Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Ellucian

Deliver the tech-savvy school experience today's students expect. Empower their future and yours.

Learn more about Ellucian

Showing 66 reviews

Beth E.
Coordinator II
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2019

"Better that other similar products"

Pros: the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons: still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/08/2019
Mayra R.
Corporate & Foundation Relations Coordinator
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2017

"Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done."

Comments: Ability to store a lot of information

Pros: I like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.

Cons: Sometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
3rd Grade Student Teacher
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018

"Reliable and secure"

Pros: I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons: There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"It does what it's supposed to"

Pros: Ellucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.

Cons: It breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Kenneth B.
Database Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/08/2017

"The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students."

Comments: It is our school ERP.

Pros: The Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.

Cons: Ellucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/08/2017
Gil B.
Registrar
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Not a registrar’s best friend"

Comments: Ten years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian’s Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution’s software.

Pros: Ellucian’s Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.

Cons: I did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Nadeem H.
Project Lead
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2019

"Banner Human Resources Module"

Comments: This product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.

Pros: Customer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.

Cons: My dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
International Education Specialist
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018

"Not a good integrated solution"

Comments: Negative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new ‘improvement’ that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.

Pros: Ideally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.

Cons: Despite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I’ve wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Timothy S.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018

"Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes"

Comments: Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros: It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons: Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
Mammed M.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/03/2017

"Awesome for studying"

Comments: very useful app for learning. Definitely recommended everyone. Especially if u are having troubles with passing exams.

Pros: makes learning fast

Cons: pro version is too expensive for an average student

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/03/2017
Verified Reviewer
Advisor
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/04/2020

"Ellucian"

Pros: My workplace uses Ellucian's Banner 9 for a Learning Management System. It's great to use codes to view different records.

Cons: Elluican's Banner 9 feels like it wasn't created with input from working professionals who actually use Banner 9. The navigation is clunky and slow. The interface isn't intuitive. I would never recommend this service to my worst enemy. Don't walk away from Ellucian, RUN!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/04/2020
Sabrina Y.
Department business administrator
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2020

"Amazing ERP system for higher education operations!"

Comments: I love the system, It has been utilized within my office and also in various departments within our university and it has been extremely useful for various items including institutional research integrations.

Pros: I love how easy The program allows you to transition within the system. I think they really kept in mind the end users experience when utilizing the ERP system.

Cons: There’s not much that I did not like about the system, I love the fact that it integrated so many integral parts of the system that allows you to operate within one system to manage multiple areas.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2020
Michael M.
Corporate College Coordinator
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2019

"Review of Colleague by Ellucian"

Comments: Overall it is a decent product. I am on the non-credit side of the school and utilize it a little less than those on the credit side, however, it is still a decent product.

Pros: It is a decent way to organize all of student data. It also allows for managing the fiances of my departments.

Cons: It takes some time to understand how to use it efficiently. I have been using it for a year and still discover different features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/04/2019
Richard F.
Director
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019

"Needs to improve signficantly."

Pros: It has a lot of great functions and features (when they work). Makes it easy to upload contacts into the CRM and it has a lot of customizable options.

Cons: It can very unreliable and dealing with support has been time consuming. The layout of the CRM is also unescarailly complex and is very difficult to learn for new users, it can costly to setup training of the CRM tool with our support team as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Reginald l. B.
Program Coordinator
Higher Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"Great Tracker"

Pros: With the new implementation of the Graduate College student tracking has become a higher priority. With this software our department is able to track students from start to finish. We house the most graduate students in our college and it’s been a hassle to maintain . But this program was able to help us identify what was holding students up (Thesis). After this we made changes to our requirements and also implemented a milestone tracker which has help every single student.

Cons: I have no cons so far. Everything has been great on my end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Academic Instructor
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019

"Great for students"

Comments: Ellucian powers institutions with technology and services to help students like me to achieve these goals.

Pros: This software is one of the most useful software that I have gone though. It helps me a lot in finding scholarship oppartunities.

Cons: I did not find many cons on this software but if I want to say one this is quite expensive not user-friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019
Larry B.
Assistant Director of Institutional Research and Information Management
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"It gets the job done"

Pros: Fully operational ERP, many different tools and options

Cons: The company itself is the worst. Their customer service is abysmal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Instructional Design and Faculty Development Coordinator
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"Not user friendly"

Comments: n/a

Pros: It keeps all of our student databases, it integrates with our LMS so grades can be transferred without having to be manually typed.

Cons: The clunky look. It seriously needs to be updated to a modern, easier to use interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Nela B.
Staff development specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018

"Worked in Ellucian at a community college"

Pros: Very user friendly. Screens are very self explanatory making it easier to understand what fields need to be filled out

Cons: There is a lot of functions that cannot be changed once saved. In leaves it would be beneficial if you could delete something if it was inputted incorrectly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Ashley V.
Director of Admissions
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2018

"Ellucian works well as a student information system."

Pros: The software houses all of our student information and IT finds securing the database reasonable for higher education. Though Ellucian, we are able to recruit, register, and maintain financial aid records for students. Our HR office also uses it to house employee and faculty information.

Cons: Many of the screens take excessive commands to get through. There are three or four extra steps every time you want to pull a transcript, run an evaluation, or register a student for classes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2018
Rebecca B.
Admin
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"Great Software"

Comments: Overall experience has been great, just a few things that can get confusing or hard to do, but other than that, it is very useful for what we use it for. We keep a lot of information and this software allows us to do that.

Pros: This software allows us a great way to keep track of giving history, event information, solicitations and personal information. Also allows us to pull simple and in depth reports.

Cons: Can be a little cumbersome sometimes when you want to dive deeper. Pulling in depth reports can be confusing with continued training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Cassaundra L.
Assistant Registrar
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2019

"Literally the Worst"

Comments: On top of clunky, unreliable system is a virtually non-existent customer service/support team. You can post/reference questions to/by other users, but other than that you basically just get the 900 page technical manual and have to figure it out yourself. If you have a home-grown system and are considering making the switch to Ellucian--don't! Just wait a couple years for another company, like Workday, to develop a SIS that makes sense. Ellucian is a dinosaur.

Pros: When Ellucian's products were first released--decades ago--they were cutting edge. Banner, their SIS (Student Information System) quickly became the industry standard for enterprise databases on college campuses which transformed the way higher education leaders use data to make informed decisions. Their products continue to be effective for large universities that have every module of Banner installed, i.e. have their entire campus from registrar to bursar to admissions running on an Ellucian solution. When used "out-of-the-box" it does its job, not easily or beautifully, but gets it done.

Cons: It's as if Ellucian (and their strongest competitor PeopleSoft) got comfortable once they dominated the market and just stopped trying to make the actual user experience better. They put on large, fancy conferences and have great branding, but using their systems is a NIGHTMARE. A different programmer designed every form/screen/section so they all function differently. Where two clicks should do, fourteen are required. The bugs far outweigh the features. Something breaks more often than it doesn't. It's awful, but they have us trapped because no one else can compete with them. Sometimes I think it would all be easier if we just used Excel to track student records! Since our school implemented Ellucian products 5 years ago, to the tune of millions of dollars, we've had to add 2 new positions in our office just to handle the tech components. And don't even get me started on what happens when you attempt to customize their products. Endless headaches.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Undergraduate Systems Specialist
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"Banner is a fantastic data management tool."

Pros: It's a rock-solid application that you can count on. That in and of itself is a huge deal. It works, has minimal bugs, and is the backbone of how we manage our data.
When other applications are having a problem or we have a data integrity question, we often say "What is it in Banner?" because we know it will be correct there.

Cons: It can be a little scary at first to new users, which I can speak to from experience. But the new interface is definitely helping with that.
I would also love to see Ellucian develop a proper higher-education CRM tool. We had to go with another vendor because we needed something more comprehensive than what Banner could offer (Application Reviewing, Events Management, etc).
I think Ellucian is missing out on a huge financial opportunity and could take a massive chunk out of the Higher Ed CRM market if they were to develop one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Lisa R.
Student Services Technician
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"Ellucian User for 15+ years"

Pros: Since our college gained access to the web-based version of Ellucian (we call it Colleague at our school, too), it has been a lot easier to use.

Cons: I wish the help feature and other help documents were a little easier to follow. We used to have a gentleman who worked in Admissions & Records that would make PowerPoint presentations and quick guides to help out the Ellucian users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Danielle B.
Accounts Payable and Financial Svcs
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020

"Banner by Ellucian"

Comments: Overall working with Ellucian has been pleasant. My employer had the system long before I came around so I can't speak to the implementation. Anytime I have needed to reach out to Ellucian with an issue or create a ticket they have been very helpful

Pros: Once you learn the terminology to search by, using the software becomes a lot easier. I frequently use reports for tracking open invoices and running payments. I like that the system is dynamic in that it updates quickly when another user is making a change.

Cons: It was a difficult system for me to learn and I couldn't find much training material for it. The reports you can run are basic and need a lot of manipulation to do any analytics.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020