DEAR Systems Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About DEAR Systems

Suitable for businesses in retail, wholesale, manufacturing, food production sectors which have requirements to manage inventory levels

Learn more about DEAR Systems

Showing 223 reviews

Nick C.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2019

"The best cloud-based Inventory Management option for SMEs"

Comments: As a consultant implementing DEAR Inventory for a wide range of SMEs, we have solved an innumerable amount of problems along the way. From Batch tracking, to serial number tracking, integrations with online stores, accounting, shipping, reporting and forecasting, etc, it is all there. The team at DEAR are generally very quick to respond and offer assistance, and the users are given the power to request and vote on new features to be implemented. The subscription pricing is also at a point where it represents huge value for money.

Pros: As a cloud integration consultant working with SMEs in Adelaide and interstate to solve inventory management issues by implementing the right software, DEAR has proven again and again to be the leading choice for these businesses and is now our recommended choice as an implementation specialist. DEAR has the functionality to provide a central solution to any SME looking to sell online or instore across a number of channels, and manage all the inventory in one place.The integration with Xero is top notch and the most robust I've seen of almost any app that connects to Xero. The integrations to eCommerce channels are consistent in their setup and options and allow a great deal of flexibility. Complementing these integrations are shipping service integrations that allow for a full suite of inter-connected apps with DEAR as the hub.

Cons: If I had a gripe, it would be around some minor inconsistencies within the UI across various parts of the software, as well as some minor inconsistencies with various reports that are available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2019
Luke G.
IT Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2021

"A shot in the arm every business needs"

Comments: A worthwhile and rewarding learning curve.

Pros: Cloud .... Cloud .... Cloud - This cannot be understated in the world we currently live. The support is amazing - its on what's app for goodness sake, can't get much better than that. The UI is very clean and intuitive. The integrations save loads of time and money. Plus all the bog standard features you expect from an ERP system but will actually use because dear is easy to use - the amount of times I hear ' we can do that in SAP but there were too many technical issues so it was never implemented' you don't get that with Dear and if you need help its there for you.

Cons: It is unable to negotiate a UK-AU free trade deal - Dear please work on that ;) There is not much I can put in this box that dear isn't aware of and attempting to address in earnest. The dear academy will address the difficulty of onboarding new employees that aren't used to ERP systems.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 9/02/2021

Hello Luke,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We continually thrive to do our very best to serve our customers. If you would like to master DEAR we do have a DEAR Academy (https://academy.dearsystems.com/) which will help you become an Inventory Pro.

Please feel free to contact us via email ([email protected]) or on WhatsApp (+44-1244-940807) if you have any questions or concerns.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2021
Stephanie M.
Inventory Systems Analyst
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"DEAR is essential to the way we manage our inventory. Lacking some features we need but has most."

Pros: Being able to integrate with a number of eCommerce platforms is huge. Support usually replies fast (especially for simpler questions and help). Also the way in which we're able to manage thousands of products over multiple locations is fantastic. Some aspects of DEAR are very intuitive and easy to use. It allows one portal for looking at sales, product orders, inventory storage and movements, basic product history. The reports on the dashboard help us see inventory and financials at a glance. They've also recently expanded, allowing more than 20,000 SKUs at a time in the system!

Cons: Because DEAR is used by so many and works with so many different platforms, integration between it and other platforms (we use Shopify) are not always seamless. A feature that works great with one may make another way more difficult to use. On that note, customizing your DEAR account to make it exactly what you need is rather difficult. We often have to find workarounds to ongoing problems that may seem basic to many. And while customer support is friendly and often fast to respond, it's very easy for misunderstandings to occur. As well, new feature requests often don't get acknowledged if they don't fit into DEAR's current plans. One thing that would be great could be a separation for those who need DEAR just to locate products, vs those who actually need to access all of the parts of DEAR that can change products, sales, locations... We've had a number of mix-ups where inexperienced people made changes that couldn't be undone due to the nature of the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Zeb E.
Company Director
Maritime, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Third year anniversary using dear Inventory"

Comments: We run all our stock inventory through Dear, send all our quotes, sales orders, invoices etc through Dear.
It is a very good program for this and if we do hit a problem the tech support is excellent.

Pros: Its synchronization with Xero is excellent. In three years we have never had a sync issue. Also within Dear the inventory, sales and purchasing all work very well and the ability to drill through different layers to search products or orders is very good. We use the Product Availability function all the time to confirm status of sales orders v purchase orders and stock availability. We have also recently started to use the Attributes more for both sales orders and products and this has been a further tool within Dear to help us manage our day to day sales process.

Cons: What still infuriates me is the way that sales quotes show the sales margin against Average cost. This is hopeless folr any new product as there is no history and it is also hopeless if you receive a part into stock before you post the purchase invoice. Why we can't have the option in the step up to show the margin against either the supplier fixed cost or last purchase cost is beyond me!!!!!! Argh!!!!
We currently have to run all our project quotes through an Excel spreadsheet to make sure the margins are correct. This is really infuriating and as a result we are looking for alternative options for our stock management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
General Manager
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017

"I Am Extremely Satisfied & Highly Recommend Dear Inventory!"

Pros: After almost two years with DEAR, we couldn't be more pleased! We needed a centralised inventory system with CRM capabilities that could seamlessly integrate and sync to SHOPIFY, XERO, as well as our offline sales channels. Being in the food industry, we also needed a system that could track the shelf-life of our products, and make sure first expired items were sold first. This is an important feature for us that we did not find in TradeGecko, which we tested out as well before we made our decision in early 2016. DEAR also helps us keep track of our items on consignment (location / expiry date / batch number) as well as create hampers and other gift bundles with ease, thanks to their Bill of Materials function. I particularly enjoy the level of detail available to us, to store relevant information such as supplier SKUs and multiple price lists. The system is sturdy and the UX is straightforward and intuitive, which has made the transition easy for the whole team! Tamara Agusta
General Manager
Profood Ltd

Cons: Occasionally DEAR can be a little slow to load, and customer service is not always as quick as one would like it to be.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems Limited on 21/11/2017

Hi Tamara,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that mostly everything is going well for you. If you ever do experience slow performance again please be sure to notify support immediately so our tech team can look into it. Our systems is not known for slow performance as we use top range data centers provide by Microsoft Azure.

Best Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017
Ashton S.
Operations
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2018

"Really great software with small areas to grow"

Comments: Ease of use across all of our employees. Decreased costs and improved inventory accuracy.

Pros: Well thought out sales workflow. Really flexible and powerful in ways others weren't to enter sales orders. Takes a little getting used to, but there is a lot in there. Love the ability to price tier for B2B sales. Integrates really well with Shopify and eBay. Need to check out the B2B portal that is available, but haven't gotten to that part yet.
Even though the support is all email based, we have been delighted with the speed of response and solutions to any issues we've had. I'd say on average the response time to new tickets has been in the 5-15 minute range with maybe one that reached 45 minutes. Often I'd wait longer on hold with a tech line with other companies than it takes to get a response from DEAR support email.
Great integration with our accounting.
Easy to implement API for extending the functionality of DEAR.

Cons: There are a few things that still need improvement we've run into.
Credit Notes/Memos are terribly hard to figure out and make work correctly if you wish to give the customer a credit to use at a future date not tied to a transaction in DEAR.
DEAR does tiered pricing for sales, but there is no way to have volume purchasing discount tiers beyond manually changing every time a PO is created.
If a small change has to take place during fulfillment DEAR requires you to revert the order back to the very beginning of the workflow process and complete every stage again. Rather than just let you go back one step.
The fulfillment QC process could be strengthened a lot. It's basically based on trust with no verification. Right now it assumes all counts/data entry keyed in are 100% accurate. I'd like to see some kind of barcode based QC verification.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2018
Rick F.
Director
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017

"Does everything we need to run our soft drinks company"

Comments: Business totally depends on it!

Pros: Is really great for traceabilty of our products from ingredient to end customer.
Has lots of great functionality
Excellent value for money
Good support - they always get straight back to us

Cons: There is just a couple of basic features missing that we have brought up before..
You can attach files to lots of areas such as Sales etc but you can't attach a file to an assembly - which in a food product is where you would want to attach a file - eg the batch record, pasteuriser log etc. This would make quite a difference
When you print a label for a product there is no option for creating ITF14 barcodes for outer packaging (standard)
Be good if there was a way of manually setting the cost price and margins for an assembled product

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 14/12/2017

Hi Rick,

Thank you for the review.

Just addressing some of the cons, its a good suggestion regarding ability to attach notes to assemblies. Next year we are planning on adding extra enchancements to core app DEAR Inventory as this year was mostly concentrated on external integrations & also the development of our own POS and B2B eCommerce portal. Strongly suggest to leave a feature request for 2018 development considerations.

Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017
Michael T.
Technical Director
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018

"The only stock management service that does taxes correctly"

Comments: If you want to automate your bookkeeping and accounting as much as possible, this is the way to go. Currently have 6 marketplaces hooked up and they all push to Xero automatically. Of course DEAR manages stock numbers across markets as well.

Pros: We've tried many stock management apps before DEAR and none of them pushed correct data to Xero for bookkeeping. DEAR dies a stellar job on the books while doing everything else very competently. Saves us tons of time and money.

Cons: Sometimes it's a bit slow on certain actions. And the tech support used to be somewhat lacking but they stepped up their game recently. Quick and responsive now.
The learning curve is a bit steel at first. But we quickly realised that was because DEAR doesn't cut corners in organising your stock and books. So you have to learn to do things the proper way. A pain at first but saves you from horrible issues with the taxman later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Nigel B.
CEO
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2017

"Difficult to fault - Dear is Dear to our business!"

Comments: The Dear option was considered amongst others of the same ilk, but was ahead in some key areas. This and the fact that I was able to find a consultant to help us implement Dear was key. In fact Run Your Business Online (RYBO) are now experts in Dear capability and implementation. There has been a great deal of development in Dear's capability and customer service is really good. Hard to fault and I would not change. Integration with Xero is brilliant.

Pros: easy to use, feature rich and continuously improved

Cons: advance knowledge of changes and updates planned and some feedback on suggestion placed on the forum would be welcome. A dialogue with dear on the forum would be a massive incentive to add more requests

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2017
Florence P.
Office Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"DEAR a GREAT SOFTWARE"

Pros: Can be accessible everywhere, online software. Easy to use and to integrate into other Softwares. Reporting is so easy to do and you can have all the possible reports that you want.

Cons: Limited Price Tiers. You cannot UNDO the sale that is converted to Advance Sale. You cannot UNDO the voided SO and Credit note

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 21/04/2020

Hello Florence,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
As per the current design, once you convert to an advanced sale you cannot revert it back to a simple sale. Also, when a sales order or credit note is voided, it can not be undone. One of our Customer Success Manager will contact you to help you.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us [email protected]

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Casey H.
Operations Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Dear offers an array of features, most of which are simple to use"

Comments: Versatile reporting, integrated emailing, serial number tracking, easy to update products (with or without importing)

Pros: Dear provides many features, most of which are straightforward and simple to use. One of the big pros for us was the ability to use and track serial numbers. I have only had to reach out to customer service once, but after doing so I was provided the help I needed within minutes. The program is updated frequently and there are updates released about every month. I also love the ability to set up custom templates, and email customers documents while inside the software.

Cons: I did the implementation and training for the software, and one area I found a bit lacking is documentation of how the program works. There are youtube videos on many features of the program, but things that are not covered in videos you have to figure out by trial and error.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Julio C.
Project Manager
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017

"Best inventory software with so many synergistic benefits with other software to become total solution"

Comments: in general this is the best software i have used and it is value for money (last year they allow single user so the plan is even more attactive). If you have 3 people already in the company this will be the best software

Pros: it handle my stock and invoices very well, since i am doing food business, FIFO and expiry date is very important, so when you enter the data correctly the system will help you to do rest of it, great software

Cons: they sometimes have some major breakdown failure and everyone in the world (probably) can't use the service (can't login, data can't load). they said that it is due to instability of their cloud service provider, anyway, this didn't really happen all time, seems that i only experience this once for this year? i forget

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Yulia M.
Business owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2018

"I love to use DEAR system"

Comments: Stock control, purchase and suppliers management, easy order fulfilment, easy-to-build reports

Pros: I am an eBay seller. I've been searching for warehouse management system about a year. DEAR is my choice for now, I like it and have no plans to change it for another system. It is easy to use, the main pros for me besides stock, purchase and sales management (other systems do not always include them):
- integrations with certain marketplaces (eBay, Etsy, Shopify) and services;
- multicurrency support;
- auto-assembly products support.

Cons: Main cons, they are minor:
- auto-disassembly does not work, have to disassemble products manually;
- does not have integrations with some marketplaces (WISH for example);
- can not update tracking information at marketplaces after an order was shipped;
- templates and merge fields are not easy to understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2018
Nachshon P.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018

"Best service for integrating inventory across multiple platforms."

Comments: The service gives us control that we would otherwise wouldn't be able to achieve.

Pros: DEAR is the 3rd service we've tried (after Stitchlabs and TradeGecko) and we've been using it for over two years. We tried it last because the name sounded unprofessional. We use it to integrate our retail channels with our online stores as well as our trade shows and wholesale business. It's powerful , flexible and the developers are open to suggestions and input.

Cons: Integration with Amazon FBA is done better in Stitchlabs. They understand and implement FBA as a master warehouse where the user has no control over the FBA inventory (which the user doesn't).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Luv-krishna S.
Partner
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Great software, some minor drawbacks"

Comments: Manage inventory and production of the company.
Better managed inventory and production as a result. Higher efficiency.

Pros: It is very user friendly and easy to use.
Most functionalities work well and there are rarely bugs.

Cons: Cannot access database to make customizations.
Customization of forms, reports, etc. would make the software perfect.
Also, new features have to be put in as feature requests, which not really works out for us. Every company works differently, and not all companies would necessarily need the feature I am requesting. Does that mean it will never be implemented?
Which is why I think customization capability is important.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 21/04/2020

Hello Luv-Krishna,

Thank you for your valuable feedback & thank you for your continuous trust in us. Unfortunately we do not give access to the database to our customers as we take pride in managing your data you.
We constantly refresh our development roadmap (https://dearsystems.com/development-roadmap/) using customer feature requests and keeping an eye out for features that will add value to our customers businesses. Feel free to contact us ([email protected]) with any feature you would like DEAR to include & our team will evaluate it and add it to the roadmap.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Brad N.
Production & Supply Chain Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2020

"Good Software, Held Back by Bugs"

Comments: Take out the bugs and I've had a really good experience with Dear overall. If they can fix these issues it will go from a good to great platform.

Pros: I have had some really positive experiences with Dear's Support Team, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in particular. She and the rest of the support team have a deep understanding of Dear's functionality and were able to help my company tackle a sizable inventory issue. Dear is also a simple software to learn and understand which is extremely valuable when it comes to training new employees.

Cons: The thing I like least about using Dear are the bugs and server stability problems. These issues range from small but daily loading errors to site-wide crashes that have halted our production for hours. For the most part these are minor annoyances/inconveniences but when they are happening on a daily basis in can be increasingly frustrating.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 19/05/2020

Hello Brad,

Our team always strives to help our customers succeed. I am glad to hear that DEAR has helped you in your organization.
The development & quality assurance team is currently working hard on making DEAR work efficiently.
We recently rolled out a separate reporting generating server & enhancement to allow DEAR to handle enterprise business requirements.
If you encounter any problems please feel free to contact us via email ([email protected]) or on WhatsApp (+44-1244-940807).

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/05/2020
Jen C.
Operations, Fulfillment, and Media Specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018

"Overall this software makes it easy to integrate our inventory, shipping, and accounting software."

Comments: You can log on from anywhere and it easily integrates with ShipStation, Xero, Amazon Seller Accounts...

Pros: Plays nicely with ShipStation and Xero. Mostly easy to use. Customer service is great and responds very quickly. They seem willing to listen to customers suggestions.

Cons: Many of the fields in the software have no explanation, not even in the help documents. You have to send a question to customer support, they are very helpful but it takes more time than simply being able to find a screenshot in the help documents with descriptions. B2B could use some work, shipping calculator needs to be more customizable. It is too difficult to find things such a QOH numbers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Jacob F.
President
Food Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"I started with DEAR at the USA launch. Functionality and sync w/QBO are great. Very easy to use!"

Comments: detailed inventory control, lot tracking, and easy invoicing.

Pros: Online demos for each function make leaning very accessible. The QBO sync function is wonderful. Ease of changing stock amounts, lot traceablility, and in the moment inventory adjustment make using DEAR a pleasure.

Cons: The "support" button hovering over the scroll bar is a bit clunky and could be moved to a less intrusive place on the screen.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 22/12/2017

Hi Jacob,

Thank you for the superb review glad everything is going well !

Best Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Hayden W.
Accountant, Associate Advisor and Cloud Integrator
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2017

"Accountant who loves clients on Dear"

Comments: We are an accounting firm who specialise in cloud technology. We love putting wholesale or other clients who require inventory on Dear. We have found that this is the best package to comprehensively look after our clients, where we know the figures are always correct.
The best aspect of Dear is the suitability for a wide range of clients, and how adaptive the features are. They're broad enough to suit clients across a range of industries, however, they are supremely suitable for all those businesses that hold inventory and need to record landed costs.
Very happy with Dear 11/10!

Pros: Suitability for a wide range of clients, functionality, syncing with Xero.

Cons: Some small aspects need to be tailored. Such as display of inventory by location at order screen. The way that auto assemblies are processed, and the BoM being displayed in the invoice as an option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2017
Misa T.
Brand Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/05/2018

"Confusing, lack of support, lots of discrepancies with Xero integration, terrible reporting tools."

Pros: on the cloud.
works with Xero
multi user
Log and attributes - allow an audit trails

Cons: Reports: do not give enough flexibility to provide an overview of the business
Lack of overal flexibility i.e reports, templates for invoice, PO etc.
Integration with Xero needs improvement.
Need to have 'print all' function i.e multiple select orders, print all invoices or PO.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 9/05/2018

Hi Misa,
Some comments below address the points raised in your review:
Reports ¿ DEAR currently provides over 60 reports across purchasing, sales, inventory, manufacturing and financials. Reports are further customisable with ability to ¿drag and drop¿ a variety of data fields and can be exported to Excel for further modifications if necessary. Inflexible invoices ¿ DEAR utilises Word document type templates specifically for this reason, flexibility. You can reach out to support for template customisation at any time as you have done in the past. Bulk printing ¿ you can select sales or purchases from the relevant list and then select the documents you would like to print in bulk. Xero integration ¿ DEAR is a ¿5 star¿ rated Xero application in the Recommended Category and was nominated App Partner of November 2017. DEAR utilises Xero API almost in its entirety, however, if you have some suggestions on how to improve the integration we are happy listen.
Best Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/05/2018
Angela H.
Director
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019

"Best of Breed"

Pros: DEAR Inventory functionality and workflow is excellent. It is by far the most superior inventory add-on software in the market. It's audit-able, rectifying issues is straightforward and the team is responsive in feature updates.

Cons: The reporting is good but there is room for improvement!

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 21/04/2020

Hello Angela,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
President
Computer Hardware
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"Excellent inventory and order management software"

Comments: increased the efficiency of my business in a remarkable way

Pros: There are several features that are excellent: ability to customize documents, simple work flow, ability to customize decimal places on values

Cons: There are times when I need to undo an invoice to make some small change such as add a shipping charge, however the entire order must be undone which adds complication to that otherwise simple task.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Tim D.
Administration
Farming, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2019

"A great system"

Comments: The support is AAA very quick and will help if they can.

Pros: The ability to customize reports in word is amazing.
The team at Dear are still updating and improving the system.

Cons: Like every system that is an off the shelf product, there are some things which doesn't fit our business requirements. Would love the ability for DEAR to complete user generated features more quickly, seems to take a while

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/09/2019
André H.
Co Founder
Fund-Raising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2018

"The best product for our company by far."

Comments: Been using it for years and will be using it for years to come.

Pros: Bill of Materials is a great feature - allows us to control our stock to have less sitting on shelfs which drastically improves our cashflow.

Cons: Its a complex system so at times you can get lost if you are new to it. Customer care are there to help regardless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/08/2018
Albert B.
Financial manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"Very good."

Comments: help manage the business on a day to day basis

Pros: Detail in reports.
If you are understand the logic behind the software, then it is easy to work with.

Cons: 1)It is not easy customizable , 2) to integrate with our self developed e-commerce system are not easy and 3)training is not available in the RSA. from local partners.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 5/01/2018

Hi Albert,

Thank you for the review.

We have a number of local partners in South Africa. You can find the full list here:

http://dearsystems.com/inventory-software/find-a-partner/

Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017