Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.2 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 84 reviews

Rani R.
owner/manager
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more."

Comments: Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros: -Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories.
-Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily.
-once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons: -We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt.
-Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Daz
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2013

"Okay but . . . . ."

Comments: We have been using MYOB accounting plus for over 10 years and recently upgraded to the new Accountright 2013.
The new version is very similar to the old and this makes it relatively easy to adjust to. There was a bit of dancing converting 10 years of accounting data to the new format and eventually we got that done and away we went.
The first thing that struck us was how slow it seems in comparison to the previous software. (MYOB Accounting plus v14). Data entry is not fluid and constant delays in processing. We contacted MYOB support regarding this and "they are working on the problem" so it appears it is a common problem.
It is updated with the latest reports and payroll taxes and supposedly compliant with the ATO.
There is a greater range of reports available but still the customisation options are limited. What you see is what yo get, give or take a field or two.
The "cloud" idea is novel, but due to the speed restrictions it is of little real benefit.
Payroll is the biggest change complying with the new regulations, and taxes, but unfortunately MYOB doesn't allow upgrading of the tax tables without paying for an endless subscription which equates to approximately $800 per year.
Overall if you like the early MYOB and can handle the speed reduction then its an okay upgrade. If it wasn't for the reliance on MYOB data for the previous 10+ years and the swift talking sales rep that convinced management to upgrade, I would personally be looking at alternatives.

Pros: Compatible with earlier versions.
Interface is very similar to previous versions.

Cons: Expensive for what it is!
Slow!!!!! For small or casual use it MAY be okay, but for any real data volume, its just too slow. (Even on the latest PC)
Relies heavily on the internet (could be cause of part of the speed problem)
Limited customisation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2013
Kate W.
Office Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"Easy to use"

Comments: Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.

Pros: This program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.

Cons: You couldn't do a recurring transaction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Peter M.
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"An industry standard, needs better support"

Pros: This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons: Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Karen Z.
Director
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2017

"Mostly good"

Comments: I've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.

Pros: Fairly easy to use; robust

Cons: You have to have internet connection to use your company files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2017
Daniel T.
Surveyor
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/03/2021

"Get your act together"

Comments: works well when it does, is terrible when it doesn't with zero customer support!

Pros: Easy to use. If you have a computer, you can access everything

Cons: Glitch with reconciliation. You have to go back to the dashboard if you want to reconcile a different account (each time) have been trying to setup bank feeds for credit card for years. Have been unable to update credit card details or pay the bill for the product for 2 months. Very annoying to log into, nearly every time you have to log in two or three times before you actually log in. If you like waiting on the phone to talk to someone, only for the call to time out after 40mins or get put through to some white noise, again and again this is the company for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/03/2021
Nicola B.
Bookeeper
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/06/2018

"Very Simple and easy to use, lacking in a few areas but good for a small business just starting out"

Pros: Very easy to navigate and simple to use. Search function for invoices is good now that you can see POs.

Cons: Wish it would export data to excel!! Had to manually build a database of 300 invoices! Too easy to go back and delete stuff too which then doesn't stay on the audit trail, once it's gone it's gone! Would like to see some detail from the invoice when it searched for rather than having to go into it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/06/2018
Simon M.
Accountant
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2017

"Easy to use"

Pros: Basic Accounting functions for the new staff to use. Very good graphical user interface. icons are very clear

Cons: Poor budgeting modules when trying to incorporate different departments. Relies on internet with cloud service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2017
Denise K.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2018

"Make life easier"

Pros: I have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.

Cons: The subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2018
Steve S.
Accountant - Manager
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2019

"Good Alternative Cloud Accounting Package for the MYOB Faithful"

Pros: Cloud based and extremely speedy.
Bank feeds are easier to navigate and interpret than competitors.
Support is good.

Cons: Hard sell to clients who are aware of other market leaders in the cloud accounting space.
Practice level reporting and tools aren't up to par compared to competitors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2019
Dmitri I.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017

"Works for us"

Comments: As a small business, its got everything we need it in. The downside is that the mobile app is very limited. All you can do on it is view or create invoices and take payments, which is where it also comes in handy. We purchased PayDirect card reader for a one time payment. It doesnt have on-going chargers, like many others do, but just minimal fees for eftpos transaction and 1.95% for credit cards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017
Verified Reviewer
Investment Banking Analyst
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2018

"Does a great job with accounting SMB"

Pros: MYOB covers most things that you need in accounting and payroll software for a small business, especially in Australia

Cons: As you scale and need international reporting and accounting procedures, MYOB becomes less comprehensive as a tool

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2018
Patrick B.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2015
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2015
Adrian A.
General Manager
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/04/2021

"Don't bother"

Comments: MYOB is most definitely one of the worse companies i've ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent. Took literally months to reduce my licenses. Account manager doesn't reply to email unless you cc the general manager in.

Pros: nothing at all i liked about this product. Would not reccomend

Cons: Terrible technical support, slow and hard to understand

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/04/2021
Jason F.
Business Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019
Katrina R.
Senior Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2018

"Solid product for small business"

Comments: Has been around for a long time. Tried and tested and is a great product. Starting to price a little higher but still competitive - especially if you have employees.

Pros: Easy to use and well laid out for the end user. Is great for small operations without complex needs.

Cons: Whilst bank rules are very handy - the auto reconciling of transactions can cause problems if rule set up incorrectly. Would be great if there was an option to make bulk transaction changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2018
Nicole G.
Personal Assistant/Administration/Accounts Administration
Staffing & Recruiting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"One of the top software for bookkeeping"

Pros: I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

Cons: glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Karen H.
accounting consultant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018

"Sold a dummy!"

Comments: I have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a decade and find it fairly good although it has serious bugs which are reported by the truckload by all the accountants I know and they are NEVER fixed even after a decade. Like how the excel file download makes all the numbers text and the "manual calculation" field is auto set meaning you have to reformat each and every download twice (format numbers and turn on auto calc) to use the spreadsheet to add up. Designed and run by non accountants

Pros: Nothing. completely useless. Doesn't comply with ATO requirements unless you have no employees and what business has no employees? Misleading advertising and advice.

Cons: I am a small business with single employee. Noting that one touch payroll was becoming mandatory next year I decided to put my accounts on a basic package to comply. I rang up and they sold me MYOB essentials telling me it would fully comply. After upteem dozen attempts to create a single employee which failed I ring up and they tell me well actually this entry level despite having all the menu structures and appearing online to do payroll does not do payroll at ALL and I need to pay almost double. I found the set up very very nonintuitive in its coaching. You start one entry set up the field, then it takes you away to a whole different menu you need to complete and then doesn't take you back to where you were. There are heaps of bugs and going online you see everyone else having the same problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Arslan R.
Head Manager
Banking
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2018

"The Software helps me to evolve in my career my much ."

Comments: The benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software. By far, its the most reliable and efficient software that I have encountered.

Pros: The systematic features really helps to sort out the accounting issues. I am always leading the task upto the standards and mostly efficiently only using this specialized software.

Cons: The complications of finding a specific set of files is really hectic. I have to go through the whole bunch of files and reenters the balance whenever I have to made some ammendments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2018
Marilyn K.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Processing"

Comments: The background of MYOB needs to be updated to keep up with the updates

Pros: This software is easy to use . It has all the modules you need to run a small to medium business in todays environment.

Cons: Processing is slow and will freeze the screen Myob does not like large files which is a huge problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
'kim's A.
Registered BAS Agent
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019

"MYOB Essentials"

Comments: Keep clients complaint!

Pros: This product makes the day to day task of a business owner more professional!

Cons: the Cost of the software could put a few people off!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2019
Jade B.
Office manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2018

"Good basic accounts system"

Pros: Simple in most cases to use and looks good, integrates with our hire software well , if any issues the help section normally answers the query so no need for customer service.

Cons: I have found it to be slow and sluggish at times, some of the processes are over complicated and difficult to understand/process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2018
Gavin P.
Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2021

"MYOB essentials before it was put on the accountright platform was excellent."

Comments: Mostly problems compared to the old software.

Pros: Payroll is ok it has some nice features on pay items but nothing the old essentials could do easily.

Cons: The list is far too long. The old essentials is excellent. All that needed to be done is have the option of reports it had be converted to excel rather than PDF. The decision to go to accountright will be fatal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2021
Dan F.
Bookeeper
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Easy to use Accounting Softeware for SMB"

Comments: I have used MYOB for many years and have not felt the need to change. We are currently able to solve all our accounting with the software. If the company was to expand then we would consider Xero instead.

Pros: I think MYOB is a good product and it does mostly what I need. It's very easy to do most accounting tasks. I do prefer the software versions rather than the Live/Cloud versions. though.

Cons: The customer service can take some time to get through to. and limited use of 3rd party payment gateways.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Yvonne A.
Finance Management
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2019

"MYOB uses visuals to explain the numbers"

Pros: MYOB uses visuals to explain the cash in and cash out of the business in a way that makes it easy to see the big picture of what's going on. This makes it easy to explain the information in a way that my clients can understand

Cons: It can take some getting used to set up all the accounts you need to run a business. But that’s the same for any accounting software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2019