Cherwell Reviews

by Cherwell Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Cherwell

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell

Showing 25 reviews of 153

Robin J.
Application Support and Development
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2016

"Best ITSSM Platform - Indespensible in Delivering Our Services"

Comments: Cherwell implements 11 ITIL process out-of-the-box which helped an immature organization like ours start practicing ITIL. It's automation capabilities are vast and robust. The single best part of this product is its philosophy. It is completely customizable to fit your organization's needs and if Cherwell doesn't do something another tool does or you want to continue to use that tool, Cherwell integrates with many tools natively, through merge application functionality, and lastly through general customization. Simply put, if you can dream it, Cherwell does it...and if it doesn't, it will integrate with something that does.

Pros: Everything! It is customizable to fit my organization's needs. I happen to be a programmer, but I don't need to be to develop and configure Cherwell. It implements robust and customizable frameworks that allow you to use it as you need to. Cherwell doesn't dictate ITSSM, it's your partner in it.

Cons: The customizability allows unwary or naive implementors, developers, or Cherwell Admins to make changes that ultimately reduce the awesomeness of the product. The biggest area of this is in implementing business processes. Before making changes, consider whether you business process is as effective as it should be, rather than making the product implement a poor-performing process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/10/2016
Derek S.
Manager - Enterprise Operations Center
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Total Cost of Ownership is the best in the industry"

Comments: We had several systems at our company of the last few years. We have 20,000 users and over 400 locations spread throughout the world. We have used Lotus Notes, Heat, IBM Smart Cloud Control Desk. We went through major consolidation efforts for tools, people and processes. We are in the middle of a massive IT Transformation. We evaluated ServiceNow and Cherwell very closely with test instances in our organization. From easy of setup, use and administration Cherwell blew away ServiceNow. Continual Professional Services are costs not usually highlighted in initial sales meetings. With Cherwell, we are able to significantly decrease our 3rd party Professional Services costs. The licensing costs are much less expensive. With ServiceNow, you have to pay for modules as your organization matures and finds value in these new features. This is not the case with Cherwell. From easy of use, functionality to customer support and costs, there was not comparison. Cherwell blew away the competition and continues to do so.

Pros: Easy of use and intuitive nature.

Cons: Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Niru N.
client support analyst
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2019

"CRM Software used for Helpdesk"

Comments: Overall, cherwell has allowed our team to collaborate on many levels across the organization. We can create,track, monitor and assign problematic cases that come to our helpdesk from clients so we can best assist them and find a resolution.

Pros: I like how cherwell provides a database of all our incidents created from agents at the helpdesk. This allows us to collaborate and best assist our client with issues that arise. Cherwell service management allows admins to customize dashboards and ticket templates to best cater to the orgainzations needs.

Cons: Fairly easy to use interface, its straight forward however sometimes we experience issues with slowness of lagging. The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2019
Olivier V.
Customer Support Director
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"A cost-savvy tool that you can do anything with (except coffee)"

Comments: We needed a new ITSM tool that could do almost everything out-of-the-box, that was customizable, that allowed us to automate most of our regular processes and that didn't cost too much. After comparing most existing tools, Cherwell was the only one that filled our criteria. All of them. Anything you want to do with it can be implemented within days, even hours.

Pros: It can do anything, it is very customizable, it has an out-of-the-box fully working self-service portal, and my users love it!

Cons: The web interface could get some more love. Currently it's a web view of the hard client view, whereas I'd like it to use more of what web browsers and languages can currently offer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Picaso T.
Software Engineer
Wholesale, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2017

"A lot of features and functionality, plus easy to configure."

Comments: I was involved in the selection process, we met with CA, ServiceNow, Landesk, and two others. Cherwell hands down was the best we viewed because of what you get out of the box, the ability to make tweaks, those tweaks do not get in the way of upgrades, upgrades are rather easy and painless, they have other functionality that will bolt on to the tool by simply importing a file, it is offered at a fairly affordable price although I think all vendors quotes we received were expensive in my book but what can you do, in this case Cherwell was lower than others, and unlike some their licensing model is a blessing.

Pros: That it is fairly easy to configure. The administration course contained a lot of information but once you start to play with it and build things out its sort of like riding a bike for the first time, well maybe more like flying a plane for the first time.

Cons: The overall look of the ticking window, very busy, a bit confusing for new users to figure out exactly what to fill in and where to go next on the page. Different sections, different font sizes, the colors, etc. make a bit difficult to navigate around. Again, you learn it over time, but if it's your first time using it, or with our IT staff some people rarely use it, this can make it difficult to know where to navigate. We are still in the testing/learning phase and about to go live, it will be interesting to see if our system administrators continue to develop and enhance the system over time, which the should do because in the week long administration class we saw first hand how powerful this tool can be, or will they just leave it as is which is a rather simplistic go-live model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Benefits Specialist
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2018

"Ability to customize but not always in an optimal way"

Comments: A consistent and streamlined presentation of employee service responses across multiple departments in our organization.

Pros: Organizes and streamlines our employee service responses across multiple HR departments. Reporting features are helpful.

Cons: We haven't always been able to customize optimally to reduce administrative burden. There are certain "statuses" we'd like to add that have been a challenge up to now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2018
Chris G.
Cherwell Product Manager
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Excellent Product, Excellent Company"

Comments: Cherwell is a great company to work with, they are responsive and never leave you hanging. The product is very flexible, we went from a NO organization to a YES organization. When we have requests for functionality we can meet our customers needs using Cherwell. The code-less platform is a great way to customize the program and not hamper our ability to upgrade to the latest version.

Pros: flexible, easy to upgrade, complete vendor support

Cons: After version 7, the theme colors were removed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Shantanu R.
Technical
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018

"Amazing software"

Pros: It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons: Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Sean F.
Infrastructure Architect
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2017

"Used for tracking our incident, service request and change management"

Comments: Able to quickly create new incidents, service requests or change requests that can then be sent to the right people for action or approval.

Pros: Looks to be very flexible, I'm a user rather than setting it up but the forms look like they are very easy to set up and you can pretty much do whatever you need as part of getting the right information for the ticket being logged.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2017
Igor J.
Cloud Lab Administrator
Media Production, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2018

"Proven system for years."

Pros: Cherwell Service Management is a very good system and I can recommend it to other companies. I like auto-creating tickets and inventory.

Cons: The system is very difficult to use, requires a qualified administrator, preferably with many years of experience. The implementation is also very difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Analyst
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2018

"Easy to use, limited in scope."

Pros: The Cherwell Software seems to be reliable and easy to use. We were having difficulty getting user acceptance for it but once we initiated a "re-branding" of its look and feel users started to really take to it. Additionally the email integration works quite well.

Cons: The initial look-and-feel held back user acceptance. The site is often slow and seems to be missing some basic features, that will probably get added in newer versions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/02/2018
Samuel P.
Solutions Developer
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Great Company to work with"

Comments: The people assigned to our implementation have worked very closely with us, been very attentive to our needs, and worked very hard to meet those needs. We've had challenges as every large scale implementation does, but they've worked with us to solve those problems every step of the way.

Pros: Easy to use. super easy, but loaded with functionality.

Cons: The learning curve for an administrator requires a lot of effort, but not bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Walter F.
Director of Operations
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"A tool to make your Organization grow"

Comments: This tool will allow you to focus on your key objective of you business, as it allows for process flows and management, which would usually take many productive hours. A suggestion is to make sure you have a plan in place and goals to measure delivery.

Pros: Versatility and customizability

Cons: Look and feel - needs to be more up to date and the Knowledge base needs categorization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Verified Reviewer
Automation Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019

"Great Service"

Pros: Issues that are raised are addressed very quickly.

Cons: The hosted solution has had some performance issues. We expect this to not be an issue when moved to AWS

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/10/2019
Michael G.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2018

"Lacking Service Platform"

Comments: None - honestly am disappointed with this program.

Pros: The dashboards are pretty neat looking. When it works it can be very smooth and doesn't appear to be "hard" on the machine.

Cons: I wanted to like this product, but unfortunately there are simply much better products out there.
- Static windows means you are constantly adjusting your screen when you open tickets (what is this - '98?)
- Not as user friendly as you'd expect
- "Cherwell Writer" for creating custom reports (metrics, etc) is extremely complex

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2018
Marisa B.
Associate Vice President
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Excellent implementation and no developers required"

Comments: Easy experience with implementation, using both Cherwell and third-party professional services. Their no-coding platform really doesn't require coding (!) and the billing model for concurrent use is what really sealed the deal.

Pros: Functionality without programming languages; billing model; ease of implementation with SaaS model

Cons: Desktop client should not be more functional than a browser client.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Marc H.
Help desk
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Great software easy to learn and develop"

Comments: I don't have much of a coding background but Cherwell is super easy to learn and I recommend it to anyone looking for a ticketing solution

Pros: Easy of use

Cons: Blueprints and only one person can work on one part at a time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Eric G.
IT Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Best ITSM plstform on the marketq"

Comments: Out of the box it covered the vast majority of the ITSM items we needed. easy to use and configure. We haven't found anything that we cant do with Cherwell.

Pros: the ease of use

Cons: n/a

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Jimmy G.
Service Desk Manager
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Government Organization with New Implementation"

Comments: The product gives us all we need and several other things that we never knew we needed and even a few things we could never even imagine. The platform is very flexable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Michele H.
Care Center Analyst III
Wholesale, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2017

"New user. Entering knowledge articles."

Comments: The ability to truly use the software to ITIL standards. With the old software we had to do a number of different steps to record everything for reporting purposes.

Pros: The ease of entering the articles. The flow to publish the articles makes sense. Very user friendly as far as the ability to configure the system.

Cons: I still have not figured out how to do more advanced searches in knowledge. My current system allows me to search by category and I have to find that type of search in Cherwell.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/06/2017
Meagan M.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"I don't code, I Cherwell!"

Comments: This software has sent us light years from where we were before implementation with the stars to reach for. I truly feel empowered to drive efforts toward the future and am so thankful for the wonderful staff and fantastic fellow customers!

Pros: Easily customizable by a non programmer!

Cons: Reporting is a bit cumbersome.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Chuck Y.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Simple Solution for ITSM and Beyond"

Comments: Cherwell has streamlined our Service Desk operations. Requests are getting to the right people faster and with higher accuracy. It is simple to set-up and easy on the end-users. Plus, it really can be an Enterprise Service Management Solution

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Scott S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Cherwell - a great platform for our ITSM application"

Comments: Very good demo, entire staff very friendly and knowledgeable - 3rd party folks as well. Lots of assistance with helping us get to where we can develop and support on our own.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Heidi S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Looking firward to many years of using cherwell"

Comments: Amazing user friendly and great flow. Looking forward to being admin if the tool. Great that it is o e stop shop

Pros: Ease of use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Verified Reviewer
DBA
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020

"Excellent help desk product"

Comments: I've been working with Cherwell for 4 years. The product is extremely stable and safe. Through personalized screens it is possible to have a complete view of the activities that are being requested by priority, demand and responsible.
To search for an extended call, the tool has quick and well-designed consultation screens.
I also manage the process changes using the tool.

Pros: The ability to create customized panels with all the demands that are being requested, filtering by responsible analyst.

Cons: When we have a large number of queries on personalized screens the product loses a lot of performance. Creating micro-slowness. Even in the transition of their product. This could definitely be better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020