Strapi

Strapi Reviews

by Strapi

API Framework / Headless CMS Made easy (and free)

Reviewed on 19/02/2019
Derrick M.
Data Center Operations Technician
Computer Games, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Honestly this is by far the easiest solution for jumping into the headless CMS world and even better as an API framework to power whatever your needs are; Web, Mobile, Desktop, IOT, and even a smart toaster! The Strapi team is great and works hard to release feature and fix bugs as fast as they can.

Pros: Strapi is extremely easy to setup
Simple database configuration with many choices (Mongo, Postgres, and MySQL)
Simple to modify the backend code
Getting up and running from zero to a complete API with data in as little as 10 to 20 minutes

Cons: I do think that more time needs to be spent on building a solid foundation (which the Strapi team are working on) More time needs to be spent testing bugs for all usecases (or some automation for the frontend testing needs to be implemented and I believe that is being done right now) While not an issue with the software itself, I do think that services like Heroku need to be put on the backburner and not pushed as heavily as Strapi is a service, Heroku and other "serverless" environments are not built to handle complex applications. At the same time more user involvment with Pull Requests are something that would greatly help development and bug fixing.

Save time and money of building a REST API backend for your app

Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Vijayant S.
Backend web developer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We built businesses with this tool by just using it as a simple CMS system. It's content type builder has a great intuitive user interface that helps design schemas really fast.

Pros: 1. You can get a production ready REST API backend for you super duper hit mobile or web app in mere 20 minutes.
2. Ease with which you can select different database types.

Cons: User management module can have customer role user facing dashboard too.

Strapi will replace yoru CMS

Reviewed on 31/08/2019
Julio S.
Developer
Computer Games, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We've used Strapi in a few small projects and it's looking like a great alternative for our past choices

Pros: Strapi does a great job managing the basic structure of a CMS and including a lot of backend logic you'll probably use in your application.

Cons: It's still a infant compared to other CMS applications like Drupal and Wordpress (which supports API-only acess nowadays)

Backend for all of us

Reviewed on 5/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Strapi allowed me to focus on front-end development because it leverages the backend aspect of the project through a robust software.

Pros: Strapi allow us to create a Backend environment with ease by reducing development times through a very good API

Cons: The software is on its early versions, it needs to improve the way to update the cms.

strapi get the job done

Reviewed on 19/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Workshop Coordinator
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: So far so good. I am still new to it but I'm enjoying it nonetheless.

Pros: I loved the nice admin dashboard, the simple setup and the addition of authentication

Cons: I don't have any serious concern yet. I will give more information later

The future of Headless CMS for Node

Reviewed on 6/03/2019
Bruno A.
Full Stack JavaScript Developer
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have been experimenting with Strapi for the past 6 months and have loved every minute of it. It truly solves the data coupling problem associated with traditional CMS's, and does so in a very intuitive way. Strapi is an amazing product, and I can see it being heavily adopted by Node developers in the future. The fact that it is open-source makes it even better.

Pros: - Setting up a new project is extremely simple
- Layout is great
- Supports many database types
- API creation is flexible and very customizable (as advertised)

Cons: - Minor annoying bugs (alpha version)
- Not many plugins/extensions yet
- Internationalization features are missing

One of the best Headless CMS i've used.

Reviewed on 18/02/2019
Luiz B.
Desenvolvedor Front-end
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I use it to provide a API for my Nuxt.js Applications. As it is simple to use, create apis for my applications its not hard to me anymore, since i've been start to use Strapi API.

Pros: The simplicity of use. It's very easy to use and have so much options to make simple to create a api that my web applications needed.

Cons: Its not simple to deploy it on production servers, especially on AWS and Heroku. I have so much issues before have success to deploy it on theses servers.

The Best Open Source Headless CMS

Reviewed on 3/03/2019
William B.
Full-Stack Developer
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It is amazing. The amount of flexibility and the fact that it is free is great. I have used a few other Headless CMS and this one is by far the best. Highly recommend!

Pros: The flexibility that allows the developer to really customize the data schema when building the entities and relationships.

Cons: The CLI was not working the best when creating a startup project. The easy install has you type in which db to use, but mine was defaulting to others. I just explicitly called all the parameters in the install command and it worked that way. Not a big deal, but could be a major road block for a new developer.

Awesome Product

Reviewed on 5/03/2019
Thanseem N.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Customer Support
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have built a media centre for my project

Pros: 1.Flexibility
2.MultiLanguage support
3.Customization

Cons: 1.I have used umbraco cms.As of now there is no cons.

Great software

Reviewed on 17/04/2019
Javier R.
Sr Front end developer
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is easy to use and implementvery intuitive

Cons: Currently I have not seen consI think it's an excellent option

The search is over

Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Arik C.
Software Engineer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm very impressed overall with the simplicity and lack of fluff, bloat features. The ui is clean intuitive and doesn't require extensive understanding of the guys to get going super quickly. The core product gives you more than enough to launch your APIs and there is good documentation that explain how to extend it when needed.

Pros: I'm building a running related platform that features unique running events around the world. I'm doing this as a part time "gig" because I have full time job. For the front end I settled on react which seems to do the trick. For the backend there were lots of options but my requirements were: easy UI for editors, configurable data model, graphql and an easy way to customize the functionality. In other words, I wanted something that would get me up and running in no time but that I could also fine tune down the road for custom features. After spending a significant amount of time researching hosted, self-hosted, open source and commercial offerings I found strapi. It ticked every one of my requirement boxes and then some. It's even able to run on postgres which is my favorite db. Now I'm working full speed to launch my website and figure out my content instead of spending months trying to build a backend and UI for it from scratch.

Cons: Would be nice to have an easy launcher or AMI for AWS. Seems like deployment options could be better documented.

The CMD Front-end Developpers love.

Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Jean-philippe D.
Software Developper
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is true. Strapi is very convenient to use and also customize. It works using plugins and makes it really easy to stay organised. No more will you have to re-write boring redundent API codes.

Cons: Can't really say anything bad about it right now other than the fact there the learning curve can be slightly big and the lack of videos online when learning.

wonderful headless cms

Reviewed on 9/05/2019
Haythem T.
front end dev
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: i was looking for a headless cms and i found strapi fit perfectly with what i need.

Pros: easy to use
simple to setup and to configure
support graphql

Cons: still in alpha
no many plugins available

Using Strapi to Unlock GIS data

Reviewed on 4/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
GIS Analyst
Utilities, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We needed to expose GIS data stored in a proprietary database to users via the browser. Strapi allowed me to quickly write the backend code that had authorization and a REST API built in. I connected one end to the GIS and the other to a React-based front-end, using GeoJSON. This allowed the business to unlock GIS data without having to rely on proprietary GIS clients.

Pros: Strapi is easy to use and the included GUI allows setting up data, performing admin tasks and creating endpoints intuitive and simple. I also like the hooks that allow me to add standard functionality.

Cons: So far I haven't found anything not to like. I used to have to write custom code, now Strapi has eliminated much of this code.

Awesome for agile startups

Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Rubén F.
Head of Engineering
Sports, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Highly customizable, beautiful and intuitive interface and the large amount of databases avaliable to use with.

Cons: It is on an Alpha state, so it is dangerous to rely on it for production. The ecosystem of plugins is on its infancy, so you would writing some common tasks (and potentially critical, like verifying payments)

Simple but still very functional! With endless posibilities (and customisation).

Reviewed on 18/02/2019
Mattias B.
Junior Software Engineer
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I use Strapi as a node backend, this is usefull in combination with my node frontend webapp.

Pros: The way to setup a api quickly without much coding, but still understanding te basics.

Cons: The problems with windows, this slowed down my start. But vm's offered a solution and after a good development setup I was very well on my way.

Really good open source project

Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Rafael H.
Analista de sistemas
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm solving our back end API getting really fast the project.

Pros: Strapi is ease to use, totally functional and extensible with your needs. Already support graphQL and is using koa framework so is totally updated with news technology.

Cons: I missed some languages translations only.

Very easy to user for beginners

Reviewed on 2/04/2019
Bernardo B.
Developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm loving It

Pros: Very user friendly and easy to use , for a beginner who want's to start developing api's this is by far one of my favorites

Cons: So far nothing nothing made me dislike this software

Creating your own API is really easy

Reviewed on 7/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Automation technician
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I wanted to develop a personal program and a friend of mine told me about strapi : you don't really care about the backend ? So go to use Strapi and indeed, Strapi helped me a lot and I earn so much time with it!

Pros: The easy and really quick way to create content type and data and access to it with Postman.

Cons: The little bug about default value for enumerated type.

REST-api-first CMS for MongoDB with modern features and active developer community

Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Anton B.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Strapi is actively being developed and extended to fit the needs of the growing user base. The community around Strapi including the Slack channel have been very helpful. We were able to start prototyping​immediately​ with Strapi and built a mobile client and a web user panel on top of it (got to love REST+Oauth)!

Cons: While active development means that popular features are implemented as they are requested by the community, some less popular features may take longer to realize​.

Fantastic Headless Alternative

Reviewed on 18/02/2019
Justin S.
Web Developer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The simplicity of getting Strapi up and running and connected to your frontend is key. Building content types is a great experiance and very fluid. I love the environment switching in the backend, this really solves a pain point in traditional cms workflows. I also really appreciate the separation of concerns, in other words not creating another "everything but the kitchen sink" cms.

Cons: It needs more extensions. However, I'm sure this will come with time.

Ridiculously Simple

Reviewed on 19/02/2019
Sebastian J.
Front End Engineer
Design, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Often times smaller projects are not profitable enough. With Strapi they are. It is so easy to spin up a simple api + backend so that i can focus on providing an awesome frontend. love it already!

Pros: _simplicity of building simple backends or apis for my customers
_superfast protoyping or production ready apis / backends
_highly customizable
_plugin system

Cons: _there are only a few plugins (which will change soon afaik -> roadmap)

Easy of use, fast and reliable API creator / CMS Headless

Reviewed on 25/02/2019
Renan henrique F.
CTO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Fast and easy to learn and deploy.
Concise code and reliable.
Nice way to introduct my team to JS API.

Cons: Should have a "front-end" view with examples os all created APIs.

Dmitry Barabash -> Review for Strapi

Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Front-end
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Start work with Strapi on the per project

Pros: User interface, usabillity, speed, js stack

Cons: First installation was with problem. Will be good if you'll add guide when user first login

It's what I always wanted

Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Jacob H.
Experience Designer
Design, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Decoupling, Rapid prototyping, Getting up and running quickly so to concentrate on what you want to achieve.

Pros: It's ambiguous, it can most likely help you considerably because you can do so much with it out of the box. Doesn't try to provide a solution boxed in dated software paradigms. I wanted to build this before I knew Strapi was available. Was built far better than I could have imagined. So many uses for it.

Cons: Strapi is still evolving, though it is still amazing.