ConnectWise Automate Reviews

by ConnectWise

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ConnectWise Automate

Automate Backup and Storage solutions can provide data protection and recovery from physical and virtual machines. Get your free tour!

Learn more about ConnectWise Automate

Showing 108 reviews

Verified Reviewer
IT Operations
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/05/2021

"If you have the money to spend, spend it.. if not.. there is other options`"

Comments: Overall, I am very happy with Connectwise Automate and would continue to use the product. If you work in a critical industry, I wouldn't recommend this as being your only source of remote access since support is very slow and very unhelpful in most situations.

Pros: The best part of this software is how robust the software is. When you purchase this software, you receive control and "WSUS" as part of your package. The software contains reports, pulls data on each computer, provides some integration and overall is a great automation and remote access tool.

Cons: Support is very slow to respond. Getting credits for downtime on their hosted web server is like pulling teeth. When you get into the chat queue, you may be waiting an hour or more for someone overseas who doesn't know how to fix the issue anyway. Then you have to wait until someone gets back with you when they "open a ticket." Honestly.... the only reason I WOULDN'T buy this software is their support system lacks ability for true support!

Alternatives Considered: TeamViewer

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate: The ability to do more than just remote access the PC was the main reason for the switch. Cost was a close second reason.

Switched From: TeamViewer

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate: Overall cost is the main reason.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/05/2021
Sam H.
IT Support Technician
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2020

"Connectwise Automate"

Comments: Connectwise Automate is a critical part of my business that I use. I could not work without it and I really enjoy working with this tool!

Pros: I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.

Cons: The only issue we have with this software is the customer support and occasional instability of the software.

Alternatives Considered: GoToMeeting, LogMeIn Central, TeamViewer, LastPass and Join.Me

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate: Connectwise offers what all of these tools do with many other additional options!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2020
Andrew W.
Manager, Centralized Services
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2021

"ConnectWise Automate - box of LEGO with no instructions"

Pros: ConnectWise Automate empowers users to perform generally complex tasks such as patching and monitoring with ease. The scripting engine is extremely powerful and allows anyone with zero to little programming knowledge to perform automation tasks.

Cons: ConnectWise has yet to realized the world is moving to the cloud. Monitoring servers is no longer important, cloud services are. There is no cloud awareness in the system, which is going to force partners to pilot to other systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/03/2021
Verified Reviewer
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"I believe this is still the best RMM around, but it's a bit clunky and often slow."

Comments: RMM, Scripting, Easy MSP setup and management of our clients systems.

Pros: If you can imagine it, you can do it. It really does have all the tools to do whatever you desire remotely. You can access almost any aspect of a managed machine without even interrupting the end user. The built-in ignite monitors are pretty amazing on their own.

Cons: It can be incredibly slow at times, you have to have a lot of patience. The script editor being object and mouse based is very clunky, I'd prefer to learn the syntax and just type it all out, but that option isn't readily available in the GUI you have to dig into the guts to do that. If you use ignite monitors you'll need to parse out the noise they create for items you don't want to be notified about. Integration with Connectwise Manage is still a bit quirky but it works.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Geoff B.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2018

"I have been using this for about 5 years, since it was Labtech."

Comments: I run my company on it.

Pros: Very powerfull management software. They continue to add value to the product by incorporating new features.

Cons: I much prefer the old interface to the new one. It seems that the company is not listening to the users and trying to make the software pretty at the expense of functional. Support is so, so, and often tells me that my "problem" needs to be sent to their custom programming department at additional cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2018
Brian P.
Network Manager
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2017

"Very powerful remote monitoring software"

Comments: Remote monitoring and alerting as well as some automated remediation. More efficient usage of engineering time.

Pros: Once setup and configured properly does a great job of monitoring devices and alerting of potential or real-time issues. Tons of options that can be configured.

Cons: Very difficult to set up and tweak all of the settings to meet your needs. Sometimes common things that should be setup out of the box are not and need to be manually configured

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2018

"For managing your IT components no matter where"

Pros: After using a lot management tooling, I'm now using ConnectWise Automate (former Labtech). Monitoring, manage, implement manually or thru scripts, almost everything is possible with this software.

Cons: Setup is easy with their support, but getting completely up and running is a differnt story. Especially in small IT companies where maintaining this software is just very small part of your job it sometimes getting complicated. Adjusting reports can be improved. A simple report where you select the begin and end date in the past is not possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2018
Victor A.
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018

"ConnectWise for wiser IT Admins"

Pros: ConnectWise Automate solutions is a remarkable ITSM Solution that has a strong and accurate agent that will make a complete inventory of all the IT assets of your organization. Strong scripts capabilities to automate tasks of maintenance and preventive support. Provides simple, fast, and powerful remote access capabilities.

Cons: For Junior IT Admins has a higher complexity to achieve proficiency to manage the tool. New versions are kind of unintuitive and sometimes difficult to figure out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018

"Automate has helped us to manage multiple endpoints for multiple clients from a single console."

Pros: One of the best features of the software is the ability to create and quickly deploy custom scripts and receive accurate reporting.

Cons: Navigation in the console could be improved. There is a slight learning curve, but once you discover where all of the features are it becomes easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018
Matt S.
PIC
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/02/2018

"Full featured program that allows technicians to complete full system administration remotely"

Pros: Feature set is large and allows a lot of system administration tasks to be done without needing to remotely control the computer.

Cons: Inferface can be clunky
Updates often break more things than they fix
Support can take days to resolve issues when the issue is a work stopage

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2019

"Packed with Features and Information"

Comments: We use Connectwise Automate to get on top of client issues before reaching out so that we can have a better, more knowledgeable interaction with them. It's a very necessary tool in our organization.

Pros: There are tons of features in this software. It provides a console interface with verbose information that allows a tech to do quite a bit of troubleshooting before having to remote onto the computer. You're able to run commands from CMD, view mapped drives, view/add local user accounts, and more. What I also like is, after establishing a connection to the computer remotely, you can also close the console window without having to close the remote session window.

Cons: Some info in the console can be hard to find because there is just so much information. There are two features I feel are missing from the console though:
1. The ability to view and edit the registry from the console.
2. The ability to view the file system from the console.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/07/2019
Jose C.
Lead Client Experience Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021

"Great RMM Tool"

Comments: Love it.

Pros: It was easy to deploy. Very customizable. A ton of features out of the box. Simple to maintain.

Cons: IT does take quite a bit of work to setup up the initial configurations and patches.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021
Felipe R.
Felipe R.
Intégration TI
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018

"Best remote manage tool"

Comments: We reduce the amount of connections to the users devices interrupting their job. With this tool we can work in background and automate common fixes.

Pros: It's a great tool for remote management. You can get so so many information from their connected devices. Also the reports you can get from the dataviews are Excelent

Cons: The new interface version is slower than the previous one. Seems simpler but you spend more time trying to find the features and commands

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018
Mikhail K.
Mikhail K.
Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"My experience with ConnectWise Automate"

Comments: ConnectWise Automate helps us to keep everything together in one system.

Pros: We have used ConnectWise for a half a year. It provides great tools for monitoring and checking tasks with various functions and features. Powerful and simple product to use.

Cons: The interface could be more user-friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Sergio N.
It Manager
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020

"The worst technical support in the world"

Comments: A nightmare every time you have to interface with the support.

Pros: Nothing. The only thing that works well is a product, Control, which they didn't develop themselves.

Cons: Stay away from this product.
You will always need technical support, but the support is very very poor.
Look for products with less functionality, but more stable and with better support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020
Jason M.
Support Services Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Average Product"

Comments: We use connectwise automate to monitor our client locations and automate our ticket creation process for issues

Pros: Ability to remotely monitor client sites. This lets us run scripts and install patches remotely. The integration with connectwise control improves our process.

Cons: The product is poorly designed for the user experience. The UI is not intuitive, so finding what you can do makes developing solutions difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Jake I.
IT Support Analyst
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Connect With Training"

Pros: Its a great solution for small to medium businesses, but can take a while to get the hang of. It also shows how much hours you spent on service tickets.

Cons: Functionality is great but not always easy. There's guides out there, but not all aspects of CW are user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
John T.
John T.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 5/05/2017
David R.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2016

"Overall it's a solid platform"

Comments: All the features you want and need are there. Like any RMM you'll spend a bit of time 'quietening' it down first, but after that, it's smooth sailing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/12/2016
Benjamin B.
IT
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/04/2020

"Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft""

Comments: The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros: The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons: It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

Alternatives Considered: Atera, TeamViewer, Splashtop Remote Support and Pulseway

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate: Kaskersky partnership forced via DoD Contracts

Switched From: LogMeIn Central

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate: The sales pitch promised support, working automation, and a cost reduction. All of it was a lie. This product costs more money than it saves and is a terrible investment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
Ingeniero de Implementación y Soporte
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019

"ConnectWise Automate, a great software"

Comments: Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage. Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros: It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons: CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Ahmed A.
Information Systems Technician
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2019

"The BEST tool for an IT Army of One"

Comments: Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros: You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons: Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Rachel H.
Adminitrative Assistant
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020

"The most powerful automation tool."

Comments: I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros: I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons: The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020
Tom A.
CTO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018

"CW Automate"

Comments: I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros: Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons: Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Managing Partner
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/04/2019

"ConnectWise Automate"

Comments: It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros: It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons: Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/04/2019