Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.3 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 25 reviews of 81

Verified Reviewer
Founder/ Managing Director
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2020

"Great software, but too pricey for my needs"

Comments: Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros: MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons: There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2020
Paul C.
Managing Director
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2019

"Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper"

Comments: We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros: As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons: We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2019
Sarah S.
Law Clerk
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/05/2019

"Great reconciliation and payment software"

Comments: MYOB is used for all office payments, cheques, reconciliation and staff wages. Creates a one stop shop for all things payment related!

Pros: Easy to use interface with quick access to each area of the program.

Cons: Program can be expensive and costs per computer

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/05/2019
Chris P.
Finance Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017

"good value in terms of the price"

Comments: The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Pros: easy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Cons: I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017
Pam D.
Executive Manager Finance & Administration
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018

"Small business user"

Comments: Good program for small business and very easy to fix mistakes but no audit trail

Pros: Easy to use and can have detailed accounts set up,at 4 levels
Reports are set up so easy to use out of the box
Great program in box

Cons: From an audit perspective not great as you can renter things without an audit trail
No reporting flexibility

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Electorate Officer
Legislative Office, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I would recommend it to someone say a professional bookkeeper, I found Quickbooks to be more user friendly for easy bookkeeping soultuons also finding Quickbooks a lot cheaper than MYOB.

Pros: Very detailed, Easy to add transactions.

Cons: I found the software was not very “user friendly” especially as someone who isn’t the greatest at Bookeeping, the terms (words) and navigation was very hard sometimes. I ended up switching to Quickbooks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Marcus maciej N.
Art Director
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/04/2018

"The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible"

Pros: I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons: It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/04/2018
Annie G.
Salon Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/06/2018

"Game change for my business"

Pros: This software has made my bookkeeping so much easier, faster and even more accurate. I like when they change a function, that they teach u how to use it with little instruction pop ups.

Cons: I find that the dashboard figures aren't always accurate with my bank accounts. Sometimes the layout can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/06/2018
Travis K.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2019

"Fun and simple to use for small businesses"

Pros: Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons: There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2019
Melanie F.
Retail Clerk
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2018

"Easy to use for Small Business"

Comments: I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros: Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons: There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2018
Bruce Y.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019

"Need to be dragged into the new century"

Comments: We have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.

Pros: Commonly used across small business which makes it easier to find bookkeepers who have experience in it

Cons: Needs to have a major overview from a features, functionality and user experience perspective.
Nearly no new features in 15 years.
An upgrade in technology, but delivering using out-dated tech stacks and restrictive implementation.
Not a wonder people are moving in droves to other products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2019
Glenn L.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017

"Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in."

Comments: I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.

Pros: Easy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.

Cons: Import and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Russell E.
Group Financial Controller
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2016

"Not exception but does the job"

Comments: I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees.
I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.
However the taxation reporting is very user friendly and makes very monthly reporting and payment very easy to use.
Overall, the price is very good and for the purposes of just payroll it does the job reasonably well

Pros: Taxation reporting

Cons: Customer service

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2016
Tom W.
Technical Operations Director
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2016
Frances S.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/03/2017

"Missing the mark in a few ways"

Comments: This is a very simplified online version of MYOB accounting service which is ideal for a small business with one or two contractors. You are able to have one employee on payroll, but if you have more, you need to pay additional money each month to allow for this. It is easy to navigate and does have some good features like the in-tray and linked bank accounts. I found that the cost compared to Account Right was pretty close once I added my PAYG employees to the system. I needed more complex options so I switched over.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/03/2017
Rohan M.
Director
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018

"Poor product Poor support Over priced"

Comments: Over priced, they don't care about their customers

Pros: There is nothing I like about MYOB, a product which I have used for 15 years. I'm locked in and cant move.

Cons: Every thing. Customer service is non existent and its way over priced.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018
Bruce M.
Inventory Controller
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2017

"Very Pleased"

Pros: The software is easy to use, and user friendly. It gives plenty of instructions, and it is easy to show a new user the basics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2017
Darren W.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2016
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2016
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018

"Not a choice if you plan to grow"

Pros: Cheap, easy to set up, basically does the job that you need it to do.

Cons: Once on it, you cannot graduate to Account Right Live or other products if your organisation grows. You are basically stuck on a sub standard product. App ecosystem is not robust.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Joe B.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2020

"Manual System Converted into Digital"

Comments: MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros: - Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons: - Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2020
Lee P.
Chief Financial Officer
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017

"The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information."

Comments: For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros: Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons: Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017
Matthew K.
Director
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020

"Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!"

Comments: Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros: Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons: Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020
Chris F.
Tech/manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/02/2017

"This is great accounting Software thank you"

Comments: I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros: And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons: The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/02/2017
Kate L.
Accounts Administrator
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"Accounting software to begin with"

Comments: Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros: Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons: The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Liam G.
Electrician
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018

"I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree"

Pros: I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons: What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018