15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Drift

Drift is a human-centric, AI-powered buyer engagement platform.

Learn more about Drift

Pros:

Customer service is just a chat ping away. They are always attentive and help you proactively.

Cons:

The other features aren't explained well, and not sure where to look if I wanted them explained. The image that can be placed with the pop-up message is very limited in customization.

Drift ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Drift has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 198 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Drift before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (198)

Rob
Rob
Content & SEO Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Expensive but awesome

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: With two substantially different audiences being targeted by our business, and a general need to do a better job of quickly connecting with promising leads, we've been quite pleased so far with Drift. We've already had several great opportunities arise thanks to the tool, and still have a large number of new bots to roll out, plus refinements to make based on our learnings from using the tool. As a supplement to our other inbound marketing efforts, I foresee chat through Drift being a substantial asset for a long while to come.

Pros:

With Drift, you can create customized chat experiences for users based on all sorts of criteria - the page they're on, the number of times they've visited, the channel they used to get to your site - and to target specific businesses with targeted messaging. Building the chat flows (Drift calls them "Playbooks") is generally quite easy, allowing you to quickly build out new bots once you get a hang of the platform. Drift also includes support chat built right into the product, meaning every time I get stuck, I'm able to reach out and get a hand from one of their product experts right away.

Cons:

We haven't been using Drift for that long, and there have already been a number of instances where I or one of the other users in the company have attempted to do something that seems obvious, only to find out the tool doesn't allow us to do so. We're always told that a feature request has been submitted, but there's no way to know how long it will take before we get whatever little tweak we're looking for in order to provide a smoother, more pleasant chat experience on our site.

Drift Response

4 years ago

Hi Rob, Thanks for taking the time to share all of this detail. It's really helpful. Our feature request process is something we're improving this quarter, I agree this has not been the best experience to date. Thanks again for sharing, and if we can be helpful to you with you 2020 plans, please let us know how we can support you! All the best - Julie Hogan, VP - Customer Experience

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Drift-The new way of conversational marketing!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I can say we are satisfied with their services. It ultimately filters genuine leads from the universal traffic on the website and that too with high buying intent. Chat bot, Playbooks, Analytics and Integrations are just icing on the cake.

Pros:

-Playbooks- Setting up of chat bot and customizing it based on the page and target market becomes very easy with drift's playbook feature. You can very easily set up chat bot and start receiving genuine leads. -Analytics and Integrations- The deep analysis of the tool always keeps you on your toes and helps in pointing out various scope for improvement. You can also measure the efficiency of your chat agents as well. Also, it provides integration with your marketing CRM as well for lead handling purpose. -Customer Service- You are facing any issue with drift? Do not worry. Customer service is just a chat ping away. They are always attentive and help you proactively

Cons:

-Price- This was the main concern while evaluating various chat tools. Drift is follows a premium pricing which might not make it suitable for Small businesses. -No Forms- Drift takes pride on omitting the forms from the chat and enabling their conversational way of marketing. I think, they should make that optional. They should forms as well. -They should also have a feature in which chat transcripts can be emailed as well.

Drift Response

3 years ago

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review for Drift! It sounds like you're having a great experience on the product and we're thrilled to hear it. We'll absolutely take your feedback into account and hope you continue to provide us feature suggestions in the future. - Sarah Haberman, Senior Customer Advocacy Manager

Valentina
Marketing Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Great Tool that Makes Marketing Effective

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I like the effectiveness of the features of Drift. Drift has been reliable and easy to use.

Cons:

I see no challenges when using Drift. Drift is sensational.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Drift could be Intercom, but it isn't...

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We decided to use Drift as means to provide support, but once we grow bigger than a single user, we'll have to move to a better platform.

Pros:

We use Drift as an in-app messaging platform and it's decent at that. We considered using it for marketing automation, customer engagement and on-boarding, but it doesn't cut it.

Cons:

Even as an in-app messaging platform for support, there's room for improvement. A few months ago, they removed the option to "close a conversation" (which is essentially used to close a "support ticket"). For whatever reason, they think that it should be more like Whatsapp with an endless list of conversations that you can "archive". Only conversations sometimes come back (not because of new messages), they are sorted wrong so you may miss conversations with new messages, and you don't always get real time notifications in the mobile app.

Drift Response

4 years ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this. I'm sorry we haven't delivered on what you expected from us. I'm more than happy to chat live and learn more about how we can make your experience better. Feel free to reach out at [email protected]. All the best, Julie Hogan, VP - Customer Experience

Marco
IT Expert in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Drift is a Sensational Marketing Automation Solution

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

The reliability of Drift has been making it a top and reliable solution. I like the efficiency of this marketing automation software.

Cons:

This marketing automation tool works so well for us. No cons for Drift.

Sarah
Sarah
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Conversion-Maximizing Method For Any Website

5.0 last year

Comments: Drift allows me to communicate with clients and gauge the level of interest they have in our offerings. My end aim is to close a transaction, and Drift helps me do this by facilitating instantaneous communication with prospects and clients, allowing me to address their concerns and guide them toward a conclusive next step in the buying process.

Pros:

Through Drift, I am able to contact with leads at the precise moment of their highest interest and engagement with the website, and to respond to their pressing queries immediately. Many of the talks I've had with potential clients have resulted in a sale.

Cons:

Forcing customers to provide email addresses before speaking with a representative. There is room for simplification in the reports and metrics. There are not further improvements needed.

Jessica
IT Specialist in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gets the Job Done

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Over the experience has been middle of the line. We have been considering other applications due to Drift being pretty expensive for what it offers. There are other applications out there that offer a lot more functionality in the chat flow.

Pros:

I really like that is it easy to navigate. There are not a lot of places you need to go looking around to figure out what you need to do in order to change or update the flow of something.

Cons:

Their customer support is not great. They do not really offer any assistance when it comes to setup, or help with any of the technical processes or procedures. When we first started using this application we were unfamiliar with the targeting, and it would have been beneficial to have someone assist us with that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

kickstart conversation marketing

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been great but i believe much more integrated approach is needed.

Pros:

started using drift for our startup after moving away from HubSpot. It has been a great learning curve for us. Some aspects I love about drift is the lead tracking and bot performance. Also leveraging drift for email and phone converation as a CRM is a big plus. Also scheduling and calendar invites make is better than calendly

Cons:

Would love if drift can be an email server as well so that we can skip email server costs. It does most of the things already just needs a sync from gmail. It is very expensive especially since you have to pay upfront for the startup plan

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Conversational Marketing Tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Whether it's worth paying for tool like this will depend on how engaged your audience is and how big your traffic volumes are. We felt that for us the tool was not worth the money. There are much cheaper alternatives on the market if you're just looking for customer support tools.

Pros:

Lots of features that are likely to appear to enterprise B2B companies like lead routing, instant meetings booker, help centre article look up.

Cons:

Had issues with bugs in various areas several times and had to contact support and wait till they were resolved. Not very straightforward how to configure the tool in the best way and debug playbooks. Documentation could be better.

Drift Response

4 years ago

Hi there, Thanks so much for sharing this with us, I'm sorry you had difficulty getting your issues resolved, and the documentation wasn't super helpful either. Appreciate you letting us know. If there's anything else you want to connect about feel free to reach out to me directly at [email protected] All the best, Julie Hogan, VP - Customer Experience

Mark
Mark
Head of Marketing in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I use the free version for my consultancy

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have a side-hustle consultancy, and needed a way for my website visitors to get in touch. This was a really simple, free solution.

Pros:

Really simple setup, haven't had to touch a thing since implementing it.

Cons:

Having to switch between the app and the browser for different functionality - either have it all in app or dont.

Drift Response

2 years ago

Hi Mark, glad to hear you got Drift up and running without a hitch. Appreciate your feedback on our app vs. browser functionality I'll make sure this gets in the right hands. Thanks for your review! - Sarah Haberman, Senior Customer Marketing Manager

Katie
Digital Content Developer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Drift - Robust Chatbot That May Not Be Worth the Hassle

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have very complex products that require a great deal of one-on-one dealing with our salespeople. In other words - they're not simple products like a t-shirt, but are highly-engineered with extremely specific specs. With this in mind, we use our chatbot as a way to funnel people to get in touch with us based on what they need: service, parts, repair, equipment quotes. It works super well and has cut down on the frustration of not knowing where to go on the website. It provides them an immediate way to reach out.

Pros:

Drift is a robust, clean platform that is relatively simple to work. The caveat to that is that you have to get the hang of it first! The previous chat builder was tough to work with - not very intuitive and lots of scrolling up and down, back and forth (think vertical, with everything jumbled together). They've just introduced a new version that is easier to work with, but still complex. When implemented on the website, it looks clean. You can also modify your icon, which is a fun and creative aspect. The "playbook" you build can also be as simple or complex as you want - due to the complex nature of our products, we use ours as more of a "reach out to us, we can help" chatbot. But you can go much, much further.

Cons:

The main thing I dislike about Drift isn't actually the platform - it's the onboarding process. The onboarding process at Drift is a bit aggressive. The onboarding teams have a very set mindset in what will make Drift work for you - no matter what your business is, or how many times you let them know your business' unique needs. They are almost 100% focused on getting live chat involved, which at the start isn't always the best option. I'd recommend that they start listening more closely to their clients, rather than bopping them over the head with their "this will be best for you" mindset.

Jaseem
CEO in India
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Lead qualifications and book meetings - on autopilot!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Drift support, itself, is the best example of great customer service using their own solution. The support experience is always a delight.

Pros:

I'm a very early Drift user and a conversational marketing advocate. After setting up Drift, with their lead qualification and book meetings feature, our sales team has a decent pipeline with high-quality leads.

Cons:

Waiting for Drift chat embed on the website feature. That could help me start a conversation with a customer from any section of my website pages.

Josh
Inside Sales Operations Analyst in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential Automatiin Tool, Faster Time to Value with Inbounding

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent, would not have a solid inbound routing experience without a similar tool as Drift

Pros:

Conversation routing by Company HQ and State rather than just the site visitors geographic location. This is important since our sales team segments by Company HQ and Annual Revenue

Cons:

No ability to route countries other than US and Canada by state and/or territory. The entire continent of Australia can only be tagged as such in conversation routing. You have to build a playbook that asks the customer what territory they live in which creates a longer automated process for the site visitor. Also there is no option to segment by city which would be helpful for large city territories like Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, San Francisco etc

Drift Response

2 years ago

Hi Josh, thanks for taking the time to review Drift! Your suggestions around our routing capabilities are really helpful and I'll be sure to share with the product team! - Sarah Haberman, Senior Customer Advocacy Manager

Craig
Director of Customer Success in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reliable, yet Lacking

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall Drift has been a good option for the money, but we are not 100% thrilled.

Pros:

Software is reliable in that the system does not crash at all. They are consistently making updates, and branching in to more areas of communication outside of just chat. The support team is very nice and willing to help.

Cons:

Reporting functionality is very lacking. Unable to see how long each conversation is taking for each of my agents to work through. Have had multiple complaints on lag in the chat service loading within our software. Have contacted support on this multiple times without resolution.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A solid component in your marketing automation strategy

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I think it's a great tool

Pros:

I really loved how super easy Drift is to both implement and use as chatbot tool (that does way more than that) we've rolled it out for our SDRs to be able to capture leads and respond to any presales questions quickly. and the integration with Hubspot and salesforce makes it really easy to not only capture but also to personalise our response as a part of our overall marketing automation strategy.

Cons:

- it's not cheap - the stage that you'd be importing the lead into Sales Cloud (SFDC CRM) can be tricky as the definition of stages aren't really aligned.

Drift Response

2 years ago

Hi, thanks for taking the time to review your experience with Drift and sharing your feedback on how we can improve our lead importing! - Sarah Haberman, Senior Customer Marketing Manager

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great product that wasn't afit for us

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great product that wasn't a fit for our buyers

Pros:

Drift was very easy to use. The conversation-building tool was fun to use and change. It is very well done.

Cons:

It didn't capture leads for us. I think our buyers hated the bot.

Drift Response

3 years ago

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Drift - we're so sorry to hear it wasn't a fit for your business. If you ever want to reevaluate Drift or work more closely with our teams to see how you can get the most out of the product, please feel free to email me directly at [email protected]. - Sarah Haberman, Senior Customer Advocacy Manager

Julien
Marketing in Canada
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, but keep your chats organized/clean

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: My support team likes it! So far so good. We've been using Drift for 2 years now.

Pros:

Drift is easy to use and pretty straightforward. Installing it on your website is super easy and they provide good support. The support team is very responsive. Couple things I like : - Send chat by email when the visitor closed the window/website - Notification settings - Chat window is simple but yet effective - Support team is friendly and responsive - Pricing (we started with the free version for a year) - Auto-responder

Cons:

When you have high traffic websites like we do, it's absolutely crucial to keep your chat logs organized. Would have liked to have more flexibility on this end (different folders, important chats, etc.).

João
Marketing Operations Manager in Portugal
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Drift it's a great tool to automate your email marketing

5.0 last year

Comments: until it as been great and we still work together

Pros:

Drift as a bunch of great features, we use it to filter out of office responses and also the web chat. It's a great tool and everyone should test it

Cons:

It can be a bit complicated and overwhelming since it as a lot of features

Drift Response

last year

Hi Joao! Thanks for leaving a review and the kind words. We love automation as it just saves so much time. If you ever need any help finding features, please don't hesitate to reach out at [email protected] --Joshua Morgan Customer Advocacy @ Drift

Joseph
Demand Generation Marketer in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good for chat but saw diminishing returns

3.0 last year

Comments: Our overall experience with Drift was fine. The technology, implementation, and support worked ok. We just couldn't justify renewing with them after the results began to diminish.

Pros:

Drift initially provided our team a great way to generate leads via our website chat. The volume was high and we saw that offering to book a demo via chat captured some leads that otherwise might not have asked for a demo. This worked very well for our team and provided great results.

Cons:

After a while, our visitors stopped interacting with the Drift chat. We weren't able to prioritize the hottest prospects or really have enough data to know what our visitors were doing or who to chat with. We started to book fewer demos via Drift. Drift didn't offer the deep data analytics or ABM data that other vendors offered. So there wasn't enough functionality to keep us on board.

gabby
sales exec. in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Drift Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I can see a huge impact on our team using Drift, with inbound and conversations.

Pros:

Drift allows me to connect with prospects easily and quickly. The bot is helpful when we are away, but I can personal messages when need be.

Cons:

The drift app does not have the same features it does on the desktop and the format can be unusual. Much prefer to use on a laptop.

Drift Response

4 years ago

Hi Gabby, Wow 10/10 we're flattered! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please let us know how we can be helpful to you this year. All the best, Julie Hogan, VP - Customer Experience

Lana
Lana
Business Development Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Wonderful product with interesting features

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From my point of view this product is absolutely complete that ensures all my working tasks going on in a steady way. Moreover, I can easily view the status if my agents through its magnificent properties and features to accommodate all the tasks in a required time period.

Pros:

This useful tool has third party integrations that allow me to access data in a more useful way in order to get beneficial outcomes from it with less time spent. Another feature that is of my interest is the unique playbook feature of this amazing product that helps me to lessen the workload from my shoulders and enables me to have a concentration on all the important tasks.

Cons:

By getting all the unique features and functionalities I can not think of anything offensive in it that could worsen my experience on it. I failed to find anything to complain about it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Over promise, under deliver

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: For a Robot feature on your website,​ they are not good at following up on their own tickets. This includes robot chat questions that they say they will get back to you. This forces you to email and they will get back to you, but then when there are more questions its radio silence. Then I pushed to get a call and there were takeaways and my contact was supposed to return my call post TWO conference calls and I had to push to get them to follow thru. The system causes duplicates, all the people coming to the site are listed as site visitor with no history.

Pros:

The ideas of what they wanted to software to do.

Cons:

They made promises that they can't live up to

Ian
Ian
Brand Services Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Needs work

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: This has the ability to be a brilliant tool, and I'm impressed by the idea behind it, but the UX on the website is all over the place. I would've rated this so much higher, if the UX was better!

Pros:

Writing about Drift video in specific - this has the ability to be a fantastic tool for generating leads, pitching more complex sales, and showcasing to your customers that you appreciate that they are busy people, and can watch your video at any point that they have some time.

Cons:

The login process to Drift video if you've already got Drift Chat set up is so clunky, and it kicks me out nearly every single time. It's a shame as I would use this tool so much more, but sometimes it just doesnt want to let me in, and even with the correct login, it just glitches and sends you back to the login screen

Drift Response

3 years ago

Hi Ian, Thanks for your candid feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the UX is less than you'd expect from us - I'll share this feedback with the team, but should you have more specific feature requests, feel free to share them with me at [email protected] at any time. All the best, Sarah Haberman Senior Customer Advocacy Manager

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Capitalize each visitor of your website

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped us connect better with prospects and customers visiting our website.

Pros:

Drift is an intelligent way to get the most out of every visitor on your website. This leads to more sales and insights passed to our Sales and Customer Success team.

Cons:

Sometimes it thinks you are someone you are not. Most of the time everything works seamlessly though.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not my Favorite Chatbot

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It syncs well with our CRM (Salesforce).

Cons:

I find it not very user-friendly. As someone who came into the administrator role after the account was already set up, I had a difficult time navigating. The chatbot script creator could be much cleaner. I find myself having to write the script in an excel document with a complex numbering system in order to easily input it into Drift. I also wish it had more features that some other chatbots have, like heat and click maps.