15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Ping Identity

Securely manage identity and profile data at scale.

Learn more about Ping Identity

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to fit any use case you can throw at it.

Cons:

Documentation can be confusing, rely on an experienced integration partner or online tutorials.

Ping Identity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Ping Identity has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 38 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ping Identity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (38)

Aditya
Aditya
IAM Operations Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ping Identity is solution for SSO

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been using more than 2.5 years even still in my current organization using all the solutions of ping Identity like pingid, ping federate, ping access, ping directory etc.

Pros:

The configuration of the multiple micro services of oing identity like police store, pcv, data store, selector etc. Easy way to integrate any application to provide single sign on service to those.

Cons:

User provisioning can not be done at ping Identity end. There need to configure ldap or data store to have the users information stored unlike okta.

Jon
Director Identity Engineering in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Endlessly flexible federation software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use PingFederate as the basis for our enterprise single-sign on platform. As such, it handles logon services, session management, and federation services using SAML2, ws-fed, OAuth, and OpenID Connect. We've also tied it with their orchestration product PingCentral to expand our rudimentary app integration self-service offerings, as well as PingID for MFA/strong authentication.

Pros:

I like PingFederate since it provides a solution for nearly every sort of enterprise use case I have encountered. Besides the traditional IDP/SP roles, we've used it as a federation hub to accommodate M&A and divestiture application access. The APIs underneath facilitate our cloud deployment and automation work from an operations/app-integration perspective, and new releases come with the latest profiles of OAuth so we can have even more building blocks to obfuscate the complexity of identity for our internal customers.

Cons:

I think the relationship between all the components required to make a functioning OIDC OP could be made a bit clearer. It took some trial and error to truly understand where and how an adjustments to the token processes, OIDC policy, scopes, and adapters all flowed/compounded into each other.

Shaurya
Software Developer Intern in Ireland
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Reliable, easy to use SSO tool

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Offers Face ID integration Gives multiple options to authenticate

Cons:

Sometimes faced sync issues specially in offline mode

Christina
Lead Integration Specialist in US
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Rockstar Support and Customer Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been great, we have used PingFederate for over 7 years, and have seen things change over time. I wish we had the capacity to use all the funcationality of Ping.

Pros:

The most impactful experience has been the customer service and engineering support teams, and the flexibility of the software.

Cons:

There have been some change overs in Customer Service support, that has caused a bit of a hurdle, however, we met with the teams, and resolved the issues.

Thea
Customer Service Representative in Philippines
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PING ID: A guide to efficient Data Security

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

After the pandemic and lockdowns were at place already, one crucial step into transitioning to a WFH set up is how you'll manage and protect Data Security. With how our company responded it is really phenomenal and this platform made it possible for us to keep our job and clients data safe for almost 3 years of staying at home and working over the same tools. The 2 factor authentication and the tandem between our company's partner domain which is with okta. It really helped us connect, navigate and persevere even while staying at home. I gladly recommend this platform for company's who aim to mobilize working from home and still protect their client's privacy. This could also be a great individual help for freelancers and workers who aim to secure their data at home.

Cons:

I think one aspect that they could integrate from this platform is by using it as an individual app for freelancers and marketing it not just on big outsourcing areas but also with startup small companies which needs an extra layer of help for data privacy.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

very reliable and easy to use identity management software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: positive - affordable/reliable, easy to configure and use tool with multiple ways to authenticate.

Pros:

One of the best things about this identity management tool is that its ability to configure it a few different ways - code, message, fingerprint, app related to name a few. This really give this tool versatility while being reliable and also easy to use/implement/administer.

Cons:

Session management is the feature that can perhaps be improved - especially the user should be given the ability to time the session before being timed out as some users get annoyed at being timed out after a pre--defined time even though they are still using the tool . Similarly, they should be able to use same authentication when using multiple browser sessions.

Pippa
Knowledge and Training Coordinator in UK
Apparel & Fashion, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Protects our data and yours!

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Started using this regularly when we began to work from home and were not connected to the secure network by default. It is a really secure and simple way to manage access to ensure only authorised users can access sensitive information and areas, even if an unauthorised user has accessed their laptop.

Cons:

It can be tricky to pair with older phones. Also if the phone the ID is linked to is lost or broken to a point it's not usable, it can be difficult to authorise a new device for pairing without support from IT. I understand this is for added security, but it does impact the user experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review of PingID

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I think this is a good product that doesn't make it too hard to log in and access all software that staff is used to using. Of course adding extra steps to logging into things is more annoying then not having them however it is worth it the have the extra security so I would recommend this product.

Pros:

What I like best about Ping is the security it adds to the software we use for work. We've had some security breaches which led to our organization to getting PingID for all staff. As an employee who was effected by the breach it does give me piece of mind that they added security to my personal information and other products we use.

Cons:

What I like least about this software is that I ran into some issues with the app on the phone. Of course adding any extra steps to logging into software is an annoyance but Ping tries to make it as painless as possible. In their app when a device asks for the ID number that regenerates periodically to log in, there used to be an option to use the finger print identifier on the iPhone phone that made logging as easy as putting my finger on the home key just randomly stopped working with the phone app and I have not figured out how to get it working again. This just means I have to open the app and manually type in the code each time to log into something with PingID. This doesn't effect security just ease of use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One Source Logon

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I have been using PingOne for almost 3 yrs. I love that it is easy and simple to use. By logging into my application on my computer it sends a notification to my cell phone via an application. I just swipe up to accept and bingo I am now logged on to my company's server do not have tonl repeatedly login. I highly recommend this for all companies but especially health care as it is iron clad.

Cons:

No cons at all. Great software and would recommend

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top Tier SSO Solution

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ping is a top notch identity security company. Their SSO solution, PingOne is great for larger businesses. Thinking companies with more than 1000 employees. It also integrates with VPN software making it easier to integrate with your current environment. You can also add and delete tiles with ease if you are an admin.

Cons:

Sometimes the software gets hung up when trying to load, but it rarely happens. Overall great product.

Greg
Director, IAM in US
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ping Identity is a strong partner focused on my company's success

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our primary focus has been workforce SSO and MFA for the past five years. Ping took the trouble to get to know our needs before we were even a customer and had a strong response to our initial RFP. They've consistently solicited and responded to our product and service feedback, making the solution better and better. They focus on and celebrate not just our success, but that of all their customers.

Pros:

Standards based products which interoperate with all my other products. Continuous innovation. Rich product suite enabling both Workforce/Enterprise IAM and Customer IAM. Strong cloud capabilities with on-prem components, in whatever mix works best for me.

Cons:

Self-service capabilities for managing SSO relationships by application [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been slow to arrive, though that has changed in the past year and evolving to meet the needs of a large, global enterprise.

Adrian
SSO Engineer in Switzerland
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ping Identity solved our problems with authentication and authorization. Before each application had to deal with AA at their own, now with the Ping tools we have real SSO, we reduced number of passwords, we improved time need to log on (with adapters like Kerberos)

Pros:

It's flexible solution, you can deploy it on prem or use cloud based version. OnPrem is easy to implement and upgrade. All admin UI's are very user friendly. Software is easy to extend if your business need it, writing custom adapters (checked), customizing authentication flows (checked) on-board MFA (checked). Good trainings and very skilled professional support team.

Cons:

Some products are only cloud based (PingOne, PingID) which can be sometimes source of the troubles if your security policy is against cloud. Product documentation over internet is not the best, sometimes it's hard to find what you need to.

Shannon
Workday Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Authenticator, Variety of Uses

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

There are lots of different authentication apps out there. Ping Identity is great for letting you have multiple authentications through different organizations. I currently use Ping Identity for three different organizations. It also is fairly customizable on how the organization want to use its authentication. The different organizations I have use it for varying degrees of multi-authentication.

Cons:

The interface could be more aesthetic. There have been a few instances where the ping to authenticate takes a few minutes to come through.

Keith
System Engineer, Identity & Access Management in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Products and excellent customer support!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Using a secure authentication standard makes it easy to configure as the business is moving to more cloud products. Having the authentication polices and policies contracts makes configuration of applications very simple and quick.

Pros:

Ping Federate is easy to deploy and makes it easier for our employees to have one username/passwords for applications, makes it easy with authentication policies that most times our employees never see a sign-on prompt. Ping ID has also been easy to configure and is a nice MFA tool. We have not rolled it out to the whole company yet but the bet users love the ease of use. Support from Ping is great and they respond to issues quickly and also are available to help with configuration issues if necessary.

Cons:

No dislikes here, once you are familiar with the configurations and setup, everything else os pretty easy.

Eric
Senior IAM Engineer in US
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Satisfied customer

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Customer support has been excellent, it compensates a lot for the clunky interfaces, and marginal documentation

Pros:

MFA and single sign on are the most useful featuures

Cons:

The administrative interface is clunky and often unintuitive for the on prem products.. the cloud interface is slightly better. Documentation for the products is often less than useful... it answers the simple questions but offers little in the way of an overview or guides on how the various settings interact.

Nan
Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid products for identity management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to set up, the installation is straightforward.

Cons:

The documentation should be more contain more details. The Oauth configuration in PingFederate is complicated

Dan
SSO Engineer in US
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Get it right choose PING

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent customer support

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to fit any use case you can throw at it.

Cons:

Takes a bit to become fluent in the UI..

Sara
Delivery, associate in Spain
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Straightforward and Reliable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Ping ID is very easy to use and to configure on every device. It secures your accceses in a fast and simple way.

Pros:

Ping ID offers many ways of authentication. The thing that I like the most is that you can download the app both on the laptop or on your smartphone. It's very easy to use and it's very fast. You can use a code, your fingerprints or your face to authenticate yourself.

Cons:

Change the authentication device should be easier and there should be a way to change immediately the device in case you have lost access to it.

Yusuf
Sales Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super Signle sign on

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent tool to securely sign on to your various platforms
Forget passwords
This tool allows you peace of mind for security and ease of access

Pros:

Face ID Easy to use app Great compatibility with all major softwares enables you get single sign on in a breeze

Cons:

If you mistakenly deregister your device then to get setup again is little complex but still possible

sheetal
BSA hr system in US
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Much needed for remote working for encryptions

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It’s good seamless and very quick to respond.no disconnection while working.

Pros:

It’s a great software to use when you need to log in To client network and also security is required .its seamless and once enabled doesn’t get disconnected.

Cons:

Need to login twice sometimes as it has a small timeframe,but better then key or Id generator softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best dynamic OTP app

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I realized it is a good security software for logging in to Amazon workspaces

Pros:

1. Secured Authentication software 2. It can be managed through desktops and mobile apps 3. Easy to install and uninstall the software and it is user friendly 4. Pairing is secured and easily done through scanning QR code or entering pairing key

Cons:

1. Synchronization issue in offline mode

Adrian
Adrian
Application Security Engineer in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fully recommend

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I can only recommend PingFederate/PingID products. They both allow me and my customers to provide secure Identification, Authentication and Authorization platform

Cons:

Documentation on the web page need improvement it's better as i was before but still need more and more work

Naveen
Security Engineer in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ping Suite

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's pretty easy to use once you understand how it works.

Cons:

PingFederate is very easy to set up, configure and establish federation with other identity providers seamlessly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good IAM tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of configuration and use with LDAP and active directory for accessing applictions and SSO

Cons:

Can improve or add upon Cloud access broker portal option

Pavan
IT Security Engineer in India
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ping Suite

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, Administration and implementation.

Cons:

Personally, I feel their license management should be improve.