Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About EmailOctopus

Easy-to-use, affordable email marketing tool for businesses and individual creators wanting to grow and engage an audience.

Learn more about EmailOctopus

Showing 25 reviews of 108

Ashton A.
Author
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2020

"Mailchimp who?"

Pros: I had been using mailchimp but found it very expensive for what I was getting. So I tried out EmailOctopus... and promptly cancelled my mailchimp account. It is user friendly and has great features. I can do everything I need to do without extending my budget. The pricing for what you get is AMAZING!

Cons: Have yet to find anything. I am still new but so far, so good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2020
Kristian V.
Founder
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2020

"Excellent"

Comments: Amazing. Great support, fantastic features & unbelievable ease of use.

Pros: A simple, powerful tool to automate & scale your email communication.

Cons: There are no cons. The company is growing, and progressively improving their services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2020
Ryan A.
CEO
Political Organisation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2020

"EmailOctopus is my go-to solution for mass emailing."

Comments: Fast. Reliable. Responsive. Very satisfied.

Pros: The software and the team behind it are fast, reliable, and responsive. I work in politics and things need to happen quickly to be impactful, which is why EmailOctopus is my go-to solution when I need to get a message out and get a report back on how well it was received.

Cons: I would add more data fields to list importing so I could segment better to one list.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2020
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder, CEO
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"The BEST Email Platform for "Large Audience" Campaigns for Starter Businesses"

Comments: I have had a wonderful experience, as for this pricing, there is no service I've found that can "go fast" from the get go and start sending large quantities of mail to your lists.

Pros: The number 1 key of this software is their unique ability to plug into your Amazon Email Platform account. This allows you to send out MANY MANY more emails on a daily basis than any other platform I have come across. Not to mention the ease of ability to upload the lists from wherever you have built them before.

Cons: The biggest difficulty is that there are not comprehensive statistics set up in the back office to individually see what emails are opening and reading your emails. Or the ones that are clicking. That is a step down from where I was before.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Scott M.
Writer
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"Exceelent option for editorial newsletters"

Comments: I use EmailOctopus to send monthly editorial email newsletters, and it excels at this. I'm able to have total control over the aesthetic of the emails I send, and the dashboard isn't cluttered with marketing features that I'll never use. All the other services I tested and compared either imposed their own aesthetic on the user, or offered full customization but were bloated with marketing features – or both. EmailOctopus is ideal for my use case.

Pros: EmailOctopus dispenses with all the tools for marketers that other services offer and focuses on a simple but crucial set of features: straightforward list management, fine-grained control over templating, clear workflow, sensible analytics that don't veer into creepy surveillance territory.

Cons: All that said, there are a couple features that would be nice to have: embedded subscription forms that don't need jQuery, and a CSS inlining tool for building custom templates (many others are available; it would just be nice to have it all in one place).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2020

"Awsome service"

Comments: It's been great. I use it to manage email subscriptions in apps that I develop and to send automated emails.

Pros: It's lightweight, cost-effective, and easy to work with.

Cons: I'd like a more robust developer API, so that I can take more control over how I'm utilizing the service in my apps.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2020
Kehinde A.
Manager
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"Email Octopus For Easy Emailing"

Comments: I use it for email marketing; list building, automation and broadcasting messages to my existing list.

Pros: Simplicity of the User Interface, AWS Integration and Delivery quality.

Cons: The price farely high given to the fact that I still have to pay AWS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Teresa H.
author
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/05/2019

"A Nice, Affordable Option"

Comments: Overall, this has been a positive experience, and I would recommend EmailOctopus.

Pros: The price is excellent, and I love that they're unrolling features constantly. Two of my favorite features are automation (a must-have), and drag-and-drop design.

Cons: It's not always intuitive to use, so I sometimes have to ask for support. However, they always get back to me quickly. Also, I'm desperate for list segmentation and have been asking for that feature for a while now.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 24/04/2020

Hi Teresa,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2019

"Great MailChimp alternative"

Comments: It works :) and it's cheap. Emails go out, people open them and click. That's it.

Pros: It's not bloated - features they have are those that 98% of us need.

Cons: Being used to numerous bells & whistles from other providers I sometimes miss advanced tagging and similar stuff. But, realistically - it's not needed and this is NOT a problem in Octopus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2019
Simran K.
Law Student
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2020

"If an overwhelmed law student can use this software with ease, so can you!"

Comments: My overall experience has been really great and I cannot recommend this software enough. It is simply one of the absolute best on the market for this type of software.

Pros: This software is incredibly easy to use and customize. All of the features are incredibly intuitive and the end result is absolutely incredible.

Cons: The one difficulty I had was importing my email list to the software, but I'm sure there was probably a mistake on my end as I am not the best at technology nor would I say I am well-versed at using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2020
Luca R.
Founder
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2020

"Cheap but complete email marketing software"

Comments: I have been using this software for almost a year and I recommend it to people who need to get started with email marketing. Easy and cheap.

Pros: EmailOctopus is a cheap alternative to more famous email marketing Saas. While it isn't as powerful as Mailchimp, it is a lot easier to master and has everything most businesses will ever need.

Cons: The embeddable form are quite ugly, they look at least ten years old. While they work great, looks matter in web design.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2020
Adam D.
Managing Editor
Online Media, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020

"Ease of use with quick application"

Comments: Uses this service for a weekly or bi-weekly email/newsletter

Pros: The ability to use our own template so we can jump in and get done what we need to quickly.

Cons: having to go back multiple screens to fix something then go forward through them all again to complete.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020
Andrew C.
CEO
Events Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"Simple and Brilliant"

Comments: Slashed my email marketing bill from $1300 a month with that monkey thing and now under $300 with faster delivery using Amazon SES. Excellent.

Pros: Love how simple it is to use, clear interface, quick and just gets the job done.

Cons: Poor search facility for finding subscribers to manually unsubscribe (you have to check every list individually) and adding a tool to unsubscribe from just one list rather than everything would be great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020

"Good for an engineer"

Pros: While other solutions try to be smart and do things for you, EmailOctopus keeps it simple. It does provide wizards for the non-technical users, but I'm most happy with the ability to write the HTML myself without the tool trying to get in my way.

Cons: The tool is perfect for my needs, I have nothing to complain about.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020
Olga J.
founder
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020

"Email Octopus as an alternative newsletter service is great"

Comments: Excellent service and feels wonderful to support a smaller alternative service doing as great a job as long established players.

Pros: User friendly software ( I have no programming / coding experience)
Compatability with other digital products
Customer support par excellence

Cons: It is intuitive but can be even more so, great customer support compensates for what I 'don't get' intuitively

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020
Friedrich C.
CEO OFFICE PROJECT MANAGER
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2019

"User experience on EmailOctopus"

Pros: I think EmailOctopus is perfect for either the beginner or even the advanced user, since the key indicators included on the platform have already been good enough to help the users to understand the feedback and enact following action. Overall speaking, I will say it's with superb high "COST and PROFIT" value. Besides, customer service is kind to answer your questions with details. Much appreciated it. Also look forward to seeing more and more intuitive functions on the platform.

Cons: It will be great if there are more template to choose while making the campaign. The existing templates have already been good enough, though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2019
Matt K.
Marketing & Creative
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"Saved Money and Time by Switching to EmailOctopus"

Pros: Ease of use and price. We create our own email code in-house, so we have no need for templates and other frills, excessive customer support, etc. The absence of up-selling on their behalf has been a plus.

Cons: We are concerned about the centralization of services through Amazon Web Services which EmailOctopus utilizes for their back-end email delivery service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Laura M.
Founder
Political Organisation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2018

"Good for sending volume, but..."

Comments: Good experience for sending bulk mail to less than ideal lists. A bit more work than most email providers but it is a fraction of the cost so no real complaint there. It would be nice, however, to be able to pull lists of everyone who had opened/clicked an email without going to each campaign individually.

Pros: It is cheap, easy to use, has surprisingly good looking templates, and not so picky on lists.

Cons: No list segmentation or ability to target subscribers on activity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Nicky B.
Writer
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"A very Handy Platform"

Pros: Simple to send mass emails from different list
Simple interface
Easy to use email builder

Cons: Hard to screen out and remove non active subscribers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Lynsey M.
Sleep consultant
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"review"

Comments: Easy to send my monthly newsletter. Was helpful when GDPR came in. Good customer service and value.

Pros: Easy to use and I'm not very good with computers.

Cons: No issues so far with the software and I been using over a year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Mike S.
Founder / SEO Specialist
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2018

"Great tool for email marketing"

Comments: Overall it's a great tool once it's set up. Fair prices, great usability and easy to implement on your own website and within marketing campaigns.

Pros: Great usability and easy to set-up website widgets.

Cons: Not that easy to set-up without a technical person (with Amazon servers etc.)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Founder & CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"An easy and powerful mailer suite"

Comments: Very happy with easy interface

Pros: AWS ses is great and cost effective for this mailer

Cons: Collaboration module is missing which could have been better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Mufaddal M.
Director - Business Operations
Writing & Editing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2019

"Platform to send emails using Amazon servers"

Pros: Creating campaigns is a breeze and we had not issues on their website

Cons: Email wise dependent on amazon ses. The templates are very poor and extremely limited in counted

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
marketing Head
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"Value for money"

Pros: One of the best parts of this software is email delivery with Amazon. One one the best email platform for email marketing. will definitely recommend emailoctopus to other companies.

Cons: Amazon takes time to increase the email sending limit. but once you know their criteria, it will be easy to verify.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Ben H.
Creator
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"This is fire"

Comments: Great platform

Pros: I love the ease of the dashboard. Very easy to use!!

Cons: Honestly nothing. Signing up took awhile before verification but now it’s easy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019