15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Jira

Trusted by teams of 2 to 20,000 to plan, track, and collaborate on work, Jira offers every team the top tools and practices for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Pros:

It’s ease of use to set up different help desks or ticket requests was fairly easy. Each help desk can be unique to the department it serves.

Cons:

It can be costly and there are nasty sides on the licensing. For example, you can't use plugins for a limited number of users, and only pay for that the number of users.

Jira ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Jira has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 14,240 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jira before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14,240)

Tej
Tej
DevOps Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Jira the scm management

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I have used Jira for Project, Task, Integration, CI/CD Management. I connect Jira with Azure DevOps to use azure board, pipelines, repos, test. I found it is full fill all my requirements like restriction on user for some project , only some setting allow to developer and it's Boards which make me happy with all required tag in it.

Pros:

The user interface is the best which I like, we can customize it according to our needs. We can create customer Tasks like Epic, feature, etc. Integrety with another tool which makes Jira more special, we can connect it with like MS Teams, Azure DevOps, Etc... It Provides various extensions and other 3rd party tools that help in migration from other SCM tools like monday.com, azure boards, slack, etc It also provides a Dashboard so we can see all project reports at a single point which makes this fabulous.

Cons:

Cost is a barrier for the startup/ small size company like 10 to 20 members in an organization, it could be free for them. Some Other tools are for the same like the Azure Board which is free for 5 people in the organization. Its migration/sync was not easy and free with other tools like.. migration from Azure board to Jira take time to understand the process. There are lots of extension / 3rd party tools available that are not free and charging costs are high. Sync will automatically affect after 180 seconds of update in Azure board which is not good, or we can refresh manually by refresh button which is inconvenient.

Meelis
IT support in Estonia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira helpful tool to track and manage your projects.

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Jira is a great tool that helps you to track and manage different projects within your organization. I am also fond of the time tracking and project management features that offer a wide range of possibilities for the beginners and savvy users.

Cons:

Setting up your first project and workflow may be a little difficult at the beginning, but luckily Atlassian has made it as easy as possible. Also migrating from hosted to cloud instance may be a quite a headache if done incorrectly, so definitely it would be great to understand your company needs for the long run and then decide how you implement your Jira!

Alternatives Considered: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Because Jira was already understandable and everyone knew how to work with Jira.

Lucien
VP of GTM in France
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is very hard to use with new age project management tools

3.0 last month New

Comments: Jira is a tool that drastically needs to redesign in order to stay relevant. As a fast growing agile startup, choose ClickUp.

Pros:

Jira provides a unique edge given it also owns and provides confluence which is a fantastic documentation tool. Jira also has a good sprints feature with important and easy to view visualisations like burn down charts.

Cons:

Jira is so unusable and clunky it is a very frustrating platform for people who want to work fast. Once you've used Notion, ClickUp or Asana there is no going back. Previously, technical teams would favour Jira due to it's superior integrations but the other companies have caught up providing a beautifully seamless and powerful UX/UI. Once we consolidate multiple instances after M&A we will be moving away from Jira.

Faz
Faz
Head of Product in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Capital Markets, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Brickflow Loves Jira

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Jira rocks for Brickflow because it keeps things organized with boards and to-do lists, but also makes working together a breeze. Everyone can see how projects are coming along and stay on the same page, which is pretty sweet.

Cons:

Jira can be a double-edged sword. While it excels at organization with boards and to-do lists, setting things up can feel like navigating a labyrinth. Collaboration features are limited, so forget chatting with teammates directly within the app. For non-technical teams, Jira's robust features might be overkill compared to simpler tools.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Jira worked better with tech teams and we are a tech company primarily

Switched From: Asana

Chinmay
Data science engineer in India
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jira review - excellent tool for Project and Sprint planning

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: The Jira app is an exceptional tool for project management, particularly suited for agile development teams. Its comprehensive features, robust performance, and high level of customization make it a valuable asset for managing complex projects and enhancing team collaboration. While it may have a learning curve, the investment in time and effort is well worth it for the productivity gains and streamlined workflows it offers. Overall, Jira stands out as a premier project management solution that can adapt to the needs of diverse teams and projects, making it a highly recommended tool for organizations looking to optimize their project management processes.

Pros:

Comprehensive project management and issue tracking features. High level of customization. Strong integration with other tools and platforms. Excellent reporting and analytics capabilities. Effective collaboration tools.

Cons:

Steep learning curve for new users. Can be overwhelming due to the abundance of features. Performance can be slow with large projects or extensive customizations.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jira: Efficient tool for Project & Team Management

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall expwriwncw with Jira is excellent and positive. Once I leaened how it worked, I found it the beat tool for project management I was able to create detailed tasks, customize them, visualize them and updated their status as the work progressed.

Pros:

It helps projects and teams stay organized. Teams can easily track the task progress. Tickets can be easily created for tasks and bugs. Also they can be very effectively visualized on boards. You can have cuatomizationa to your tasks adding descriptions, start dates, due dates, priority, labels, comments and many more.

Cons:

As such Jira doesn't have a feature which I didn't liked, but when you start as a beginner it seems a bit complicated to learn but eventually when you know how to use it, it's the best tool for project management.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Projects

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira is better for complex projects and have more customization abilities when compared to Zoho. Also for bigger teams Jira is more efficient.

Abhishek
Software in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Jira agile project management tool

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: The platform's complexity and learning curve can be challenging for some users. It's essential to consider specific business needs and team dynamics when evaluating Jira's suitability for a particular use case.

Pros:

Jira for its robust project management capabilities, issue tracking, customizable workflows, and seamless integration with other tools commonly used in software development and project management. Jira's flexibility and ability to adapt to different team structures and project requirements are also commonly cited as positives.

Cons:

Common criticisms include a relatively steep learning curve for new users, complex configuration options that may be overwhelming, and potential performance issues with large-scale implementations.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Advanced Issue Tracking: Jira is known for its robust issue tracking capabilities, making it suitable for software development teams and complex project structures that require detailed issue management and workflows. Customizability: Jira offers extensive customization options, allowing teams to tailor workflows, fields, and permissions to fit their specific project management requirements, which can be particularly beneficial for larger and more complex projects.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good tool for tracking you tasks

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I can create task for myself and for my colleague, assign it to them. Great tool for tracking my work, planning it. You can create subtasks to issue/story for even more detailed tracking.

Cons:

It is a very robust tool. For now I think I use only a small part of it. From the beginning it was a little difficult to learnn how to use, but that is something you can say about any tool.

Danielle
Danielle
Graphic Production Artist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Helpful for task management and tracking

4.0 last month New

Comments: Working in Jira has been generally a positive experience and there was a fairly shallow learning curve - though we had onsite training, which was helpful. I like the mobile features and being able to see/make updates on the go.

Pros:

Customizable forms improved intake of repeatable requests by making them more easily trackable and identifiable Easy to add media Good at-a-glance interface to see your tasks and assign priority levels to each Able to add "owner-only" notes that aren't customer facing

Cons:

It's a bit clunky interfacing with Outlook and if a team member has not been manually added, even if tagged in the work order, they will not be notified of activity.

Rajesh
VP - Products in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Agile Project Management Software

4.0 last month New

Comments: Its helped our organization to get better visibility on what we do and also helps us to view and get metrics of utilization to plan our resources and tasks better

Pros:

Dashboards, Search, Ability to link with google drive, custom fields

Cons:

Permission management is a big pain. It is very complicated

Cristian
Cristian
Sr Software Development Manager in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira for bug tracking and project management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I highly recommend Jira for a bug tracking tool and especially for Agile software teams. For us it has really made a difference in terms of: team collaboration, Agile methodology adoption, decreased time to market of new projects/new features and on the overall teams' spirit. We have seen a wide adoption for the other departments as well, non software development.

Pros:

We used several bug tracking tools in the past but Jira is by far the best one. What I like most: - user friendly interface, provides a nice user experience - Agile SCRUM/Kanban support out of the box - extremely configurable on almost everything - extendable through custom scripting, either built-in or via addons - very collaborative - there are thousands of addons in the marketplace; you can even write your own

Cons:

Being so flexible to be configured, the learning curve for admins is a little steep. The price is based on the number of users and if you experience wide user adoption in a big company, you end up in paying more for upgrading to the next tier, than if you would pay for that tier first time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros:

1) Releases/Versions: Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team. 2) Parallel Sprints: Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously. 3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons:

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

Alternatives Considered: GitHub , Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA is complete suite for base requirements for development. If you are using Bitbucket for holding your repos then it makes the most sense as well. Atlassian has done a great job with a niche market of software in mind and even though it may seem like an overkill to use it for projects outside the engineering, it is still the best choice for engineering.

Jack
Managing Partner in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

First class service desk offering

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have used this product from the very day we christened our service desk. It has evolved into an enterprise-class, feature-rich ticketing system that we have integrated with several external directories for our customers. So far, we haven't found a requested feature that we couldn't implement easily in Jira and the value proposition is strong. We recently migrated from an on-prem solution to one of their cloud offerings, mostly for ease of customer access, and have been thoroughly pleased.

Pros:

Of course there's a little confirmational bias in any review of a product already acquired, but implementing it really was a thoughtful decision. Over the last few years, this product has really matured. When we started with it as an immature FOSS offering, it wasn't really enterprise-class. We were motivated by cost initially, but Atlassian has really grown it. Now with external directory integration, tiered hosting offerings, MSP-level features, and significant customization available, I can't think of another product that beats the value proposition. My most favorite feature? The return on investment. We use this to manage service desk interactions with more than 25 MSP clients, and have never been let down. It costs us less than weekly staff meeting pizza to operate and integration with other Atlassian products is superb.

Cons:

Much of the branding customizations fall flat. Inability to resize or edit logos, the prominently featured plugs for Atlassian throughout the UI, and clunky DNS-tricks requires to redirect customer portal URLs to MSP's domain.

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus , SolarWinds Service Desk and ServiceNow Problem Management

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Cost versus features and ease of implementation

Feyisayo
Freelancer in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Team Project Collaboration is easy with JIRA by atlassian

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My JIRA by atlassian experience has been good. It makes our project management great.

Pros:

1. As a member of a Scrum team, I use JIRA by atlassian everyday and it makes it easy to collaborate. 2. JIRA by atlassian makes team collaboration easy especially when we are working on a common project. 3. One more think I like about JIRA is that it makes tracking my team's work flow easy like ABC 4. JIRA by atlassian is affordable compared to competitors in the same industry.

Cons:

The customer support is not very responsive. I wish they would improve their customer support services.

Alternatives Considered: Workzone

Reasons for Choosing Jira: StoriesonBoard is expensive compared to JIRA by atlassian.

Switched From: StoriesOnBoard

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA by atlassian is cheaper and more reach with features.

Victor
Founder in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All in one

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have some larger projects for which Jira is a perfect fit. Once you are set up everything works smoothly. I would recommend this tool for any long-term product development but only if you are willing to put effort into it. It is not a one-click set-and-forget solution but can work wonders for larger projects in the long run. For an average team, I would consider 2 months the break-even point for time spent and time saved.

Pros:

If you are looking for a management system that is good enough to cover all your needs then Jira and the Atlassian portfolio is exactly what you are looking for. Every aspect of your workflow is infinitely customizable and perfectly integrated with their entire suite of software development tools. Once your setup is complete everything is easy and automatic for your team. The potential for boosted productivity is huge.

Cons:

All the updates can be overwhelming. Great updates can provide users with additional features without affecting present ones but some updates are breaking and requiring you to find the relocated setting in order to configure what you want. That is adding to the already high cost of setting up a new project. If you have someone dedicated to administration then the rest of the team will have a great experience. This is a very powerful tool and that means it will take time to learn and properly manage it.

Alternatives Considered: Basecamp , monday.com , Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira: We simply outgrew Trello. If you require an easy and quick-to-set-up solution that will get you started within the hour then Trello is for you. Jira is the natural next step with easy migration and a similar workflow. It takes more time to set up so the question is whether you need the additional features. The only thing I am missing from Trello so far is the smooth keyboard shortcuts.

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira: I was already invested in other Atlassian projects like Trello and Bitbucket. Better integration with Bitbucket was the deciding factor. The overall more developer-focused image and development tools available also contributed to the decision.

PRAVEEN
DevOps Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira : Collaboration of multiple people on same platform

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Jira is an extremely useful product to work with a very large team and many project at the same time. Jira supports Agile and Kanban both the types of project management strategies.

Pros:

It's a very powerful tool. It provides many advanced features to collaborate with people. We can easily tracks things on Jira through our mobile devises and other gadgets. It helps us to plan the projects with tasks and sub-tasks.

Cons:

It is an expensive software compared to other open source software. I have worked with many software Jira is one of the most expensive product that we have used in our projects.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Sales Cloud , Asana and HubSpot CRM

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Salesforce was not suitable for our requirement and the type of business that we are doing. So, we have shifted to Jira and it's a very important decision for us to collaborate our exciting team.

Switched From: Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira is developer friendly, easy to work with, easy to collaborate with multiple people on the same task, have features to same attachments and issue tracking with notifications is very helpful to complete tasks on time.

Sudhir
Chief Engineer in Germany
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

Pros:

I find this software to be very versatile and useful. It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals. It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well. It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload. I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

Cons:

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Alternatives Considered: Bugzilla

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA is quite easy to migrate. Easy to train and educate the team in fastest time possible. Easy to handle the administrative tasks and correct when needed.

Mattia
Mattia
Digital Marketing Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira, the eldest son of the Atlassian family

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive experience and without any bugs. this has always favored teamwork which has benefited from a time consuming point of view.

Pros:

a complete and very user-friendly workflow management tool that allows you to optimize work times with a perfect management of all tasks, collaborators, project delivery times and more generally "who does what" on each single activity. Thanks to the easy connection with Trello it is possible to have a complete and easily accessible platform also from mobile for the management of team work. once discovered you will not be able to do without it because it has a free version available complete with all the features you need to manage even complex projects.

Cons:

I have been using this software for several years and I have never encountered a problem either at a technical level or at the interface with the different businesses that I have managed. Implementations are always welcome so I look forward to testing some new features that they will release in the future for now everything works great.

Alternatives Considered: Fullstory , Trello and Nylas

Reasons for Switching to Jira: It is a complete and easy to use tool in a team, especially with creatives and developers. Sometimes I integrate it with the use of other software that may already be used in agencies or private individuals.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly flexible Agile project management tool but a little complicated to use.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love using Jira as I can configure it as per my project's needs and I highly recommend this tool if your team is following 'Agile Development' process.

Pros:

I have been using Jira from last 5+ years now for Backlog management, Requirements management, Bug tracking and creating Dashboards for project review meetings with leadership. It's extremely flexible tool where you can configure your own workflows and customize it as per your project's needs. It's my go-to Agile project management tool (especially for Scrum). It's so easy to create and manage user stories, bugs, technical tasks etc. You can tag your user stories as per Epics and Features, you can also add labels to each ticket. You can track the status of any ticket and also see the bandwidth allocation of various teams. In JIRA, you can add advanced search filters to view only those user stories that has particular combination of fields (like specific assignee, status, epic name etc.). Moreover, JIRA Dashboard provides a bird's eye view of the overall project status which gives the real time visibility to you and the leadership team. The UI is very clean and simple and it makes Agile Development very productive, once you get the hang of it. Plus, it's very well integrated with many popular apps like Google workplace, workday, slack etc. But there is definitely a steep learning curve with Jira. The success of this product largely depends on how your management/leadership standardize various processes and workflows within Jira.

Cons:

Jira doesn't allow you to add multiple assignee on one user story, and this becomes a concern when multiple developers are working on one story. Also, it's hard to get support from Atlassian when you are facing some technical issues. Additionally, in my experience, I have found that as Jira provides great level of customization, it can become really messy, if multiple management styles are involved during project planning phase. The workflows can get overly complicated and as a Product Owner, you find yourself stuck in updating the ticket statuses all day long.

Benjamin
VP Operations and Technology in Canada
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced Project Management tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a software solutions company, we have numerous projects on the go and use Jira to track them. We use Scrum, and Jira matches up with the Scrum process well. We do weekly sprints where we review the backlog and add tasks to our sprint, and this process is easy with Jira and allows many options.

Pros:

Jira is a nice and powerful tool to track our projects. This includes all Epics, Stories, Tasks, Sub-tasks and bugs. It allows for many options as well, including labels, easy prioritization (drag and drop). Recently they have added features to help track milestones, so you don't need MS project anymore. There are a lot of different reports (good for clients) and numerous integrations available.

Cons:

After you get to so many users, the costs increase quite a bit. Confluence and some add-ons are also additional costs. We have also found the odd bug. For example, the wrong ticket is updated, or in the backlog view the mouse curser can no longer select rows (fixed by a refresh). Classic Projects vs. New Project is also a bit confusing. It's hard to get new features for some of our old projects, unless we recreate the Project from the start.

Alternatives Considered: Trello , Microsoft Project , Basecamp , Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We chose Jira as our team has experience using it already.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA usage for Agile projects

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Currently, my organization is moving from waterfall model to Agile model (hybrid), JIRA has helped a lot to standardize the reporting of granular project details to be reported as a consolidated approach as to how the sprints within a project are moving forward. JIRA has given the transparent view of how the projects/sprints for a product is moving forward and managing the interdependencies within a project.

Pros:

- Manage multiple projects under one project in JIRA and works well for a complete program - Email notification when any changes made in JIRA makes collaboration efficient - JIRA board (Scrum Board) in JIRA and defining specific project JQL to filter the issues in JIRA makes it more user friendly for scrum masters who are managing multiple scrum teams in a program - Automated dashboard creation and ability to create different charts makes it very easy for showing management rpeorting on different scrum teams progress in a sprint - Sprint and version reports (out of the box) which provides burn down charts and which issues are lying in one state for more than a specific period of time helps scrum team to move forward and resolves impending issues - Ability to link issues for dependency and flexibility to define SDLC life cycle for an issue on a board makes it very handy on any type of project

Cons:

- No single view is available to see clearly how dependencies are moving forward - There are times when single issue has to be given to multiple people like in pair programming one way is to create sub task but that is not an approach that was liked by scrum teams - There macros / gadgets that comes with the JIRA product are very minimum they should add more gadgest for reporting purpose. - Yes, there are different third party gadgets but sometimes those are not JIRA / atlassian recognized and for enterprise application and corporates using JIRA does not go ahead to deploy those third part gadgets on the server model.

Britt
Britt
Product Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Option for SaaS Development Management

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: After a number of years working with various tools, Jira is seemingly the best option for managing software development.

Pros:

I have used Jira at a number of SaaS companies over the past 6 years and have found it to be easy to use for the most part. It is highly customizable and easy to implement; we migrated our current process from Pivotal Tracker to Jira with relative ease. In comparison to other similar products I have used in the past, it exceeds the competition in flexibility, integration opportunities, ease of use and implementation, as well as configurability.

Cons:

I find myself running into minor bug-type issues somewhat regularly; like being unable to imbed an image in an item description at creation and only being able to do so in the edit view. Also have experienced issues with multiple users editing the same item and saving over one another's changes. Only issues have been minor that we've learned to work around.

Alternatives Considered: Redmine and Pivotal Tracker

Switched From: Redmine and Pivotal Tracker

Sibusiso
IT Technician in South Africa
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great planning tool for business processes used by agile teams

5.0 last year

Comments: Jira differentiates itself from competing project management software by providing robust capabilities like issue tracking, project planning, and workflow customization. It is also very adaptable, enabling teams to customize their workflow to meet their unique requirements.

Pros:

It comes with a ton of functionality by default. It contains several levels (Teams, Projects) that may support the structure of the entire business, creating just the correct amount of separation while also allowing for the proper linkages between the various teams inside the business. May be easily integrated with the entire Atlassian ecosystem (Bitbucket, Confluence), and I highly encourage doing so because you'll have a ton of places to store any piece of your project (code, backlog, sprints, documentation). It provides you with all the tools you need to manage any Scrum or Canvas team, albeit I must stress that you will benefit more from adopting Scrum. It makes for incredibly inventive automatic build ticket systems and is simple to incorporate via code.

Cons:

It's expensive and difficult to say whether it's the best tool for tiny independent teams when there are many free choices available that can manage numerous users. That is in fact the best option for businesses, but for low-budget teams, it's definitely safer to use a free alternative with no membership cap.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira: I adore how straightforward the program is.

Jonathan
Jonathan
Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good features let down by a difficult hard to use UX

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Integrates well with other tools including slack and visual studio online

Pros:

We moved to JIRA from Visual Studio online because it supported Kanban better than Visual Studio Online at the time. On the plus side, it integrates brilliantly with Slack our team communication tool of choice. You can tag stories, create reports and link to tasks easily and very efficiently with the tags displaying in Slack conversations as JIRA links. Working with Visual Studio Git we tag all of our stories with the JIRA story numbers and they link together very efficiently. Confluence is included which is a Sharepoint equivalent. This allows you to create knowledge bases of information about your projects which you can use to document your product. You can easily embed reports into this using tags or the query tools. There are a great set of features and this tool integrates well with other systems

Cons:

The UX changes on a fairly frequent basis and from experience not in a good way. It is still quite difficult after a year of using it to remember where things are because the controls are not as intuitive as they should be. There are a number of bugs with how the UI displays (particularly in swimlane kanban mode) and although it has fault reporting options, you don't feel that any changes you suggest or bugs you report are used. Confluence often feels like a poor persons version of sharepoint (which is not a recommendation) as it feels clunky creating pages, sections or defining navigation. The query tools are a bit like sql and partially fill in with suggestions but can be fiddly for the BA to create. This is a tool I would really like to recommend given how trendy it is but sadly after a year using I can't because whilst it's features are excellent it lacks ease of use.

Anita
Project Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A project manager’s dream

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A very strong tool for development projects, which covers so much more than just project management. Thanks to Jira, you can track issues over the whole development life cycle. Entire project layout is possible with infinite iterations, including planning and backlogs. The variety of collaboration tools involved (like comments) is unmatched by all other tools I’ve used. The project progress is easily tracked, plus you can track then across releases. Jira offers full reports on both progress and performance.

Pros:

One of the best features I’ve found in Jira is the Workflow editor – I’ve never seen anything like it despite my extensive experience. Some people would say it’s not even that important, however, for growing businesses it’s something you can’t do without. Lots of task tracking is needed all at once, as you can never predict what necessities will arise in a growing company. Jira provides great help with all these issues. Sprints can be structured across multiple tandem-working teams, taking into account their wishes and preferences – either for traditional setups or for newer ones.

Cons:

Honestly, one thing that was really off-putting for me was the impressively complex layout. The project list is simply huge, and you have to take some time to grasp the navigation and search features. Perhaps, in the next update the developer needs to add the possibility to tag or somehow categorize or classify projects more clearly to make them easily searchable. Otherwise, it takes a bit too much time. The dashboard is simple, but I don’t much like the visualization for reports. You also can’t assign tickets to several people at the same time. Only the person who created the ticket has the authorization to close it, which is quite bothersome. You can’t create columns or tables, and notes exist only for text input. I would also like to see a feature where you can generate turnaround time for ticket closure in an automatic way using reports. Plus if you have a bad Internet connection, there are issues with loading contents (sometimes the loading even stops altogether).