Productboard Reviews

by Productboard

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster.

Learn more about Productboard

Showing 125 reviews

Joshua P.
Joshua P.
CTO
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019

"Alas! We found our product management solution"

Comments: Over the past two years, we've tried about every product management solution under the sun. While many have been good, we hadn't found the best solution for *us* (a small team, 3 product people, 5 engineers). This is the first solution that's been adopted by the entire team, a big part due to the easy shared inbox for customer insights.

Pros: In order of benefit, here's what I like most so far about Productboard: (1) Aggregating product insights / customer requirements across all of our inboxes + Slack into one place
(2) Ability to build a quarterly roadmap w/ existing tickets in Jira + w/ ability to write new features back to Jira as tickets
(3) Ability to outline all of the components of our platform w/ features under each component - something we've never had before.

Cons: Some small nit-picks around interactions (eg. bulk selecting rows), but so far customer support has responded instantly to guide me in right direction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Nicolay A.
Product Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2017

"We evaluated a number of products before choosing producboard. One of the best decisions we've made!"

Pros: I wanted to save this for last, but I'd hate myself if people didn't read it because of my lengthy post. productboard is beautiful, simple and extremely powerful! As our products matured, and our customer base grew, there was never a shortage of customer feedback and ideas on how to improve (or introduce new) features. Our backlog (in Jira) was growing, and processing feedback (categorising, evaluating, prioritising) was becoming a cumbersome (if not impossible) task. It was hard to collate feedback on the same feature and/or trace it back to the customers who requested it. As we were seeking to embrace a Dual-Track Agile approach to how we do product development, we needed a tool that powers our Discovery stage. We found it in productboard. It allows us to easily assign new ideas/feedback to the respective feature. productboard generates a user score based on frequency and importance. You can also map the features to different customer segments, strategic drivers and any other custom fields you need. Map your features to releases and voila, productboard generates a stylish, digestible roadmap. Even better - two clicks on the roadmap view, and you can drill down to the original feedback. No more 'Oh, where did this come from?' Brilliant! Very importantly, productboard works well with your ecosystem. We kept our existing feedback forms (Google Form) and use Zapier to sync them with productboard. We also use the Jira and Slack integrations. They work awesome!

Cons: At some stage we'd like to drop our Google Form, and start collecting feedback in-app. And while product board already makes it convenient to collect feedback from Intercom conversations, it might make it easier for some customers if they had a simple, embeddable form. Another challenge product board needs to think about is related to closing the feedback loop, i.e. feeding information back to the original requestors. Whether it's via a portal, or an integration with a customer engagement product (like Intercom), that would be a powerful addition. That said, these are currently nice-to-haves for our business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2017
Benjamin S.
VP Product
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019

"Best product management platform"

Pros: It is the best system of record for PM related information and to build a process in. A great way to ensure all stakeholder feedback is captured & organized. Then primary source information can be linked to as many ideas (features, stories etc.) as desired and they can be prioritized very powerfully. Enables stakeholder communication at scale effectively. Let's me do almost everything I want, in the way I want to.

Cons: It perhaps has too many features and options! The responsibility is on the user to not over-complicate the implementation. It's best for folks who are comfortable with a good degree of information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019
Aaron C.
Product Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019

"Productboard helps manage a large repository of user feedback from many sources"

Pros: The ability to consume many sources of user feedback and the portal is really just icing on the cake. We did not hire this tool for that job but did have a need for one so that was nice.

Cons: Prioritization features are a bit much for our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019
Marcel P.
Marcel P.
Co-Founder & CEO
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"This product made me a better product manager."

Pros: As a CEO of an early stage company, I wear a lot of hats. I had to find a way to create really clear roadmaps for the team and change them as we itterate that was visual, easy an most importantly, fast. Productboard was everything I was looking for and so much more. - The UI looks fantastic.
- There are views for every kind of roadmap discussion, whether that's sprints, waterfall, high level, releases. However you run development or create roadmaps, there's a view that supports the context of that conversation.
- Once you get an understanding of how it works, adding features and prioritizing/categorizing them is a breeze.
- The tools for prioritization and impact scoring are super easy and helpful.
- If you're like me and are a bit new to product management, the tool will actually make you better at your job and help you show up for the product team with the types of clear, visual roadmaps they need to get on board with vision.

Cons: I had a tiny bit of trouble getting a hang of the UI the first few hours. Which was frustrating at first, then I watched a few tutorials, got the hang of it, and was off to the races. Ultimately that's pretty good for a product that is as robust as this one. But do yourself a favor and watch some tutorials before you try to create your first roadmap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Matt T.
Chief Product Officer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019

"Designed for product leaders"

Comments: UX is great. Functionality feels like it was designed just for me. Love it.

Pros: With ProductBoard I am able to organize the team from the product vision down, in a way that is specific to the focus of product leaders. It's not a bottoms-up task organization tool - it's built to help build products.

Cons: I would like a little more hierarchy and better 2-way integration with tools like Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019
Peter D.
Product Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019

"A no-brainer for PMs in start ups and mid-sized companies"

Pros: A structured place for user insights, that linked to features keeps reminding me off ALL of our insights, and not just the last 10-15 discovered. A flexible, powerful way to organise features, which can be viewed and filtered in many ways that fits the context needed.

Cons: It has a bit of a learning curve, but once passed you will never go back.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019
Elizabeth B.
Product Intern
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"Use it everyday and I love it"

Comments: We are using it to sort and manage all of our customer feedback into categories which has been great since we get dozens of feedback a week in all types of categories.

Pros: It is really easy to use and navigate around. When I was first introduced to this, it took me no time to pick it up and get used to everything on the platform. It's so great at organizing. Would not know what to do without this!

Cons: I have been using this for 7 months now and I don't have a single thing that I can think of that I don't like about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2021

"Nearly great?"

Comments: It was used to manage features and rollout of iOS and web applications.

Pros: We've used PB on and off for several years. It's promise is great - keeping track of requests, features, and requirements is an incredible need on complex builds, and JIRA is a nightmare for that. But PB only delivers partially on that promise.

Cons: I want to like this product, but it seems to copy so much from Jira that it becomes a second silo of features and requirements. And we already have Jira for that. The timeline and forecasting tools are weak and inflexible, the UI is sufficiently complex as to be unusable by team members that don't use it daily (making collaboration harder, just like Jira). We eventually churned and returned to spreadsheets, it wasn't as collaborative as hoped, and not as necessary as Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2021
Ariel C.
product manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2021

"Great partner for product managers"

Comments: The tool is a great partner to handle in the same place the customer's and user's insights, and the features to consider or develop for the product.

Pros: Easy to use the platform to handle insights and transform them into features. Good to prioritize with effort vs value, and translate that info into Roadmap views to share with other stakeholders.

Cons: We would love to have more flexibility on how to build the formula for scoring features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2021
Rick S.
Product Owner
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019

"Recommended!"

Pros: Properly ordered and categorized user feedback. So we can make the right choice in what to build (and what not).
The connected portal generates even more feedback and is automatically categorized.

Cons: The unconventional user layout is highly flexible but comes with a (small) learning curve. It takes a little time figuring out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Graden H.
Product Manager
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019

"A critical tool to keep track of product feedback and feature ideas."

Pros: Capturing insights from the various channels and applying them to features or problem statements is generally very easy and quick.

Cons: I wish productboard had a mobile app. Especially when I want to capture an Insight away from my desk. Until they have an app, I have to capture the insight some other way and then transfer it into productboard later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of Products
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2021

"Makes collaborating with the team and stakeholders much easier!"

Pros: Very easy to use and a great place to collaborate!
Support many different views.

Cons: The insights portal is a little sub-par and could be made more intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Product Director
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019

"Helps with release prioritization"

Pros: Quick file customer feedback to PB Inbox Clearly see who exactly (customer) benefits from the feature in the upcoming release Ease of UI/UX to track general objectives/milestones, file new ideas using Chrome extension

Cons: JIRA integration/sync needs to be better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019
Kathleen P.
Sr. Product Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2019

"Productboard review"

Comments: Its been a great experience, lots of good support and we've really been able to build a process behind using it

Pros: I really like that you can put insights from customer calls and discovery work right into productboard and actually tag that insight when developing a feature

Cons: there are A LOT of different features and tools to use, it can be a bit overwhelming to determine which to use when

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2019
Chris F.
Product Director
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"Fantastic solution to manage customer requests and plan and prioritize your product"

Pros: Aggregates customer feedback from Intercom, Emails, support system into one central location
Structure your features within your product and assign customer insights to each feature
Caters for multiple market segment feeback

Cons: II would like to see the number of market verticals that can be recorded increases.
A way to tag market segments against the insight would be great

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Ramona E.
Ramona E.
Product Specialist & Software Engineer
Industrial Automation, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"Pricey, but extensive roadmapping software"

Comments: This tool has helped us reimagine our workflow for entering, planning and roadmapping new features. It helped us to communicate changes easily with all members of our team.

Pros: This tool can be used to for product management and roadmapping new development. The interface is modern and easy on the eyes. One handy feature is the ability for anyone to send an email to a specific email-adres and it will end up automatically in the 'Inbox' of ProductBoard. This allows us to restrict the access to the software to only those that need it, while our other employees can still contribute easily.

Cons: It is quite expensive, so it is mostly suited for middle- to large companies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Vitor G.
Product Leader
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019

"The best experience for product managers"

Pros: Product Board is a very intuitive product. They also have a huge among of information about how to use the software and also about best practices.

Cons: After they are invested i notice a different improvement pace in the software itself and this is bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Lead Software Engineer
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2019

"Great tool for organizing and guiding development of software solutions"

Pros: - Makes it easy to track and quantify customer feedback
- Feature organization makes it easy to track progress of software solution at a glance
- Seamless integration with JIRA simplifies our usage significantly
- Pricing model is primarily based around number of "makers" instead of total number of users, which seems like a fair way to do it

Cons: - UI takes a little getting used to. It generally makes sense, but isn't 100% intuitive for a new user.
- Number of "contributors" (people who can view data, but not edit) is pretty limited at lowest tier, so the product gets expensive quickly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019

"Track, organize, and learn from customer insight"

Pros: - Feature-rich interface that allows for really detailed ranking and prioritization of upcoming product plans
- View-only mode for other company contributors
- The "Insights" feature takes the cake — you can pipe in product feedback from any number of sources, and highlight and rank key feature requests. Having one location to view and sort all bug and feature requests has solved a major pain point for us

Cons: The pricing could be improved; feels a little pricy per seat (relative to other products like Asana)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019
Alejandro O.
Product Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019

"Productboard"

Pros: Management of user feedback throughout the planning-development-release cycle

Cons: I'm just missing a gantt view to have a better overview of the features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2019
Tasos E.
Head of Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019

"One stop shop!"

Pros: Visibility of how important our customer's feature requests are considering a number of things that are important to our company ex. vision, growth, revenue etc. Congrats for building a "must have" tool for all companies.

Cons: The on-boarding is kind of tricky as there are a million things to do and need to be considered while setting up the service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/11/2019
Karthik C.
Karthik C.
CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/11/2019

"Great way to consolidate feedback!"

Pros: Consolidating feedback and feature ideas. We collect feedback from support, interactions with existing customers, potential customers and other experts. It's great to have all of that organized in one place.

Cons: It'd great to have more integrations to push feedback to ProductBoard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Product & Operations Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"#1 product for Product teams"

Comments: It is #1 tool for Product managers. Nothing else to say.

Pros: It's the best tool I've used which has all you need for product development from idea to implementation.

Cons: It's a bit overwhelming in the beginning. You see potential value in features but not sure how exactly to use them until you spend some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Max V.
Max V.
Head of Design
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019

"Helpful but expensive and not essential"

Pros: Just started using productboard and really enjoy how simple and intuitive it is. Helps organize thoughts around features and functionality.

Cons: Super expensive for something that could theoretically be accomplished in a google doc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019