Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.7 /5

About ConnectWise Automate

Automate Backup and Storage solutions can provide data protection and recovery from physical and virtual machines. Get your free tour!

Learn more about ConnectWise Automate

Showing 105 reviews

Andrew W.
Manager, Centralized Services
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2021

"ConnectWise Automate - box of LEGO with no instructions"

Pros: ConnectWise Automate empowers users to perform generally complex tasks such as patching and monitoring with ease. The scripting engine is extremely powerful and allows anyone with zero to little programming knowledge to perform automation tasks.

Cons: ConnectWise has yet to realized the world is moving to the cloud. Monitoring servers is no longer important, cloud services are. There is no cloud awareness in the system, which is going to force partners to pilot to other systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2021
Sam H.
IT Support Technician
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2020

"Connectwise Automate"

Comments: Connectwise Automate is a critical part of my business that I use. I could not work without it and I really enjoy working with this tool!

Pros: I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.

Cons: The only issue we have with this software is the customer support and occasional instability of the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"I believe this is still the best RMM around, but it's a bit clunky and often slow."

Comments: RMM, Scripting, Easy MSP setup and management of our clients systems.

Pros: If you can imagine it, you can do it. It really does have all the tools to do whatever you desire remotely. You can access almost any aspect of a managed machine without even interrupting the end user. The built-in ignite monitors are pretty amazing on their own.

Cons: It can be incredibly slow at times, you have to have a lot of patience. The script editor being object and mouse based is very clunky, I'd prefer to learn the syntax and just type it all out, but that option isn't readily available in the GUI you have to dig into the guts to do that. If you use ignite monitors you'll need to parse out the noise they create for items you don't want to be notified about. Integration with Connectwise Manage is still a bit quirky but it works.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Geoff B.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2018

"I have been using this for about 5 years, since it was Labtech."

Comments: I run my company on it.

Pros: Very powerfull management software. They continue to add value to the product by incorporating new features.

Cons: I much prefer the old interface to the new one. It seems that the company is not listening to the users and trying to make the software pretty at the expense of functional. Support is so, so, and often tells me that my "problem" needs to be sent to their custom programming department at additional cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2018
Brian P.
Network Manager
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2017

"Very powerful remote monitoring software"

Comments: Remote monitoring and alerting as well as some automated remediation. More efficient usage of engineering time.

Pros: Once setup and configured properly does a great job of monitoring devices and alerting of potential or real-time issues. Tons of options that can be configured.

Cons: Very difficult to set up and tweak all of the settings to meet your needs. Sometimes common things that should be setup out of the box are not and need to be manually configured

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2018

"For managing your IT components no matter where"

Pros: After using a lot management tooling, I'm now using ConnectWise Automate (former Labtech). Monitoring, manage, implement manually or thru scripts, almost everything is possible with this software.

Cons: Setup is easy with their support, but getting completely up and running is a differnt story. Especially in small IT companies where maintaining this software is just very small part of your job it sometimes getting complicated. Adjusting reports can be improved. A simple report where you select the begin and end date in the past is not possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2018
Victor A.
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018

"ConnectWise for wiser IT Admins"

Pros: ConnectWise Automate solutions is a remarkable ITSM Solution that has a strong and accurate agent that will make a complete inventory of all the IT assets of your organization. Strong scripts capabilities to automate tasks of maintenance and preventive support. Provides simple, fast, and powerful remote access capabilities.

Cons: For Junior IT Admins has a higher complexity to achieve proficiency to manage the tool. New versions are kind of unintuitive and sometimes difficult to figure out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018

"Automate has helped us to manage multiple endpoints for multiple clients from a single console."

Pros: One of the best features of the software is the ability to create and quickly deploy custom scripts and receive accurate reporting.

Cons: Navigation in the console could be improved. There is a slight learning curve, but once you discover where all of the features are it becomes easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2019

"Packed with Features and Information"

Comments: We use Connectwise Automate to get on top of client issues before reaching out so that we can have a better, more knowledgeable interaction with them. It's a very necessary tool in our organization.

Pros: There are tons of features in this software. It provides a console interface with verbose information that allows a tech to do quite a bit of troubleshooting before having to remote onto the computer. You're able to run commands from CMD, view mapped drives, view/add local user accounts, and more. What I also like is, after establishing a connection to the computer remotely, you can also close the console window without having to close the remote session window.

Cons: Some info in the console can be hard to find because there is just so much information. There are two features I feel are missing from the console though:
1. The ability to view and edit the registry from the console.
2. The ability to view the file system from the console.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2019
Matt S.
PIC
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/02/2018

"Full featured program that allows technicians to complete full system administration remotely"

Pros: Feature set is large and allows a lot of system administration tasks to be done without needing to remotely control the computer.

Cons: Inferface can be clunky
Updates often break more things than they fix
Support can take days to resolve issues when the issue is a work stopage

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/02/2018
Felipe R.
Intégration TI
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018

"Best remote manage tool"

Comments: We reduce the amount of connections to the users devices interrupting their job. With this tool we can work in background and automate common fixes.

Pros: It's a great tool for remote management. You can get so so many information from their connected devices. Also the reports you can get from the dataviews are Excelent

Cons: The new interface version is slower than the previous one. Seems simpler but you spend more time trying to find the features and commands

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018
Mikhail K.
Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"My experience with ConnectWise Automate"

Comments: ConnectWise Automate helps us to keep everything together in one system.

Pros: We have used ConnectWise for a half a year. It provides great tools for monitoring and checking tasks with various functions and features. Powerful and simple product to use.

Cons: The interface could be more user-friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Sergio N.
It Manager
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020

"The worst technical support in the world"

Comments: A nightmare every time you have to interface with the support.

Pros: Nothing. The only thing that works well is a product, Control, which they didn't develop themselves.

Cons: Stay away from this product.
You will always need technical support, but the support is very very poor.
Look for products with less functionality, but more stable and with better support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020
Jason M.
Support Services Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Average Product"

Comments: We use connectwise automate to monitor our client locations and automate our ticket creation process for issues

Pros: Ability to remotely monitor client sites. This lets us run scripts and install patches remotely. The integration with connectwise control improves our process.

Cons: The product is poorly designed for the user experience. The UI is not intuitive, so finding what you can do makes developing solutions difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Jake I.
IT Support Analyst
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Connect With Training"

Pros: Its a great solution for small to medium businesses, but can take a while to get the hang of. It also shows how much hours you spent on service tickets.

Cons: Functionality is great but not always easy. There's guides out there, but not all aspects of CW are user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
John T.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017
David R.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2016

"Overall it's a solid platform"

Comments: All the features you want and need are there. Like any RMM you'll spend a bit of time 'quietening' it down first, but after that, it's smooth sailing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2016
James B.
IT Operations Engineer
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2020

"By far the best RMM in the network of RMM"

Comments: Overall, we have been happy with connectwise automate. After coming from Teamviewer, Connectwise is a very robust system that can do way more than we even have the knowledge or time to make happen. Very happy with the software itself.

Pros: The best part about Connectwise Automate is the amount of power that it has. We are able to deploy auto run scrips on our very critical infrastructure. The systems are always monitored for down time and automate sends out an alert any time there is an issue. The control console is easy to use and even non-technical users are able to remote into our customer's systems to see what they need. Scripting is robust to say the least.

Cons: Ticketing is a challenge in this platform. It is included, but isn't a very customer friendly interface to work in. Tech support is a challenge to contact and they don't consider much an emergency for support purposes. Being cloud managed, we find that it is slow for time to time and requires a bit more patients than we would prefer. The management console is not Mac OS supported, so using this in an Apple environment can be challenging. You are limited to the web version and it's functions are limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2020
Daren A.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019

"Connectwise Automate"

Comments: We are using Connectwise Automate for taking care of customers on a managed service contract.

Pros: There are many, many features in Connectwise Automate that will help you help your customers with their computer needs.

Cons: Although the software is very feature rich, it seems very cumbersome and not easy to use from day one. In almost every step, we have had to take classes to figure out how to do things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Chris T.
Senior Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017

"Great Software with a great learning curve"

Comments: I've been using it for 2 years now. Overall I'm impressed with the software. "Screenconnect" software is brilliant, fast and reliable connections to your managed agents. Pricing is competitive for what it delivers however it is expensive. Make sure you NEED all of it's features before investing otherwise your potentially just burning money you don't need too. However the learning curve required to get the best from this software is vast, documentation is sparse. The documentation that does exist is out of date. For example the knowledge base article regarding configuring the agent to utilise a proxy server doesn't seem to match up with the latest version. You're left either fending for your self on the forums or waiting in line for a chat with their tech support, which to be fair once you get there is very good. Looking elsewhere simply because of two price rises in 2016 with more likely in 2017.

Pros: Screenconnect - A real asset to the platform.
Scripting
Tunnel options - Can tunnel into your customer network using the agent.
Powerful Automation and patch management

Cons: Complex
Growing expense
Out of date knowledge base / manuals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017
James D.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2020

"Extremely Powerful MSP Software"

Comments: Automate is feature rich and I find it very easy to use. There's just so much that you can do to improve workflows and "automate" tasks. I highly recommend this for mature MSPs.

Pros: The automation that can be performed is amazing. This was deployed primarily on Windows machines. It does an incredible job at managing updates. The recent integration of Third Wall, though rough in the beginning, has made this the most powerful MSP software.

Cons: The desktop software can be sluggish. Rolling out Third Wall was very rough. After working out all of the kinks it's makes some fantastic improvements and adds some much needed solutions. Physical machines need a display connected. This can be annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2020
Shannon D.
Founder
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/06/2020

"Beware of working with Conectwise Automate"

Comments: Terrible. Your RMM tool is really important and you want a company that is trying to help your business grow by having great additions for the platform and services that you can then offer your clients and perspective clients. Connectwise has wanted to exact as many dollars out of my pocket and have no intention of having a business relationship what so ever. In my 24 years in the industry I have never had a company treat me this way but they did and continue to. I have heard from 30+ other companies ceo's saying similar things that there is not partnership just a money grab.

Pros: The remote program is really good. Very simple and quick when a caller has called in.

Cons: First year was good. At the beginning of the second year they doubled the cost saying "its in the contract" I said I want to cancel or fix the price and for a year we went around in circles. "ok we will do at the same price you just need to double your agents" I don't need more agents. Then I had a new person over and over. I then send a formal letter to cancel service and they say we won't except this. I have now asked twice to move to 25 agents and again the same thing is happening.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/06/2020
Chris M.
Manager, Technology Service & Support
Accounting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018

"Improved ROI on Manged services by 35% in first 3 years."

Comments: We have changed our business model based on this software and increased ROI on all services by 35 % in less then 3 years.

Pros: Once setup it does what it does well.
Very few issue after setup and config.
Gives a wealth of information on devices managed.

Cons: Can be a burden to setup and config
Takes a good amount of training to really use it well
Being good a scripting is a must

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2019

"RMM"

Comments: This program helps us bring together all of our management abilities without the guessing game. Update and scripts works like a charm, ability to audit end user.

Pros: This RMM Toll will integrate with nearly every tool available. One pane of glass for management. Great support through implementation and afterward.

Cons: This can be costly and I would not suggest it for a small company.
It takes a 2 to 6 months to be fully deployed depending on what your needs are.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2019
Adrian M.
Senior Storage Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"we use internally labtech"

Comments: ease connectivity for my cloud environment

Pros: LT has big amount of great functionalities right out of the box. Lots of custom alerting and monitoring sets. It will allow you to completely automate patches and updates from Microsoft. A great built-in remote support tool with screen connect.

Cons: normally to make the complete setup takes a while due all the custom options of alerting and patching but I think is normally in this kind of tools

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018