Meraki Systems Manager Reviews

by Cisco

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4/5
  • Customer Service
    4.3/5

About Meraki Systems Manager

Monitor and manage mobile and desktop devices in the cloud through a secure dashboard.

Learn more about Meraki Systems Manager

Showing 51 reviews

Nathan M.
System Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/01/2019

"Feature galore! "

Pros: We use this product mainly for phones and it's amazingly feature-rich in that regard. Every piece of information I could ever want is available on the dashboard once the software is installed. The ability to use Apple DEP is amazing, as our phones automatically install MSM as soon as they are activated, right out the box.
Setting up DEP is a hassle at first, but completely worth it as it takes away all other steps of configuration. As soon as a phone is ordered through Apple or a certified reseller, it will have MSM out of the box. You can even use MSM to install other pieces of software such as time trackers, CRM software, etc. It's a fantastic tool.
Once installed you can get GPS coord, public IP address, storage stats, WiFi stats, ICCID, IMEI, MAC address, encryption and jailbreak status, and much more.
You can send messages to the phone (Why are you at McDonald's and not work?), you can remotly disable password protection (or add it) and, obviously, you can remotely wipe the phone.
MSM does everything our old mobile device management software did and MUCH more for aroudn the same cost.

Cons: Setting up Apple DEP is a pain. Adding MSM to exsiting phones is a time consuming process and, unless you wipe the phone, you only get some of the features by just installing the app from the app store. The user would also be able to remove the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/01/2019
Bruce F.
IT Admin
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019

"Plenty of Features when they work"

Comments: It gives us what we wanted from a MDM with a good price, functionality and features. Having it share the same management screens as our APs, routers and switches is a huge bonus in managing devices. But blacklisting of software seems to be the only consistently working part with software as deployment and whitelisting is not very reliable.

Pros: It is very easy to setup and start using. It has a lot of functions that can you can see in more expensive products but all cloud based and managed. Having no on premise foot print is great and it has the same dashboard as our Meraki devices we manage. We do not need to switch to check or update the status of devices. This does device inventory and deployment of software. Can find where devices are and who is logged in to them.

Cons: The MDM for managing the installation and whitelisting of software is poor. We would approve software for users but then when an update to the app happens we would need to approve the app again. We have used the setting to keep the app approved for all updates but it does not work. Force installing the software is not reliable at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Manager
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2019

"Easy to use and comprehensive tools for managing mobile devices and other assets"

Pros: A single one-stop location for remote management of iOS and other mobile devices and other assets. In particular, monitoring and administrating iOS devices is challenging and this tool has saved countless hours in configuring and deploying and maintaining iPhones in our business.

Cons: The features for updating Apps from the App Store needs improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Business Development Specialist
Insurance, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2019

"It works in the background"

Comments: Overall, this is a great product for ensuring the security on your devices.

Pros: I use this software primarily on my phone and I enjoy that it just operates in the background without disrupting anything.

Cons: I don't like that it takes up memory space and operating space on your phone. My phone does not have expandable memory capacity and it slows down your phone a tad (but may be unnoticeable for some).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2019
Isaac O.
Director of Technology
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2019

"Lots of promise but not enough focus on the core"

Comments: This software has great promise as an MDM solution but it lags behind other solutions. If you’re looking for free and iOS/Android this is for you. If you want to manage computers you may want to consider looking elsewhere. Systems Manager doesn’t scale well and provide advanced features.

Pros: This is a beautiful MDM solution that supports all platforms which is great. There are some features not found elsewhere that make it easy to integrate security functionality with Meraki’s networking stack. Want WPA2 enterprise with TLS? Systems manager makes this seamless.

Cons: Feature set prioritizes integration with Meraki stack. Features introduced by Apple or Microsoft at the OS level can take months if not years to finally be implemented. This can cause quite a lag as your user base upgrades. No real features to manage the patch level of devices aside from manually pushing updates each time. Licensing cost fluctuates frequently (it’s free, it’s paid, it’s mostly free but sometimes paid).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2019
Ross V.
Operations Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/09/2019

"Powerful product in combination with Meraki hardware"

Comments: Overall a brilliant product and system, there is a reason we have been using the Meraki products for the past 8 years.

Pros: The ability to remotely manager and monitor the network remotely has significantly cut down on support call outs and requests among our clients.
Everything on the network is visible from the moment traffic hits the WAN to the clients machine.
The tools for diagnosing and checking network issues are amazing. As well as the granularity of the information displayed to the ability to 'micro manage' the network.

Cons: Not so much an issue with the software , but the cost of licenses and hardware can be pretty steep especially if you replace all the network devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/09/2019
Dan S.
Customer Success Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Great for total control"

Pros: fairly easy to use, controls all types of devices

Cons: some functions are a unreliable like app updates on managed devices. Meraki sometimes installs cached version of app instead of latest App Store version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Nick T.
Bishop Bennett Technology Fellow
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019

"Best Network Management Software"

Comments: It has drastically helped us manage our network and assign privileges to students who need to be further restricted.

Pros: Meraki is easily the best way to manage Access Points and switches. My favorite feature is the tagging system so I can tag a whole group of clients or AP's and assign SSID's, privileges and anything else I want to anybody who falls into that category.

Cons: It is on a licensing deal. I would rather buy the application and devices and be done with it rather than worrying about figuring out licenses for everything as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Systems Consultants
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019

"Easy wireless setup and security."

Comments: Very easy to use and manage this tech. Super friendly dashboard with easy usage. Simple to find and use online tools for data captures and logging.

Pros: Super simple setup and use. Very easy mgmt of devices and security standards. Perfect for monitoring and reporting.

Cons: The overall cost of ownership. Since this is now a Cisco product, they are well over priced for any product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2019
John M.
It Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019

"Easy to use but limited systems manager"

Comments: This is helping us keep track of our ios devices, manage the devices, lock them down, update and more

Pros: Easy to use, easy to setup, tools I use were pretty easy and straight forward. Clean interface and originally had great support

Cons: The support has gone down hill, not tons of features and hasnt really added many new feautres since I first implemented 2 years ago. Tech support is pretty much all outsourced and pretty useless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Service Desk Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2018

"Decent MDM - But Conversion to License structure is irritating"

Comments: Sales/account reps are purely focused on selling you new stuff so they can improve their numbers. they do not look out for you once you've bought their product.

Pros: It has a decent feature set - including remote management of profiles and security features, For both Macs and iOS. The ability to completely lock down and erase the entire device has been nice in a few extreme situations. The UI is intuitive and easy to use with LOTS of information about the devices being managed.

Cons: Initially we enjoyed the fact that we were given a relatively high if not unlimited (I cannot recall) now, we are billed per device. Which is fine. But the process to obtain the licenses is absolutely ridiculous, takes way too long and they do not allow for our account for an upgrade process. IE client has 20 computers enrolled, and they replace all of them, well you have to get another 20 licenses (paying for 40 computers) and then remove the old computes when they are phased out. Then decrease the license count. There is zero flexibility here, and the vendor was borderline indignant when it was pointed out how this is a problem in the real world.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Stephen B.
IT Manager
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Meraki - Management at your Fingertips"

Comments: Overall, Cisco Meraki is a great company with some of the best products and services. I currently use their firewalls, switches, access points and system manager. When using all their products the user experience is excellent. The equipment and services are high quality but you will pay a premium to use them.

Pros: Meraki Systems Manager is a cloud based management system that grants you the ability to manage devices within your network. You can see a lot of information about device use, manufacturer and connectivity. You can apply user policies and utilize Meraki’s built in Mobile Device Management. You can manage PC, Mac, Chromebook, iOS, Android and more!

Cons: System Manager is a great tool and has great customer service, however Meraki licensing is pricey compared to other tools available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Rob S.
IT Manager
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018

"Amazing functionality for the value, gives great visibility on devices"

Comments: Fantastic! I have used Spiceworks and other inventory tools in the past and Meraki Systems Manager suits our requirements the best. As well as monitoring device performance, storage, etc. it allows me to organise devices by tags and really keep on top of my inventory.

Pros: Integration with Meraki Dashboard, free for up to 100 devices which makes it ideal for smaller businesses. Also the ability to remotely end tasks, remote command line, RDP web client, screenshots and useful statistics make this a valuable solution when managing desktops, servers and mobile devices.

Cons: Nothing really, sometimes devices take a few minutes to update in the dashboard but I don't have any complaints about the product. It is updated regularly like most Meraki products and gets better the longer you use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Google Trusted Independent Photographer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"Great fully-featured cross-platform MDM solution"

Comments: We needed a basic iOS MDM for about 50 iPads, and Meraki SM fit the bill with their Free 100 device plan. In a space where most iOS MDMs are the same in features and in price, Systems Manager has unique features like Tags, and allows us to expand our management to Android and Windows, which we will most certainly be taking advantage of in the future.

Pros: -Aggregation of MDM policies across iOS, macOS, Android, and Windows platforms make it really easy to deploy the same setting, such as screen lock, to multiple platforms without drilling the per-platform settings
-Supports all iOS MDM settings and is quick to implement new ones as Apple introduces them
-Tagging system is incredibly useful to identify and organize different devices - this is unique to Meraki
-Although we don't have Meraki networking products - they can all be managed from the same dashboard
-Just like most MDM platforms, it offers easy web-based device registration, and syncs with Apple VPP and School Manager

Cons: -Web management dashboard has a steep learning curve and is not very intuitive - a task like deploying a new app to devices involves three or four different management pages
-Pricing is comparable, if not a bit more expensive than other iOS MDMs, but its cross-platform support makes up for this

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Dan H.
IT & Facilities Manager
Financial Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018

"Making networks easy (as usual)"

Comments: Moving to Meraki has solved so many network issues and made the entire infrastructure reliable and easy to manage. A move from one office to the other involved no downtime of the network or the VPN thanks to the intelligent interface.

Pros: The ability to maintain and manage your networks from anywhere is a real advantage and the access control and ability to resolve issues fast is a real bonus. I cannot recommend this infrastructure solution enough.

Cons: The licensing can be confusing and additions to equipment will move dates about which you should be aware of. Once you understand that dates will move about, it makes it easier, but there should be more warnings.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018
Miral P.
Network Engineer
Computer Networking, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2019

"Meraki is easier than regular Cisco Wireless."

Pros: 1) Consolidated management of all of our Meraki devices at different location.
2) You can use same configuration template for all or multiple locations.
3) Cisco meraki's keeping up with new vulnerability game is really good.
4) You can use MX devices for SD-WAN which is much more simpler than regular Cisco CLI devices.

Cons: 1) If you are using template based deployment then your guest ambassador account can't delete user accounts for wireless.
2) Like many other cloud solution, there is a lack of granularity & fear of compromise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2019
Eric P.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2019

"Easy to use systems manager "

Pros: Meraki Systems Manager is designed to be easy to use. From setup time to adding endpoints, everything is easy and quick.
It easily helps to track and, if necessary, remotely wipe lost devices.
I also like the geofence feature as it sends notifications whenever a device leaves the geofenced region.

Cons: Though there has been some improvement in recent years, the system still contains some bugs.
The mobile apps really need to be updated, especially the iOS app.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Support Technician
Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018

"Free tier is great"

Comments: It makes it much safer and simpler to deploy mailboxes.

Pros: The software can be used for up to 100 devices without charge making it very good value for money. It monitors our devices very well and can even deploy policies to individual devices that have certain tags, such as mailboxes.

Cons: As soon as you go 1 license over the 100 free, you have to pay for all 101.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018
Eric O.
Account Manager-Sales/Marketing/Consulting
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019

"Cisco Meraki Solution to Security"

Pros: Cisco Meraki has enterprise level or security and features that truly give any network the strength to do good business. Its user interface is very adaptive to firewall and equipment setup.

Cons: The hard issue that the user interface requires knowledge of how to navigate and setup the systems. This can be difficult if you have no prior training or experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Operations Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Love this product"

Pros: We converted over to Meraki about 2 years ago and it was the best decision we have made. The features and functionality of the dashboard are outstanding and being able to work from anywhere and make changes as needed is great.

Cons: Dashboard can be cumbersome at times and do think some of the items could be laid out a bit better visually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Justin W.
Help desk
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2018

"Such a great interface"

Pros: The depth of security and surveillance power meraki offers is incredible. So many layers and levels of applications and details you can configure to your network to make it exactly how you want or need it.

Cons: The home page to each location always goes to the last page you had open on it which can be annoying but also niche.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2018
Tim M.
IT Manager/Systems Administrator
Real Estate
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"A highly satisfied new user moving from Sonicwall"

Pros: Our company recently moved from SonicWall devices to Meraki for firewalls. The cloud software that runs the system is pretty user-friendly and straightforward to use. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to configure the standard settings in the device. If you need help with something that is beyond your personal knowledge level, the support team is great! They are in SanFrancisco, so there isn't a language barrier. They are extremely helpful, and never make you feel like an idiot. The smartphone app for monitoring is also pretty nice. The hardware and licensing are a little more expensive, but I find enough value in the product that this isn't an issue.

Cons: I wish that the smartphone app came with a little more functionality for changing settings on the devices, but this certainly isn't a deal breaker. Most internet browsers that I have tried on smartphones will work just fine anyway.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Client Services Manager
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2018

"Meraki Systems Manager for MDM needs"

Comments: This was the perfect solution to help us manage company issued iPads, iPhones and Apple TV's. We can now track, secure, wipe or unlock any of these devices from the console. Best of all, pushing apps and settings to those devices is simple and can be done remotely.

Pros: We liked that it was a breeze to setup and managing devices can occur the same day you have a license to use it. We had a free trial and got to test all features of the tool before committing.

Cons: It could use a customizable dashboard. The reporting side needs to be a bit more robust as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Manager
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2018

"Simple and easy to use, however lacking in some features."

Pros: Its ease of use, anyone can use this software

Cons: Sometimes we find the software abit too basic, lacking in some features that would be useful. However the features it does have work really well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2018
Will C.
MIS Department
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019

"Meraki Systems Manager"

Pros: The think I like most about Meraki Systems Manager is that it is very user friendly and easy to use. It makes easy to track which APs are up and running or having issues. Also, I like that you can see which users are using high bandwidth on certain sites or services.

Cons: The thing I like least about Meraki Systems Manager is that there is no function that I can find to create an AP map for our devices. It would be nice to have a interface that shows where are APs are located with graphs and measuring statistics.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019