA, the internet has become a great substitute.

Pros: JIRA gives me so much functionality out of the box. Within five minutes, I can create a board and invite my whole team to start working with me. It doesn't take long to customize your presentation of work to make it specific to your business. It has become the standard for the industry and with good reason; JIRA gives me everything that I need to track performance and ensure a timely release.

Cons: There are occasionally some annoying bugs that will present themselves, but it's never something that really prevents me from using the product effectively; usually it's an annoying UI bug that looks messy or ugly. For the most part, many of the people that complain about the product just don't know how to use it 'as is out of the box'. The more configurations you try to make, the more problems you can create for yourself. Aside from this, their customer service is quite lackluster and it often takes days if not weeks to hear back from support - usually the bugs are fixed before you even get a response.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019
Prathamesh M.
Team Lead Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2019

"Sophisticated and efficient project management tool"

Comments: Overall, Jira is a highly agile and effective for multi tasking and multi team project management. For large scale Agile Scrum, Kanban, and Hybrid Agile, Jira is the perfect fit for efficient project management. Training and good support can lead to better understnding for Jira users. A project can be managed efficiently using Jira.

Pros: Jira is an excellent project management tool. It is the best option for bug tracking and agile project management. Multiple teams can use Jira at the same time leading to a lot of integrations. Teams including product strategy, product design, and product development can collaborate together leading to improvement in project. Each team can track their individual milestones, deliverables, and tasks using the filter and search functionality. If you are using an Agile Scrum framework, your daily standup meetings are well supported by using custom views. You can create your own custom views to discuss only the relevant issues of the tasks. This feature is time saving and efficient for a daily ten minutes standup. The other new features that make Jira a must buy are due dates notification, assignment allocation, labels, assigning priority levels to tasks, and developing epic links which displays the user story and the project progress. For Kanban framework users, Jira provides Kanban boards where you can turn on and off features that you want to display or hide from other members. Jira provides high flexibility with features that maintain the tasks and deliverable backlogs and these features are applicable to different frameworks. Sprint planning, releasing sprint, and organizing history is very organized in Jira. It can be used for any type of project management. Customer support is available for Jira, which is very helpful.

Cons: Jira has deficiencies on micro level. For a particular task, if you are maintaining the workflow, it is hard to customize the columns. Jira always displays all columns on a single view, more like a static view without scrolling. This leads to columns being smaller in width with smaller font size text, which sometimes become hard to read. Unavailability of scrolling leads to column being fit in a single screen browser. Pricing is also an issue. Jira is expensive and fits very well in the budget of big enterprises, but many for small sized firms it is a hard pass. Also, limited user excess to Jira makes it challenging to most small size companies. There is a trade off between ease of use and efficiencies. User has to have good knowledge of Jira navigation and customization before he can make the project management efficient. Customer support is helpful, but comes at an added price. Overall, customization, ease of use, and price are the biggest drawback for Jira right now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Head of IT Division
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2019

"Indispensable application...but setup is not for the non-tech savvy"

Comments: When our internal IT Help Desk went down, we were in a bind. We needed something that we could get up and running with very little trouble and start getting help tickets going again. Despite there being a negative view of JIRA due to previous setup by non-technical users (who deemed it too complex); when the Help Desk was designed and implemented by the IT Team, there was very little talk of complication and more talk of how much better things were than the previous Help Desk. We did integrations with third-party collaboration tools and generated workflows and custom forms that made JIRA one of the best additions to our IT toolkit!

Pros: I love the quick and easy setup of JIRA spaces and it's integration with other Atlassian products. There are also a lot of third-party integrations to help fill-in the gaps.

Cons: JIRA is a beast. Plain and simple. Actually that's just it...it's not plain and simple. You have to have a good grasp of what you want from it to make sure you get what you really need. It is not friendly for the non-technical user looking to create a workspace.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2019
Jonathan E.
Helpdesk Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/12/2019

"Jira for IT Project Management and Integrated Project Teams"

Comments: I still love Jira for the flexibility, I use Jira Software to manage integrated project teams and internal IT projects and helpdesk. It is great to have basically a one stop shop for managing tasks and tickets across a variety of projects and departments. The biggest thing truly is entering in your information and that comes down to managing your teams and setting expectations on ticket information quality.

Pros: Flexibility in workflows and tracking separate projects and sub-projects in the same system. Ease of creating multiple tickets as well as placing them into different projects without having to be in the projects portal. Creating reports to review metrics is relatively easy, it was useful in an integrated project to review estimated times reported in previous sprints to project development times for other projects. The flexibility of how tickets look and editable fields as well as workflows to tailor to the team and/or project being worked on.

Cons: The bad part of Jira's flexibility is that settings are all over the place and you typically need to refer to Jira's knowledge base on how to configure custom settings whether it is for fields inside of tickets, workflow settings and automations, and many other settings. The standard Jira end user interface is not exactly user friendly and some things may not make sense depending on the team using it such as a ticket being in a closed state however the resolution state has separate "states" such as do, don't do which is more used by software development teams. Jira typically requires a lot of customization when setting up new projects either for project managers, agile software development teams, or integrated project teams. As an administrator this can be difficult to convey to my end users who want to track their projects in Jira. This is where you need to have great communication with your end users to be able to setup and tailor the Jira project to their needs and improve the overall Jira experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
CTO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2020

"A giant of software development"

Comments: We've been using using Jira since the begining of the company about 5 years ago and we are happy with it. Their integrations with bitbucket and other atlassian software is also a plus for us. It delivers almost everything a software company needs to develop projects, and you can find almost everything else in their marketplace.
However we are likely going to change software soon due to their pricing jump after the "startup" tier.

Pros: Jira is an incredibly large and flexible tool to the point that you can virtually have any kind of project - software or not - managed inside it. But though it is large, it is also relatively simple to being with and can accommodate simple workflows even for smaller teams, with some neat ready-to-go templates.
But its abiity to grow into a platform that can support a large corporation is amazing. Scalability is definitely their main power.
Jira also bennefits from a very large marketplace of plugins that can bring more functionality and fit the granular specificities of each company or project.
It also has a very cheap pricing for smaller teams.

Cons: Some basic functionality if just not there, which is rather unbelievable considering the size of this tool. For example easily planning a sprint, doing capacity tracking or even moving or changing issues can be very difficult and you may need to resort to plugins in their marketplace (with their own pricing).
Some of the more advanced functionality (like workflows) is a bit complex and confusing and requires quite a bit of studying.
Their pricing after the first tier (for startups) is just unbelievably expensive. It's a jump from $10 to $1000 when you add your 11th team member. Because of this we will sadly not keep using the software after that threshold.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2020
Sandeep S.
Build and Release Engineer
Computer Networking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021

"Perfect tool for large scale and small scale projects workflows"

Comments: Great experience working with this tool and transforming the business workflows. Its valuable tool for any organization for managing all the business workflows.

Pros: Jira is the great tool when comes to administratering the custom workflows. We were able to define and automate most of the workflows tasks thus reducing lots repetitive manual efforts. As an administration, we have so much of knowledge base available from Attlassian. Out of the box, we get generic yet useful workflows and features which can onboard most of the software and agile projects instantly.

Cons: Able to import and export workflows from one instance to another Jira instance is missing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021
Eric B.
Chief Product Officer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2021

"JIRA is essential for good software development but you NEED to invest in configuration"

Comments: I love JIRA because I am an organizer and I spend the time getting it right. But you need that kind of commitment for the best experience.

Pros: The powerhouse controls that allow you to configure exactly the solution you need. JIRA is unmatched in customization. For controlling workflows, getting status updates and clearly understanding what's on your plate, JIRA is amazing.

Cons: The use of JIRA without properly configuring it. Without that commitment, JIRA can be offputting and seem like a heavy mess of a system. You need to remove what you don't use, need to set everything up for individuals and you need to educate your team about how they can use the system. It's so open that it can overwhelm people without management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2021

"Jira - you might not want to use it, but it has all the features you will ever need!"

Comments: Jira is all about customization and making it work for your own workflow.

Pros: Jira can be customized to fit almost any workflow imaginable, whether it be a very simple Kanban board or very restricted and complicated workflows with approvals and automations. If you learn it well you can make it work in almost any organization - which is a skill you can use between jobs!

Cons: Jira isn't very intuitive to use and setup when you first start using it. They are making a conscious effort to simplify it with the new next-gen projects, which does help, but the UI is often slow and requires waiting between screens loading too often, which can be annoying at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2021
Melissa C.
Director Test Services
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2021

"Jira integrator is helpful to leverage task data across critical apps"

Comments: The consistency that Jira lends across teams during adoption is extremely useful. We are able to leverage project details and be flexible on how the project workflows are defined. Again, the ability to use the SmartSheet integrator without making too many changes to our overall process was the biggest sell.

Pros: Jira is being adopted by more Development Teams within our organization and now we are able to use the SmartSheet integrator to report project metrics. This tool allows us to sync our task status to one or more sheets to manage separate deliverables as well as projects. It limits the need for Teams to report data in multiple applications.

Cons: While the integrator is useful, we cannot edit or view the details for workflows created by others. The integrator(s) have not worked well with Confluence, but that may be a training issue. I would also like to use the API if possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2021
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2021

"Just Jira It"

Comments: It's a great software to use and would recommend it all day every day.

Pros: It's arguably the best software I've used for project management in my team, it's quite efficient, has some cool features like linking your tasks to a git branch repository, it's generally a cool software to use in an agile team.

Cons: It can sometime be complex navigating around and may need some getting used to. Sometimes needs refreshes in order to check for latest changes in a sprint or during a backlog grooming session.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2021
Verified Reviewer
Sr Security Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2021

"Used everywhere, can build to fit your needs"

Comments: I've used this a couple different places and it seems like each place uses it differently. At my currently company, we use this for our projects that our teams do to track our work. I leverage it for communication, adding working notes and references to technical docs so if someone takes over my cards, they have all the information they might need to do it.

Pros: Good collaboration and what to track progress and blockers for various teams and background. Most of it is for technology teams, but can be used as non-tech projects.

Cons: It does have a fairly big learning curve and understanding some of the various work types can be discouraging (Epic, Story, Task, Bug, etc). It's worth learning and consistently using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2021
Matthew R.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2021

"You've got to try this."

Comments: I really think these guys "live and breathe" this stuff. No, I dont work for them and they're not paying me - in fact this review is free, and I'm happy to give it to these folks. Not only is it a great product, if you need their support, you'll quickly see they very much enjoy helping their customers out and they are true believers in this software's abilities - and they are RIGHT.

Pros: Seriously, where do i begin on this one? Project management? Help desk? This system makes it look easy. If they haven't thought of it, dont worry - they have a marketplace with add-ons by independent developers .. you're going to solve your project management / help-desk / ticketing / stuffyouhaventeventhoughtof problems with this one.

Cons: There are so many features, so much to try out that at first, it can be a bit of an overload. Just stay focused, start simple, and grow into the more advanced features and add-ons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2021
Yaroslav K.
Information Technology Major
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"More then you will ever need / Tool to handle thousands of problems one by one"

Pros: *Functionality The best feature of Jira is a huge number of integrations, massive amount of possibilities, statistics and tricks that you can you inside the platform.
There is an integrated tracking, kanbans, lists, sorting direct contact with chat (stride) and feature to work with git right from every task or issue.
* New UI Recently Jira got an update, a new chat (Stride, instead of Hipchat) and a new UI for the tasks. I can see that company goes in the right direction to adopt all of it's powers. *Customization Jira, being confusing at first hides a lot of it's features inside most of which you can change and adjust to your business needs. It is a great solution for a big corporation with dozens of departments, hundreds of employees and thousands of issues and tasks daily. However, in all other cases Jira can be a nightmare at this point.

Cons: *Slow Out off all CRM platforms and tools to handle tasks and issues Jira is the slowest by far. Is it initial problem or has it appeared after adopting so many technologies under one roof - I can't be sure. But one thing is clear - Jira is awfully slow. *To many features Yes, it is a disadvantage when it comes to Jira. When a new customer comes to Jira I believe, he is most definitely confused. Especially, if he/she tried ANYTHING else before. Of course, I see that company does a lot to make it easier and more comfortable, but as it is now, Jira is a terrible solution for fast adoption, scary for a small or middle sized team and most definitely not a great choice for personal use. Jira is Huge. If you are huge - great features, customizing, different apps and plugins will help you solve a lot with Jira. If you are just starting or don't have that many tasks and issues and people in your company - you should probable check other options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Darian P.
Team Lead of Internal Tools
Insurance, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2021

"Review for Jira as a developer"

Comments: We moved our IT department to start using Jira for the teams that work in development. We have not yet moved our Helpdesk or "system uptime" teams over since we are still looking at what product works best. So with the smaller team, I believe it has helped in keeping our tickets in order. It is simple to see what is currently being worked on in each project. We do not have the highest plan so we do not have all features, but I think our current feature set is large with room to evolve.

Pros: Jira is excellent at keeping track of our issues and linking between them on a kanban board. It was our introduction to a Kanban system of tickets. There are also many features we see ourselves using that we are on the verge of delving into, allowing us to focus on the tickets now but expand in the near future. I like that tickets are easily linked to each other. Our previous system made it difficult to know which tickets were related, while Jira has several options for relating tickets (related to, duplicates, blocked / blocks/ etc)

Cons: I think the price can get high depending on how big your team is. We were just over the free limit which becomes a large cost, especially once you include subscriptions to confluence etc. I think the load times and UI can get buggy at times, there are multiple times a day I have to click through menus several times for it to register. This is by far the most frustrating thing, especially when you have many tickets on a page. One issue we had was that our current ticket system allows us to CC users onto tickets so they (+ anyone else we add) can get an update. This was not possible through regular Jira, however something similar could be done with effort on the Jira Service Management side.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2021