BigTime Reviews

by BigTime Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About BigTime

Professional services automation software that helps firms with project management, time tracking, billing, reporting, and accounting

Learn more about BigTime

Showing 546 reviews

Lea L.
Office Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017

"Positive experience with tech support"

Pros: This is a review in Tech Support who was able to help us reestablish our connection to QuickBooks accounting software and proceed with payroll.

Cons: This is difficult to answer as we have not received training on the full functionality of BigTime and do not know it's full capabilities.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 14/12/2017

Hi Ms. Lea,

We are glad that we were able to help you get the assistance you needed to process payroll.

Let us know if we can be of any further assistance!

Best,
Customer Success

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017
Tonya F.
HR Director
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2020

"Architectural Firm Review"

Comments: Overall it’s a great program

Pros: I love the timesheet feature for my employees and also the expenses side of the program

Cons: There’s so much about Big Time I probably don’t know how to use but I’m sure I’ll learn. I also had issues with sync side of Big Time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2020
Timothy H.
Vice President, Operations
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/09/2019

"Big Time Support is Outstanding"

Comments: Big Time software is the best Time Management program out there.

Pros: Big Time software is easy to use, easy to manage and easy to change the way you need to see various reports.

Cons: There are no cons to this program, Big Time meets all of our needs

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 6/09/2019

Timothy,

We just wanted to say thanks so very much for leaving a review for us here at BigTime. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you think that BigTime is outstanding! We will continue to work hard to continue improving both the software and the services that we provide to our customers, but feedback like this really goes a LONG way!

Let us know if we can serve you more,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/09/2019
Louis B.
Vice-President
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/02/2021

"Time tracking tool is very easy to use!"

Comments: Makes time entry a joy as opposed to a chore. Easy to use, and saves me quite a bit of time.

Pros: It took me months to learn how to use our previous time-tracking tool and I hated using it. It took me 5 minutes for BigTime and it is the easiest way to enter my time I ever experienced.

Cons: Making sure that a line is saved to be able to enter a new line. Just took me a few minutes to figure out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/02/2021
Cheryl S.
Sr Operations Analyst
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2016

"Quick implementation and ease of use"

Pros: BigTime combines a wealth of functionality in a very user-friendly and simple to use package. Even if you're not using all of the features, you can repurpose some of them for other requirements. It also doesn't try to incorporate every piece of functionality into one place - focusing instead/first on having a great interface that's easy to use and building on features. BigTime's support is also very available and responsive.

Cons: The only thing I wish it had was the ability to cross-tab report data by time period - all of the reporting is very customizable, but flat - if you pull data for a multi-month period, you can't organize the results by month. At least you can get the data and export it easily though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2016
Virginia A.
Bookkeeper
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018

"Quick solutions to technical issues"

Comments: BigTime solves our issues by syncing time into Quickbooks and allows the Architects to effectively manage their projects by tracking resources spent on each one.

Pros: The program is easy to use and easy to sync with Quickbooks which is most important to use. The Architects like the program because it is also easy to use and easy to manage their projects.

Cons: I don't have any negative experiences with BigTime

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 3/12/2018

Virginia,

Thanks so much for posting this wonderful review for us here at BigTime! We are very pleased that both our software and our services are providing you with what you need and making your day easier - that's ultimately one of our most important goals. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything we can do to assist!

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Virginia C.
CEO
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2020

"Happy architect"

Comments: I've used it for years and it provides a easy project management tool for our architectural business.

Pros: easy of use and real time reporting of project financials.

Cons: lack of integration with other collaborative software, especially scheduling and task driven applications like Asana or Smartsheets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2020
Robyn C.
Executive Assistant
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019

"Project Management/Budgeting"

Comments: As someone who considers themselves tech savy, I am having issues with this software creating more issues than being helpful. The webinars should incorporate more consumer questions or feedback, especially if there are common themes with user questions or issues.

Pros: BigTime has the potential to be very user friendly, however, there is a learning process. Not everything is the same. For example, when I run one budget report, submitted time is not included, while in another report it is.

Cons: The data does not always auto populate and the software should be able to generate numbers and percents on its own... I should not have to go in and manually input % complete, it should be done on it's on as the team moves forward within the project.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 28/02/2019

Robyn,

Thanks for leaving this review and letting us know about your struggles and concerns. BigTime's flexibility does have it's downsides and often that comes into play in terms of the learning curve. However, we will have one of our Success Team reach out to you directly and help with these specific issues. In the meantime, definitely take a look at our Knowledge Base (http://kb.bigtime.net/), which has hundreds of articles on things like custom reporting (http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/using-reports/creating-your-own-reports-in-bigtime/creating-custom-reports/) and creating % complete invoices (http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/invoicing/creating-draft-invoices/creating-percent-complete-invoices/) which auto populates task percentages for you.

We hope this helps, and keep an eye out for an email from one of our Success Team members.

Thanks again,
BigTime's Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019
Blair D.
Principal / Owner
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017

"Initial Review"

Comments: The support staff was very good at focusing in on our needs and listening patiently as I explained our issues. She was able to provide past experiences with BigTime as an end user which was really useful. I like that she understood how we use our software against Fixed Fee Contracts to manage our budgets and invoicing, which really reassured our discussions on how best to use the software to meet our business needs.

Pros: Simple interface with powerful tools available if you need to get into the details of your project budget management and financials. For months our employees and I tried and installed just about every product out there that was potential based on recommended reviews by others or friends. Either the product was too complicated from the get go or too simple and lacking. The more we tried to learn using the demo's, the more disappointed and frustrated i became.
BigTime had just what we where looking for and the more we we use it, the better WE are at managing our projects and budgets. I say WE because it allows our employees to self-manage there times against our budgets which in turn allow us to anticipate issues before they are problem$.

Cons: That i didn't discover it sooner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017
Jill G.
Project Admin
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2018

"Recently switched to BigTime - my employees love it!"

Comments: Easy timesheet entry process

Pros: I like that I can log in throughout the day, see what time I've logged and make edits if needed. Team at BigTime support helped me figure out how to easily see who has logged PTO time so I can quickly push that into our payroll system.

Cons: There are some expense charges, like field truck charges, that I would like to be able to somehow link to a timesheet entry. We are trying to figure out how to make sure all field days have a field truck charge associated and I'm still trying to nail down the quickest way to do that. I am new to the software so maybe there is an easy way that I'm missing.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 26/06/2018

Jill,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts as it relates to your BigTime! We really appreciate all of your feedback and we're super happy that all of your employees are loving the software. Regarding your issue of crating those expense charges, I think that some creative use of Tasks might be in order. Be sure and check out this KB Article on using Tasks (http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/workflows/using-tasks-in-bigtime/) and reach out to our Customer Success Team too ([email protected]) - they can very likely guide you through a solution.

We hope this helps - thanks again for your review!
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2018
Bailey K.
office manager
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2019

"very user-friendly software for successful business operations"

Comments: we love bigtime - it makes our record keeping so easy and consistent.

Pros: we like being able to customize a lot of our regularly used reports, as well as how easy it is to connect to our quickbooks.

Cons: switching to the new software, we lose a few of the capabilities we had before.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 15/05/2019

Bailey,

Thank you so very much for leaving a review for us here at BigTime! We are very happy to hear that you're finding our software user friendly and super customizable - we work really hard to make it that way! We're also happy that you've found out QB connection process easy and that it is serving you well.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to us here at Customer Success if we can provide any additional assistance to you!

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2019
Randi S.
Office Manager
Renewables & Environment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2021

"Fantastic Implementation and Support Team"

Comments: Outstanding experience and product!

Pros: The user friendliness of this software is great. The implementation team is absolutely top notch and made understanding the use of the software simple!

Cons: We have a complex billing structure, so customizing rates, mark-ups, etc was not as easy to accomplish without the help us the implementation team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2021
Jodi D.
Project Architect
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018

"So far so good - great customer service"

Pros: BigTime appears to possess the type of flexibility that our company really needs in order to track our project budgets and time. We're excited to dig in to the capabilities of the software and make our process more efficient. The customer service experience so far has been stellar, from the sales experience with Ty, who was informative and communicative but not pushy, to the onboard session with the executive, who engaged our group well and covered a lot of material in a short amount of time. The customer service experience has been a big draw as it has instilled confidence in the product, which is in itself a bit of an investment for our company not just in terms of money but also in terms of time and resources given to changing over our system.

Cons: We are just getting started with Bigtime, so it's a bit early to say at this point what doesn't work well.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 3/07/2018

Jodi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review for BigTime. We're very pleased that your experience so far has been stellar - we work very hard to make sure that is the case! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us here at Customer Success if we can, in any way, assist you further or help smooth your transition into your BigTime.

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018
Jodi J.
Manager
Environmental Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018

"easy"

Pros: it's easy to use and connects directly to quickbooks

Cons: some of the reports do not have the categories broken down like I would like

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 23/08/2018

Jodi,

Thanks so much for posting a review for us here at BigTime! We're very pleased that you are finding our software easy to use and that it helps you by connecting directly to your Quickbooks - that is excellent!

Regarding your reporting issues, its important to remember that BigTime's reporting is completely customizable and super flexible in terms of what you can show on your custom reports. You can use the resources below to gain additional information about these features:

The BigTime Reporting Webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bS_lGlFvy9o

We have many KB Articles on Reporting as well. These are just a few to help get you started:
http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/#using-reports
http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/using-reports/creating-your-own-reports-in-bigtime/creating-custom-reports/
http://kb.bigtime.net/using-bigtime/using-reports/editing-reports/

We hope these help!

Thanks!
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Lucy J.
Sales Manager
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"Bigtime gives us a lot of very detailed graphics"

Comments: Bigtime is recommended to work with billing tools for projects, and to organize work orders. It is also a good idea to use it to track time and expenses, and to manage portfolios. It also serves for budgeting.

Pros: It is good to see that bigtime integrates so directly with the quickbooks platform, since this way it works better with invoices and workflow management tools. It has good functions for time tracking and staff management.

Cons: It does not work with dunning management, nor does it have an integrated payment processing system. Nor is it useful to calculate taxes, or to work with customer portals. The platform does not bring a good own system for projects that supports agile methodologies.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 1/08/2019

Lucy,

Thanks so very much for leaving a review for us here at BigTime - we really appreciate it! We're most pleased that you're finding BigTime helpful and easy in terms of invoicing and time keeping and that you're discovering that our integrations with Quickbooks are super helpful too.

Regarding taxes, BigTime can calculate tax on invoices, and if you'd like to know more about that, please let us know. Also, regarding integrations with other software, BigTime does have a new integration with Salesforce, which you can learn about here: http://kb.bigtime.net/bigtime-configuration/#salesforce

Please do reach out to us if we can be of further assistance,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Leora F.
Office Manager
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great product and excellent support"

Comments: Great overall product for our company and employees

Pros: Easy to sync with QuickBooks. Ease of use for employees to submit timesheets and to track hours on different projects.

Cons: We are very happy with the product and have found nothing we dislike.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 18/09/2019

Leora,

Thanks so much for posting a review for us here at BigTime! We sincerely appreciate all the feedback our clients provide to us and we're super excited to read your review. :) We're very pleased that your experience with both our software and our services has been positive - please do let us know here at Customer Success if we can help you further in any way.

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Jilliam A.
Office Administrator
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019

"Great software"

Comments: It is now super simple to see all of our companies current projects and update statuses in bulk.

Pros: I love the customization features of BigTime and how simple the layout is. I have also found the live chat function extremely helpful for setting up our software with the help of an agent in real time.

Cons: There could be even more customization options to provide more individualization.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 22/08/2019

Jillian,

Thanks for leaving us a review! We really appreciate it and are happy to see that you're loving our customization features and the simple UI. We're also very pleased to hear that the chat feature is working well for you - please do continue to utilize it and keep us posted as to how things are going for you.

We're always ready to assist here in Customer Success - we hope to hear from you!
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019
Doris S.
Office Manager
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2018

"Time Keeping/Project Management"

Comments: This all is one software works perfect for our small office. Staff learned to use the software in one training and they've had no problems. BigTime is definitely a timesaver for our office.

Pros: Having an easy to use software for both timekeeping and project management is a huge timesaver. Being able to review/approve timesheets, as well as keep track of task completion proved to be exactly what the project managers needed.

Cons: Need the ability to customize invoices more than allowed.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 23/10/2018

Doris,

Thanks so much for posting this review and letting us know your thoughts on BigTime. We could not be happier that the software is saving you time and money and is working as a major solution for your firm - these are things that are truly music to our ears. :)

Regarding the ability to customize your invoices more, we've just released some new features that allow for even more customization for your invoices - you can read more about it here:

https://www.bigtime.net/blog/bigtime-august-2018-release/

We hope this helps! Please let us know if you have any more questions.

The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2018
Anne O.
Office Manager
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2018

"We've used BigTime for many years. With the new IQ product we are expanding beyond just timekeeping."

Comments: Better project tracking for project managers

Pros: Timekeeping and tracking are super easy. You can report on most anything and being able to export info is great. The support staff is quick, efficient and friendly.

Cons: A few things take a lot of steps to use effectively - you'll have to enter info, run a report to see the results and then change the info.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 16/04/2018

Anne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so! We're tremendously pleased that you're utilizing many of our product's other features beyond timekeeping and we hope that you find them just as simple and straightforward.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you out in any way with your BigTime - that's what we're here for!

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Department

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2018
Bill S.
Director - PMO
Defense & Space, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2020

"Moving Back to Big Time!"

Comments: Been using for 3 years - no problems or complaints. system is easy to use and has a shallow learning curve.

Pros: Ease of use; convenient smart phone integration - especially camera-phone for ER receipts.

Cons: Don't know if BT will handle 1.5x, 2x, overtime premium labor hour situations.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 16/01/2020

Bill,

Thanks so very much for posting a review for us here at BigTime! We are super excited to hear that you are coming back to us after being away for a time. :) We're very happy to hear that you're enjoying our integration features and the shallow learning curve. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if we can be of help in any way.

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2020
Christopher M.
Director
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019

"Smooth Transition"

Comments: Overall great experience. rep has been extremely helpful, thorough, and patient! He has made the transition as smooth as smooth could be given the amount of data we had to migrate. If you can you should ask to have him as your migration manager

Pros: Well, it's the next evolution of something we've been using for a long time. Love all the new features, the new, easier to manipulate, analytical tools are great.
We are hoping that making this level of control available to project managers will alleviate the manual paperwork workload they currently shoulder given our antiquated invoicing practices.

Cons: It doesn't have the ability to export and sync invoice data to QB as a percentage of phase fee. This makes it difficult to integrate BT invoicing directly into QB data. A problem made even more difficult given that all of our projects to date have been invoiced from QB

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019
Mike A.
VP Operations
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Data Visibility And Project Cost Management"

Comments: Overall, BigTime has been easy to do business with and the software has optimize our back office. The front end time and expense reporting system allowed us to kill static Excel forms and provide our users with a clean modern interface to start the data entry process.

Pros: BigTime allowed us to optimize how we track project dollars and hours. In the past we would manually enter the data multiple times to different forms and systems - it was always out of date static information. Now, we enter the data once and have real-time access to project costs and hours. The data flows to invoices, reimbursements, and reports.

Cons: Overall, the software is solid. There are a few navigation workflows that can be improved. BigTime is aware of some click stream patterns that result in getting too deep into a project where you need to click back out to the "home" screen to restart a navigation into a project. This happens more on the administration side - the time and expense entry process is simple.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 7/12/2018

Mike,

Thanks a ton for taking the time to post a review for us here at BigTime - we know your time is precious and we appreciate you giving a little of it to us! We could not be happier that BigTime has made your life easier and allowed you to optimize how your business runs - that is one of the main reasons why we created the software in the first place! Getting rid of those static spreadsheets and freeing your employees up to do their jobs - that's music to our ears!

Please let us know if there's anything we can do to assist you! Thanks again for the review,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Assistant Project Manager
Research, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Good Basic system that is easy to use"

Comments: Overall BigTime is a good system that works for what it is suppose to and is simple to use for someone that knows how to use a computer. We have been able to track hours against certain projects by person which helps us with cost estimating. I am sure there are plenty of good systems out there but I have been satisfied for my responsibility when using BigTime.

Pros: The ability to pull out job lists with titles is very convenient for having team review meetings. You are able to pull out most reports into excel and filter and sort from there. Having the task status is very useful for those who utilize that feature. My office does not take full advantage of the capabilities this system offers but does work for us when being used.

Cons: For the new Gantt chart feature I have not been able to use very much but am disappointed it is not able to be exported into excel like the other reports. The difficulty with this system is that it is only as good as your weakest link. For my office enforcing full participation is difficult and that prevents us from taking full advantage. I do not work in accounting but apparently it does not sync as well as it used to for quick books and other software. This makes work duplicated on that end which is really inconvenient. Another item that is irritating is when pulling complete job list you have to do it a certain way or else it will not pull old jobs that you were not listed as team member for. That caused some confusion/concern during review meetings.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Rhonda R.
CPA
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/11/2017

"Experience was rough in the beginning. It would be VALUABLE for onboarding to be completed by someo"

Comments: full integration with our financial software - invaluable... there are many great software solutions out there that do what they do fantastically, however they lack full detailed integration with financial software... not Big Time! BigTime allows you to manage workflow and not miss deadlines. You can quickly reassign work, monitor deadlines, track phone calls/messages, assign tasks, view work in progress, allocate work, and also track all financial functions related to this work inside your financial software. No more having to track accounts receivable and client payments in two systems. After spending 8 months with 2 people trying and testing multiple practice management solutions, Big Time was the best and satisfied all of the "critical" requirements.

Pros: The ability to communicate in detail with QBD and QBO. FYI to all who job cost... You CANNOT job cost in QBO. It is not a limitation of BigTime, it is a limitation of QBO. Which is what i mean by my partial experience answer above... (allow more text there).. if onboarding is completed with a premeeting checklist about the firms existing workflow and time management and by someone intimately familiar with the industry that is using BigTime the cons below could be addressed upfront. The team at BigTime were difficult to get a hold of but once they were aware they worked like crazy to get us setup and working in the time frame we had. We moved our QBO file back to QBD (we had to do the testing on our own because the team at BT didn't know why job costing wasn't working in QBO) Once we moved back to QBD the job costing, invoicing, payroll work like a charm inside QBD. Hands down, it is the best integration with QBD of any practice management software out there... We had 2 people who spent 8 months testing many software solutions... most were lacking at least 1 "critical" requirement... Big Time was not. As we become aware and work through things like "terminology" we are becoming more and more confident in the workflow and keeping track of what is due when and who has what and what state the work is in. This is key as we go into tax season but also something we cannot live without on a day to day basis as 95% of our work is recurring on various time schedules. Thank yo

Cons: The wide range of terminology used in the software is confusing and causes errors to be made during implementation. Examples: Start Date and End Date... without these terms being defined you would think that start date is the day the work should begin and that End Date is the DUE DATE. Not so within Big Time. For recurring tasks, Start Date means Due Date in Big Time language. Another example: Completed vs Archived. Completed in most software solutions means that the job is finished or done; and archived means done and sent to storage with no recurrence nor future work is expected. In Big Time the term Archive means Completed or Finished or Done and removes the task from the workflow list and generates the next task in the reccurence. In BigTime the term Completed means something different... still unsure what it means because even when you update a task/project status to "completed" the task remains on the workflow list.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/11/2017
David D.
Co-Founder & Partner
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/08/2019

"Solid Platform for Professional Services Organizations"

Comments: Automating, improving, and reducing time and cost required to process weekly time and expense. Providing reporting and audit-ability across the entire process with a few button clicks vs having to sort through manual data collection templates.

Pros: Overall, we have been very happy with BigTime and its use in support of our field consultants. Our production implementation went smoothly and their staff provided helpful training and support to assist us with our launch. In addition, we have been very pleased with the configurability of the platform - just about every time we wanted to do something a certain way, for example how we wanted to display the form for our field's timesheet data entry, there was a way to configure the system to our liking. Also, we have been very impressed with the speed of the system and the design of the user interface. It's very responsive, easy to use, and everything is laid out intuitively. Also, the Reporting module is very comprehensive and it provides a way to pull data just about any which way one could want. BigTime has also been responsive and helpful in helping to support us when certain custom reports were required and we needed some guidance. Special thanks to both CSRs for their support with our implementation.

Cons: We have no outstanding support tickets currently and we have only seen a few small glitches but once we bring them to the vendors attention there is usually a way to correct it or some type of acceptable workaround. As far as suggested areas we think they can improve upon, one would be having the ability to set up to send specific invoices to multiple customer contacts on the To: line. Another area for improvement is sometimes the bill rate isn’t pulled into the invoicing module consistently so we have to re-enter all the rates in that particular project code. As far as platform enhancements to make BigTime even better, we have suggested the ability to enhance the Allocations module so a manager can forecast a resource across multiple projects within the same or multiple accounts from the same screen/grid. Today this must be done via clicking into each project in the Project List section which is time consuming and a little clunky. This would be huge for us since we have a number of consultants who work on multiple projects across a given week/month/etc. Another enhancement would be to provide easy-to-pull reports that show a consultants profitability (revenue generated minus cost) across a given date range. This is not currently doable with the platform, but all the data is there since the system maintains both bill rate and cost-level information. We are hoping these items make their way onto the product roadmap here in the relative near future.

Vendor Response

by BigTime Software on 8/08/2019

David,

First of all, thanks so much for posting this extensive review for us here at BigTime. It is most appreciated and valuable to get specific feedback from our users. We are pleased that you're finding the platform responsive and flexible enough to meet your needs and we are very pleased that both Jeff and Kevin have provided excellent support to you.

Please do reach out to us here at Customer Success if we can be of further assistance in any way - we are always happy to help.

Thanks again,
The BigTime Customer Success Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/08/2019