15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

About Fishbowl

Fishbowl streamlines and automates the inventory management process to increase throughput, accuracy, efficiency, and profitability.

Learn more about Fishbowl

Pros:

It makes training for accounting much easier. From a manufacturing perspective, FishBowl is a fairly powerful tool that can track inventory and assist in production planning.

Cons:

The user interface is difficult to navigate and make sense of.

Fishbowl ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Fishbowl has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 906 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Fishbowl before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (906)

Hilary
Hilary
Sales & Marketing Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Asset to Our Company

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: They have done a wonderful job in taking care of us from learning to use it to just small mistakes here and there. The support is outstanding.

Pros:

Fishbowl is a great asset to our company. It has been wonderful in helping us manage inventory for our warehouse and tracking errors. The customer support is always amazing. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] our representative is one of the most helpful people. He goes above and beyond to make sure we are satisfied with the product.

Cons:

Some reports cost extra, but I understand that it takes them time to write it. The turn around is usually fast.

Fishbowl Response

3 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review, Hilary. We are so glad to hear that your experience has been satisfactory for you and your company. We appreciate your business.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fishbowl is a powerful tool for any business.

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, my experience with Fishbowl has been very positive and I'm looking forward to utilizing all of its potential!

Pros:

We love the scalability and how the modules are integrated with one another increasing productivity and enhanced reporting functionality.

Cons:

I don't like that it does not differentiate a reship purchase order with a drop ship purchase order from an item costing perspective. In other words, if I place an order for material from my supplier, and have them ship it to my customer directly, the cost impacts my AVERAGE cost of the inventory in my warehouse even though it has not been physically received in and mixed in with previously purchased inventory.

Alternatives Considered: Smart Part Number Quoter

Reasons for Choosing Fishbowl: We needed something to better manage inventory and sales process. We will use QB for accounting.

Switched From: QuickBooks Online Advanced

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: We needed a full solution that encompassed the sales cycle and inventory management.

Alicia
purchasing in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beware! They will force you to purchase a service contract for their faulty software

1.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Fishbowl has not resolved problems with their software that existed since we started using it in 2013. It appears as though they do not want to resolve software problems in order to force customers to purchase service contracts.

Pros:

Inventory tracking features. Fishbowl wikipedia is somewhat helpful.

Cons:

No support without a service contract even though the problems are inherent with Fishbowl software, not caused by the user(s). Some of the sales and technical staff are rude/disrespectful.

Kyle
Operations Manager in US
Package/Freight Delivery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, but missing some standard features.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, very enjoyable. As my operations grow, I will seek out Fishbowl to see if I'm actually able to do the things I've mentioned above, or what they suggestion to do instead. The help desk team is great and very responsive. I've received a lot of help from them.

Pros:

I've used SAP and Oracle for previous companies, and Fishbowl is very easy to use and overall very intuitive. I enjoy using this system.

Cons:

Not able to store more than Scheduled Date per sales order. Some customers POs have multiple lines and different due dates per line. I'm unable to do the same and then partial ship and keep track of the order like on larger ERP systems. As far as I understand, Fishbowl is not capable of reporting OTD because there isn't enough date submission options. It's frustrating not being able to highlight any text to copy and past in another location or for another program (Word, Excel). There are only a few places FB allows me to highlight and copy the info. The rest I'm unable to. Being able to highlight and copy anything would improve ease of use.

Alternatives Considered: ProShop ERP , Megaventory and Zoho Inventory

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: Zoho was cheap, but did not seem capable of putting locations for inventory which is critical for us. Megaventory is cheaper than Fishbowl, but did not seem capable of connecting multiple locations together easily. Our manufacturing center uses ProShop, but ProShop does not seem to have great a inventory management software. Fishbowl, though expensive, seemed capable of doing all the things we would need it to do, so I was given approval to implement it and try it out.

Alexandra
Inventory Manager in US
Furniture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great system that has helped our company thrive

5.0 last month New

Pros:

We can manage all of our inventory efficiently. It is much better than the system we used to use.

Cons:

It would be nice if we could void a shipment. It is also a little frustrating that we can't edit a purchase order after the product has moved, eg: been committed to a sales order. Sometimes we get invoices for freight after we receive the product, and there is no way to edit the reconciliation after the product has moved. So we're forced to go in and manually re-enter each product with the new landed cost.

Jonathan
Operations Supervisor in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

3PL - Great for Small Businesses

4.0 last month New

Comments: At first it took some time getting used to as my company used a far simpler version of FishBowl. However, after using this system, it only took a week or so to get used to the functionality. But, there’s always something new to learn as FishBowl has so many feautures that we haven’t come across. It’s a great WMS to use for smaller businesses such as ourselves.

Pros:

I love having the sales order summary for end of month reports. It can be easily reviewed as the sales order numbers can be clicked and it brings you to that specific sales order to be easily reviewed.

Cons:

I don’t like how the sales orders and pick reports do not show the total quantity of the units or cartons being picked. That would help greatly.

Julie
Head of Purchasing and Inventory in Canada
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fishbowl Changed Our Business

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: The training experience was excellent and once we were fully up and running and felt comfortable, it's been such a game-changer for us.

Pros:

It's extremely helpful to track our inventory at multiple warehouses and for planning our future inventory needs. The wide array of reports is super helpful for a growing business such as ours. It's extremely helpful for us to be able to track what's been ordered by a customer, what is left in stock, and if we have anymore stock coming in. It's truly changed the way we do our business.

Cons:

It was definitely a learning curve for a lot of people on our team and some processes can be a little tricky until you fully understand exactly how it works.

Tim
Inventory Control Specialist in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fishbowl is a great product

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: very satisfied with it, would recommend to others

Pros:

ease of operation, and having reports that show were products are going with cost associated to them

Cons:

building the database while still continuing to fulfill daily work obligations

Tonia
CFO in US
Medical Devices, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Streamlined Organization

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It had most of the features we were looking for. Efficiency

Cons:

No way to have tracking auto pull in from supplier

Alternatives Considered: Linnworks

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: More features that worked with our business model.

JUSTIN
JUSTIN
Product Engineer and Inventory Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fishbowl is Not ready for medium to larger companies

2.0 3 months ago

Comments: Customer support is pretty good for getting you on your feet if you have a database crash or simple problem, but they are often hard to get a hold of, long wait times, and again there is no flexibility with this program whatsoever. You WILL find many annoying things that they just refuse to address in development.

Pros:

As a basic inventory and locationing system, and for simple shipping and sales orders it works okay. Would be great for a small startup.

Cons:

Complete lack of flexibility. There are a lot of workarounds that even our Onboarding expert had to use and setup for us. They do not make even the most obvious and simple improvements. You cannot update pricing from Woo to Fishbowl, and the Quickbooks integration is horrible.

Angelo
Associate Product Manager in Benin
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Inventory Management Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using Fishbowl for several months now and I am very happy with the results. It's a comprehensive inventory management tool with a wide range of features and options. The user interface is intuitive and easy to use, and customer support is quick and helpful when needed. The pricing structure can be a bit complex, but overall, Fishbowl is an excellent choice for inventory management.

Pros:

Fishbowl is an incredibly comprehensive inventory management tool. It has a wide range of features and options that make it easy to keep track of all the items in your inventory. The user interface is intuitive and easy to use, and the customer support is top-notch. I highly recommend Fishbowl for anyone looking for a reliable inventory management solution.

Cons:

Fishbowl's pricing structure can be a bit confusing, and it can be hard to determine what the best option is for your particular situation. Additionally, the customer support could be improved, as there is sometimes a long wait time for help. Overall, though, Fishbowl is a great option for anyone looking for a reliable inventory management solution.

Louis
Purchaser/ Project Manager in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fishbowl Manufacturing Software has proven an invaluable inventory management tool for our team.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fishbowl Management software has offered our team a complete supply chain management and physical sales tracking system in one convenient system . In this time especially , we understand that organization and efficiency are paramount to surviving let alone prospering and we are thankful to Fishbowl for helping.

Pros:

Our team found both these ease of use and relative ease of integration to be among the most attractive components of Fishbowl. The variety of modules allow close monitoring of essentially every aspect of physical asset tracking . With Fishbowl we can organize warehouse parts inventory , print labels,and organize purchase orders which organizes our supply side. Fishbowl's sales side module allows for effective tracking of lead times as well as sales item forecasting so we are never behind on available inventory .

Cons:

Fishbowl Manufacturing software at this time time requires the use of a server which we had to supply . In exchange for all other features , we see this as a nominal and not inconvenient requirement as at the time we were adding new computer assets. This requirement may not suit all smaller companies.

Alternatives Considered: kintone and Finale Inventory

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: We selected Fishbowl Inventory Management software over alternatives for its comprehensive module options which allow for a complete organization of our office and warehouse now optimized with a primary consideration to sales output and production. We could not ask for more in this area of business operations.

Fishbowl Response

3 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, Louis. We appreciate your business and are happy to know that your experience has been satisfactory.

Dasha
Business Development Director in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Too Expensive, Unintuitive, and Aesthetically Unpleasing

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It meets our basic needs for manufacturing and sales.

Cons:

The flow from the creation of a sales order to the fulfillment is flawed. If a customer pre-pays, we have to artificially fulfill the order, export it to QuickBooks, charge the customer through QuickBooks, then manually notify the fulfillment department to release the purchase order to UPS.

Alternatives Considered: inFlow Inventory

Reasons for Choosing Fishbowl: Manufacturing needs were not met using InFlow.

Switched From: inFlow Inventory

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: Allows inventory management for manufacturing purposes.

Tray
President in US
Airlines/Aviation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review after 7 years

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall has been good, as long as willing to spend significant time learning thier system without any help

Pros:

Migration to SQL database allowing integration with other systems.

Cons:

After selling to a larger company, support is almost non existant, if your small thet dont seem to care. Have tried to book many support sessions and never any availability unless you want to wait 2+ months. Good luck getting them on the phone, the chat works and will waste an entire day trying to explain any issues

Kevin
Vice President in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly ERP System

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Easy to use, and thorough support documentation

Cons:

Cost seems high for the program when compared to other services

Alternatives Considered: Monsoon Marketplace

Reasons for Choosing Fishbowl: Built in Integrations and easier to use platform

Switched From: Denali Business

Reasons for Switching to Fishbowl: More integrations available for all of our needs

Todd
President in US
Building Materials, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fishbowl Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Based on our overall experience I would give Fishbowl a 6 out of 10, with their main issues being everything outside of the software. If you have patience then this is a good value, if not walk away quickly....

Pros:

I like the ease of use with the Sales Order Side of the product. When the software is set up correctly it is almost flawless, and really makes the ordering process go much smoother. The interface is easy to use and easy to train new employees on.

Cons:

The service and support are the worst I have ever dealt with. We paid dearly for the implementation of our data and if I say the words half ass that would hardly describe what they were able to accomplish. Getting someone to try and fix anything is nearly impossible, so we took it upon ourselves to correct all of their implementation mistakes. 3 months in and we still find implementation errors every day that we are correcting. When we attempt to use support their chat feature is useless, as the reps are answering multiple chats at once and it takes 5 minutes between comments for them to come back to you. If you call be prepared to sit on hold for at least an hour, and then they still wont be able to assist you most of the time.

Cassie
VP in US
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

FB has abled our business to grow from a home based co. to a 10,000ft fully functioning warehouse

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Being able to operate above and beyond to what we used to. We can now compete with our competitors

Pros:

I absolutely love that FB is easy to use and easy to teach. It has all the features that our company uses daily. Examples include customer pricing rules, customer "numbers" or customer sku's, Auto PO function, The import/export feature has been a God-send when we need to import products to our website or send information to our customers. The substitute feature is very helpful too. We also really love how we can create custom fields within every module. I really love how the FB team remembers our company when we call and goes above and beyond when we have a hiccup or questions. We can thank FB for some of our company's success. W/o being able to correctly track inventory and use it for daily operations, we wouldn't be operating at the level we are today.

Cons:

There aren't things that I like "the least" but there are things I wish FB offered/had that would help our type of business/company. This includes: 1) Since we are a product distributor, we provide a lot of our customers w/ "quotes." FB has the ability to create an "estimate" but no way to store it or look back at it for reference. Pricing rules are essentially only created in our line of operation when a customer begins buying a product. So, we have to create "quotes" on excel sheets and save them on our network folder. So it would be easier if it was all w/in FB. Or if there was a different section from pricing rules that you could make a pricing rule? If that makes sense 2) Wish we could customize reports that are staples of FB w/o paying high dollar. For ex. the packing slip should have a signature line or at least the option to include it. Or there should be options on layouts or what columns to include. Also, we've gotten feedback from customers on how they wish the item # and description where split into different columns. 3) If FB alerted a user if a sales order has been in the system for "x" amount of time. Like a dormant SO in FB 4) Be able to sort the packing slip. Ex. by Item #, customer #, item description, etc. 5) Had a UNSPSC code field. We've found that this is going to be an important code for future web sales.

Dennis
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5.0 11 years ago

Comments: We are a Head Start agency that uses FishBowl to purchase, track, and issue inventory to 60 Head Start classrooms and agency departments. Our system uses SharePoint, which is accessed by each classroom/dept. to place their order which is in turn sent to the approving supervisor. Once it is approved, it goes to the Purchasing office were it is imported into FishBowl (all done electronically within the magic of computer land...and the IT department). We started looking for new inventory software when the software we had did not support the Windows 7 that we were upgrading to. We needed a fully integrated inventory software program that not only supported our classrooms, but would provide the Finance dept. with the information they needed. One of the features I like about FishBowl is that as soon as Purchasing processes the classroom/dept. request, an email is sent to the requestor letting them know Purchasing has received their order and it is in the process of being filled. When the order has been shipped, another e-mail is sent to let the requestor know the order is on it's way. This email feature has greatly reduced the number of calls received from our classrooms requesting status on their order and when it will be sent to them (I really, really like it). We have set up reorder points and default vendors, which makes placing orders to replenish warehouse stock easy and nearly effortless. Each vendor has their own part unit of measure and unit of measure conversion, which makes processing receipts magic (well almost). The tracking feature on a warehouse part has helped to track expiration dates on food (milk, yogurt, cheese, etc.). The expiration dates are printed on the packing slip that goes out with each order and helps us resolve expiration date issues. FishBowl will also let us know an item is nearing its expiration date prior to processing the shipment. Another feature of FishBowl that has come in handy is the ability to monitor specific warehouse stock. I use the feature to monitor our milk products (Soy, Lactaid, Rice Milk, Goats Milk, etc.) to make sure we have enough on hand at all times to ensure we receive Federal reimbursement for meals served. These items are monitored on a daily basis due to their sensitive nature. The Dashboard tab provides a quick synopsis of sales, purchase orders, RMA,s etc. The first two FishBowl tabls I look at are the Monitor and DashBoard tab that will let me know the health of our inventory and status of orders. Thumbs up to the programmers that wrote these features into the system. Sales orders and back orders are easily maintained and monitored. I can process order requests, and hold them until such time as I need them to be processes for shipment. FishBowl provides us with reports on classroom expenditures (food/supplies or combination). We maintain two warehouse identifyiers to identify our supply items from our food items. There are custom fields that can be added to input processing that can further help in processing specific types of reports and tracking data. Prior to using FishBowl we had trainers from FishBowl give us module by module training and help us set up and transfer data from our old inventory system to FishBowl. I cannot say enough good things about the help we received. Note: The online help and training is a great resource also. FishBowl provideds many features which we are utilizing and others that we will grow into. FishBowl has a different look and feel from the software we were using, but once we started FishBowl, it has become second nature. There is so much more about FishBowl than there is space to write this review. If you need more information please contact me.

Mike
Owner in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dishonest, No Integrity

2.0 6 months ago

Pros:

My software implementation specialist was friendly.

Cons:

I wish I would have thoroughly read these reviews before making the awful decision to give fishbowl a try. I had been in the market for this type of software for a while and had a long conversation with a fishbowl sales rep who promised me that fishbowl could do exactly what I was needing. I was hesitant, because it did not seem like this was true, but he promised me they could do a "custom build" that would address my company's specific needs. Most importantly, he assured me over and over that I could get a full refund if it turned out that the software was not a fit for my company. He promised that I would be able to go through training, implementation, and use the software for a full 30 days after the end of training to decide if it was going to work out. So I spent countless hours over the next several months in the training and implementation of the product. Throughout the training, I expressed my doubts that it would work out, but I had hopes that the "custom build" would be the solution. Training concluded, implementation began, I tried my best to make this thing work for my company, but we were approaching the money-back deadline, no custom build had been provided, and I could not see any way this software would do what I needed. So I attempted to contact my sales rep multiple times via email and phone but got no response. Miraculously, four days AFTER the deadline, I was finally able to communicate with someone who informed me that my sales rep was no longer with the company and that I had missed the deadline for a refund. So let's try that custom build now and see if that'll work. So we did, and to no one's surprise, it was still useless. I again asked for a refund at that point but was denied - "past the deadline." And all this communication was by email because they refuse to offer a phone number to actually speak with someone. So after a complete waste of $14,000 and about year of my time, I'm right back where I started, except poorer and older. I would STRONGLY advise thinking twice before entering into any relationship with fishbowl.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Don't buy Fishbowl

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: I paid a lot of money for this software for my small and growing business. Training was expensive and took many weeks. Integrations with Quickbooks and my Sales channels were buggy and resulted in hours of extra work to edit changed sales orders and sift through garbage data sent to QB. A few months ago I uncovered a bug with how data was sent to Quickbooks that totally screwed up my books. Two different support people logged on and watched my workflow, confirmed I did everything correctly, and verified it was a program bug. A ticket was created and then....crickets. Nothing. I followed up repeatedly for weeks. For a while I got assurances that the "best people" were working on it. Eventually no one would reply to my emails, not even my account rep. They completely abandoned me so I switched to Katana which has been awesome for my needs. I've never been treated so poorly by a software company EVER. Maybe they have chosen to abandon their smaller clients in favor of bigger ones.

Pros:

At first the customer support was great. You could call and a human would answer the phone and log into your screen and help you quickly. Those days are over apparently.

Cons:

Fishbowl support has gone in the toilet. The phone menu you get for support doesn't even have an option for just solving a workflow problem or explaining an unexpected error or problem. They have the call back feature, which can take hours, if they actually call back. They promise to look into problems and then don't.

Tommy
Technical Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Perfect Solution for Small & Large Businesses

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We've been successfully using Fishbowl now for at least five years and it's allowed our company to process orders and control our inventory to a point where everything runs smoothly between our manufacturing team and our front of house team. Fishbowl has helped turned our "mom and pop" business into a streamlined operation with customers all over the world.

Pros:

I have used other CRM/inventory management applications over the years and Fishbowl is by far one of the most robust, all-in-one solutions for our business. It's ease of use, stability, and accessibility has helped run our business for the past several years in terms of POS operations, inventory control, and handling purchase orders.

Cons:

My only complaints are that, under the customer tab, the SAVE and DELETE buttons are next to each other. Also under the customer tab, the check balance is next to the history button (which we have to utilize constantly throughout the day). If we accidentally hit CHECK BALANCE, the process runs and holds up Fishbowl for upwards towards a minute. Since this is not something that we utilize, is there a way to possibly disable that button?

Leanne
Purchasing/Database Administrator in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very tough start, but once up and running, seems much more friendly.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Search function is amazing! Really like Fishbowl for the most part. Ordering, inventory tracking, automatic updating, etc.

Cons:

1) Can't look at a part and see how many times it was ordered easily. Have to go in and out of the purchase orders. Would like to look at a part, see how often it was ordered and from whom, how many were ordered and how much we paid in a simple list form. Right now I only see the PO/Vendor without any of the important details like quantity ordered and cost. 2) I also think the Revision for an item should follow the part. It does not. There is a revision field that shows up on the purchase order, but doesn't print anywhere AND is not the same field from the Part Detail screen. In a manufacturing environment the revision for any given part should follow the part around the database, including onto purchase orders so the vendor knows what to fabricate. Right now I have to manually enter the revision on the vendor screen. The revision from the Part Detail screen should automatically populate on the Vendor screen for said part so that when the item is ordered, it appears on the purchase order . 3) I find the documentation sometimes lacking detail. 4) I'd also like to be able to create custom reports myself and without turning back the hands of time and forcing Java to use an old revision (required for iReport). A report creation function in Fishbowl would be awesome! Even my archaic old Parts & Vendors software allowed me to do create custom reports.

Shannon
E-Commerce Marketing Manager in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great but do all training before setting up

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Fishbowl works like it should and is expected to but make sure everyone who will be using it understands how it works and how things should to be set before you enter any of your information in it.

Pros:

Fishbowl works like it should and is expected to but make sure everyone who will be using it understands how it works and how things should to be set

Cons:

Can't fix mistakes made once something is fulfilled Not all feature will work for company The reporting could be better

Shannon
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3.0 11 years ago

Comments: I work for a full-service dental laboratory, which is a bit of a unique application for this software, and we have been using Fishbowl for about one year. Since our completed products are all custom made to patient specifications, we purchased Fishbowl primarily to organize and track internal inventory and consumption. We knew from the start that there would be no off-the-shelf solution for our situation, but we hoped that from what we had seen, we would be able to find enough work-arounds to get it doing close to what we needed. If anything, it has made the inventory management process even more arduous. While Fishbowl offers a lot of options, and will probably work very well for a more typical business, it is not a good solution for more complex situations. It simply doesn't have the flexibility. The only way to remove items from inventory is via cycle count (which leaves no record of consumption) or via sales order (which means that all of your Parts also need to be listed as Products, and you will need to do a lot of unnecessary paperwork just to maintain accurate consumption reports. The barcode scanners and label printer we ordered from Fishbowl are also antiquated devices, and we are unlikely to be able to repair them if anything goes wrong. What has been most disappointing about this system by far is the customer support. The live chat feature is their saving grace - the hours are very reasonable and the queue has generally been quite short. However, there seems to be a massive amount of turnover in the company - nearly every time I contact them, I end up talking to someone different, and have to re-explain all of our problems and our situation before I can get to the issue at hand. The communication at their level also seems insufficient (on multiple occasions, I have gotten different several different answers from different people) and the quality of training for their agents seems to be low as well. Poor grammar and spelling from live chat agents, inability to answer basic questions or provide further support in lieu of an immediate answer, and an often bored tone of voice over the phone. Overall, Fishbowl has been complicated, difficult to use and has caused more problems than it has solved. We still feel like we're in a transition phase and will hopefully reap more benefits long term, but a warning to other businesses with a lot of internal consumption or other unique features - make sure you get a very thorough demo and vocalize exactly what you need from the system. Further, bring someone in for on-site training if you do intend to purchase this software.

Ron
President in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fishbowl Inventory. Thank you Support

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: When I purchased Fishbowl there were many issues and I was very frustrated. After several attempts I met one of the CSR and can I say what a breath of fresh air he was and is. It is nice to meet someone who has your concerns on his mind when he approaches you and the way he handles matters is the way any company owner appreciates. He has been above the call of duty every time he handles my concerns. I must say my hand goes out to him and would shake his hand any time he is the room and give a smile and acknowledge him with the same respect he gives to me as a business owner running a company smoother thanks to his help and encouragement. As a business owner we are challenged every day and with the daily grind you feel at times lost and alone. After meeting him and having a person in your corner with you striving to ensure you have little challenges is beyond a relief it is a dream instead of a nightmare. Thanks for being part of LEW and making me feel like I have support instead of pressure!

Pros:

Inventory Tracking is the biggest thing. Easy of use with Sales Order and Purchase Orders. It sends my accounting info to Quickbooks automatically at the end of the day.

Cons:

Set up was a little time consuming. It took some effort to get everything in properly and just adapting to the new software functionality.