15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Creo

CAD solution that helps businesses create 3D or 2D figures and variants of configurable products using direct and parametric modeling.

Learn more about Creo

Pros:

Easy to understand interface, you can create new products without many complications, with integrated high performance tools.

Cons:

Automation has limitation as it follows less programing /API integartions.

Creo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Creo has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 120 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Creo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (120)

Jeremy
Jeremy
Mechanical Engineer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creo is CAD made easy

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall CREO is a brilliant platform. It brings CAD to those who are limited in drawing skill or have not had extensive CAD training. It enables almost anyone to simply come up with a design be it for University projects, quick 3D printing models and can also be used in the professional sphere.

Pros:

The thing I liked most about this software was the ease of use. Unlike other CAD software the user interface is very straight forward and doesn't require the user to have used the products for years to be able to use. The free form capabilities allow for entry level CAD designers to realize whatever design comes to mind

Cons:

The Cons was the lack of post production outputs. The graphics for instance is not as crisp as other premium CAD packages. The Software is less cross platform friendly than the other packages I have used.

Andreas
Manager Technical Design in Austria
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Daily CAD-software, if you are able to configure it

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are designing products in the industrial and automotive sector. Most of the products are made out of plastic.

Pros:

I use this software daily in my job. You have to do trainings to know what great functions this software has. Also, if you know all config options and mapkeys, you can work very quick and comfortable.

Cons:

Price is not really cheap, but OK for a company. Also the configuration is not that easy, but if it's done once, you will have much fun.

Anthony
Anthony
Design Eingeer in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Terrible and should be avoided

1.0 last year

Comments: extremely adept . fast to learn but impossible to master. every solution is a work around rather than an actual solution

Pros:

No pros. It has too many bugs and should not be considered for professional use.

Cons:

Terrible functionally that compares poorly to other CAD packages. Windchill data management also is flawed and makes no sense and heavily prone to data lose due to system crashes. No simple functions such as repeat last command or undo.

Inzamam
Design Engineer in Pakistan
Design, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Creo by PTC

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I will give it 4.5 stars as a result of my experience in 5years.

Pros:

The best thing I found in this 3D Modeling software as compared to others is; the drawing options and interface is just amazing with respect to other but at the same time not much user friendly. Creo have to work on making commands easy to use, requiring less expertise.

Cons:

Overall, I found this software amazing.

Shoeb Iqbal
Designer in India
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best softwares in the industry

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of the most powerful software in the industry for 3D modeling and cad engineering.

Pros:

It makes assemblies so so much easier. The Interface is setup very nicely for 3D modeling.

Cons:

It has a steep learning curve and takes some time to master it. It is a little hard to use for sheet metal designs.

Swapnil
Swapnil
Data Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Textiles, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Creo: Get Accurate 3D Modeling with Many Features

5.0 last year

Comments: Creo is a powerful 3D modeling platform that is easy to use and provides many helpful features. It is perfect for creating complex objects, and I find the Parametric feature to be particularly useful for creating detailed models. Additionally, the Creo Illustrate app gives users the ability to create dynamic product illustrations with ease. All in all, my experience with Creo has been very positive; it works well and looks great!

Pros:

The thing that I liked most about Creo is how powerful it is. It's packed with tons of features that make it easy to create complex 3D models. I also really like the user-friendly interface, which makes it easy to navigate and quickly find what you need. And the fact that Creo Illustrate can be used for technical illustrations is great - it allows me to create beautiful visuals with ease. Finally, Creo Parametric has some great automation tools, which help save time when designing complex parts.

Cons:

One of the downsides to Creo is that its features may be too robust and complicated for beginners to use. It has a steep learning curve and can be difficult to master all the tools it offers. As such, it might not be the best choice for those just starting out in 3D modeling.

PTC Response

last year

Thank you for your review!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best 3D Parametric in the market

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

UDF-User Defined FeatureFamily TableShrinkwrapIt's very easy to useWe have integrated TEAMCENTER no issue regarding plm.

Cons:

We are having all mfg. Facility in-house at that point we use to create different models with help of family table.it makes our life easy.Image inserting in model,as in our machinary design we have to add causion/warning sign.We have Teamcenter/PLM integrated and works fine.

Weronika
Weronika
Student in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best CAD software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

My college uses Creo to teach us CAD. Since then I have worked with other CAD softwares and I have to say Creo was the most powerful of them all. It offers great range of tools to make your designs look amazing and the render option beats it all. It offer much more than any CAD software including assemblies, drawing files but most importantly NC manufacture and mold and cavity manufacture. You can generate CL files for 4th and 5th axis milling.

Cons:

It takes a while to explore all the best options to optimize your drawings and it's ot easy to use at first. The default template is always imperial and requires changing to metric.

Rupesh
Rupesh
Design engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creo is Best design software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Working on Creo as sheetmetal designer.

Pros:

3d framework is the best part. Sheetmetal, parts, assembly , drafting have different modules. And can work parallely.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike other than cost. Cost of Creo must be cheaper.

Amjed
Amjed
Mechanical Engineer in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Creo Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used Creo for 2D and 3D modeling and simulation for product manufacturing

Pros:

I enjoy how simple it is and how components can be drawn using equations. It also features a pretty realistic simulation of mechanics.

Cons:

To obtain the best experience from the new Creo versions, high machine specs are required.

Oliwia
Oliwia
R&D/A Engineer in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Catia - perfect for designing

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: On one hand it gives endless possibilities, on the other hand it is so complex that beginner may find it difficult to use it. However definatelly it pays off when you get to know most of the functions.

Pros:

CATIA provides a lot of possibilities for 3D designing and assemblies management using toolbar. I believe it is the best software for modelling allow to easily navigate and manage the model(s).

Cons:

For new users it may be quite challenging to start using CATIA with all toolbars. Additionally the software is quite expensive.

Prashant
Sr. Engineer / Business Administrator for CAD/PLM in India
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creo - A CAD tool with full of possibilities - review based on the versions from Pro/E 2001 to Croe4

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I started working with Creo (earlier known as Pro/ENGINEER) in the year 2004 along with SolidWorks in my first company where I was the main tutor for this two software.
I implemented SolidWorks in a motor manufacturing company along with data migration from AutoCAD to SolidWorks as SolidWorks Certified Support Technician.
Since 2007, In my present company, I am using Creo with Windchill PDMLink on a daily basis. During these years, my journey started as an End User and now I am a Business Administrator of Creo and PDMLink for the users from my country. I can say though other tools are easy to learn and might seem low cost, they might not match the robustness of the Creo in terms of 3D modelling of complex geometries as well as large assemblies.
I also used Standard Rendering and I was able to produce a very effective images for product catalogs.
I also used Mechanism and Simulation modules and they are quite capable.
Small Scale Industries, those are in search of a tool with fast learning, fast output over robust parametric modelling for short term goals then SolidWorks or SolidEdge is better. For long term goals of Life-cycle management from development to production to withdrawal, Creo is strongly recommended.
Creo is for 3D CAD modelling, drafting and advance assembly extension for large product manufacturing industries.
*) before making any purchase decision, I would recommend having a hands-on or demo of all the 3D CAD tools with our area of implementation.

Pros:

Robust and Advanced Modelling Features including Surface Modeling capability which are capable of easy to very complex geometry. Family Table, Simplified Representations and Flexible Components. Skeleton for a top-down modelling approach Mechanism and Rendering. Plethora of Config options to suit many customer needs.

Cons:

Learning Curve is still on the higher side than other rivals such as SolidWorks which has a very fast and shot learning curve. For Creo, Help is not yet so much intuitive as SolidWorks has unless you go for PTC University portal. In Drawing, still, some of the things are not up to the mark as compared to rivals.

Douglas
Sr Engineer in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best CAD Option

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Over 25 years using Pro/Engineer 7.0 to Creo 4 - Loved the robustness. Hardly ever crashed. It is a great program and they are ready to help when necessary.

Pros:

User interface and functionality. Mapkey creation. Work flow. Options and creation withing each functional component like fillets - options can be found easily.

Cons:

Price. I know they need to make money and they are one of the top tiers for the CAD sector. I would like to user for hobbies etc - but I can't because it's too expensive for a toy.

Nicki
Engineering Onboarding Lead in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Successes with Creo

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been designing with Creo for 10 years and it has been a very positive experience.

Pros:

Creo is a fantastic resources for completing complex designs efficiently and accurately. The machine design features make getting work done easy.

Cons:

It is not the most user friendly when you first get started with the tool. Once you pick up on the picks and clicks, it is very easy to expand your knowledge and use the tool to its fullest potential.

PTC Response

last year

Thank you for enjoying Creo!

Filipe
Resident Engineer (SQA) in UK
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Creo Review

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Creo is one of the best known CAD softwares, used by a lot of OEM, it offers a wide range of features for modeling 3D parts, for people with knowledge in this software it got a simple interface

Cons:

For someone starting on 3D modeling they will need some training to have a proper feeling on what the software can do, sometimes the software crashes and we lose hours of work.

Aaron
Mechanical Design Engineer in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Unintuitive and buggy

1.0 last year

Pros:

Creo integrates with Windchill, but moving between the platforms can be quite confusing.

Cons:

Extremely buggy and integration with Windchill should be much better. Other software like CATIA or Solidworks are a lot more intuitive and have much better workflows. I feel like I can accomplish most things in other software packages twice as fast and easily, despite having many more years of experience in Creo.

Mohd Nubli
Lecturer in Malaysia
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great experience with Creo

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, I find the Creo software easy to use and very helpful in my graphic design work. I would recommend it to others.

Pros:

The advantage of Creo software is that it is very easy to use and learn with powerful 3D modeling capabilities. It is flexible and customizable. There is a comprehensive library of parts and assemblies. Apart from that it could simulate and analyze the design in addition to the design process automatically. It also could collaborate with other users.

Cons:

The downside of Creo Software is the expensive licensing fee. Limited support for non-Windows operating systems, non-CAD file formats, non-Creo software, non-English languages and for non-professional users.

Joik
Mechanical Engineer in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Many features but hard to use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Plenty functions and easy to work with others, but hard to learn the software interface and hard to use it for curvature surfaces.

Pros:

It integrates with WindChill database and it is easy to control the drawing versions with co-workers.

Cons:

It is hard to use initially but get used to it after some time. It is also hard to use the interface for curvature surface.

Abdulbasit
Engineer in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

CAD personified

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Creo provides not only simulation but also analytical tools that help every member of a product team do their jobs and understand the product being worked on. I especially like how it serves everyone in one way or the other.

Pros:

Creo allows me to view not only assemblies as a whole but also parts as sections of assemblies in 3D. I like the fact that it allows me to separate components into their smallest entities to understand what I need to facilitate my lifecycle management. It’s easy to import into and export out of.

Cons:

Creo can be a bit daunting for beginners due to its robust features. It’s also a bit expensive when it comes to licensing fee but many would argue it’s worth the money.

Uday
Engineer in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PTC Creo Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Good for handling large models and maintaining them Its parametric so 3D models and 2d drawings are associated , you can change either to make modification Sketching, detailing is friendly including propping

Cons:

Creo sometime gives fatal error which completely shuts the software down and have to restart that is annoying Cabling module is not that user friendly so can be cumbersome Sweep / swept blend sometime fails which is fine but more accurate error messages can help Extend to next feature was there in earlier version which was good but its not anymore in newer versions

James
Project Engineer in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic CAD Program For All Users

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Assemblies are much more stable than other programs.

Cons:

The shortcuts and some functionality is not as intuitive as other programs such as SolidWorks

Ahmad
System Administrator in Jordan
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not the best Design Software, but the easiest.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience with Creo is good it helped me a lot with my graduation project in the university.

Pros:

I used Creo in the university to complete my graduation project and still use this software sometimes. The software is powerful with many helpful features. Also, it is one of the easiest tools that you can use to complete any ordered job easily in a short time.

Cons:

I think Creo is a professional tool compared with other tools like Solidworks, the analysis and rendering in Creo are somehow weak. The UI is not that great and from the first time, you need time to understand.

Veda
Student in Japan
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Creo Student Review

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used Creo as part of my University curriculum to learn 3D Modeling. It was a mostly satisfactory experience, although there were a few hiccups as mentioned above in "Cons" owing to the slightly complicated UI. Compared to SolidWorks which was also taught as part of University Curriculum, this was slightly harder to grasp. Nonetheless, it did a decent job at communicating the fundamentals of 3D Modeling to us as new users.

Pros:

1) A lot of functionalities. 2) Good software to model 3D geometries, but for people already familiar with 3D modelling to an extent. 3) Comparatively cheaper than other commercial 3D modelling software.

Cons:

1) UI can be improved to be more easy to infer for students instinctively. Compared to certain software, for example SolidWorks, the UI isn't as striking and often times confusing for new users. 2) Transitions like changing between views, and assembly animations can be improved. There is no lagging, but it feels a bit unnatural as compared to other popular 3D Modeling software.

Amjad
Technical Support in Jordan
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very Wide 3D Modules

5.0 last year

Comments: Creo is a 3D Modules very good for a medium level of use

Pros:

Creo is one of the best 3D Model Designs, especially for students, Creo is friendly and smooth for students to begin with education levels.

Cons:

I face a lag in rendering, I could say the rendering performance is not efficient as other 3D modules.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lot to learn and not intuitive

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Complex software capable of a wide range of functions. Great for manipulating 3D modeling for both design and product support

Cons:

Software is difficult to learn and due to complexity, time consuming.