Document Control Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About Document Control

Streamline your document authoring, editing, approval, and employee sign-off processes.

Learn more about Document Control

Showing 121 reviews

Kris A.
Quality Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2016

"Very satisfied user!"

Comments: I have used several Document Management systems. This is by far the easiest to use. I meets all our regulatory requirements. The support in both setting up the system and ongoing has been wonderful. Any requests have been quickly dealt with. Also, they are very open to suggested changes. We have been so pleased with the Document Management system and are now adding on additional programs, such as Compass and Inspection Proof

Pros: You really can't make a mistake in using the system. I particularly like that you can assign users to review the documents and track their usage. Also, it's very easy to send comments back and for to users, for example if a change is requested or a typo is noted. We have staff that are not the best at using computers and this program has been very easy for them to use.
We feel that for the first time that our documents are usable, accurate and great tool to train our staff to.

Cons: No Cons at all. Just recommend taking the time to write and format your documents prior to checking them into the system. This will make the process much smoother.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2016
Lee S.
Laboratory Director
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018

"5 x implementer of MediaLab in the US"

Comments: I have nothing but superb interactions and an even better experience with Medialab

Pros: Medialab Inc. is a robust and easy to implement product that helps immensely with compliance and competency. It has become an invaluable tool in the labs I have managed.

Cons: The only down fall is the like of a fully functional mobile app, this would help in the transition to tablets or ipads in the lab.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018
Deean J.
Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"BEST THING EVER!"

Comments: As the site administrator for our laboratory, this has been the best thing ever to be able to organize and control all of our documents.

Pros: Easy to use and understand. Employees find it easy, too.

Cons: There is nothing about this MediaLab Document control product I'm unhappy with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Amer A.
Assistant Director
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018

"Great document control software; easy to use"

Comments: Overall, MediaLab LDC has been GREAT! We went from using an extremely buggy and unreliable SharePoint document control system to one that is seamless to use with excellent tracking capabilities, easy to upload, update and manage laboratory and personnel documents. Would highly recommend MediaLab to any laboratory especially accredited facilities.

Pros: It's easy to use and provides excellent reporting functions. Updating and uploading documents is seamless and tracking functionality is second to none.

Cons: Receive too many emails from database which leads to ignoring of important messages. Some aspects are not as easy to use as others and this is true of the personnel documentation section.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018
Terri P.
Microbiology/Phlebotomy Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"LOVE Media lab!"

Comments: All around excellent experience with Media Lab.

Pros: Really easy to maintain compliance to CAP Document Control standards. Easy to use, track, generate reports, make assignments, etc, and would highly recommend to any laboratory without electronic Document Control!

Cons: The front end uploading of all SOPs took a bit of time, but once the manuals are organized, it makes maintenance and compliance a breeze. They also offer "Inspection Proof" which is a MUST HAVE for any lab inspected by CAP.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Chris B.
Project Leader
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"Good for the Price"

Comments: For us it solved the day to day grind of so much work on paper. One person was responsible for thousands of documents and the changes, so things would fall behind or get lost. We may still fall behind but it is due to lack of time to properly review a document and wanting to wait until we have enough time and can give it some thought.

Pros: It was easy to upload existing documents and treat them just like a manual on paper.

Cons: It can get complicated making workflows and dealing with Divisions. The sharing of documents can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Kathy H.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"Media Lab has worked out well for our needs."

Comments: We are required to have document control and this serves our needs very well.

Pros: It is easy to download, revise and upload procedures. Inspection Proof is an enormous help with our inspections. We can just sit the inspectors down with a computer and this covers most our inspection because it is very easy for them to go through their checklist from there.

Cons: Sometimes the help tips do not cover what I need to know, even though it seems to me that it should be there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Angela M.
Manager, Lab Quality, Safety, Document Control
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"Media Lab is very user friendly"

Comments: We use the document control, continuing education, and inspection proof

Pros: I like that it has a variety of functionality (i.e. document control, continuing education, competency, inspection proof).

Cons: We are a healthcare system and some of the functionality with the document control process does not lend itself easily to a system approach. Multiple facilities with multiple medical directors with the same policies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Paige T.
Director of Regulatory Affairs
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018

"Medical Laboratory Document Control Software Review"

Comments: We are better standardized across our system and we feel confident that we have a software that fulfills the requirements to maintain document control across our organization.

Pros: It is very easy to use and allows you to set up electronic versions of manuals and sub-manuals to mimic what you previously had in printed versions. The tracking and auditing functions ease the burden of capturing and documenting associate compliance with reading SOPs. Customer Service is responsive and helpful whenever you have a question or realize you may have set permissions or workflows up incorrectly.

Cons: The user training needs beefed up. There are items that are missing or vague in the help center offerings. Specifically, we have managers that oversee multiple divisions, and it was not clear how or if to add them to groups in each division. Instructions for sharing of documents out to divisions was also a bit vague.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018
Lori W.
Chemistry Lead
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Use MediaLab for procedures and documents."

Pros: I am still learning about it. I like that it is shared by so many places. Approvals can be done without passing documents. Once you get familiar it is easier to use. It puts all the documents in one place. I understand there is much more with continuing education that I have not learned yet.

Cons: Not always sure what key words will pull up what I am looking for. Wish there were an index. The font is very small on my computer and I have problems choosing a manual or document at times. I am not sure why we have to approve procedures for everything including stuff we do not perform in our lab. I am not sure about a Help Center or phone call hot line. It would be nice to have something like that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Cynthia G.
Administrative Assistant
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Document control has been very easy to use and helpful"

Pros: I like most how easy and efficient the software is to use for controlling documents. I have easy access to all policies and procedures within the facility and eliminates a lot of paper documentation.

Cons: I like least how notifications are delayed at times or repeated when activities have been made within the program such as approvals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Marla L.
Coordinator, Quality, Safety & Accreditation
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"We are using Document Control, along with other MediaLab modules and it works well for our organizat"

Pros: It houses all of our policies in one convenient online place. We can use the Inspection Proof module to link to our policies easily. We also use the competency (Compass) module for our onboarding and competency assessment requirements. We import CAP checklists to use for our self and on site inspections.

Cons: It is quite robust and takes quite a bit of education to use. Our review process is quite lengthy and the to do section could use some revision.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Hema O.
Director
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018

"Best Software for Laboratory Documents"

Comments: I would recommend all laboratories to have MediaLab as their document control software

Pros: Automated tracking and history keeping feature

Cons: Nothing really - It is excellent, except not having complete electronic manual on available on the site.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018
Devin L.
Laboratory Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018

"This software has made our document control process so much more efficient"

Comments: A uniform document control system across the laboratory

Pros: The ease of use and helpfulness of customer support. The email notifications help to keep you a track. I also like the reminder to update the paper version so that it always stays current.

Cons: Having to remember to assign groups, peer reviewers, admins, lab directors, for each manual. It's easy to miss a part that leads to problems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018
Ann H.
Manager of Diagnostics
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"I wish it was more customizable for individual businesses."

Comments: Electronic document control.

Pros: Tracking potential of documents in the system. The to do list is very helpful and also the automatic annual review setting.

Cons: Would like to be able to " watermark" copies to easily see if it is an original controlled copy. This would administrators find uncontrolled copies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Corinne M.
QA Coordinator/Educator
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"New for us, so we don't understand it all but so far eliminates work and increases efficiency."

Comments: Efficiency--I don't have to manage documents as much because of the approval processes and the continuity (after original setup).

Pros: The automated approval process is nice. I like that we can link to other SOP's so easily. I also like the ability to customize quizzes and/or sign-offs for documents. So far it's been easy to manage--a bit time-consuming to set up, but it should be easier now that official setup is complete.

Cons: Not sure yet. There's been a learning curve so I don't understand all of it yet, but there haven't been any major headaches that I can think of. Some users have complained about the blurriness of the text (it's not as clear as our former software)--I'm not sure if this was affected by the upload speed or what contributed to this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
HR Business Partner
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"This web based version makes it so easy to assign training to a remote workforce."

Pros: I especially like the feature to add our own company training programs and have it be easily assigned to employees.

Cons: We can only grant access to a specific number of employees. We often have to delete termed employees so we can grant access to new employees. When we do this we lose their training completion records.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lab Manager
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018

"A standard almost everyone uses"

Comments: One huge benefit is being able to manage our documents electronically. This is both convenient and secure especially when working remotely.

Pros: The software is a necessary standard that a lot of labs are using so it does what it is supposed to do.

Cons: The software layout is very old school and in need of a serious makeover.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2018
Sean K.
SVP
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Great product, no issues"

Pros: MediaLab Document Control is easy to use, has all the options we need, and users generally speak positively about the product.

Cons: In general, I have nothing negative to say about MediaLab Document Control. The product has all the features necessary for us to run our business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Cytology-Molecular Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2019

"Excellent product"

Pros: We've used this in our laboratories for many years, and have found it to be very helpful and useful

Cons: The price does seem to increase each year, and there is only one site administrator allowed per site, which is cumbersome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Kristen K.
Document Control Specialist
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017

"Document Control is so easy to use!"

Pros: MediaLab's Document Control is very intuitive. Within one month of being on the job I was able to to completely rebuild our manual structure on my own.

Cons: There are a few features I have wished for that are not currently available in Document Control that I hope will be in the near future. However, MediaLab support is very helpful in providing what I need if certain features are not available.

Vendor Response

by MediaLab on 9/11/2017

Thank you for the great feedback, Kristen! Feel free to contact me about the features you'd like to see!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Mark H.
Anatomic Pathology Education Coord.
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Once you've used Document Control a few times it's user friendly. The 1st time was difficult."

Pros: I can easily switch from one document to another without having to go back to another screen.
I have some administrative rights. It's easy to build new questions. I like the format and ease of adding remediation and feedback.

Cons: The steps to sign off on a document is not user friendly. I'm never quite sure if I've completed the assignment, so I check the Document Control icon to make sure an assignment is no longer pending. I shouldn't have to do that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Quality Assurance Manager
Research
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Very good for basic document control needs"

Pros: Good pricing. Good entry level document control system. Easy to create accounts. easy to search for needed documents

Cons: Not very user friendly for assigning documents. Approval process cannot be customized. Geared towards use with blood banking and not GMP products. Not as many restrictions other Document control systems

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Pazit S.
manager
Biotechnology, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2018

"great laboratory compliance tool"

Comments: Great software that is easy to train others on

Pros: great way to easily incorporate documentation of compliance with regulatory standards with software that is already used for CE compliance

Cons: limited CE units in molecular diagnostics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of Ancillary Services
Medical Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018

"MediaLab Laboratory Document Control"

Comments: It's great! It was nearly impossible to keep up with reviews and versions without a system like this. It really makes my job easier.

Pros: You can assign your own policy numbers OR let the system assign them.

Cons: Sometimes a bit confusing when trying to go back to a manual, but it is really straightforward, just need to get used to it. I never set up my new user call, but it is available at any time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018