Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.1 /5

About M-Files

Powerful content management software that enables you to easily organize and manage all of your documents and information.

Learn more about M-Files

Showing 183 reviews

David G.
IT Project Manager
Investment Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"One Place for All Document Types"

Comments: M-files was a great tool to create one common space for us to store, share, and retrieve documents and digital assets online. Workflow are next, but we're still securing more funding given the new pricing model.

Pros: Our office being limited with space has decided to keep tidy and lean by going digital. We tried M-files because it has good reviews, good recommendations from industry partners, and it has been receiving awards as well. So far, so good. After manual scanning, we upload our files into the M-files vault and everything is securely stored and easily accessible in one place. Searching for the file you need is easy because M-Files makes searching via metadata, and also not by location logic, but by what the document you're looking for is. Workflows is another reason we took M-Files in. We played around with it and it really is easy to create workflows via the graphical logic setup screen. Even the non-technical staff understands how the design works because it is pretty intuitive and straight-forward.

Cons: M-Files has changed its delivery and pricing model. We have a perpetual license for 2018, but it turns out we need to upgrade into the subscription model for M-Files 2019 in order to continue receiving the updates, upgrades, and customer support. Since we have not yet upgraded, we are put on hold in terms of implementing our digital workflows. Now we're just waiting for the next budget season and release to upgrade.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 1/05/2019

Hi David,
Thank you for sharing about your experiences using M-Files with others on Capterra. It is rewarding to hear that M-Files has helped your business with its digital transformation and that you are realizing improvements in the way that your staff store, share, and retrieve documents and digital assets online.

I am confident that when you are ready to upgrade to M-Files Online that your company will see the value in having immediate access to product improvements and new capabilities.

Please feel free to reach out or visit our customer portal should you have any questions or if we can be of assistance to you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Tore svenning F.
Senior Consultan
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017

"Easy to learn, understand and to use. I allways find what I'm looking for"

Comments: LinkedIn

Pros: I allways find what I'm looking for when I search in M-Files, but alsow when I go to views that is build by administrators or myselves.

Cons: I could have been integrated bether with SharePoint, but I have heard that this is coming :-)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017
Jennifer S.
Digital Marketing Coordinator, Graphic Designer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/12/2019

"Extraordinary product with hundreds of benefits"

Comments: Overall I would say it’s really beneficial software for creating a specific place for all types of documents.

Pros: Writing about pros I would say it enables me to drag and drop out files according to my wish and desire without any worries of managing data. Apart from I really prefer it because it helps me to automate all my workflow according to the working criteria.

Cons: I am fond of using this auspicious product. It has brought a lot of convenience to me. Honestly speaking there is not any single drawback that I have to mention here.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 6/01/2020

Hello Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so excited to see that your experience with M-Files has been positive. We appreciate you and your business. Have a great day!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/12/2019
Anthony B.
Support Manager
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017

"Most easy to use EDMS which ticks ALL the boxes"

Comments: Searching for documents or hand written notes. Documents prepared by others and missing emails sent by staff.
All a thing of the past.
Its all in M-Files, found in a third of a second, and available on tablet, phone and desktop.
We use nothing else for any document we prepare. Hand written notes from meetings are scanned in on the photocopier and sent straight to M-Files.
When you need them again, search on the company and, bang, fresh as a daisy.
My guys need standards documents in the field, lookup on the phone and they have it. No calls back to the office taking up the time of 2 or 3 staff members reading things out.
They can also edit and add photos as they go.
Could not recommend M-Files more highly.
Old file systems and window search is dead, bid them good bye and join us in the future.

Pros: Ease of use
Ease of Install
Availability of data and documents

Cons: Search for trailing substring characters.
ie if I'm looking for a serial number that ends or contains 1234 there isn't a search option.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 25/04/2017

Anthony, thanks for the positive feedback and we are so glad to hear that your company is enjoying efficiency gains in a number of areas using M-Files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017
Steen M.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017

"Tremendous value from using M-Files"

Comments: Solution Management is a software reselling company. We use M-Files to manage documents and as our CRM system managing the full sales cycle with lead generation, opportunity management and communication with customers, contract management, all our projects, internal HR and finance management. Before M-Files we used traditional folders and Dropbox, but we suffered from not being able to find the correct versions of documents and made a lot of double work when making proposals, contracts etc. With M-Files we believe we have increased the value of our company by having all information assembled one place, using standard workflows for all processes including opportunity management, making proposals and contracts using templates and in general just being on top of all information in our company. M-Files gives really good value in terms of accessibility of information, security, functionality. If there is functionality you want different to what M-Files offer, you can in a controlled way develop scripts and applications giving you exactly what you want. We have used M-Files in 5 years, and it has never been unavailable. Top class simply.

Pros: Functionality
Stability
Price
Support
Ease of use

Cons: Cannot come up with something

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017
Di P.
Managing Director
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017

"Ajendico Pty Ltd"

Comments: Took us a while to get the structure right and understand our choices but we had good training from our dealer. Once we got that right and locked out users so they could use the data but not update it and we controlled who could update and made sure they had appropriate training, it grew dramatically and is used heaps in our office

Pros: I like the fact that we know where everything is in our office

Cons: If you sold this to a site that is not disciplined at loading files, you could still get in a mess so it's the type of product that you need to play around with before going live to get the design right

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017
Verified Reviewer
Contract engineer
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2019

"Seamless document management"

Comments: Different users can easily work on the same file and the last file they have is easily found. Provides much more convenient documentation management

Pros: An application that helps a lot in document management. It allows you to easily find out which user uploaded the document to the system, for what purpose, and the last saved version.

Cons: A good quality documentation but sometimes easier to find the necessary documents. Getting a file is difficult if not well defined

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 6/01/2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are pleased to hear that you find M-Files valuable! We sincerely appreciate you and your business!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2019
Becky R.
Hospitality
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017

"A different way of thinking..."

Comments: M-files was certainly a foreign way of thinking about our file management. However, once adopted it has transformed how our company thinks about WHAT is being saved and moved from place to place.

Pros: It's approachable and it works as an Add-In with other Microsoft products.

Cons: It is a little expensive for small businesses. It has so many features that we are not using because we don't have a designated IT person on staff to help to understand them all and put them into practice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017
Ari B.
VP Sales & Marketing
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020

"Useful but complex"

Comments: Data repository and automating some business processes

Pros: Data repository. Mobile application is good. Automates some business processes and leaves all documentation in store.

Cons: Typical for some IT-solutions: "almost anything can be done with M-Files". Takes away focus of what problem exactly is solved with M-files. User interface is complex.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 26/03/2020

Hello Ari,
Thank you for completing the survey!
We are happy to hear that you are finding value in the data repository and our mobile application.
Would you be interested in discussing your M-Files experience with me?
If so, please find my contact information below - I look forward to having a discussion with you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020
Fernando B.
IT Manager
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017

"Changes everything!"

Comments: M-Files continues to become more valuable for our agency every day. Starting with one department at a time, we've realized many benefits of implementing workflows and classifying documents. The scalability of the software allows for great flexibility. If you can think it, M-Files can do it.

Pros: Scalability, ease of use.

Cons: Can be expensive to implement

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017
Nuno L.
Senior Document Management Specialist
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2017

"It's the best DMS I ever worked!"

Pros: The fact that it's not only a common DMS but we can develop businesses processes with electronic documents and all the workflows, notifications and views features.

Cons: Nothing to declare. I really like to work with the software. It would be a good idea to have a UK 24hours support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2017
Verified Reviewer
marketing specialist
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019

"easy storage and file sharing!"

Pros: this software makes it very easy to share data

Cons: forms cannot be customized and for this reason you feel as if you are not so cared

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 10/09/2019

Thank you for your very valuable review of M-Files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019
Adnan O.
ITS Consultant
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018

"What I was looking for for decades as proffesional"

Comments: "Painless spine transplatation" for majority of companies. Regardless of how they existing ecosystem.

Pros: Ease of use, minimum invasion of existing systems <> easy integration, vesatility.
Paradigm shift from Where to What.
Robustnes once configured.

Cons: Lack of companies who can deliver full potential of this great piece of platform.
Not well known among proffesionals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sales Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/05/2019

"One of the best tools for document organization"

Pros: Organizing the documents by tags and searching are made so easy with M Files. It is also possible to create documents with fixed templates via M Files, all connected to CRM softwares.

Cons: It can be difficult to learn in the beginning.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 2/05/2019

Thank you for the positive review of M-Files Intelligent Information Management and for sharing about your experience with Capterra visitors.

Please contact us should you have any questions or visit our Client Portal for the latest information on new features, guides and peer support.
https://www.m-files.com/en/customer-portal

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/05/2019
Randy Q.
Software Engineer
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2019

"Professional content management platform"

Comments: Now it is a useful product. The document engine of this certain application helps a lot in searching documents as well I can easily find keywords, names etc through it with more ease.

Pros: This application helps in all these functions and much more by its high quality features that are superb easy to handle as well. It provides us a completely well developed and organized platform for content management.

Cons: I have positive experience with M-files. It not also let us manage all the contents but also provides effective services.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 10/09/2019

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to complete this review. If you would like to discuss your experience a bit more, please do not hesitate in contacting me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2019
Davis B.
SQL Developer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2017

"Great Support! Installation was a breeze."

Comments: Document Managment

Pros: We attempted to use a competitor (Square9) and after months of issue after issue and broken promises we made the switch. MFiles has a great user interface especially for MFiles Admin (setting up document classes and metadata fields) and the web access is seamless.

Cons: It was a little pricey and we don't have it fully implemented but we have already seen operational efficiency go up dramatically in our processing department alone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2017
Enrique M.
Manager of Salesforce and Metrics
Airlines/Aviation, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017

"Flexjet / M-Files"

Comments: Working with M-files has been very difficult. Their process is very slow. As a company we like to work fast and M-files has 10 steps of evalution versus just fixing the issue. The idea of resolving the issue is sending us articles for us to fix our issues. I really like the overall product but I am concerned when something breaks because it takes forever.

Pros: The functionality of being able to store and find files is great for the price.

Cons: Support and address issues is painful. Support is more about trying to find how the user created the problem than trying to address the problem. Support just needs to move faster.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 25/04/2017

Thank you for your feedback about our Customer Support team. While we do need to pinpoint root causes when troubleshooting, we will look for ways to expedite a solution more quickly. We have also passed along your comments highlighting a need for better Salesforce Connector expertise to our team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017
Verified Reviewer
Project Manager
Translation & Localisation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"Keeping up with all the files is now easy"

Pros: This software is great! I've been using it for some time now and have had only positive impressions. Loving the version control the most. This is a life saver especially for my line of work where I am having tens of emails daily containing file which are going back and forth for updates and whatnot.

Cons: I haven't found any cons about this software so far and I am glad I haven't.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 25/10/2018

Thank you for sharing about your experience with M-Files! We are so glad to hear that our version control features are helping you to keep track of files in a use case that demands precision and collaboration. I can see how a translation and localization business such yours would benefit greatly from this feature as well as from our workflow capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Hasan Y.
Mechanical engineer
Automotive, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2019

"Not very good memory software"

Pros: It is very easy to send files to another users

Cons: User interface is vey bad. It is very difficult to find required files

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 11/09/2019

Hello Hasan, thank you for letting us know that you find value with M-Files by easily sending and receiving files from other users. We would like an opportunity to discuss your experience with you around some of your other feedback provided. I have included my contact information, if you would like to speak with me personally. If so, please contact me at your earliest convenience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2019
Randy R.
Founder
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"Support is always very frustrating!"

Comments: I only call them a couple of times per year for support. But, every time I do I find tremendous resistance to help out. So, if you’re looking for excellent support, don’t buy M-Files!

Pros: The program works well and helps our office to stay organized. We can quickly and easily find documents.

Cons: But, support is always very frustrating, because they have a million rules of what they can or can’t do. The attitude is never – how can I help you?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Yossi G.
Head of Operations
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017

"Extremely satisfied"

Comments: About 3 years ago we realized that we must deal with our file situation. After searching for all this time we finally found the perfect solution.
We are in the auto body repair line. Throughout a repair process files must get accessed by several different individuals at once.
M-Files works for us because not only does it function as a digital filing solution. We are able to customize it to use for management as well.

Pros: Very customizable.
Easy to navigate and learn
Was able to make it work as management solution as well

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2017
Matthew L.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017

"the biggest bang for the buck"

Comments: Easy user intuitive interface that allows for dynamic and complex workflow processes. The ease of the install and how fast we were up and using it was amazing. Very little training needed for basic use of the software.

Pros: I like the direct windows integration

Cons: The granular security settings took some getting used to

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017
Ercan S.
R&D engineer
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019

"Challange on interface"

Comments: We are using this program for sharing our photos, document internally.

Pros: It is very useful and needed agains computer memory troubles.

Cons: The interface of program is so complicated. Sharing and putting adress to the files are too difficult. It should be easier to use. If there must be some clear button for copy - paste - share , it would be much better and we gonna use the program more frequently.

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 11/09/2019

Hello Ercam, we appreciate you taking the time to complete this review of M-Files. I would like an opportunity to discuss your experience a bit more with you. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019
Laila R.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017

"Good Good!!!"

Comments: customer service agent is amazing support! Very knowledgeable. I just don't give all 5 stars because I have been having issue with Sales support. But it is being taking cared of.

Pros: Flexibility

Cons: Not having a capture process with automation

Vendor Response

by M-Files on 25/04/2017

Laila, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad you would recommend M-Files so highly and we agree that Chris is awesome! We have also shared your feedback with the sales team and aim to provide the best sales and support possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2017