Elastic Stack Reviews

4.6 (56) Write a Review!

About Elastic Stack

Reliably and securely take data from any source, in any format, then search, analyze, and visualize it in real time.

Learn more about Elastic Stack

Pros:

The flexibility, it's free, large community and plenty of tools.

Cons:

We sometimes have problems during the integration of Kibana. But we couldn't figure out why.

Elastic Stack ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Elastic Stack has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 56 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Elastic Stack before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (56)

Mo
Mo
DevOps Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes for best scalability

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Organizing chat data to be searchable and log management to proactively fix issues.

Pros:

One of the best features I like is that Elastic built their own kubernetes operator to extend the k8s orchestration and make it easy to deploy, scale, change, secure and configure hot-warm infrastructures. Their operator saves a ton of time during configuration. I have deployed stacks on different k8s architectures like Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service and small on prem clusters with microk8s without issues. When we reach performance thresholds we add more elastic nodes and ECK secures and joins it to the cluster and in minutes we can leverage the extra compute. A lot of changes that are done after going to PROD are non-disruptive since ECK is aware of the main node and makes sure to pass the master role before the main one is re-deployed. I have also migrated Elastic Cloud Enterprise deployments running on bare metal and the stability of ECK is unmatched.

Cons:

Currently it is not recommended or supported for a PROD cluster to do its own self monitoring so you have to deploy a monitoring cluster. In cloud scenarios this adds costs and extra complexity so it will be great to have this feature supported.

Verified Reviewer
Quality Assurance Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Elastic Stack for Application Logs

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Elastic Stack is an open source full stack solution for logs of modern day big data applications processing logs with its different applications of Logstash, Elastic and Kibana. We are using it to read through application logs, storing logs data and using dashboard to easily navigate thru the big chunk of files. Its an amazing combo of applications, completely free of cost with easy implementation and powerful online support.

Pros:

1. End to End Solution of enterprise logs with services such as Logstash, Elastic and Kibana. 2. Strong User Community and support. 3. Easy to use and implement. 4. Proactive updates on possible downtimes. 5. Dashboards for easy navigation.

Cons:

1. Cloud performance is slower than on premises installation. 2. It crashes in between which delay things sometimes.

Victor Luis
student in Venezuela
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

This powerful tool allows you to take data from any source and format to search and analyze.

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is a super fast and efficient data extraction tool. Recommended for medium-sized projects. Handles large amounts of data, is scalable.

Cons:

Usable from any device, however these must be state-of-the-art and offer great calculation speeds and ram storage.

Houcem
CITNSO in Tunisia
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful stack for event collection, management and visualisation

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: A solid product with a rich feature set, if you get past the initial setup complexity.

Pros:

Provides great features for log ingestion, normalisation and visualisation. Has a free open source tier which can be used to cover many use cases. Visualisation options are diverse and powerful. Solid community support in forums.

Cons:

Initial setup can be tedious and is rather complex. The provided security ruleset tends to produce many false positives and requires fine tuning. Log ingestion options are not entirely covered by the web user interface.

Animesh
Animesh
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best for Website Monitoring, Event Management and Log Analysis.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: This lightweight, yet powerful, modern SIEM is well-suited for the modern security operations center as it can handle a wide range of activities with ease. elastic Stack is a powerful and flexible SIEM with feature-rich out-of-the-box tools that make it easy to get the job.

Pros:

We are using ELK Stack SIEM, a scalable aggregation engine that helps us find patterns in our data as well as provides a wide array of customizable analytics and reports. With Elastic Stack, we have a better understanding of flaws and security issues, particularly memory tier support that ensures the security of our data and networks.

Cons:

It is very challenging and time-consuming to upgrade cluster node roles and data replication.

Deniz
Deniz
Software Developer in Turkey
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the Best No sql Document Base Database

5.0 last year

Comments: In our projects, we use elasticsearch in database queries that need fast answers. It is especially useful for search and autocomplete operations.

Pros:

When you want to run queries in big data and get results, you can get results much faster from relational databases. Queries are also easy to create

Cons:

We sometimes have problems during the integration of Kibana. But we couldn't figure out why Other than that, I didn't have any problems

Luis Felipe
Luis Felipe
Programmer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Have too much data to your database?

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our application makes many filters for too much data, without Elasticsearch it just stops

Pros:

- Almost 100% of uptime - Great support - Really fast and easy to use for any application - Easy to configure

Cons:

- The cost of product may inviabilize it's use for small applications or companies - If the configuration goes wrong it may really affect the speed

Osman
Sr. Software Engineer in Turkey
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ElasticSearch_02-07-2022

5.0 last month New

Comments: I use it log search.

Pros:

It is good to store and monitor logs with Kibana.

Cons:

The elasticsearch version management is bad because next version could have critical changes from previous.

Diego
Lead Incident Manager in Argentina
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect combo for capturing, searching an managening your logs!

4.0 last month New

Pros:

It has all the funtionalities I need for incident management. You can browse logs and create dashboards in order to help visualize the data

Cons:

Honesty, I cannot point anything that I don't like. It's perfect for my day to day job

Ajay
Ajay
Senior Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best Solution To Monitor Application Logs

5.0 last month New

Comments: Great features and functions have helped me a lot.

Pros:

Managing application logs have become very easy with the help of Logstash, Elastic, and Kibana (ELK) since we can use the dashboard to visualize the performance and spot errors and performance issues. This has made my business move more faster and agile.

Cons:

The cost may not be suitable for very small-scale companies but otherwise, I would say all the features are amazing.

M. Serhat
Senior Software Engineer in Germany
E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A complete stack for full text search

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Elasticsearch might be overkill if you are working with a small or mid-sized applications. However it's a serious solution for big-scale apps that are dealing with millions of records. The setup of the Elasticsearch might seem easy, but the maintenance is not. If you have simpler needs, I would suggest the full-text search functionality of modern PostgreSQL versions.

Pros:

Elasticsearch is quite powerful and fast. You can implement it to any enterprise software independent of the scale. It's well documented and getting frequent updates. It's also a reliable software that you can use in mission-critical operations.

Cons:

Breaking changes between different versions are hard to deal with. Each major version upgrade of ElasticSearch is bringing new functionality, improved security, and speed - but at the same time, it requires you to update your indexes, which is not an easy task if you don't have a strong infrastructure team.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Software Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elasticsearch is a general purpose search engine that can do much more than search

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Elasticsearch to filter and sort search results in our marketplace. We've built out many complicated queries that allow us to do interesting things like geo-based queries, personalization, and time boxed deals.

Pros:

Elasticsearch offers a very flexible system for adding search capability to your systems. It is also capable of much more. The REST API and great documentation makes getting started very simple. Elasticsearch was also designed with scaling in mind. Adding nodes and self balancing is quite easy. AWS offers hosted Elasticsearch that makes spinning up your first cluster as simple as a few clicks.

Cons:

Writing complicated queries can be quite tedious at times. The JSON interface is not always easy to read when trying to match up parentheses. Upgrading from older versions is not a simple process.

Onur
System Administrator in Turkey
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Working On Big Data Is Now More Comfortable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our company uses elasticsearch to analyze data in very large data. Successful indexing is designed in a cluster (node) structure, which has made our work much easier. Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Pros:

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Cons:

The only feature I don't like is that it is Java based.

Gedson
Gedson
Senior Production Engineer in
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The perfect searching allied to a RDB

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been pairing Elasticsearch with a traditional RDB in many projects with great results. This way we don't compromise our data reliability and searching speed is blazing fast.

Pros:

Searching is where elasticsearch is second to none, either in terms, n-grams or full-text. Latest releases have greatly improved the aggregation performance, so it's also a great fit for analytics workloads. The customizable sharding and replica configurations make is very reliable too.

Cons:

Searching and joining different documents has room for improvement, it's usualy not as fast as we would like it to be, so most of the times we end up un-normalizing documents and en-richening their data to boost searching performance.

Miguel
Senior Software Developer in US
Defense & Space, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Elasticsearch Makes Big Data Possible

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've dramatically improved the stability of our big data analytics compared to any other data store we've used.

Pros:

Elasticsearch is the single most valuable tool I have come across in my career for solving big data problems. No other datastore scales as well and as easily as ES. The premium features that come with a license are extremely powerful and definitely make a case for upgrading beyond just the need for support like most database solutions.

Cons:

Elasticsearch definitely has a significant learning curve for developers and administrators experienced with a more relational database solution. However with some time and with the aid of the fantastic UI Kibana these hurdles are small in comparison to the power you can reap.

Verified Reviewer
IT Manager in Cambodia
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elastic Stack is the best for Business

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: we use elastic stack to integrated with elastiflow to track all the traffic destination, protocol log, and other activity inside network, it very nice and work well, and produce the nice dashboard and clear view.

Pros:

the very powerful search engine I search around 5 million log in a second only. Very nice real-time dashboard, I can integrated with other software and see all the view of network traffic, traffic flow very well.

Cons:

well I would say, it's pretty good already, but still some function need to use command alot.

Verified Reviewer
AWS Developer( works for Coca-cola Company) in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Distributed Search and analytics engine available in cloud

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Best search and analytics software available in cloud, flexible to use and available free trial to evaluate it.

Pros:

This is best search software for data searching and analytics on stream data in cloud. It is so flexible complex keyword searches and very efficient. Great tool for analyzing logs very powerful. 24/7 customer support.

Cons:

Not really a negative side but if you have low bandwidth web interface will become very slow.And think learning manual still needs some improvement.

Verified Reviewer
Customer Support Specialist in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using Kibana

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

We user Kibana's dashboard and also part of it for data analysis of our tool. It allows us to look and compare historical data and gives us a great visualisation, analytic tools and data sharing options of all the data collected by our scanner.

Cons:

I enjoy working with the tool, however, I am missing quite some UX design improvements that could really improve the interaction with Kibana. Moreover, I could use an option of saving the templates or most recent types of searches into some kind of database so we would not need to setup these all over again.

Neelesh
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

ElasticSearch: A Powerful Search Engine

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Its a very good search engine as it has a power to query for more than thousands-lakhs of records in just few seconds and sometimes is perform better. But again its all depends on the query you have written. Sometimes writing a specific busniess query got harder over SQL queries.

Pros:

Flexibility and high performance. Good for Distributed full text search, No-SQL, Aggregation. Can be used as a replacement MongoDB and RavenDB. Capability of handling mutiple type of data- including textual, numerical, geospatial, structured, and unstructured.

Cons:

Mostly for developers, other people's would have a hard time to understand and work on it. Also the query is typical or hard to write in terms of SQL queries.

Ravikiran
Architect in India
Research, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best product for search and aggregations

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great full text capabilities.
Highly scale able .
Good documentation.
Good set of libraries.

Pros:

The search is very good and very fast in response. Documentation is very good for writing NoSQL queries. Libraries are there for 90% of popular languages.

Cons:

It would be good to create a standardization for NoSQL. It would be great, Elastic search provides IDE to write the queries rather than editors.

Keren
Software Developer in Israel
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Managing big databases

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The product is very popular among many companies, therefore there is a big community who can share their knowledge, the search is very fast and the installation process and integration are very easy.

Cons:

I leas like the Elasticsearch itself does not provide much except just storing the information, the additional tools (Kibana and Logstash) are required.

Damon
Damon
Engineering Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Tool When Used Correctly

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Elasticsearch simplifies data queries and integration with user interfaces. Describing the records as JSON makes updates as simple as modifying your JSON format. The query builders make selecting complex data relationships easy to construct.

Cons:

As designed and by default, Elastcsearch does not immediately synchronize data between server nodes. Updates and inserts to records take time to reconcile which can cause some data integrity issues with frequent updates. ES is not the best tool to take bulk or rapid changes to the data. It is a great tool for retrieving data. The best combination is to use a SQL database for CRUD operations and replicate/synchronize the data to Elasticsearch for user interface/reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Desenvolvedor Backend in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Really fast

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Its a really good solution for people looking to process large volumes of data, it allows to filter, make aggregations and other operations really fast even when you need to rely on text search.

Cons:

Its really easy to make your performance really low, you have to be really careful with your cluster setup, mapping and queries.

Wechuli
Wechuli
Software Engineer in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quality Search and Analytics Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Elasticsearch has been a powerful search engine that caters to most of my search and analytics use cases.

Pros:

- Powerful and fast, near-real-time search capabilities that can handle massive amounts of data with a breeze. - Free, you can download the software and use it on your own infrastructure without any license concerns - Ability to enhance search speed and storage capacity by building clusters that store part of the data. Configuring of clusters is fairly straightforward and easy to do. - Machine learning capabilities - API clients available for popular programming languages such as PHP, Python, JavaScript, Java , GO and C#. - Convenient cloud offering that makes the deployment, security and configuration of an ES cluster super easy. - Free Kibana client to visualize data in ElasticSearch

Cons:

- A bit of a learning curve to get up to speed with the query language - There are some nuances and security pitfalls that you might run into if you try to configure an ElasticSearch cluster yourself.

Chirag
Chirag
Technical Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ElasticSearch - Modern NoSql datanbase

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are building a new and next generation product and we are using elastic in all search or autocomplete area of the application. Its really fast and powerful tool.

Pros:

ElasticSearch is one of the most popular and fastest growing NoSql data store. one of the best feature we are using is to search and return data quickly. Schema less is making its most powerful features and base of this entire product.

Cons:

Only cons we are facing right now is its major version Upgrades and breaking change.