Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Plooto

Plooto is an end-to-end AP & AR workflow automation platform for accounting professionals to scale their AP & AR practice.

Learn more about Plooto

Showing 193 reviews

Heather Y.
Principal
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Our EFT provider of choice"

Comments: Our objective was to automate payables, and Plooto has been great for that purpose.

Pros: We're a Quickbooks shop, and we *love* the integration. Virtually all of our clients are using Plooto for payables, and some for receivables. In terms of pricing, the package is advantageous for most of our clients. Some of the tiny ones would spend less on regular bank fees -- but the convenience still makes Plooto a good option. The interface is clean and user-friendly. Our clients love the signing authority "tiers." We're working with nonprofits, so there's always a board of directors to consider -- and therefore multiple signers. It's not uncommon for orgs to specify who needs to approve organizations over certain limits, and Plooto gets us there with no fuss.

Cons: We still have issues with some vendors not being serviced by Plooto, e.g. credit card companies. The ability to send payments internationally through Plooto is great, but we sometimes experience issues with foreign banks. On the signing authority front, it's possible to do an "end run" around banking agreements by authorizing people on Plooto that aren't authorized on the bank account. We need to do our due diligence on that, to ensure payments are authorized only by signing authorities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Krista W.
Partner
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Great system for small businesses and non-profits."

Comments: Overall its a great system and we have moved the majority of our clients over to it. There are some limitations but they just require a work around.

Pros: It is great for tracking the approval process for payments and providing an alternative method of payment for invoices.

Cons: Customer service has been a struggle for us. It is hard to get in touch with someone when we have questions or concerns. It would be nice if there was a way to receive approval for payment but to submit the payment offline. Sometimes payments need to be submitted by credit card or paper check and we cannot use the system for tracking approval for those.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Sean L.
Owner
Photography, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"Plooto Experience"

Comments: It's a very streamlined and convenient way of tracking and paying our vendors

Pros: It's very useful that our Quickbooks Accounts Payable is synched with Plooto because it makes paying our vendors very easy. The way it aggregates multiple payments to a single vendor to reduce charges is also a nice feature

Cons: I preferred their previous model where you only paid when you made a transfer. However, we are now doing enough monthly transfers that the fixed cost is about the same

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Dorinda S.
Executive Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Makes everything easier and more transparent"

Comments: For us, we moved over to Plooto after it was highly recommended by our Board and vendors. Having made the move from cheques to electronic payments not that ago, we didn't realize that payments could actually be very simple. The pandemic has made other platforms more difficult to use because they're often kept on one computer and managed by one person which makes contingencies and redundancies impossible.

Pros: We haven't been using Plooto for very long but the setup was incredibly easy. I think the best feature is that payments are very clear with the invoice attached as well as pathway and dates for the payment process. Everything is also very easy to use and transparent and the fact that it's on the cloud means everyone who needs to access it can without having to be at a particular terminal or computer. This feature alone increases financial transparency.

Cons: Understanding the different roles and needs took a little longer than expected but that wasn't hard. I'd love to be notified when approvals are made and payments are processed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Shirley O.
Accounting Supervisor
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2020

"Plooto Review"

Pros: Easy to use and train new staff, reasonably priced.

Cons: Unable to search by vendor to set up payments
Unable to sort by vendor, then by invoice number or due date
Unable to set preferences such as view 100 per page
USD import of paid bills does not populate currency rate, imports at 1.00

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2020
Nate S.
Controller
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"Simple to use"

Comments: Very inexpensive and easy to use once everything is setup corrrectly.

Pros: Integration with QB was fairly simple. Two person authorization of A/P payments is huge. We only use it for the A/P side of things.

Cons: Easier way to add vendors' banking information. This was tedious in the beginning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Susan G.
Controller
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"Plooto is critical to our business"

Comments: Plooto made our transition to working from an office to home during the pandemic seamless. We went from an organization that made the majority of our payments by cheque (requiring dual signatures) to online using Plooto in about a week. I don't know how we would have paid our bills without it.

Pros: Plooto was so easy to set up, and it's auto connection to our accounting software was seamless.

Cons: We make quite a few payments to the USA, and I would like to see the cost on those come down. The price on Canadian payments is very reasonable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Dami O.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Great Product"

Pros: Layers of approval . It helps our non profit clients

Cons: Not so easy to set up a new client and authorize management for approval.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Daniel H.
President
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Okay."

Pros: Relatively easy to navigate and integrate with QBO.

Cons: I don't like that an email address is required for every payee. It should be easier to pay a one off supplier - example is FedEx. I don't have an account number, and no contact email so I cannot add them as a payee. I don't like the new monthly fee of $25. I understand why, but it's unreasonably high for companies like mine that only have a few receivables to collect from.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Marc-antoine C.
Director
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Great software for AP"

Pros: Accounts payable automation is really great. All the workflow related to AP is automated.

Cons: Accounts receivables collection, AP delays and doesN,t identify Credit notes/JE from QBO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Heather P.
Founder
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2020

"Seamless integration, end user friendly"

Comments: Great platform to set up, use, and recommend to clients.

Pros: Simple to set up. Easy to implement. Great interface for our non-financial clients.

Cons: I still think there are some control weaknesses that need to be addressed. I would like to be able to see a report of banking details that have changed since last time. It would be easy for someone to change banking details and direct the payment to the wrong person's account. Right now I have not figured out an easy way to see this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2020
John M.
vp customer success
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Ach accounts receivable"

Comments: Between 3 and 4 star experience. They had the one feature I wanted at a very cost competitive price of $1/ transaction, but that went up to a $25 minimum. The argument is ... "It's not much of an increase." But that argument can be used against Plooto as well. Anyway I am still looking for another solution that is as easy as taking a credit card that is also priced better.

Pros: Automated monthly ACH for receivables is the #1 reason I use Plooto.

Cons: It has worked well except that pricing went up out of nowhere, no grandfather clause used like a lot of companies use. It was also very frustrating to figure out how long it takes to get that first payment after an agreement for automatic deposit is signed. Other companies I found out made ach as easy as taking a credit card. The two step process with Plooto was problematic for us .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Sarah C.
Owner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2020

"It is OK overall"

Comments: The payment time needs to be improved. But overall this is an easy to use product

Pros: It applies the payment for you on QBO
Approval process looks good
It provides payment world-wide with competitive rate

Cons: The warnings should be more visible
It takes longer than Telpay to deposit into account
Only subscription based

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2020
Helina P.
CFO, Management Consultant
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2018

"Awesome AP/AR app that saves time and money."

Comments: Cash in my bank faster. Cheaper bill payments.

Pros: Plooto saves me and my clients so much time is chasing invoice payments and mailing cheques for bill payments. The integrations with accounting softwares make it easy to manage vendor payments and mark them as paid. The pre-authorised debits make it easy to collect recurring invoice payments.

Cons: I'd like to see the time gap from invoice payment to cash in my bank and bill payment to cash in my vendor's bank shortened.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2018
Cheryl E.
Owner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Plooto is our go-to"

Comments: No more chasing around cheques and cheque copies

Pros: Plooto is relatively easy to set up - many suppliers needed the push to accept it

Cons: Can't choose credits to apply to accounts payable payments!!!!! This has created a lot of work around that shouldn't be necessary. Please UPGRADE this!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Mark L.
EVP
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Great software but pricing scheme disqualifies it for small businesses"

Comments: Had a good experience, but we wont come back until the pricing model is changed.

Pros: Nice environment, easy to understand, works well.

Cons: - Since the pricing model was changed, it is no longer of interest for small businesses.
Not sure if Plooto has an awareness for the "squeeze out" that it caused.
- PAD several days delay from time funds are withdrawn at customers account until we see the money on our accounts. Working with the PAD software from the bank transfers funds same day.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Jordan H.
Accountant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Best payment option for Canadian small businesses"

Pros: Integrations, approvals and workflow are fantastic. Fees are reasonable.

Cons: Doesn't handle supplier credits from QBO well, and I wish the payment timeline could be reduced to 2 days like a normal EFT, without needing Plooto Instant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Susan S.
Owner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"A great alternative to accepting credit cards"

Pros: I saved a lot on Merchant fees for my monthly billing.

Cons: The new fee structure still saved me money but not quite as much. I find the set up and navigation a little clunky.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 3/01/2019

"Simplest way to manage receivables"

Pros: The setup is simple, the user interface is simple and it solves many issues that come up when automating your back office to handle AR in a fast manner. Streamlining the PAD agreement is extremely nice.

Cons: The speed of ACH deposits must get faster but with a credit card, the funding is the next day. They could also improve the Xero connection a bit more but all and all its great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 3/01/2019
Julie J.
Comptable
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2020

"Saves time and money"

Comments: Great, I would not go without it now.

Pros: Plooto connects with QBO and Xero. Makes everything quick, easy and accurate.

Cons: The start up of the account is confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2020
Claire G.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Easy to integrate and use"

Comments: It does what we need it to do.

Pros: Integrates very easily with our QBO and banking.

Cons: It all works well thanks - there's nothing I would change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Daniel G.
Owner
Photography, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2020

"I stopped using this when they added a monthly fee"

Comments: I wish they didn't have to add a monthly fee.. I mean.. I get it, everyone needs to make money, but my small business is too small to absorb that fee. Plooto should look at the usage and then decided if they should charge based on that.

Pros: I used this tool to help me pay my hired contractors, the etransfer fee was less then what the bank was charging me.

Cons: but when they added a monthly fee on top of the pay-per-use model I stopped using it.
The software was easy enough to use. I dis like any final software but this one was ok.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Jennifer M.
President
Food Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020

"Makes EFT's Easy"

Pros: That it is simple to use - we did not need any extensive training

Cons: We don't have any issues with the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2020
Isaac S.
Implementation Specialist
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Game changer"

Comments: I am terribly pleased and my clients are very happy with this product.

Pros: Plooto has made it very easy and simple to help my clients organize their A/P. As my clients process dozens of transfers on a weekly basis in the context of how and when they get paid, Plooto has streamlined the approval process.

Cons: From a invoice collecting standpoint, A/R could be improved if Plooto could process credit card payments here in Canada.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020
Riley D.
CFO
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020

"Perfectly paired with Xero"

Comments: It's been a good stopgap solution for us. We still use bank wires for payments that need to go out immediately but for everything else, there's Plooto.

Pros: It integrates perfectly with our Xero accounting system and makes payments seamless. Took no time at all to set up.

Cons: There is a lag time of 4-5 business days when making payments. We have to explain this to every vendor since it can be a confusing process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2020