Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.9 /5

About Device42

ITAM Software: Track complete hardware & software asset life-cycles, licenses, contracts, certificates, renewal reminders, and more!

Learn more about Device42

Showing 49 reviews

Ernest W.
Sr Infrastructure engineer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"Best Find in a while!"

Comments: Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

Pros: Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

Cons: Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017

"Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date."

Comments: The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

Pros: Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

Cons: We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017
John B.
Systems Engineer/Architect
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/04/2018

"We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money."

Comments: We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

Pros: Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

Cons: Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/04/2018
Wallace L.
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2019

"Device42 Review"

Comments: Overall, this is a good product. It does need a lot of attention to get it setup

Pros: It allows you to keep trace of all the device, hardware, using SNMP. We could save all the circuit and vendor information all as well as racks information.

Cons: IP address could get a bit messy. Device information could get a bit overwhelming. So setting it up and get it up and going does require quite a bit of work. Circuit LAG doesn't really work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2019
Alvin P.
System Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal."

Comments: Asset management features.

Pros: The software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.

Cons: What I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task.
Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Keith C.
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2017

"Device42 has given us a great feature set, fantastic support and was overall easy to implement."

Comments: Ease of use, great support, full use of features, great site documentation.

Pros: After trialing many different asset solutions, Device42 was by far superior. It came with a lot unique functionality we were looking for such as SAML, Jira Integration, workflows etc. What really made my life easier though was their thorough documentation on everything and their very timely and knowledgeable support. Their support was fantastic throughout the implementation process and always addressed issues expediently. I deal with many organizations support for various solutions we have and D42 definitely stands out for quality. I would definitely recommend their solution based on the above.

Cons: This isn't really a con but currently they only have an On-prem option. Overall though hosting it hasn't been much work involved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2017
Dirk B.
Network Architect
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Great and versatile DCIM tool!"

Comments: This software helps us streamlining processes and getting our documentation up to date.

Pros: Lots of functionalities are well packed together in a single tool. Buildings, rooms, racks, devices are nicely linked together and can give a visualization of all the components (Room overview, rack layout, ...)
We're using the datacenter inventory module and the centralized password database. It takes a while to get all information in the tool, but once it's in there, it can easily be retrieved or changed if ncessary.

Cons: RBAC could be improved
The update process could be simplified with automatic downloads and scheduled installations

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sr. System Lead
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"CMDB that works"

Comments: Suppot has been top noch

Pros: IT was fast to deploy and run discoveries. Very Fast to be up and running

Cons: Scans can be an issue based on the size of the org. Might take some time to dial in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Mark P.
Manager, IT Infrastructure
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"Good Product, Excellent Support!"

Comments: Device42 is a solid contender in the DCIM market, and will gain more ground as their reputation spreads. Most DCIM’s require extensive training, professional services, and lots of ongoing help. Not Device42 – it is intuitive and easy enough to use – if you take time to listen and learn. When we were stumped, a quick support request on their portal was answered quickly.

Pros: It is easy to use, and the support folks will work with you to find a root cause – and stick with it. Great Support!

Cons: We were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything. Well Done!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Yasin S.
Senior Systems Developer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!"

Comments: Complete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.

Pros: Very easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017
Maurice K.
System Engineer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018

"A one-stop-shop DCIM"

Comments: It made our datacenter preparations quite easy.

Pros: The ease of use of the tool. It has a great API where you can program against. We used rack view a lot during the migration of our datacenter.

Cons: The IPAM part could use some rework, make it more easy to look at. As far as I know this is already on the roadmap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist
Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2018

"Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support."

Pros: For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation
It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

Cons: At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2018
Christopher G.
Senior Systems Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment."

Comments: Overall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products. If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.

Pros: The feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team. Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours. They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).

Cons: We have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Data Center Engineer
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World"

Pros: I have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017
Andreas Z.
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019

"Good IPAM Solution"

Comments: We gained following efforts :
- global IPAM solutions
- active IP usability tracking (ping Sweep)
- Service Now Integration (REST Integration)
- Single Source of truth for network items

Pros: We use this tool as global IPAM solution also for automated processes and its working very good. API is clearly documented and support is always willing to help

Cons: Some usability concepts are not so common as compared to other IPAM products (e.g. Bluecat), which needs more time to get familiar with the concept (e.g. subnet move, split, merge).
But support is always open for guidance and feature requests

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Rob S.
Director of Engineering
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Powerful and simple asset management for the data center"

Comments: Automated inventory and asset management

Pros: The customer service is really top-notch. The software itself is easy to install and use, and it's very powerful. Compared to other inventory and asset management applications I've used, Device42 offers a lot more functionality and a lot less hassle. The engineers release an update every week or two, and these updates often contain substantial improvements. The product just keeps getting better and better with every iteration!

Cons: As powerful as it is, Device42 is still missing a few features that would be nice to have. Not all hardware is supported for automated discoveries. However, I'm confident that the D42 engineers are working on it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Uri U.
Pricipal Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Device42 is THE CMDB!! look no further!"

Comments: We use Device42 as the source of truth for our automation deployments.

Pros: Simple, clean and it has API functions that allow us to access the information on any platform.

Cons: It does not have mobile app access and the site is not optimized for any portable devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Ian G.
Data Center Operations Manager
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Finally a DCIM that covers all of our needs"

Comments: Complete visibility of our data center from layer one to power monitoring.

Pros: This is a one stop shop for any data center facility. We initially were shopping for a connectivity management tool and stumbled on this gem. You couldn't ask for more with a price point far below competitors.

Cons: It is a heavy lift on the front end during the initial install, but the end result is well worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lead Technical Architect
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Excellent Product and Support at a Very good Price"

Comments: The product is very flexible and easy to use. I have seen a lot of improvements since we have started using it and the Support staff is always quick to respond to questions or issues.

Pros: Easy to install, Simple User interface, Ability to load devices though network scan or use of API scripting.

Cons: Where documentation is good, having some recommendation, white papers or best practices around loading data and setting up some of the more completed feature is needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Al B.
Infrastructure Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"A critical tool for us in our infrastructure."

Comments: Over has been very positive. Especially in dealing with customer support. They response time is very fast.

Pros: The ability to scan and discover new hosts and then be able to bind credential information to the hosts is very handy for us. I then am able to allow certain users to view credential information of specific hosts that I want them to see.

Cons: It can be overwhelming in the amount of configurable options but that is OK because you do not have to use all the features that are available to you

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Marton G.
PM
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/06/2018

"Excellent support and feature rich product set."

Comments: .

Pros: Visualisation of Data Centre assets and agentless discovery
Highly responsive and technical support
Receptive to feedback on product enhancements

Cons: Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.
Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/06/2018
Earl G.
Data Center & Integration Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018

"Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!"

Pros: Product is easy to learn and put to use
We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product
Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code.
New features being added all the time
API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation

Cons: I can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/02/2018
Kevin P.
Data Center Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019

"Device installation use and troubleshooting"

Comments: Overall the product is value for money. If you invest the time needed you will be rewarded with a powerful and comprehensive computer resource audit database.

Pros: Simple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool.

Cons: Fiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019
Jeff C.
Senior Information Systems Engineer
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2018

"Great ITIL Software"

Comments: It has improved our level of service and support to our end users because of the ease of finding information quickly.

Pros: One of the most comprehensive software packages I have used to track IP's, inventory, network and server information. Great search capabilities.

Cons: It took a little bit of a learning curve to figure out the best way to enter my data. Once I got that down it was OK.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2018
Jeffrey A.
Lead Technical Architect
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2018

"The CMDB we have been looking for."

Comments: An independent hardware/software inventory system that can generate reports for renewals and keep track of hardware locations.

Pros: Very responsive support. Collects a lot of information from the devices themselves. Easy to make bulk additions or changes with import/exports to Excel.

Cons: This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2018