Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About Confluence

Confluence is a team workspace where knowledge and collaboration meet. Create, collaborate, and organize your work all in one place.

Learn more about Confluence

Showing 25 reviews of 1,730

Verified Reviewer
Information Security Intern
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2020

"Great collaboration tool"

Comments: Overall, my experience with Confluence has been exceptional. Creating and sharing the documents within the team and across different teams has been great!

Pros: The fact that this product makes collaboration extremely easy was something I liked the most. It can be very easily integrated with JIRA which makes tracking the projects very easy while documenting in parallel

Cons: The text based search option for documents sometimes sucks. I do not get the results that I am looking for which is something I dislike about this tool

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2020
Prince K.
Senior Consultant
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2021

"Documentation Resource and Sharing"

Comments: Confluence is a nice tool to keep documentation organized as long as you remember where you're putting it (bookmarks). The tool is not sophisticated enough to provide ease of mind but it does provide a place to store documentation and the ability to share it or set permissions to intend on the correct people to view the items. Overall I as well as others use it but its also not the best and we all know it can be loads better in terms of features and formatting.

Pros: The rich text central location of document storage and the ability to share based on permissions is a nice-to-have tool for large companies or groups. Utilization is tricky as every team or group will use it in their own way and organize their own way so even if you implement this in your company and you're browsing another department's documentation, you will find essentially that it is just their own internal documentation which requires a little bit of a lucky search to find what you're looking for. Essentially this is a glorified document cloud storage which allows version control, permissions, and sharing.

Cons: It is not much different than say any other software or tool available in this category. It has some nice features like version control and seeing a complete history of who made changes to what along with comments and a social feature to it where you can subscribe but honestly there is so much more potential here especially from a company like Atlassian. I just feel they really dropped the ball here by not implementing better integration with some other apps which are already available. Example is that their spreadsheet implementation is a nightmare. The formatting almost always behaves irradicably and it has the bare minimum when it comes to these spreadsheets. Why not implement at least at the base of other offerings? For a paid product, the level of quality is expected to be much more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2021
David M.
Senior Engineer
Research, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2019

"Wiki Engine on Steroids"

Comments: We are using Confluence as our internal documentation storage system. It allows us to easily create documentation and share it among our various teams while controlling access to the teams. It is better than a document storage system for this purpose, as it allows us to create the documents on the fly, cutting a step out of the process and making documents easier to manage. We host it on site, so it is more secure than a solution like Google Docs as it's not on the web.

Pros: We use Confluence on a daily basis to document various aspects of our organization. There is a large variety of built-in templates for a variety of sorts of documents. We heavily utilize the how-to articles to record procedures. Although it does link with other Altassian products, like Jira, we don't use that functionality currently as we run Confluence on-site and Jira in the cloud. The upgrade to version 6 greatly increased the usefulness of the product, as it brought in concurrent editing, ala Google Docs, which was functionality we needed when developing procedures for an event as a group. The search and indexing capabilities make it easy to find a document if its location is not obvious.

Cons: Search and indexing can lose usefulness in the event you have many similar documents, like say a checklist that is executed often. I would like a function to be able to click a check box to "ignore results like this." The initial setup of Confluence was not completely straightforward, however, we were installing on an older version, version 5. (The upgrade to version 6 went much smoother.) I would prefer an omnibus install package if it doesn't currently have that rather than having to install PostgreSQL and the application. The LDAP integration could have been a little bit smoother than it was, although it is in line with the other Atlassian products I have integrated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Leader - Sales, Business Development, and Product Owner
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/11/2018

"Perfect solution for interaction within our dev team and also for interaction between us & customers"

Comments: I absolutely love the product. It is awesome. When your con list is made up of feature requests, you know the product is intensely used and you are looking for "more" or adjusting how things are done to help enable you to do your task, plus add functionality that would provide value for the product. This product is a 10 of 10 if you are using it right.

Pros: The widgets. I love the team calendars, the roadmap functionality for time lines, decision tracking and criteria, tasks/action items and the ease of defining them, status bars, and the flexibility for meeting notes, how to articles, blogs, file lists, product requirements, retrospectives, task reports, and troubleshooting articles from one source. It has really improved our interaction with customers for projects and documentation.

Cons: From time to time I see issues with editing pages. It does not make the bold or color changes to changes even though the toolbar indicates it is made, it does not display correctly. I also see this display issue with tasks, where the tool bar indicates a task is inserted, but it is not displaying correctly. And also see this issue with bullets. It will display no bullet, or even worse, it displays additional bullets that I don't want. I would also love to be able to sync widgets between pages (ie a status bar on one page to a parent of that page for a summary. And also be able to sync components/pieces of a page between two Confluence instances. For an example of the use case, we have a time line that we maintain on an internal instance, and I want to sync parts of that timeline to an external instance that we share with customers. This would allow me to have internal only deliverables mapped, but provide a customer facing doc without maintaining two versions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Scrum Master
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2018

"Confluence for Team collaboration"

Comments: My overall business experience is great. Earlier team was sharing project content via emails that is a clumsy way to mamage and store the information, but as more and more people are using confluence it has become a repository and one stop shop to put knowledge at one palce which can be referred as and when needed. This is a great tool and a game changer for how we manage our collaboration within team for the project under Agile way

Pros: The best part about this software is the close integration with JIRA software. This is in real competition with Sharepoint as far as my understanding goes and I am an admin user for multiple scrum teams in my organization. Confluence in its own way is by far the easiest user-friendly software that I introduced in my team that was new to the agile world and now all our collaboration and communication on the process and tech document standpoint happens on Confluence. The comment section and different macros that can be added for adding content on a page and tree structure for pages created give this tool the edge and flexibility for teams to create the format that best suits to specific scrum team needs The technical document and usage of code snippet macro are very useful add-ons that have been given for formatting the content. from the project management standpoint, the product backlog and release planning can be done simply by adding JIRA tickets and their specific status that automatically is being fetched by confluence every time page is opened. The other most important feature is the ability to create JIRA tickets directly from the confluence page just select the text and then Confluence will give an option to create JIRA ticket and gets linked The reporting macros for JIRA tickets is a good way to track progress of projects

Cons: At an enterprise level, there are few web designing that is required to be done so that content that is already there can be structured in a much more web design format like links to confluence pages to be embedded in an image. That option is available but to central Admin and not to the page admin that makes confluence little crunched to admin users within a project. But this negative point is a very small piece in comparison to positives with this application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2018
Maria agnes C.
QA
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/08/2018

"One of the greatest tools to collaborate and build project knowledge base"

Pros: A great collaboration tool where all project documents (from major project plan to reports to release cycle to simple meeting notes) can be organized and shared in one centralized location.
The confluence editor feature makes it easier for me to create documents, review and share feedback and changes can be tracked thru page histories.
Spaces are well organized and structured. There are page shortcuts, page trees, breadcrumb trails that aid users to navigate between pages and information.
It is easy to build links within pages by adding an anchor. You don't need to remember which part of the page you have read a certain information and do page scroll.
I like the gliffy plugin. Whenever I need to embed a workflow diagram, adding gliffy makes it easier to attach flowchart, it's dynamic as changes in the diagram is reflected in the page.
I can highlight people in my reports or meeting notes by tagging them
Documenting a test report is easier with the JIRA integration - JIRA issues highlighted and linked and JIRA issue filters can be embedded and since these two (JIRA and Confluence) work hand in hand, it makes delivering software in agile approach a lot easier.

Cons: To beautify your confluence page, you need to know which macros and plugins you need to add but by doing these, one needs to have very basic knowledge in html or programming which could be a learning curve to most people. But lots of how to videos are shared by Atlassian and lots of documented procedures are out there shared by experienced users. One just need to be resourceful. The challenges in embedding spreadsheet with macros and formatting tables are not a challenge anymore if you know what macro or plugin to use. Another issue is sometimes finding the information you are seeking is not successful and sometimes the information search for spans to multiple pages - but information actually can be managed by adding labels which again boils down to the user having the knowledge that this feature exists.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/08/2018
Bhavani N.
DevOps Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/09/2019

"The best tool for documentation"

Comments: We went confluence when we had to share the workflows, test documentation, development documentation, important reads and links for new employees to get onboarded technically.

Pros: The ease of usage, diversification of the type of data that can be input, access control options.
It was so easy to add flowcharts. If multiple people were editing the same document, the way it was handled is great!

Cons: The performance of the page load when there are diagrams and lots of text on a page was low.
Less options to Export, like exporting to Excel is not present.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/09/2019
David M.
Lead Business Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2019

"Sensational Collaborative Tool"

Comments: Our project team had a need for a collaborative environment where members could share information to help educate one another. One key benefit I have come to realize is the ability to define permissions for which team members could access each page.

Pros: From the set up of a pages to creating the structure of a Confluence space, I have found Confluence to be incredibly easy to use. As part of the Atlassian suite, the integration with Jira is a great added bonus. The control panel makes for quickly formatting the rich text. One of my favorite parts is the customization of templates. The feature I have used most often is the recurring use of the customized Meeting Notes template. It has proved to be an effective means for presenting to meeting attendees what was discussed and decided upon. Relating to that is what I like to consider as a hidden gem of Confluence - the consolidation of the action items from different meetings.

Cons: There really isn't much. I guess one thing to call out would be around creating tables. It is very difficult to see the borders of the columns and rows. I find that I can struggle to know where to be entering the text within a cell. It was be nice if there were options to select the thickness of the lines.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Ecommerce Lead Developer
Apparel & Fashion
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2018

"Good documentation and wiki tool"

Comments: Easy project tracking, effective documentation and the ability to have integration with other tools are some of the good features that I like in Confluence.

Pros: It is designed well and is helpful is storing team tracking and information documentation. Confluence acts as our central repository and acts as the wiki for projects across various departments to document a project starting from design to implementation and maintenance. Any document/task could be properly managed to editing features for the team and a history of changes that are made to keep track of the iterative updates that are made on a document. Also, integration with other Atlassian tools like JIRA is very useful to tracking a feature from difference perspectives and keeping everyone aligned within the team on the current status and next steps.

Cons: Organization of the pages can be improved as it is sometimes not straightforward to find content related to a particular project or task. Also, the inline editing tools for a document could be enhanced as you end up relying on macros and other tools very often to be able to properly structure and format a confluence page. Searching the documents is not very easy and it is sometimes difficult to find the right content when needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software tester
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/01/2020

"Great application for IT professionals"

Comments: My overall experience is quite a good one, helped me deliver some valuable pieces of information to different stakeholders in manners that they enjoy and understand.

Pros: I've been using Confluence to document different aspects related to IT projects for over two years. It's a great place to store the applications 'wiki' pages and share it away with different stakeholders. It's also easy to control who has viewing / editing rights, thus ensuring that only the right people can access different pages. It offers a great deal of widgets and tools that helps the user deliver pieces of information in a catchy way for the reader - has charts, tables and different ways of organizing the page. It enables integration with other applications many IT professionals may use, thus exporting analytics or other relevant data is really easy.

Cons: It's the type of application that's easy to get into and hard to master. Setting it up the first time may not be the easiest thing but once it's done it usually works flawlessly. Also, as a new user it's sometimes hard to see all the functionalities that are offered by Confluence and some digging into documentation or looking at other projects may give some insights.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/01/2020
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018

"Great for team collaboration and information sharing within an organization!"

Comments: Confluence is great for presenting data and information for other users on the team to see, but can be a struggle to customize or format in the way you want.

Pros: Confluence is very easy to use. Within the company, we use Confluence for creating guides, work instructions, and capturing other forms of data in spaces that we can organize. Everyone on the team has the ability to modify pages, adding their own inputs, or making comments. The tool supports a few useful methods of formatting information: tables, images, code snippets, and the usual rich text formatting styles. There are various addons that expand Confluence's basic functions. Confluence and JIRA can work together and you are able to add JIRA links or view JIRA field data directly from Confluence. It is easy to draft pages without publishing them until ready. The tool also has many other features for customizing your spaces, from page layouts to color schemes, but my company has these options limited to admin users only.

Cons: As much as it is great to enter information on pages in a very presentable manner, text formatting can be very frustrating. When you are on a bulletted list and want to remove the bullet from the next text line, it often also affects the previous line. It is the same thing for bolding or indentations, text isn't often treated as per line but sort of in groups of lines that I haven't been able to figure out. It is certainly not as easy as writing things out within a Word document or other word formatting tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Steve B.
User Experience Lead
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019

"Finally converging on an intuitive wiki solution for the enterprise"

Comments: Confluence is the new target for my organization for storing and sharing content, replacing the venerable SharePoint. However, migrating information from SharePoint to Confluence is a laborious task. Several programs offer to expedite the process, but the morass that results is often more work than a manual move. This isn't the fault of Confluence, but is rather due to the very different nature of what SharePoint attempts to do versus a wiki. The only area in which I feel the product truly lacks is integration/support of copy/paste from Excel. A lot of the complex formulas used to create products in Excel are lost when a table is pasted into a Confluence page. This almost always means pasting the spreadsheet as an image, and adding the Excel document as an embedded attachment. It would be far better if the product supported more features of Excel in its tables. Thus, while we are moving the content sharing section out of SharePoint, we are not abandoning that product as it still has other collaboration features that are meaningful to a Microsoft-based organization.

Pros: (Nearly) seamless integration with JIRA
Simple to set up integration with SSO

Cons: Tables, an integral feature of wikis, are still limited in their nature and too complex to create and modify

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Robert W.
PRoject Manager
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2019

"Works Well for end users but a bit cumbersome on the admin side"

Comments: The company uses Confluence as its main tool for intranet communications, with spaces for HR, IT, Business Areas and so on. End users can find information off the main landing page and go to where they need to go. A big plus for us is the ability to set up spaces and pages to fit unique needs as well as use templates for a consistent look and feel. The many add ons and tools make Confluence a great tool for the different units to use as best fits their needs. There are some improvements to be made in search capabilities and more intuitive instructions, but for a huge tool, it's one of the best

Pros: Easy collaboration for teams from 2 to infinity. WIki pages can be made for multiple uses and viewed by those that need to see it. Scalable and easy to template makes consistency great. The integration of Gliffy Diagrams and JIRA is most helpful.

Cons: Confluence is easy for someone just viewing or collaborating on a page BUT is cumbersome to manage, and permissions (privatizing a page) is difficult and the written help is not good at all. THis sometimes means giving permissions for a whole space in order to give permission for a page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2019
Kate B.
Communications Manager
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/09/2019

"Great for Documentation, But Needs Better Editing Tools"

Comments: Overall, Confluence is best when used in conjunction with Jira and other software. I don't think Confluence is the best tool for writers and editors, but it works great for tech teams.

Pros: Confluence is great for keeping SOPs, meeting notes and other documentation organized. It really helps everyone on your team stay on the same page, and it's easy to create different teams, projects, etc. Plus, you can easily insert your Jira tickets so if you're managing projects there, the integration is flawless.

Cons: I'm an editor and I find it really difficult to track editorial changes within the software (mainly because it wasn't designed for that purpose). You can see the history of changes and add comments to each page, but you can't add tracking the way you can in Microsoft Word or Google Docs. I have to embed Google Docs into Confluence rather than adding content directly to Confluence pages. You also can't copy images from Confluence into external software, which is a pain when needing to copy documentation that includes screenshots and graphics.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Program Manager
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"An Atlassian suite documentation tool"

Comments: Confluence is the default tool used in my organisation for documentation and other information as it is a part of the Atlassian suite. It seamlessly integrates with Jira and Bamboo and this integration is like a boon for the engineering teams. The software is a bit heavy due to which the experience is sluggish. However, if you are able to overlook this, then Confluence performs a perfect job for documentation and storage of information.

Pros: Confluence is a documentation tool, where you can add your documentation and have others read it. It is helpful in the sense that it is organised, makes it easy to edit and add articles, gives ability to comment, like as well as track who all have seen your articles. The page creation options are exhaustive and it gives you innumerable options to organise your content. From tables to paragraphs to indentation to coloring to page layout, it has just everything that is needed. Another useful thing of Confluence is that if you are unable to save your work, then the next time you open Confluence, it asks you to resume editing it, thus saving you the headache of starting it all over again.

Cons: While Confluence can be structured, the same doesn't show up on the pages. Things just show up as a list and the graphical(visual) grouping isn't done properly. Also learning curve for the Jira integrations etc is pretty steep.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Alfredo Z.
Software Test Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Working with Confluence"

Pros: This has been such a flexible and powerful tool for my day to day work. It is effectively an enterprise-grade wiki that integrates very well with the Atlassian Suite of tools. In particular, JIRA. Users groups can be created as well to limit the people that can view or edit a particular set of pages in the wiki. The integration, however, if phenomenal. Not only can you reference JIRAs and see their statuses on pages in confluence, but you can go the other way too. For example, you could create a Wiki page using your product requirements blueprint. Then, you could fill out all your user stories in a single table along with descriptions and notes all in one coherent document. Finally you can hover over the tables and immediately create issues in JIRA to start putting that work on the board.

Cons: The price of the software for large companies can be very expensive, but is relatively cheap for smaller teams.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
John W.
Web and Enterprise Team Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019

"Great project collaboration tool"

Comments: We use Confluence as one of our main collaboration sources where we work with clients to build product specifications, maintain development standards and share information.
The product has worked well for what we need and integrates well with JIRA for the project management side.

Pros: * Very simple for multiple people to consolidate information on projects
* Live in place editing with visibility to anyone else editing a page
* Ability to edit but not publish to the wider audience
* Good integration with JIRA
* Regular updates and improvements

Cons: * The regular updates have a tendency to break functionality in different browsers, although this does get fixed fairly quickly
* Can have some performance issues on large pages
* Licensing of addons can require licenses for ALL users even when only a few need the feature which can make the cost prohibitive
* Collaboration with external parties requires additional licenses
* Limited file and attachment storage

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020

"Way better than other collaboration tools like SharePoint"

Comments: I'd definitely recommend Confluence over other tools where I have to spend less time formatting my document/blog/article and more time writing actual content

Pros: - Very easy to use features that just feel natural to create/edit/share documents
- Customizable macros that allow us to implement far more than what is provided out-of-the-box

Cons: - A few features seem a little confusing, especially when coming from other collaboration tools like SharePoint

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020
Divyang S.
Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2020

"Your Local Internet"

Comments: Confluence is easy to setup and nice to work with. All the employees get what they want and contribute on their own giving them confidence and work more productively. There are many more tools it can be integrated with extra pricing but tools like their default chat tool is also sufficient and does superb work.

Pros: Confluence is like Internet but only for particular organisation. One can setup forums for different teams, share documents or post blogs on taht forum or on the main platform, depending on the access employee was given.
More like mini Blogspots where you get your informations or share your views.
Not only that but you can integrate it with Jira as we did at our organisation. We have recently setup this tool and is great to work with.
It allows to create your local platform or offers you their own depending on the plan you choose to go with which are not that expensive.

Cons: Even though cost is not big issue but the features it provide in each plan are great and if you do not think properly you would be taking a plan with luxurious features but end up not using them. This can not be counted as their fault as it is marketing strategy but user needs to take note of the features they want and the plan they choose.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Senior Project Manager
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/09/2019

"De-facto companion wiki/collaboration tool for Jira"

Comments: In our company we use Jira, and practically all the time when you use Jira you have to use other tools from Atlassian suite, namely Confluence. As times go by, I get to used to Confluence more and more, but honestly speaking, I don't like it much. The only good thing is that it is heavily integrated with Jira and you can create nice pages with Jira filters, charts, tasks, etc. Without that Confluence is a heavy tool with lots of features you are never going to use, with not very friendly interface, and not very collaborative environment. But again, it's a de-facto standard if you use Jira, so in most cases you'll have to use it, and you'd better become good at it.

Pros: I cannot say that I like Confluence much, so it hard to answer what I like most of it. Probably, the most convenient feature is that it is easily integrated with Jira.

Cons: * Interface is not very intuitive.
* Tables are not easy to work with, nor they are displayed correctly and conveniently all the time.
* Not very convenient to collaborate in

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Technical Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2018

"Great Platform for Team Collaboration & Knowledge Base"

Comments: We migrated from Microsoft SharePoint to Confluence. As far as document and information collaboration goes, Confluence is much easier to navigate, add, and edit pages than SharePoint. We did not use Confluence to replace workflows we were using in SharePoint though (not sure it's even possible). We were using the Atlassian JIRA product in collaboration with Confluence as well, and we enjoyed how the to apps fit together. When we decided to stop using JIRA, we didn't have any negative effects to our Confluence site despite the connection between the two (minus the way we had ADFS set up in JIRA and had Confluence setup to access the user database through JIRA, but that was a relatively easy fix). All of the administrator configurations in Confluence are pretty straightforward, and you have the ability to add more depth with the use of plugins (though many of these cost extra).

Pros: There are plenty of useful configuration options available within Confluence. It makes is pretty simple to set up an ADFS link for internal user management. Separating things out into Spaces makes it easy to separate information by department (or however else you'd like). Creating spaces, sections, or single pages that are restricted to or from certain users is very simple as well.

Cons: The biggest downfall is that multiple individuals are unable to edit a page at one time without saving over the another's work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Manager of WebForms Fulfillment Implementation
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018

"Useful for collaboration, can be too rigid"

Pros: Confluence is an excellent place to collaborate as a team in a shared space. Everyone can be editing the same information and pages at the same time and, for the most part, it works seamlessly. There's a whole host of Macros also available that bring additional power and flexibility to Confluence. Macros might be the best part of Confluence as they are pretty much required to efficiently organize and display information in anything of than text and basic image inserts. Macros give the ability to expand/collapse sections, add workflow diagrams, charts, etc.

Cons: It is too rigid and relies too heavily on Macros. While there are a number of Macros that are very useful, you become confined to which ones are available on how they work. Macros cover basic functionality, but even they can be far too rigid and lack features that would be useful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Rami B.
Software Developer
Consumer Electronics, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2019

"Great Wiki software, very robust in features and easy to use."

Comments: I like Confluence a lot. It is a solid tool for documenting and sharing information in an organization that I would recommend for others.

Pros: It is very easy to get started with Confluence. Creating new pages and editing existing pages is very straight forward and easy for anyone new to it. No explanation is needed.
Confluence has very good integration with Jira that makes it easy to tag people and Jira tickets into a wiki page.
I like that you can use various plugins to add drawings and visualization into your wiki page and being able to do everything inside Confluence without going to other websites.

Cons: It can be slow sometimes and not responding. I had different experience with it when using it on Cloud vs. hosted on-premise. In on-premise, we used an older version of Confluence which was often slow and probably backed by a single machine. It kept not responding at times. I was concerned whether my work would be lost due to connectivity issues and had to save the document more often than I would like to.
In Cloud version, it was a much smoother experience. It would save a draft of your changes so that content wasn't lost if you accidentally clicked Back on the browser or had to reload the page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2019
Rejin K.
UI/Web Developer
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"Great tool for Collaboration"

Comments: An amazing tool to collaborate as a team and document each and every aspect of an organisation.

Pros: We use the entire Atlassian suite at our workplace. We manage our workflow using the suite. Confluence is our one stop shop for everything I need at my workplace. Be it HR guidelines or Product integration documentation, I know I am going to find it easily on confluence. It provides for a great environment for everyone in a team to come together and collaborate. It is easy to use and provides users to create pages with a specific format or design. Personally as a team we have used to document our retrospectives. The best feature However I would say is it's integration with other Atlassian products like JIRA. Giving an example: It becomes quite easy for us to navigate to each and every aspect of a project, be it the codebase or snippets, the tickets, the branches on Stash(which is another Atlassian product).

Cons: The biggest con at an organisational level I would say is the constant updates which kind of spam my inbox sometimes when someone edits a global document. There should be some way to limit email updates to only perhaps subscribed articles on confluence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
RPA Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019

"Confluence provides a strong offering for collaboration and design"

Comments: We used Confluence after we had some experiences with JIRA. It was easy for my team to insert issues from one end to another. I think that we really needed to have this tool to pair with our other workforce and project management tools, especially since they all operate in basically the same environment.

Pros: I think this works really well with other Atlassian software that my department and I have been using. It integrates with JIRA really well. Publishing and reviewing is easy and the UI is simple to navigate through. I honestly had new team members adjust to Confluence and its features in a couple of days. I'm also a fan of the text editor as well, something that could be easily overlooked for refinement in other platforms. I also am a fan of any platform that integrates other widgets or plugins. It's definitely available here and I personally made good use of ones such for diagram and flowcharts.

Cons: I'm not a massive fan of the Wiki. For a tool that is really refined that Wiki did get cluttered as we integrated more users and documentations. However, I feel that is more of a user setting and design issue more than anything inherently flawed with the Confluence tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2019