Document Control Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Document Control

Streamline your document authoring, editing, approval, and employee sign-off processes.

Learn more about Document Control

Showing 121 reviews

Bertrand B.
Bertrand B.
Laboratory Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018

"MediaLab is a great product for document control, it can be cumbersome to move around the documents."

Comments: inspection proofing for all of our inspections as well as the ability to hold and maintain numerous policies and procedures.

Pros: I like that the software is able to maintain the hundreds of policies and procedures our hospital laboratory has to maintain. One of the best features is the CAP Inspection readiness, this has often kept us in line with what our inspectors are looking for.

Cons: I dislike the clunkiness of the software, it can be cumbersome to move procedures around manuals, its difficult to remove from one manual and place in another. Linking procedures is often difficult and some times time consuming as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018
David K.
Laboratory Director
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"MediaLab has been transformative. It has enabled me to better oversee document control."

Comments: Before using MediaLab we struggled constantly to manage the hundreds of policies and procedures in our lab. MediaLab has allowed me as the laboratory director to more easily review, edit, and approve all documents. It has also allowed me create more consistent documents in terms of formatting across all areas of the lab. Instead of using copies of copies of copies of forms or worksheets, we now have these in MediaLab, so there is no excuse not to have professional-appearing forms at all times.

Pros: Ease of use with regard to using Microsoft Word to create and edit procedures and policies. Customer service has also been exceptional.

Cons: There are some features I would like to see added, e.g., intradocument hyperlinks and the ability for me as a director to more easily convert from minor revision to major revision.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Rezvaneh P.
Quality/ AP Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"Medialab Document Control"

Comments: I am saving a lot of time using document control. By using Medialab document control feature, I know that my employees sign off on all documents as soon as they are approved and I can keep records of their activities.
Also, the fee is comparable to other software out there.

Pros: It is user friendly at most parts. Easy to upload documents and start approval process. Easy for biennial review. Reminders for different due dates helps employees. Helps getting ready for inspection via inspection proof.

Cons: Giving permissions to employees and group of employees have been a challenge for me. Also, I have problem giving permission to the Managers for biennial review of their department procedure manual.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
James W.
Director, Laboratory
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"I do several sections, Safety, Point of Care and sign off of Dept manual/doc for the entire system"

Comments: An entire easy to use document control systems that simplifies the process and makes usable.

Pros: How simple it is to update a policy and get it sign off. Reminders for updates. Minor vs major revision to help speed up the review process. Easy access to documents and manuals. Validation of sign offs by pathologists and reviewers

Cons: Too many Staff notifications for policy review - however part of that is due to staff not reviewing when they should

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Simone C.
Lab manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Great for inspections"

Pros: The inspection module for CAP inspections. It's great that we can answer all the checklist questions, link sops and supporting documents. Also it's great that we can upload the answer to previous inspections.

Cons: Process is time consuming, editing a document can take a while. Wish the emails for updating was better structured.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Karen P.
Lab Educator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"We use Document Control and Compass. DC works great in conjunction with Compass for training"

Pros: The ability to share documents throughout the lab is useful. It is also a benefit to keep common documents (ie., meeting minutes for lab review)

Cons: The Help section is not as detailed as it could be. It can be frustrating to click on a help link a receive a message that the section is not completed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Leslie S.
Document Control Coordinator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017

"Best program out there!"

Pros: Easy to use, lets you customize permissions for all users.
MediaLab staff makes it easy to work with, always very helpful and they always respond as quickly as possible. I would not use any other program to "control" my documents.

Vendor Response

by MediaLab on 9/11/2017

Thank you, Leslie! We truly enjoy working with CPL!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Michael K.
Lab Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019

"Great for getting CAP compliant"

Comments: Learning curve is there, but unavoidable. Features are improving with user input. Great support team.

Pros: Provides for getting all documents in order and retrievable. Support is great and solved problems. Inspection proof allowed us to get through last 2 inspections in great shape.

Cons: Initial document entry and conversion from paper to electronic formats was a bit painful, though I expect unavoidable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Dee J.
Andmin Analyst
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/05/2017

"Very Happy!!"

Pros: The ability to really control our document library - both the documents and the users. Very user friendly.

Cons: That it logs me out so frequently - I stay on all day, and get logged out after too short of a time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/05/2017
Jennifer S.
Operations Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2018

"Document Control greatly facilitates document review requirements for regulatory compliance."

Pros: Greatly facilitates tracking of document revisions, review signature tracking, annual review requirements, and documentation of employee review.

Cons: It can be extremely cumbersome to upload a new document or document revision into Document Control from a Microsoft Word file; spacing is often incompatible, requiring the same document to be repeatedly uploaded and reviewed for appropriate spacing from page to page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Specialist Microbiology/Immunology
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019

"DOCUMENT CONTROL"

Comments: We just started building our Media lab and it has been easy thus far. We will be open for our accrediation inspection. This software is supposed to make the inspection seamless.

Pros: Ease of use for electronic storage of records.

Cons: With Inspection Proof... with regards to the accreditation checklists ... once you select begin inspection .. additons or changes cannot be performed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Sarah D.
Infection Preventionist
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"It's been a great help to track versions and get updates out to all who need to review."

Comments: It's so easy to get control of your documents with this program. It's very easy to use and to teach others to use.

Pros: I really like the reminders for when policies are up for review. It includes all those who need to sign off so the policy can be forwarded to the next in line to review/revise.

Cons: Sometimes the policies get assigned to the wrong techs and it's a bit of a pain to get that straightened out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Carla S.
Manager of Anatomic Pathology
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/06/2016

"This software is very user-friendly!"

Comments: I appreciate how user-friendly the MediaLab software is. It serves a range of employees from entry level to Pathologists. It's great for tracking employee compliance as it applies to review new/edits to policies and procedures. With the software, it is also very easy to upload new procedures, edit existing procedures and categorize procedures by type in "submanuals". I appreciate how the software tracks the original upload dates of policies, procedures and forms and then sends email reminders as the next review date approaches. The MediaLab software is versatile enough to allow us to also use it to track research proposal approvals, as well. Overall, I have had excellent experience with the software as well as the customer service team at MediaLab!

Vendor Response

by MediaLab on 8/06/2016

Thank you, Carla. Your team is a pleasure to work with. - MediaLab

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/06/2016
Lisa E.
System Director, Laboratory Services
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"Critical support"

Pros: Tracks changes for updates to hard copy manuals

Cons: Sometimes freezes up forcing you to log off then back on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Lester R.
Medical Director of Laboratory
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/06/2016

"Integrating MediaLab into our laboratory."

Comments: We made the decision to switch to an online procedure manual several years ago in an effort to decrease paper, increase reliability and improve documentation of supervisor review and employee familiarity with our procedures. We have been able to accomplish all this. WE also like the way the system links into MediaLab's Inspection Proof module. This makes preparation for our College of American Pathologist inspections a snap. Customer support is outstanding, with almost instantaneous responses to my questions.

Vendor Response

by MediaLab on 8/06/2016

Thank you, Dr. Raff. We appreciate your thoughtful review and mention of InspectionProof!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/06/2016
Verified Reviewer
Project Management Specialist 2
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2019

"Laboratory Document Control"

Pros: Easily searchable database for lab notebook entries.

Cons: Lab notebook witness entry signoff is rather complicated and unclear process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2019
Heather W.
Laboratory Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Overall, positive. Becoming more proficient as I become more familiar."

Pros: Inspection proof: I like that our CAP checklist is imported and it is easy to link procedures to it. We will see how good it is during our upcoming CAP inspection. This will be our first inspection using Media Lab software.

Cons: There is definitely a learning curve with this product. There are some features "hidden" in places that don't seem logical to me. The interface is a little "old school" looking, but maybe that's why it's so cheap. I don't even know where to begin with Compass.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Laboratory Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017

"I utilize MediaLab's Document Control software at my laboratory to ensure compliance with CAP regs."

Comments: It ensures compliance with industry standard practices and regulations.

Pros: The ease of use and comprehensive approach it takes to document control makes the software easy to use and easy to stay in compliance. We also use its sign off features for our off-site Laboratory Director to sign and approve documents quickly.

Cons: I wish the software allowed digital signatures to be applied to uploaded documents rather than just the summary sheet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Christine M.
Sr QA Specialist
Medical Devices, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"MediaLab is easy to use & contacting MediaLab personnel is simple. It lacks additional functionality"

Comments: Benefits include ability to easily pull reports, make changes quickly, assign training and enter documents for training without problems, and navigating the system with ease. However, because we are using the system for training only, it has its limitations.

Pros: Note: Our company uses MediaLab for training only, not document control
- Easy navigation of system (straightforward on how to train on documents)
- Easy to input information (personnel information, documents)
- Customer response is quick
- Having the functionality to assign Group Supervisors and assign special employee signoffs
- Great traceability within the system (change history for users and for permission changes)

Cons: Note: Our company uses MediaLab for training only, not document control
- Unable to customize reports (would like to pull reports within specific dates (not full list), list of personnel with their assigned manuals)
-Unable to customize due dates for Performing Employee signoff (we have different requirements for PE
- Assigned dates are incorrect (since we are using the software for training only, it has been problematic that when a document with a minor revision is signed off, the assigned date is changed to the signoff date - our metrics for training compliance is signoff date minus assigned date so we have inaccuracies in our data)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Terry W.
Blood Bank Section Head
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2018

"Very useful once you figure it out."

Comments: I really gives new employees easy access to procedures.

Pros: Great for inspections and documentation. We allow inspectors to look at the manuals. Inspection proof is also a very good product. It minimizes the time they have to search for documents.

Cons: Not the easiest software to navigate. The learning curve in my case was not to steep! Some changes to the icons might be helpful especially for us old dudes.....

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2018
Lauren V.
Specimen Processing Trainer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"MediaLab is not very user friendly. It's known throughout the company as kind of a pain to use."

Pros: Software keeps SOPs and PRCs updated. I enjoy that I can edit my email settings and that I can add content and DOCLs to assignments.

Cons: Not user friendly or intuitive, changes settings without alerting us often (switching people's permissions, etc), courses can get lost after creation. Reports are not always helpful to pull with courses that have multiple competencies/DOCLs associated with them (exporting the report in Excel does not show status of each portion of assignment, only how many activities have been completed)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Tiffany H.
QSII
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"Love MediaLab's Document Control!!"

Pros: Prior to using MediaLab's Document Control we kept hard copies of procedures. ML's Document Control allowed us to go paperless and be able to access all of our documents online which is very convenient. It keeps track of pervious document versions which is nice too.

Cons: So far, no major issues with the software. There was a delay in hearing back from a representative to have questions answered. Once we did get in contact with someone they were very professional and supportive!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Larry B.
BS, MT(ASCP) Lab QA and Compliance
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017

"Setting up document control was a challenging experience, however one well worth it."

Comments: It has made managing our laboratory documents seamless and paperless!

Pros: The features and functionality meets all our needs for document management. It's obvious a lot of thought went into programing this software, very impressive. Also, MediaLab's customer service is exceptional. All the customer service personnel are very knowledgeable and patient when addressing our troubleshooting needs.

Cons: Although the functionality is stellar, sometimes I feel there are too many ways to accomplish a single task.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017
Tracey J.
Manager, Quality Assurance
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017

"Document control with MediaLab has really helped improve life in our lab."

Pros: This product is very easy to use. The ability to assign users to groups and groups to manuals has made it easier to keep up with performing employee sign-off.

Cons: Sometimes if you are adding additional approvers to a document, there is a bug that sometimes inhibits the user being added to sign from seeing the correct version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017
Bridget G.
Quality Assurance Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Great system! Very user friendly and intuitive."

Comments: Made my life 1 million times easier!

Pros: Very easy to use and requires very little instruction for new users.
Workflows are quick to set up and easy to follow.
Applying quizzes for revision changes.
Very easy to link related or dependent documents together.

Cons: No table of contents for large documents, would be nice to have a ToC that functioned as a navigator to jump to specific section in a document.
Too many windows to click through for some options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018