Retail Pro Reviews

by Retail Pro International

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Retail Pro

Retail Pro is complete retail management solution for POS, inventory, customer and store ops management across channels and devices.

Learn more about Retail Pro

Showing 64 reviews

Brian W.
Sporting Goods
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2014

"I'm a managing partner and CIO."

Pros: It does 90% of everything we want & need. Frankly, that other 10% is probably unrealistic without custom programming. We get awesome tech support when needed, and I especially love the live chat feature that lets us ask quick questions. The product is very quick and easy to train an employee on and setting up levels of permission is awesome. We're able to delegate job duties easily with the different features. Receiving is a perfect example. That workstation is set up to be used completely differently than our cash registers. For example, we have three cash registers our of eight total machines running Retail Pro. Each has a unique function, and the software works well in supporting those varied functions simultaneously.

Cons: Some of the more intricate details of the software take quite a while to learn. It's easy for an average sales associate to use the main functions, but some of the higher level features get complex. The software can be "quirky" with some old features that were added on to, so there are features that are not intuitive. An example is polling: some things happen automatically and others require initialization. Like every time we add an employee to the system, it's a process to get them into other locations and requires higher-level knowledge.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2014
Mohamed R.
Project Manager
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2018

"i'm working with retail pro since 2013, it was wonderful experience."

Comments: i got the knowledge that gave me the chance to implement and support our customer in the market, very important thing is that i learned how business operate with one of the biggest retail solution ever

Pros: very powerful inventory management solution, full of function and features. the second thing is the scalability and durability the solution can support large number of stores & POSs in one big database "oracle database".

Cons: it takes much time to recover database especially in the main server, 2nd thing when upgrade from old release to a new one with large number of stores and POSs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2018
Urmi P.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/06/2014

"Solid Retail Pro User"

Pros: Retail Pro provides a great POS system that allows me to track down inventory in my store and also lets me see instantly what other stores have in stock in case a customer is looking for something I am out of. One Step Retail has provided great support to all of our stores, including the installations for our new stores.

Cons: I wish there was a way of detecting when someone does not have enough funds on a prepaid credit card, because we get a lot of tourists in our stores. Sometimes there are a few glitches with the system, but our support is always quick about getting back to me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/06/2014
Trent C.
Apparel & Fashion
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2014

"Retail Pro v8.6 - great for serious small-to-medium specialty retailers"

Pros: Retail Pro is highly customizable, powerful, and scalable for small-to-medium businesses with one or more locations. Our support is through Big Hairy Dog, who provides great support with knowledgeable techs and sales staff.

Cons: It is not cheap. The licensing and maintenance fee model is cost prohibitive for smaller businesses looking for a simple way to ring sales and track inventory.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2014
Tricia J.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/06/2014

"Retail Pro & J.D. Associates -A Winning Combination!"

Pros: Retail Pro and J.D. Associates are the total package! As our business continues to grow, they provide the necessary software/hardware, training, and all-around retail solutions to help us achieve our goals. Email updates keep us well-informed of industry changes, as well as any new products available that will enhance our POS experience. Webinars are also offered as an integral part of our training experience. I can always count on their expertise and professionalism to keep us moving forward.

Cons: Not having ability to "edit" the preloaded report formats to suit our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/06/2014
Catherine G.
Store Manager
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2018

"Very easy to navigate"

Pros: Love this POS system, very easy to navigate, easy for the beginner when someone has never use a POS system before!

Cons: Definitely too much blue, need to update the colors and the look of it, seems a bit old school and hard to look at, Also ran a bit slower than other POS systems I've used

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Tony S.
Md
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020

"My view"

Comments: Good and quick to setup . Easy to configure.
Some nice retail type features

Pros: Ease of use.
Stock entry
Reports
Back end features
Sales entry screen
Customisable buttons.
Sub menus

Cons: Old look dated interface.. lacks some high end features. No cloud option..some peripherals are hard to add on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020
Nic M.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2013

Comments: My family has run a outdoor equipment and clothing store in Banff, Alberta, CAN and have been using RPro for over 15 years. We have found it to be a great program for small businesses with few store locations. After a couple of hours, most of our staff find the program easy to use and overall quite user friendly. After testing and trying different POS systems, we've found the inventory management, merchandising features to be quite useful and straight forward. I would recommend Retail Pro for any small or big retailers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2013
Yvonne K.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2014

"Big Hairy Dog Supports Lingerie"

Pros: The program is very user-friendly. Features are very helpful. Our support is through Big Hairy Dog team, and their team is always ready to provide service just a phone call away.

Cons: No complaints! I'm very happy with my investment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2014
Karthikeyan R.
Supermarkets
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2014

"Retail Pro Review"

Pros: I like the reliability and better customer service. Issues get resolved very quickly.

Cons: The cost is bit higher. It could be bit cheaper. Sometimes we feel that the value is less for the price we pay.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2014
Ken P.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2014

"Retail Pro POS"

Pros: The software is user-friendly POS system.

Cons: The software is user-friendly, but it cannot be customized to end user needs; it is very restrictive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2014
Lucky C.
Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2014

"Retail Pro v9"

Pros: It's easy to use, and they are a very helpful vendor.

Cons: Sometimes, it's a little slow, seeing that it takes over 4GB of memory to run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2014
Loc N.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2014

"My Review of Retail Pro"

Pros: I like their services and delivery, as well as their customer service and helpline.

Cons: Their price is a little bit too pricey (toward the high end).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2014
Daniel B.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2014

"Retail Pro gives us a competitive edge!"

Pros: Our operation is very seasonal, and we gear up from 0 to 100 in a short amount of time. The accuracy the system delivers for inventory management gives us the confidence to make rapid decisions that impact our bottom line. We especially appreciate the level of support that we receive. That level of trust in the product and support is important for us since we have such a narrow window for our business.

Cons: No software is perfect. However, our experience with Retail Pro has been significantly better then our previous vendor. Our least favorite thing about the software is how it behaves with our unique discount structure. However, we have found ways to make it fit our operation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2014
Jorge U.
Apparel & Fashion
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2014

"Retail Pro's many features"

Pros: The best part about Retail Pro is the user interface with the touch screen capabilities for our stores. It gives sales personnel the ease of access and a touch screen that is fluid and fast to use. I also like the ability to change the layout to any way we may need throughout the scope of our stores. The best part I like about retail pro is our vendor, BHD; they are the best Retail Pro support team in North America, hands down! They are friendly, professional, and very knowledgeable on how it works and what features are best to implement for your business.

Cons: The reporting features can be a bit confusing, but with the right support from your retail partner and trainers, these all can be modified to do pretty much anything you need to report with ease. Receipt layout can be a bit challenging, but it gets easier with time as you use it more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2014
Benjamin J.
web developer
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2017

"Unbelievably terrible"

Comments: Nothing. I loathe this software and I wish its developers absolutely nothing but the worst.

Pros: I guess it technically runs. Beyond the fact that it's easier than using a pen and paper to keep track of products, there is nothing I like about this software.

Cons: It is disorganized, inefficient, difficult to use, has memory leaks, no database support, closed-source and expensive to upgrade, bizarrely laid out, and just overall a pain to use on a day-to-day basis.

Vendor Response

by Retail Pro International on 29/06/2017

Hello Benjamin. We¿re sad to hear you aren¿t getting to experience the best of Retail Pro. Are you on a very outdated version of Retail Pro software? Please contact us at [email protected] and let¿s see what we can do to get your problem resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2017
Jacob P.
Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2014

"Enterprise power for small businesses"

Pros: The software is packed with features that I have yet to find in other software on the market, including multiple ways of handling employee compensation (eg.-SPIFs, different commissions for different employees), fully customized screen layouts, and most importantly the ability to do quick mass edits using the CTRL+F2 function on the inventory grid.

Cons: Sometimes the software can slow down when too many users are logged in at once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2014
Lawrence A.
Business Center Manager
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019

"Hassle Free"

Pros: I like how i can customize almost anything on my business through Retail Pro, they give me options to improve my business even more.

Cons: There are no major issues on this software. It performs pretty well as far as i am using it. I highly recommend it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019
Bill G.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2014

"Retail Pro with Big Hairy Dog"

Pros: Retail Pro Version 8 - flexibility in the product mix we sell; by the item, weight, or volume discounts. Big Hairy Dog - response time is great! Things are going to happen, and when it does, we know that our support team at BHD will respond and get us back on track, day or night!

Cons: The issues that seem to limit reporting capabilities are addressed in the upcoming upgrade version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2014
Loren M.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2014

"I have been using Retail Pro since 1991"

Pros: Retail Pro continues to be updated with time. My vendor, BHD Information Systems, is proactive about their customers being happy with Retail Pro.

Cons: Some basic features could be easier to use (e.g.-Sales Orders/Gift Cards).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2014
Randolph U.
Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2014

"Retail Pro v9"

Pros: I find it very user-friendly and very visual with the layout. The vendor always responds to questions and is always willing to help.

Cons: Nothing that I can think of currently. The product is very easy to use, and the vendor is always there to support and provide whatever is needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2014
Diana P.
Apparel & Fashion
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2014

"Cop-copine"

Pros: It's user friendly system with very helpful IT support.

Cons: I don't have any complaints. For the most part, it satisfies our essential needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2014
Jack O.
Sporting Goods
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2014

"Retail Pro 9 & JD Associates Leominster, MA"

Pros: Retail Pro is a easy to use. The vendor, JDA, is responsive when we have a question.

Cons: The software does not have a process module for manufacturing or changing the product for resale. There are no issues with the vendor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2014
Robert S.
Retail Pro Administrator
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2018

"Retail Pro 9"

Comments: I have been a Retail Pro Admin now for years. I know that if I ever have an issue pop up, I can call my RPro business partner at any time of the day, even 2 am, which I have done. I get the same high quality and knowledgeable support I need at the time.

Pros: It’s ability to provide a one-stop shop. It has everything a business needs to succeed as software goes. Along with it knowledgeable business partners is an excellent choice to support your retail business

Cons: New more knowledge based support. When I access my portal, the limited amount of user information is disappointing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2018
Chris M.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2014

"J.D Associates and Retail Pro"

Pros: We have been using the software Retail Pro for about two months now at our single location, which is a Swimming Pool retail store. Since the day we first launched the software, we have had such an easy time conducting business with our vast customer base. Ringing in sales have never been easier, and we can now, for once, really track our sales by department and so much more. The software was very easy to learn and J.D. Associates was a big part of that! Their training process was not only well-performed, but our teacher made it fun as well! I'd recommend RetailPro and J.D. Associates to any entrepreneur or business manager!

Cons: I can't think of anything at all. There is nothing to date we dislike, and I can't see us ever changing our views.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2014