15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Kount

Kount's advanced AI and Machine Learning deliver fraud prevention and enable personalized customer experiences for 9,000+ top brands.

Learn more about Kount

Pros:

Kount is a great tool to use for fraud checks.

Cons:

If you don't use Braintree (which we now use) as your merchant processor, Kount can be difficult to initially set up.

Kount ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Kount has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 67 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kount before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (67)

Marimay
Marimay
TML/Debit Memo/Fraud Analyst in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommended

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A lot of fraud and unauthorized transactions were captured. And helps minimized the losses of our company due to fraud transactions. Big thanks to Kount

Pros:

Kount gives us the details and options to identify fraud, specially in online purchases. It's very risky for us merchant to approve all transactions. When I was a fraud agent way back 2014 we did manual fraud check that's very tragic and difficult. When Kount was introduced to us it makes our work a lot better and easier. All information was already given all we have to do is to study how Kount works and I was really impress about the details and features.

Cons:

So far working with kount is easy. I hope someday Kount will upgrade into more specific details specially under card name matching with bank record. I know it's really hard to do that because of the wide coverage of all the bank systems all over the world, but someday Kount will and can. :-)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for fraud risk management

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kount has help us to reduce the fraud rate and the amount of manual work of agents do analyzing transactions

Pros:

This tool was presented to us by one of customers as they were using it already for a while and wanted to continue. At the beginning I was a bit skeptical as many fraud management tools are slow, or difficult to read. As soon as we started using the program, it became one of favorites: it was very easy to learn to use it and it showed the right amount of information on the dashboard. Kount not only gives you the usual information (location, attempts, score) but you also see all the linked transactions by different parameters (email, address, ip and device layers) which are great to catch the transactions from the bad guys. Agents can easily blacklist the information regarding suspected transactions without leaving the dashboard. The rule set creations options are very flexible and you can split them according to merchant, markets and they can be modify or deactivated in just a few clicks. Customer services are very helpful and quick to answer the enquirers.

Cons:

The only thing I would improve is the reporting part as I find it a it basic, I would like to have more options that will help me to segment the data or get more information about the orders that pass through Kount

Robyn
Director of Operations in Canada
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kount Pros & Cons

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We found that Kount was not as relevant in our industry as other fraud tools that are more geared toward the travel industry. I'm sure it works well for industries selling goods, however it didn't work well for us. Overall, our agents were at times confused, and most often not able to use Kount in their decision making process.

Pros:

The ease of integration of the API was good. I also like that you can read where the device is, versus what IP they're using

Cons:

There's a lot of conflicting information in the results, thus not helping us in our decision for fraud. I've not been able to turn in on live onto the front end of our website, because it has falsely identified bookings as highly suspect of fraud, when they are past customers. We were being advised a credit card was issued on a U.S. bank when we knew the BIN number was a Canadian Bank issued card. We also had difficulty making a decision when the Persona was high and the safety rating was high as well. Our agents (end users) really struggled with using it to help make a decision about a fraudulent purchase. Sorry, not likely what you wanted to hear.

Kount Response

5 years ago

Hi Robyn, We are sorry to hear that you are struggling with scores and ratings - Rudy M. from our client success team will be reaching out to help. Rudy and everyone at Kount are committed to making this a great success story for you! Thank you for reviewing Kount!

Zach
Zach
Senior Software Engineer - Ecommerce in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great fraud control software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kount's support team has been great as have anyone I've spoken to there. Very professional. Well written Magento extension.

Pros:

Kount has a highly customizable fraud rule set that includes things like credit card number (For blacklisting people who chargeback), geographic information (I.E. address attributes), email addresses, among others. Kount worked pretty much out of the box with our platform with limited modification to work with our payment gateway and limited modifications to our workflow. The web portal is also very easy to use, it creates few if any questions addressed to our tech team.

Cons:

I didn't have any problems with the software. So no real cons.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Tobacco, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to Integrate and Maintain!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With KOUNT, we finally have visibility over our approval rate, which nears 80% each month on average, with less than 1% of orders going into auto decline status. KOUNT allows for cross-departmental collaboration and communication in order to prevent fraud. The business rules management feature is critical to our business in order to control what transactions we want to review or approve, and it allows our business to react quickly to changes that are required throughout the process. KOUNT has proven itself to be an invaluable business partner for our organization.

Pros:

KOUNT has a rigorous production readiness certification for the initial implementation to ensure that the environment is setup and working as expected. Once the solution is live, it is very easy to configure and maintain. It allows the IT department to focus on technical implementation specifics while the finance department can focus on implementing appropriate business rules for managing transactions. Our support contact seems to always be available, and watches over our account for ways to improve and save costs.

Cons:

The khash implementation is a bit complicated, but we managed to figure it out. Creating business rules can be intimidating for someone who is not used to a very detailed interface. Additionally, creating reports takes a bit of practice, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes easier.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Exceptional Fraud Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kount has allowed us to manage our e-commerce fraud in a much better way than our previous manual review procedure. Chargebacks dropped significantly as we are looking at orders that we should be looking at and passing through those that do not pose a risk. We are very pleased with the investment and relationship with Kount.

Pros:

The software is user friendly. The data available on the user screen is detailed for the seasoned agent and simple enough for a novice to decision an order.

Cons:

At this time, I cannot say that there is anything that I do not like.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product at a Great price!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kount has been a great addition to our company for catching potential fraud while reducing the amount of time our customer service team has to spend on manually researching/reviewing possible fraud orders.

Pros:

The amount of features we get for the price is great. We use Kount on all web related applications we build and our customer service team loves using it.

Cons:

Sometimes finding the information in the newer support portal is challenging, but once you reach out to support they are very helpful.

Will
Will
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The more the merrier!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent! The integration with Braintree is flawless and the cost per transaction is very low, when you compare to the cost of a chargeback (which can be hard to win).

Pros:

It works. This software has helped save us hundreds of thousands of dollars. Our e commerce business was at a loss for what to do to screen out stollen cards.

Cons:

If you don't use Braintree (which we now use) as your merchant processor, Kount can be difficult to initially set up.

Georgi
Georgi
Risk and Fraud Manager in Bulgaria
Verified LinkedIn User
Gambling & Casinos, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Job

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am using Kount since 2015 and during this time all can say that software is with perfect device fingerprint. It is really important for the business which our company preform !

Pros:

Easy to use , friendly interface, Strong fingerprint layer structure

Cons:

Some data storing which get lost after 14 days, if it's not reviewed.

Terry
Terry
Sr. Manager, Payment Processing and Risk Management in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kount Integration

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Quick integration, Customer UI (portal) is very intuitive, we can add our own user defined fields so that we can easily track data according to our business model.

Cons:

You cannot easily download all the linked order via a single click

MINDY
Customer Service/Financial Coordinator in US
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Enjoy using to help prevent fraud

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been able to determine bad versus good orders using the risk evaluation Kount provides. I have been able to stop bot orders from processing through our system while using Kount. I have been able to catch fraud by flagging risky info to decline because of Kount.

Pros:

I like the fraud control functionality. There are options to create specific rules such as flagging skues and IP addresses to decline when triggering for an order. I can also create VIP lists for emails so that orders using certain domains are automatically approved. There are other options for rule management and VIP lists like device IDS, payment, addresses, etc and they can be set to decline, review, or approve based on my needs. This not only helps prevent fraud, but it also keeps good orders from being put on hold. I also like the Link Analysis and VIP Summary functions. Link Analysis is where I can see other orders that were placed using the same info like email, device ID, billing and shipping address, phone number, payment, and IP. VIP summary is where I can quickly decline or approve an email or address for a specific transaction. The Web Links is a nice feature as well. It allows me to keep web tools I use daily for confirming identity and managing chargebacks in one area of the Kount console.

Cons:

When I do an order search, I need specific info like the order number, email, payment, etc. Since I am unable to search for a transaction with a specific dollar amount, I have to select a date and go through the entire list of orders to find what I am looking for. The reason for the search is to find a fraud order that I do not have the specific details for and the dollar amount is all I have. I usually find it, but it takes more time.

JASON
FRAUD / CHARGEBACK ANALYST in US
Sporting Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

KOUNT: The Tireless Associate

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I would say KOUNT has been so far a better experience than the manual review solution this company used previously. That was an often archaic and time consuming process that would often lead to mixed results and a lot of unnecessary chargebacks and work. I think another benefit that was not considered upon implementation of KOUNT in 2017 here was how the software is able to help us determine 'intent' for orders that appear to be shipping internationally. The products we build and sell cannot be shipped overseas, so when we see the details from KOUNT (IP Addresses, Bank Info, etc) - we're able to stop far many more international parts orders than we were able to before.

Pros:

I think the fact that it is automated and learns your business is a huge factor in why I like the software. After nearly 2 years of running the rulesets, it can be left alone and it makes excellent decisions for our business and workflow. It is also a software that is quick to learn for new agents in our company. So far this year, I've been able train 2 additional agents to use KOUNT and they've been able to save thousands of dollars in product by learning how the software works.

Cons:

Personally, I think the user interface leaves a lot to be desired. I often have to open up two or three windows of the program to be able to compare orders that might have an issue versus ones that are legitimate. I would also love to see a reduction in false positives. We see often people with absolutely no links to fraud orders suddenly have a false positive and be denied. This can lead to additional emails or calls to our phone/email staff.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cuts fraud but has a learning curve

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I'm really happy with the service in general. I find their support very helpful and quick to reply. They also offer a lot of webinars that are extremely useful in keeping up with fraud trends and how to deal with credit card disputes.

Pros:

Once you really get a handle on how to use and a feel for it's flaws, it's a great way to really reduce ecommerce fraud. It provides a lot of visibility into the customers so you can assess the risk effortlessly with the vast majority of orders. It's also really great how it connects orders, so even beyond fraud, it can make order lookup a lot easier if it's a tricky one to find.

Cons:

It definitely requires a lot of practice and research to utilize it well in terms of assessing risk. Beyond that it also really helps if you have the ability to experiment with workflow.

Kount Response

5 years ago

We sincerely appreciate the review you have written for us. It sounds like you are acquainted with your client success manager and have found that relationship helpful. That makes us happy! Again, thank you for the review.

Fabian
General Manager in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kount and Magento

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We had to leave Kount and switched to another solution.

Pros:

It gave me decent amount information to make a more educated decision on questionable orders.

Cons:

It did not guarantee fraud orders. Also took a lot of my time to do further research online to decide if the order in question would be a fraud order. Very time consuming to decided what to do on questionable orders. Platform was very involved and overwhelming. Also included features that would be helpful but had to pay to add.

Carla
Team Lead Chargeback Support in Canada
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Benefits of using Kount

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With kount it's easier to get in a short period of time what our decline rates approve rates are etc.
We've also been able to quickly isolate what regions fraud is coming from for certain of our websites.

Pros:

Using Kount as a fraud tools allows the analyst to do a fraud review with a minimum of clicks. The ability to customize and review rules reduced our fraud losses. The boost safety rating piece proved to be a valuable tool as well.

Cons:

The reporting aspect is not the greatest for our kind of business. our company is quite unique we have over 100 websites which is an overload in Kount when we attempt to run reports for all of our websites. However our Kount manger has been great in getting the Kount reporting team to pull those kinds of reports for us.

Frances
Fraud Detection Coordinator in Canada
Consumer Electronics, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have significantly cut down on manual reviews and are able to make quicker decisions on orders for review based on scoring output and VIP flags

Pros:

The capability to flag customer information on confirmed fraud orders has been paramount in mitigating future fraud

Cons:

I would like the ability to flag a billing phone number and I would like the AWC to show the billing and shipping address for each order. This would be a huge help for my industry/order patterns

Kount Response

5 years ago

Good morning Frances and thank you for the review - happy to hear your success with cutting down manual reviews and speeding up the decision making process! Regarding flagging the billing phone number, I see your client success manager saw this review and responded with how to do this. Very best, Kount

Moryna
Credit Associate in US
Accounting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fraud control

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Linked orders feature when reviewing orders has been very helpful in identifying other suspicious orders. Being able to flag payment token, addresses etc for decline from the order with just a few clicks is also quite helpful.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to use the Boost technology/safety rating score as a review rule not just persona score.

Kount Response

5 years ago

Thank you for the review Moryna ¿ we are happy to hear that linked orders and flagging various data points are helpful features. We think that you will be happy to hear that you are able to use the Boost Safety Rating (our supervised machine learning technology). We will have your client success manager Erin C. reach out to schedule a review on this.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kount Review for ecom

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Kount worked very well at detecting consumer fraud. There was also many ways to create custom rules for blocking. For the most part, it seemed like most of the blocked transactions were valid. The cost of Kount was negligible compared to the "potential" savings. It's long term effectiveness on reducing chargebacks/refunds was inclusive.

Cons:

The portal/UI is not mapped out well. The reporting is simple, but a pain to configure and work with. Overall, the reporting was manageable and not a deal breaker because we already have our own internal reporting (not through Kount).

Christian
Fraud and Chargeback Analyst in US
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best fraud detection tools in the industry

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent. I love Kount. I have been working in Fraud Detection and Analysis for over 10 years and I have used, reviewed, and I'm familiar with almost all the softwares out there and I must say that Kount stands out to me as one of the best, if not the best anti fraud tool in the entire industry.

Pros:

Response time. Customization options. Amount of information available at first glance.

Cons:

The only parts that I would like to see improve a little more would be Datamart (for reporting/reviewing) and Rules creation. They are actually good already but there is still room for improvement.

Amanda
operations support specalist in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kount

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Use Kount daily and have had no issues with the website. Works great.

Pros:

Kount is a great tool to use for fraud checks. I review transactions on a daily basis to determine whether they are fraudulent or not. Kount summarizes consumer data to determine whether the customer is who they say they are. It links well with our other systems as well.

Cons:

There is a learning curve if you have not used previously but the system is great otherwise. If you are a financial institution, highly suggest.

Lani
Loss Prevention Systems and Fraud Manager in US
Retail, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fraud Manager

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I enjoy my experience with Kount. Whenever I have an issue, it can be quickly solved and addressed by a technical account analyst. I have been fortunate to have very hands on account analyst who helps solve any issues that arise and having someone who I can call with issues is always a great help. Lastly, because of Kount's ease of use, I never have difficulty teaching the platform to new users.

Pros:

I enjoy Kount ease of use, easy to learn UI and attentive customer support staff.

Cons:

I do not like that there is no bulk upload option on the user side for charge back information and VIP lists. Also within the current UI, it was kind of confusing to explain Persona score and, Safety Rating/Boost Score to new users...

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kount Has Saved Us Money

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kount has drastically reduced the amount of manual oversight required by our order processing team. Kount will find and flag orders that it suspects are fraudulent and most of the time it is correct. It basically works as a spam folder for our order processing team. We love Kount.

Pros:

Kount does exactly what we want it to do. It flags fraud and potentially fraudulent orders. Our order processing team can then quickly check them and take the correct action. This has reduced the number of chargebacks and calls to customers to confirm order details.

Cons:

In the very beginning of using Kount we were seeing either a lot of falsely identified fraudulent orders or we were seeing almost no flags. It seemed to take a little longer than we were expecting it to before Kount really started to "learn" which orders were legit or not.

Aurelien
Fraud Prevention Senior Team Leader in Ireland
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good features and very good support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Using Kount we've been able to reduce our CBK rate significantly. The tool overall is very effective, easy to use. Our customer success manager, Tyler, is very efficient, knowledgeable and always willing to assist us.

Pros:

Datamart - The easiness to built reports about pretty much anything Rule engine - Really easy to use Safety rating

Cons:

I'd love to see more features regarding the merchant part in Kount Rule engine can find it s limit

Dennis
Fraud Prevention Coordinator in US
Cosmetics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best in the business

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were suffering from serious fraud attacks and the previous software was canceling good orders and letting through Fraud. With Kount, our chargebacks went down from 5-6% to under 1% within 6 months.

Pros:

Kount is fully flexibly with extensive ability to collect statistics and continually analyze customer (and fraudster) behavior and dial in the protection rules. Each client has a dedicated account manager who is easy and fast to reach, truly making you feel like Kount has your back.

Cons:

Nothing at all. We are extremely happy with Kount.

armin
Resolutions specialist in US
Supermarkets, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kount REVIEW

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Would be great if we could block SKUs
would be great to block paypal users

Pros:

Helps us track the fraudulent orders. Also we can block the fraudsters that we caught before

Cons:

-Sometimes when we put a rule in place, it does not capture all the matching transactions, and some end up going through without us looking into it