About Filecamp

Digital Asset Management & Media Library software in one integrated, secure and cost-effective solution. Unlimited users in all plans!

Learn more about Filecamp

Pros:

I value most how easy to use the software is. Also, it's really convenient when it comes to sharing files both inside and outside our organization which was most important to me.

Cons:

The layout is the main concern, as all the pictures are lumped together in a folder, generally with small preview images, so it can be tough to tell which is which when navigating around.

Filecamp ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Filecamp has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 90 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Filecamp before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (90)

Mick
Mick
Head of Sales and Marketing in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Secure File Sharing especially when team has gone fully remote

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Since moving assets to the cloud, Filecamp has become an almost daily tool for our marketing team. It's easy access allows our remote team to collaborate quickly and easily when sharing assets.

Pros:

It was very easy to move all of our media assets to filecamp. We had to find a solution quickly once we went remote because before we stored all media locally. Filecamp was quick and easy to setup while ensuring everything was secure.

Cons:

Could be more mobile friendly. Also would be great to have custom views in terms of icon size. Other then that it's been a real easy adoption internally

Alternatives Considered: Dropbox Business and Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Customer Support. They assisted us and made us feel welcome. The other solutions really don't offer much support.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks, Mick

Joanne
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant online document sharing and storage option!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We love Filecamp!

Pros:

Filecamp is easy to use, keeps documents secure and enables user-friendly sharing and receiving of documents. It has an all important link sharing expiry option, which means that links to documents cannot be abused. You are able to share files and folder with people who do are not registered with your Filecamp storage platform, which is very handy for once off document sharing requirements.

Cons:

The moving of documents between folders is a bit slow as there is no drag and drop or cut and paste option.

Alternatives Considered: Dropbox Business

Reasons for Choosing Filecamp: Greatsoft was not as user friendly - Filecamp beats it hands down.

Switched From: GreatSoft CRM

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Better pricing and truly online. It does not need to download any software to operate.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Hi Joanne. Thanks for the nice words

Edward
Digital Manager in South Africa
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, feature rich and excellent value for money

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Significantly reduced 3rd-party asset requests by making assets readily available with easy to manage permissions.

Pros:

Offers features that are only available MUCH more expensive DAM systems. Excellent storage options, highly customisable with great options for applying branding and great pricing.

Cons:

User interface is not the best, but manageable once you get used to it.

Alternatives Considered: Adobe Experience Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Pricing

Filecamp Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks Edward! We are constantly working on improving and refining the UI :)

Thomas
Content Provider in Canada
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Poor Mobile experience, Mixed browser compatibility, Minimalist UI, Buggy

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Not many, it works but not naturally. Lot of work arounds. Constantly educating clients how to use the software.

Pros:

Has most of the features I need. Uploading is easy. Has the tagging functions and ability to add users.

Cons:

The features don't all work well or are not well implemented. No real search function, poor mobile performance. Been having buggy performance lately. Informing users of new galleries or selects or other changes is nearly non existent, users can be notified when files are added to a folder but it just lists the file names in an email. It should rather show a preview of the images added and send them their login credentials to view it or make logins for clients easier.

Filecamp Response

5 years ago

Hi Thomas We are currently working on Filecamp v4 (gigantic update!) which will address the issues you have experienced! Other headlines are; new user interface, better performance, full mobile/touch compatibility, folder upload, FTP mount, easier user management, advanced search features, improved online proofing/commenting, more notification options, bulk adding of tags, more metadata options, auto-tags, custom pages ... and a lot more. The good news is that Filecamp v4 will be awesome!!! The bad news is that it will probably take us another 5-7 months before we can release it, and I hope you can wait. Do reach out to me if you have any questions. Best regards, Jesper Faurby co-founder Filecamp.com

Saad
Digital Marketing Manager in Canada
Furniture, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and Budget Friendly file share and DRM system.

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Easy to use solution that is priced competitively.

Cons:

The UX is outdated and should be updated.

Filecamp Response

3 months ago

Thanks for your feedback, Saad. We are working on a UX update ... so stay tuned!

Seth
Marketing Director in US
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Been a very positive experience. No high pressure sales. No high implementation costs. We were able to try out the software and get it up and running within a couple hours. Uploading large batches of files is efficient in terms of time to complete. Been a great overall experience.

Pros:

The price point for the product is spot on. We are using it to manage a library of over 3,000 images, videos and graphic files. It's been easily implemented and adapted within our organization. Setup can be done in an hour. No high pressure sales as with other products.

Cons:

Would love to see the ability to enlarge images in the grid view for easier browsing. Would also love to see the ability to check a box to make an image the folder icon instead of having to resize and upload.

Alternatives Considered: Bynder

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Mainly price. FileCamp had all the features of the bigger brands, but a price point that was an easier sell within our organization.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks. We are constantly trying to improve the UI and UX. Thanks for your feedback! :)

Philip
Photographer in Belgium
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good business solution for easy file sharing with clients

5.0 last year

Pros:

What I like most about Filecamp is how I can share files with my clients through secure links that can be set to be temporary. This way the clients don't need to log-in or make an account and I can just share the links through an email template within Filecamp. As a photographer another thing of importance is the ability for clients to preview shared files.

Cons:

Filecamp has the option for a branded white label file sharing. This means that all your client sees is your own business without any references to Filecamp. But the 'white label' option could still be made better if there was the possibility to change the wording (manually or automatically in a language of choice) in any of the UI that the client see. This is important for non-English businesses in order to have a true white label experience.

Filecamp Response

4 months ago

Thanks Philip. I can confirm that a multi-lingual version is on our roadmap. Stay tuned!

Patience
Senior Marketing Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful Software for Great Price

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It's made the creative process a lot easier with freelancers I love that I can give them access to what they need and nothing more and I can even have the access expire because who remembers to manage all those logins. It's great.

Pros:

This product is exactly what a small business needs, and has plenty of room for scaling.

Cons:

The UI isn't as "fancy" as some of the higher-end products, but honestly, it's not an issue and the fact it's simple and customizable has been actually a good thing. I also wish it integrated with google docs or other software so it was more centralized but it definitely gets the job done.

Filecamp Response

2 months ago

Thanks for the nice words. We try hard to keep the UI simple and easy to use, and we have some pretty exciting improvements in the works. So stay tuned :)

Mark
Marketing Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Filecamp is a great value for the money

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Very good at storing, sharing and tagging marketing assets including pdf's, graphics, videos, PowerPoints etc.

Pros:

Filecamp was inexpensive, quick and easy to deploy, and it met our requirements for document management and sharing. We also like Google Drive but we it was easier for us to add users outside of our company with Filecamp. no need to have a Google account. We also had issues with Google Drive when trying to allow access to people in some Asian countries.

Cons:

Inability to create a Collection that would appear and apply across multiple users.

Filecamp Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks, Mark ... really appreciate your feedback!

Summer
VP in US
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pleased with product

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Organization of digital assets / sharing assets / ability to brand customize

Cons:

The mobile access is slow and tedious for my needs.

Filecamp Response

4 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. I can assure you that we'll continue improving and refining, also the mobile experience.

Jasmine
CSR Supervisor in US
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The BEST DAM and Review Software for your Buck!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is the best experience I've had with a software company. When I was searching for a product I liked several but all had a couple things here or there that didn't work. Filecamp hit just about everything we needed for online proofing software. They gave us a wonderful free trial and our staff and customers all quickly fell in love with this new way of proofing and not having to hunt down emails. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], is extremely involved and has personally responded to me many, many times with feedback I've given or on the very very rare occasion that there was a technical issue. I'm a huge fan and would recommend FileCamp to anyone needing Digital Asset Management or a Digital Proofing System!

Pros:

We are a signage company that prints thousands of unique signs for different customers, events and festivals across the US. Due to the high amount of customer proofs that need to be approved, we found all other alternates were extremely expensive for our small business as you had to pay by the proof rather than by overall storage. FileCamp allows us to upload the many proofs that the customer's need to review, keep them organized by department and allow users access to only approve their departments signage. Prior to filecamp we did all proofing through email which generated an abundance of emails that we constantly had to search through. Now it's cut and dry, the customer gets notified when their proof is uploaded, they can review and make comments right on the proof and request revisions that the artist immediately sees and can start to work on. Also, as far as software goes, I can say this program has had the least amount of downtime from any program I've ever used. They are on top of the tech.

Cons:

I don't love some of the changes from the old version to the new. THE LABELS are way way too small in the new version, a tiny little dot that when you have several labels and colors similar they are impossible to tell apart. I don't like that to see the proof history you have to go click on each prior proof. This should be kept as a lot, with text separators on the proof versions. However very minute things that may be fixed in the future the team tells me!

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks, Jasmine. We really value your feedback!

PIERRE
Studio Director in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Unreasonable Studios (UNR) is unarguably a massive content-making production house that creates, masters and catalogs assets on a privately protected server not accessible to our partner agencies and clients. UNR currently houses over 50 photoshoots consisting of over thousands of images, hundreds of logos and fonts and numerous master product shots. We also own hundreds of stock templates and royalty-free images. Departments within the partner agency, especially accounts and creative, constantly request the assets described above from UNR. So much time is spent searching and sending and exporting files in different formats back and forth. Sometimes these assets are repeated for the same people. UNR assets are only assets if colleagues can efficiently access and use them. The idea is to open up the asset vaults that will help account people send assets to their clients without a 3rd person involved. The creative teams will have access to assets 24/7 when they are working on pitches, presentations or creative layouts. Clients can also be given controlled access to the assets when needed. For example, after photoshoots, the agency and clients can get instant access to photos when they are uploaded to the DAM. The endless back and forth of reviewing photos over email is clunky and does not elegantly present our work professionally.

Pros:

User interface is great Easy to learn and navigate Features work great.

Cons:

The load time of the pages takes too long. No thumbnails previews for large PSD files. I prefer the old labeling rather than the dots. It is easy to read APPROVED or NEW PROOF or whatever the label is then to try to remember what the colour represents. Especially when you have multiple label sets. Drag and drop to move files would be amazing. The commenting tool is weak. It needs more features, like circling or highlighting.

Ashley
Marketing Manager in US
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Filecamp is our media library

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Being able, to brand, control users and share files via link has made things much easier for our sales staff and for uploading content to our distribution channels. Working with larger vendors who need a huge amount of product artwork for their online catalogs, love that I can send them their own library of content.

Pros:

We previously used Dropbox but it became a file wasteland with difficult to find files. For Media Files Filecamp and the ability to see thumbnails was a huge improvement.

Cons:

I would like to be able to have a navigation that could mimic our current website and/or integrate into Wordpress. I think finding items is tricky for users not familiar with clicking around to find things.

Alternatives Considered: Hightail

Reasons for Choosing Filecamp: Filecamp allowed us to show file thumbnails and share items without the users needing to install Dropbox.

Switched From: Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: I liked the Filecamp interface and features.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks Ashley! More integration options are on the roadmap.

michael
Director of Research in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Only File Sharing Service That Does What We Want

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: this is the only service that we could find that does what we wanted. they perfectly fit our need. Also, they are a great company. As we were awaiting their upgrade for much longer than originally anticipated, they gave us their service FOR FREE for like 6 or 8 months. Now that is great service.

Pros:

Love that you can customize thumbnails for folders. Feels very customized to users, which is exactly what we wanted. this was the only service that did what we wanted (custom thumbnails, white labeling, etc.)

Cons:

I wish the interface was a little bit more elegant. Also, I wish they give more storage for the price we pay. Finally, I wish they had an app for mobile.

Alternatives Considered: Dropbox Business, Google Workspace and Box

Reasons for Choosing Filecamp: more customization with filecamp

Switched From: Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: customization for folders (images for folders). white labeling.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks for sticking with us, Michael :)

Lea
Project Admin Assistant in Canada
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great FTP SITe

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Allows a repository for the most current documents to be easily accessible and revisions tracked.

Pros:

Our architects and technologists can easily organize projects and make drawings and documents quickly accessible to all stakeholders. From an admin point of view it's easy to manage people, folders and password.

Cons:

Nothing comes to mind at this time. The software functions as you would need it to.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Hi Lea. Good to hear. Thanks!

Michael
National Sales Manager in US
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Better than Dropbox for B2B File Sharing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Filecamp has been wonderful for us. We use it primarily as a Dealer Portal for companies that sell our heaters. They can easily access marketing materials, forms, images, logos, and so much more. It's worked extremely well for our Dealers and has accomplished exactly what we were looking for that gave a much more seamless look and feel with our website rather than sending people to a separate file program that does not look professional.

Pros:

I like that I have much more control over the user's experience than something like Dropbox. I can change color schemes with different logos with various templates and change the look of folders and much more. Having the ability to make pages like a web page is also very helpful. We also love the fact that it can be used as a subdomain so user's get a seamless experience with our website and domain name. It's also extremely fast to add a new user as almost all of our users require the same capabilities and the copy method as saved us a good amount of time.

Cons:

The only item I wish Filecamp would be capable of is to send emails to individual users with updates made in the system or an email update to all users.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks Michael. And we have noted your feedback about an "Email user"/"Email All Users" option.

Peyton
Social Media Specialist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Game changer for marketing agencies

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: This has been a great tool for approving, sharing and storing assets. Now that we've been using for close to a year, it has become part of our daily routines!

Pros:

I love how simple it is to share assets with team members as well as with clients who don't have filecamp accounts. We also love the ability to store all of our assets and label them for easy access when needed!

Cons:

We've run into some issues with the storage amount. Although, after we cleaned out files we no longer needed and were good to go!

Alternatives Considered: Citrix ShareFile and ShareFile VDR

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Filecamp was extremely user friendly!

Filecamp Response

2 months ago

Hi Peyton Thanks! You need to empty your Trash in order to release the storage. Read more: https://filecamp.com/support/trash/ or contact us and we'll look into it.

Joel
Marketing Specialist in Australia
Medical Devices, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic budget Digital Asset Management platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very very good. The customer service is fantastic and I can say without a doubt that this product has been a great success for us.

Pros:

This software is a fantastic option if you need a budget Digital Asset Management but still with a very professional look and feel. Some of the best features is the granular access control for users, unlimited users (don't have to pay per seat which is a must for us!), and white label branding control.

Cons:

The access control for folders and files is not quite granular enough, automatic emails are very limited when it comes to formatting etc, managing users can become complex.

Alternatives Considered: Cloudinary, Sesimi, Bynder, Nuxeo, Adobe Experience Manager and Canto

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Unlimited users, not as complex and quicker to implement, granular access control, cheaper and more suitable payment plans (don't have to pay per user), still included branding features (to a limited extent to alternatives but still sufficient).

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks a lot, Joel

Andy
Director Of Communications in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Non-profits, you search stops here!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I'm still fairly new to it, but it is very intuitive, and I love the ability to white page it to match our branding.

Pros:

Filecamp has helped us in 3 key ways: 1. It has filled the gap as our Digital Asset Management solution 2. It provides a way to receive incoming file from our team of global volunteer team members. 3. It is well priced and not out of reach for a small non-profit yet will grow with us.

Cons:

I'd love more flexibility on the image upload information input fields.

Alternatives Considered: Bynder and Canto

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Price and features

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks, Andy. Great to have you on board!

Hiran
Hiran
Mechanical Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

A formal file and media sharing tool for an enterprise.

4.0 last year

Pros:

A formal sharing tool the user can upload, manage and share the file with the other file camp users. It's a simple, quick and easy cloud storage solution. The user can create a folder and upload the folders which keep the information organized. The user can add a description to the file so that other users get the information about the file. The user can use tags to the file which help to find a particular file quickly. The user can download the original uploaded file with lower resolution files. The file camp allows the enterprise to add its company branding and titling. The user can set a custom theme for the user interface. The application is available in Android, Windows, Mac and website version.

Cons:

The subscription plan is pricey for small enterprises, would have introduced custom subscription plans. In-person, webinar training support is not available. Customer support should improve the response time and resolution of the issues. The user interface should improve the simplification of the options.

Filecamp Response

4 months ago

Thanks Hiran. Your feedback is noted!

Betsy
Senior Design Production Manager in US
Market Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great File Manager for the money

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is a great repository for all our image files. We can categorize based on project type and image styles, etc. The customer service is EXCEPTIONAL. When I have had a question (big or small), I have gotten an immediate response...literally within a few minutes...and it is always a very detailed, helpful answer.

Pros:

I appreciate the ease of use, both in setting up the platform for my company and the interface/search capabilities for our users. Now our staff can locate image files on their own. It is helpful too, that we can add to our storage limits on the fly if needed.

Cons:

The uploading and tagging is a bit clunky...but it has already been improved since we started using FileCamp, and is easier than before.

Alternatives Considered: Canto

Reasons for Choosing Filecamp: The search and storage features were very limited.

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: FileCamp was less expensive, and we did not need all the features that Canto offered.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks a lot, Betsy. Great to have you on board.

Alessandro
Architect in Germany
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

perfect platform for creative architects

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: this software stand up against the much more complicated sharing platforms in the market. our clients are very happy about the ease of use and the overview about the drawings being shared. notifications work also fine.

Pros:

this software is a very clean, easy and elegant way for sharing drawings. it can be customized and it is very intuitive. the preview work perfectly.

Cons:

the administration of users rights could be easier and better to overview.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks a lot Alessandro :)

Verified Reviewer
Principal in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

An affordable option for file sharing that is more customizable/brandable than Google Drive

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've just completed our free trial and will be converting to a paid account. We were unsure as to whether this solution would simply duplicate what we're doing in Google Drive, but the customization and notification features have convinced us to sign on.

Pros:

I like the ability to set up branded file sharing areas for each of my clients. I also like the ability to offer different download sizes, as well as email notifications when new files are added (as far as I know, notifications are still not a feature in Google Drive, or if it is, it's nearly impossible to figure out how).

Cons:

Some of the user interface features are a bit outdated. The platform would be more familiar to users (aka easier to use) if things like the "previous / next" and lightbox exit links were more in line with current trending design.

Filecamp Response

3 years ago

Hi there, Happy to announce that we have just improved large preview interface with previous/next arrows + better zoom-, full-screen-, and print options :) You can follow all updates here: https://filecamp.com/release-notes/

Szana
Broker in US
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great DAM software! Supersedes dropbox by FAR!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love the ease of setup and use. Great product! Very intuitive. Blows dropbox out of the water!

Cons:

No negative feedback

Alternatives Considered: Brandfolder, Eagle Space and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Filecamp: Could not easily locate assets on DB

Switched From: Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Filecamp: Pricing and ease of use.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the kind words, Szana!

George Stuart
Financial Adviser in UK
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I'm off to camp!!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Well priced software, with great features and storage capacity. uploading a bit frustrating, but that has been my experience with other file managers. file thumbnails is a godsend to quickly grab a document/file you are after

Pros:

This product is a great 'warehouse' for my work files, keeping them in order with the facility to access them via quick search functions is excellent

Cons:

It is an issue with most file manager, file sharing applications that the uploading of files can be a little unintuitive. But i think this is less of an issue with Filecamp than previous experiences I have had with the likes of dropbox.

Filecamp Response

2 years ago

Thanks, George! We have plans on refining the upload experience. So stay tuned!