RMM Reviews

by N-ABLE (formerly SolarWinds MSP)

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Nigel Z.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019

"Great features and value"

Comments: I am able to keep the clients I have engaged and continue to service them with other IT needs. It works great for improving the client's performance and increasing my bottom line.

Pros: I like that this software is cost effective for a startup and can expand with many features to use. I can be sure that the clients have their machines up and running all the time.

Cons: I would like the software to have an option for the client to cancel a reboot of their machine.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Darell B.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2020

"Solar Winds is a Great addition to any technician doing remote monitoring and management"

Comments: My overall experience has been positive as the software is a setup and forget automation for updates and detection of harmful software or sites on your client computers

Pros: I like the dash board setup and being able to select features for all my clients or individually. The antivirus software detection's are very accurate without false positive infections. The reporting feature can be scheduled and sent to clients emails concerning alerts or problems.

Cons: The software is a little frustrating to get setup and monitoring sometimes errors occur but when you work through the issues the software does an outstanding job of watching your clients

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2020
Jim M.
System Engineer
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"SolarWinds Monitoring Tool"

Comments: I would recommend to start with one or two features and add others to reduce the overall impact of its initial rollout and use

Pros: This software will monitor just about anything on your network (except for the coffee pot). Server status is its best known function. You can set parameters for the monitoring both local and devices over the network.
Other features available are anti-virus, help desk, notifications, etc

Cons: With all of the options available for this software, the screen can become busy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Aaron B.
IT Support
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020

"It does the job"

Comments: We primarily use SloarWinds RMM to manage the computers of our clients so they don't have to worry about those things.

Pros: SolarWinds RMM does a decent enough job connecting to remote computers and allowing us to see what is going on with every computer.

Cons: What I like least about SolarWinds RMM is that there is a consistent request to update the remote software on my computer. It seems that at least once a day this is happening, often breaking my workflow in the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020
John H.
Network Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019

"SolarWinds RMM Works for the MSP"

Pros: This Software does all of the heavy lifting and will save you time and money from managing your network the manual way

Cons: This software does everything that I ask of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019
James K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019

"Works as a remote desktop for remoting into computers or servers"

Comments: Overall it has been good. It has allowed me to remote into computers and servers and correct issues with no problems. Only if the agent eats up a lot of CPU and memory will you have an issue with slowness.

Pros: Easy to get setup. Install the windows agent on a computer or Server and then add a discovery job to find that device. Can also be used for cell phones, printers and any network device you need to monitor. Allows multiple options form Take Control to Remote Desktop, Java web control.

Cons: Can sometimes be flaky. The biggest problem is that the agent can really take over CPU and memory. Sometimes to the point of making the device you are remoted into really slow. Tried everything suggested on SolarWinds website to mitigate this to no avail. Location tracking for cell phones is also buggy. Soem phones report location correctly, others will not report at all, so if soemone loses a phone, good luck trying to find it. Good thing for Google tracking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"Easy to use - not easy to leave"

Pros: We used an old version six years ago. The issue was value for money.
They courted us to come back with better pricing and all the improvements.
Nice web based interface. You can get lost or distracted with all the extra functions.
I think this would work best for a new MSP that does not have all the infra structure and services in place.
Then it is a one stop shop.

Cons: BRUTAL dealing with AR. We tried it a second time on a few devices.
The reporting was what was expected. We had most of the feature in place already.
I got a call that we would get extra charges and the value of the product dropped.
I paid and asked to cancel. - Now what a disaster! - They refused my cancellation and have continued to bill.
From their NetSuite: The cancellation has been submitted. But it was rejected 5/3 and 6/3.
What a terrible company to deal with!

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 21/10/2019

We are sorry to hear you had challenges with your billing process. We'd love the opportunity to help. Please contact us at [email protected] and one of our Customer Success Representatives will be in touch asap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Tim L.
Sr. Consultant
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2/02/2019

"SloarWinds RMM is very good software"

Pros: SloarWinds RMM is very good software. It is easy to use and has tons of features to adapt to different business.

Cons: SlocarWinds RMM can improve their Graphic User Interface to make it more friendly and collaborate more features in one place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2/02/2019
Derek S.
Service Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020

"SolarWinds RMM (formerly N-Able) is a great RMM tool"

Comments: Great solution for an RMM tool. The management of the alerts and system is the best overall of the competitors. Would recommend as long as the PSA tool links to it well.

Pros: Very intuitive interface and easy to learn. Easy to navigate and manage individual endpoints and quiet noisy alerts. Great integration with direct hardware monitoring as well.

Cons: Remote access software has historically been an additional feature. Very competitive market and some aspects are not the "best" in the market, including remotely connecting to computers. SolarWinds is also only breaking into the PSA market so there is not a direct connecting service to link on day 1 without looking at other vendors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations Manager / Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/03/2018

"Network monitoring tool with a lot of information to help you track your environment"

Pros: The tool has a lot of features out of the box with the basic module purchased - add the nodes of your environment and collect historical data on them. The main features make network monitoring and tracking simple - with stats and graphs. Reporting is also great for giving to managers. Excellent support when calling in.

Cons: Out of the box a simple setup, each module though becomes pricey for small/medium businesses - each comes with it's own maintenance plan. Reporting takes some knowledge of SQL for setting up the reporting profiles and can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/03/2018
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"There is no perfect RMM tool"

Comments: Solarwinds was one of my stops on the way to the perfect RMM system. After trialing a number of them for months, I learned there is no perfect RMM. Each one has different strengths and weaknesses. Solarwinds RMM is strong on usability, integration, and pricing. They were, when I trialed it over a year ago, weak on patching and to a lesser degree, automation.

Pros: The trial period is a full 30 days. The sales and support teams are available to help with setup questions and problems during that time. My experience with sales was overall positive - they were not pushy. The product is cloud hosted, no option for self-hosting (they offer another RMM that can be.) The monitoring agent is unobtrusive on the target PCs. It's possible to remotely manage most of what you need to manage on a workplace PC. They offer integrated AV which is a must for MSPs. A documents-only backup is also available, although for full system backups you will need to use theirs or another add-on backup application. A large body of knowledge is available online, much of it from the days when the individual components were stand-alone companies. Once you learn the history of SW RMM, you can find answers to most problems in forums and blog posts. I can't comment on their phone support, as I only used it once or twice. I thought the pricing was quite fair. You can easily charge enough per PC to make the RMM cost small change. They offer month-to-month billing, which is great for small startups.

Cons: Running tasks and scripts is anything but real time. You might wait hours to learn if a script had run or not, or what the output was. Patch management gave the appearance of being complete and granular, but again, for me, confidence in the actual state of systems was not there, needed lots of double checking. AV and backup were reliable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Kevin E.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Powerful, but complex monitoring and backup"

Comments: I'm using the software to monitor and back up business servers across multiple clients. Other than an outage due to the removal of less secure SSL and TLS protocols from the servers I monitor, the software has been solid. In the case of the outage, support stuck with me for quite some time over multiple sessions to make sure the issue was resolved. TOP MARKS FOR SUPPORT!!

Pros: A wide array of sensors to monitor servers and workstations. A powerful dashboard provides a quick look at the state of systems being monitored. Integrated file and SQL backup and antivirus provides a one stop shop for protection and monitoring.

Cons: It can be challenging to resolve issues when they arise with the software, or underlying issues that affect the software. Given the complexity and nature of it, this can be expected to an extent.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Louis B.
IT Profesional
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"An all-in-one solution for providing IT monitoring"

Comments: This platforms allows me to manage about 50 customers with more than 20 servers and 100 desktops from one single location. Thanks to the remote access feature, I can solve more than 80% of my customer problems without having to go onsite.

Pros: Complete solution: rich monitoring features including SW updates management and backups
Easy to deploy: o need to spend lots of time reading the documentation
Flexible: it does what you need to do

Cons: Nothing really!
The backup/restore option could probably be more user friendly
The Android version is a bit disapointing today

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/09/2018

"Remote Monitoring made easy"

Comments: Overall and cost effective solution for monitoring systems which normally would be a manual process.

Pros: Extremely easy to deploy with default agent settings you setup in minutes. Advanced users can customise the alerts, monitor events of any type. Email alerts on failures. Other addon's can be added to the console such as patch management, antivirus, backup and more.

Cons: If I had to pick something I would say occasionally (once a year if that) the agent service would need a restart as the server would stop reporting it. You still get notified of this so not a massive problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/09/2018
Dillon D.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Best IT Management Software"

Comments: My experience is great so far - definitely worth the buck.

Pros: Patch Management
IT Asset Management
Control
Reporting

Cons: nothing that comes to mind - the product so far fulfills all the needs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Joe D.
Director of TEchnology
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/07/2019

"Almost the perfect solution"

Comments: Our IT unit was in disarray when I took over and Solarwinds helped us get control of all aspects of systems management. From monitoring servers to patching workstations and protecting our users from CTD's. And on top of it all... inventory. We now know where all our assets are and who is using them.

Pros: Above all, this software gives you the tools you need to run an IT department. Patch management, Managed AV, Web filtering, Risk Intel etc..

Cons: There isnt much. If I had to gripe on something I would say the UI and UX could use a facelift/makeover. Hover menus, cleaner look. But this is just to pick something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/07/2019
Brian F.
it admin
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Remotely keep an eye on your customer computers"

Pros: Monitors many items on a company's computer network, allows for remote access, antivirus monitoring and reporting, control over when updates are installed, can schedule reboots for off hours.

Cons: The main application needs to be installed onsite. There is some delay when a computer is restarted for the portal to show that is online.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"SolarWinds makes a fantastic RMM tool."

Pros: What I like most about SolarWinds RMM is it's value. I believe you get the most bang for your buck compared to other RMMs. In a recent survey among MSPs nationwide, SolarWinds was even ranked the best overall.

Cons: Patch management could be better, but I know they are working hard on it. Right now it's a bit complicated to setup and use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
John K.
IT Director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I am very pleased to be able to see all of my devices in a single pane.

Pros: Everything is visible at a glance, icons make it easy to what needs to be updated, what to reboot, and what needs further attention

Cons: Setup of new devices can be a little cumbersome, but it can be done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Shuabe A.
Senior Technical Support Analyst
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Great bang for your buck."

Comments: Overall, a great tool and efficient access across our network.

Pros: Solarwinds RMM is a great tool to use to manage and remote into user machines remotely.

Cons: It can alter the display when remoting in, making it a bit difficult to see clearly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Chris O.
Lieutenant
Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"THE BEST"

Pros: Ease of use and the support is awesome, the software is a breeze to use for daily duties in our IT department.

Cons: Nothing to say bad about this software or the people who support it. Has been a pleasure to use this program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Chris A.
VP of IT
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"For advanced RMM needs"

Pros: This product has a lot of features and some great add on such as IPSLA and Netflow. This gives you the ability to move beyond Real-time Monitoring and begin performance monitoring.

Cons: This is a complex tool so if you don't understand WMI and SNMP you will most likely not be able to get it to perform the way you want it to. In addition it is costly for small businesses if they plan to use it strictly as an RMM.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Matthew L.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018

"They will take your money or ruin your credit trying."

Comments: I am about to file a lawsuit with this company because they gave me a free trial but now claim I owe them a few hundred dollars even though I never used their services but have failed to provide me any documentation proving their claim but are refusing to refund my nonexistent account.

Pros: Its a good idea for a platform that allows an MSN to operate in a competitive sense.

Cons: The customer support is abysmal and they will charge you for talking to them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Marcio P.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/12/2019

"Nice to have all your customers in one place"

Comments: Customer service is hard to reach and slow to respond

Pros: The fact that I have all my customer computers in one place

Cons: Updates fail constantly and the reason is not clear. Also it doesn't work with trendmicro antivirus which is my solution

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 23/12/2019

We're sorry to hear you've experienced some challenges with customer service as we always strive to deliver the best service experience possible. This obviously wasn't what you experienced and that's troublesome. We will reach out to you shortly to hopefully assist you further.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/12/2019
Danny M.
IT Manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019

"Amazing remote manamgement software"

Pros: I love how simple it is to manage my systems with this software. I can remotely control every single endpoint in my organisation, pull an assest list when I need it, keep an eye on virus threats and even deploy virus protection all via a simple interface

Cons: The only additional feature I'd like to see is the ability to freeze the remote display, so the user cannot see what actions are being performed, like entering sensetive parts of systems etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019