Direct Mail Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About Direct Mail

macOS app that features a fun and easy-to-use email template editor, list management tools, and insightful campaign analytics reports.

Learn more about Direct Mail

Showing 53 reviews

Pittershawn P.
Writer
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/06/2019

"Alternative to MailChimp"

Comments: Wonderful! Amazing app and great experience so far.

Pros: It is very easy to use and provides the basic bells and whistles needed to track any campaign.

Cons: I know it is not possible, but there needs to be a way to track reasons why a person would file a report. I've experienced people I've known well reporting me, rather than merely unsubscribing. One I called up and she said she did it by accident. Not even sure how that can be an accident, but ok. It would help to understand user behavior with clear reasons to get a better sense of what I might have done wrong with a user, so I can avoid certain pitfalls in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/06/2019
Paul N.
Sole Trader
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2020

"Enthusiasm"

Comments: The reports keep tabs on and flag up bounces and soft bounces - such facilities leave me free to draft the content.

Pros: This is mature mac software that grows over time. I have been using it for years and in the work place I have a handful of softwares that are the business. In addition to doing what is asked of it reports are chelated and exported effortlessly. A potentially drudge job becomes a pleasure with this, the right software.

Cons: I haven't found anything to complain about yet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2020
Bob R.
Owner
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019

"A Great email marketing application"

Comments: Having used Direct Mail for many years I can attest to the effort put into keeping it fresh. The customer support is outstanding.

Pros: Well thought out and updated on a regular basis, you can tell that the developers of Direct Mail take pride in their product. It is a solid and stable application that I have relied on for years to do my email marketing campaigns for clients.

Cons: As with any application you always say, I wish it did x, but nothing significant enough to warrant inclusion here.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019
Daniele S.
Product Marketing Manager
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Excellent application. Easy to use. Great value for money."

Pros: The product never failed to work and is easy to use, easy to customize, excellent selection of editable templates.

Cons: I actually cannot think of any cons. It works perfectly and has never given me problems and the updates are excellent.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Jack A.
Emeritus Director of Entertainment & Talent
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"Very useful marketing tool"

Pros: Very easy to use design functions. Quick to prepare newsletters etc.

Cons: High cost of purchasing email credits restricts how much we can use this tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Ce ann ..
OWNER
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018

"Looking for an Apple native app and does it better than Constant Contact or MailChimp? It's here!"

Pros: I have TOTAL control in all facets from creation to execution; publishing, campaign follow up, and the minutia details. All here

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018
Sue M.
Author and Trainer
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2020

"First time user"

Comments: Regular contacts with clients...small bitesize chunks mean they are not being overwhelmed with too much in one mail out.

Pros: Being able to set up multiple mail-outs that will now go out automatically. Like b being able to see the reports fort feedback on if what I'm sending out is of use to the recipients.

Cons: Not sure all of the functionality yet....but will get there...still only a first time user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2020
Bobby M.
Msician/Producer/Teacher
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2021

"Best email program ever!"

Comments: Direct Mail allows me to stay in touch with my fans on a regular basis thus increasing my visibility and the amount of people that show up to my concerts.

Pros: The software is easy to use and is being updated to add more features at a regular pace.

Cons: The button function has been giving me some problems in formatting and I wish the program had more graphic and text functions. Like being able to use system fonts and being able to kern text.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2021
Yon H.
CEO
Computer Games, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019

"Longtime Love Interest"

Comments: My overall experience has been wonderful. This is a pro-level tool that every small, indie, business should make great use of. It is light on the wallet and there every time you need it.

Pros: What I like most about this software is that it is there just when I want it. There is no needling "missing you" emails, no fees for when I have a busy time and just can't get to it and no fuss on telling me how to make my emails better. It is an all around pleasure.

Cons: What I like least about this software is that it has such a tight complaint algorithm. I, totally, understand why and the reasoning for this. I am aware the industry is traditionally squirley about spam reporting. Not saying any company has handled it better than this software. However, as a business who tries hard to deliver information with lots of paths for people to opt-out, it always amazes me when people simply forget they opted-in ;)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019
Gianni C.
CEO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017

"A great all-around DM solution"

Pros: Great Templates, Ease of use and customization, Very good analytics. Renders very well on all kinds of devices and there's plenty of additional testing functions. The automatic management of unsubscribers is also very handy. For someone with zero previous DM experience but wanting to send out a weekly newsletter this is fantastic value for money.

Cons: Can't think of anything specific even though I would like to group reports (i.e. comparing flights of the same campaign or issues of the same newsletter. Presently I export to Excel but it would be practical to have these inside.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2017
Caryn C.
Web Development Coordinator, Student Services
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018

"Best emailer software I've ever used"

Comments: Does what we want, when we want, and we know exactly what the client will see, which is essential in complicated multiple-option emails.

Pros: Easy to customize, easy to make the final look good AND easy to check every email to make sure imported exactly as you wanted.

Cons: No metrics server in Canada. (A legal requirement for our usage if we want to get stats.) Otherwise, we'd be using it every day to contact our students and prospective students.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018
Clint P.
Digital Marketing Manager
Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018

"Super cheap emailing service."

Comments: Affordable enterprise level email management system.

Pros: I like that they offer the one time payment for their software in order to use it with your own email servers. It provides a super cheap option for enterprise level emails.

Cons: You get what you pay for. With their one time payment option you don't get much customer service and you'll need to maintain your own servers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Bill L.
Owner
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2020

"Easy to produce basic email content using good looking templates"

Comments: No known complaints regarding compatibility with most email clients. No complaints.

Pros: Integration to Daylite. Mac-based. Templates look good and work well with mail clients.

Cons: Editing of template could be a bit more flexible. Difficult to understand layout schema. Eg. 3 columns, with three images. When adding content, can't add image. Only asa background. Need to cut an paste image to content area then can change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2020
Robin lee H.
Author
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2020

"I recommend all the time"

Pros: I love that I can work in Direct Mail without needing to be online. The option to pay per email is the best one for me so I'm thankful for it.

Cons: None I can think of. It took me awhile to learn to create my own template, but it wasn't very hard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2020
Jeni B.
Director of Marketing and Communications
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021

"Customer Service Just Stopped Communicating with Me 2 1/2 Months Ago!"

Comments: It worked fine until there was an issue. They made an initial response and never followed up to my subsequent questions or requests. I have been sending them the same request for 2 1/2 months and zero response by email or the online chat.

Pros: My predecessor used it and it was easy to continue to use.

Cons: Customer Service when you have a problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021
Jeff B.
Owner/Publisher
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2020

"Wonderful software and a very fair price"

Pros: Integration and ease of use, great software for Mac

Cons: Would like to see better reports on if email is actually viewed or not....your support team said even though it says not viewed, many are viewed....so it seems like a low view rate?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/05/2020
Pieter B.
Managing Director
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Excellent mailing solution"

Comments: Sending out news letters and promotional material to customers and users is a cinch.

Pros: It is just so user-friendly and intuitive. The reports are great and you can see exactly what responses and view you are getting

Cons: The template editing could be a little more flexible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Student
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019

"Awesome Software"

Comments: Amazing

Pros: It is very helpful. Without too much cost, it allows me to send emails. Have not faced any problems till date. Also allows you to view clicks.

Cons: Just the fact that it's not free but nothing worth having ever is.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Franco R.
President
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2020

"Keeping associates informed quickly and easily"

Comments: Easy to deploy, fast and reliable

Pros: Ease of use and reliability. Editing and reporting very satisfactory (but in very few cases, read messages do not appear as read)

Cons: It would be interesting to be able to integrate DirectMail within a web management system, to integrate all services (blog, calendar, database and communication) together

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2020
Pascal G.
Director
Publishing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018

"Sending mails from an external database was easier before"

Comments: Time

Pros: It is doing what I want. Connect to an external database, send mail via an externa provider. But things are not working so well. The thing is that data in database are evolving and, in the new version, I have to re-right the request to the database each time in different adress group coming from different database. Spam test is not working. Preferences ares sometime not kept, situation on the screen for exemple.

Cons: Again it does exactly what i want but less easier than previous version . Main point is database connection.

Vendor Response

by e3 Software on 17/07/2018

Thanks for your review, Pascal. If you are having any trouble with importing, spam tests, or preferences, please contact our support team and they'll be happy to get things straightened out. Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Ole S.
ICT engineer
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2021

"Great program for managing email lists for mac users"

Pros: Easy to use and a very good and fast support

Cons: Nothing, for me it has been the perfekt e-maillist administration program

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2021
John S.
NA
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"Great Software but AWFUL management and support after"

Pros: One of the easiest and good looking mail sender on the Mac have used it for years. (not anymore though)

Cons: You have to pay them to send using your SMTP, which is fine, but as soon as you offend their very strict rules they disable the whole part of the sending process, meaning the softwares useless. Then thats where you find out the support is AWFUL, as it seems to me theres only 2 people that work there, they refuse to talk on phone, and despite promises when chased up, they don't answer emails. genuinely terrible.

Vendor Response

by e3 Software on 28/05/2018

Thanks for your review, John. Sorry that you had a bad experience. We strive to provide excellent customer service (via email and live chat), and are grateful for the many five star customer service reviews we've received here and on other sites.

In order to maintain a high quality of service, we ask all of our customers to agree to an anti-spam policy that forbids the use of illegal or purchased email lists. If that policy is violated, we are happy to explain how to resolve the issue. However, we are not able to help customers who repeatedly harass and threaten our employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Stephen R.
Founder
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/08/2019

"Nearly Perfect"

Comments: I have maintained various mailing lists and mailings over the years and DirectMail has always been the perfect tool for me. Now that I am retired and I only use the app to organize my monthly dinner parties, it has scaled down nicely and is still the perfect tool.

Pros: Easy organization makes easy to maintain compliance with all laws and common decency.

Cons: It doesn't bend to my personal case use, but I could hardly expect it to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/08/2019
Doug J.
Principal
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019

"Tracking Readership for a small business"

Comments: As I learn all its features I like it more and more

Pros: Once I had figured it out, with some help from helpful 'Help' people at Directmail, it has been extremely useful to me in doing was email broadcasts to my client and subscriber base, something I could to do with my usual email software, [Mac]Mail. Works very well on my Mac. I sue the subscriber option which allowed me to install the software on my isp's server. cost effective and looks to my readers as coming directly form me.

Cons: The reporting could be improved(?) if we could be sure the receiver has actually 'opened' the email, or merely saw the summary on their device, especially the case for people who receive the email on there mobile device. I haven't figured out how file management works on the system yet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019
Craig P.
Marketing Coordinator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018

"Excellent application. Fairly easy to use. Good interface design."

Pros: Best means (by which users are honored in terms of their time for messaging) to communicate with various constituents.

Cons: Often have to retype names of messages as the app updates indiscriminately. Would love to be able to stop sending, then start again without starting at the beginning of the mailing list.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018