Cherwell Service Management Reviews

by Cherwell Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Cherwell Service Management

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell Service Management

Showing 154 reviews

Verified Reviewer
DBA
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020

"Excellent help desk product"

Comments: I've been working with Cherwell for 4 years. The product is extremely stable and safe. Through personalized screens it is possible to have a complete view of the activities that are being requested by priority, demand and responsible.
To search for an extended call, the tool has quick and well-designed consultation screens.
I also manage the process changes using the tool.

Pros: The ability to create customized panels with all the demands that are being requested, filtering by responsible analyst.

Cons: When we have a large number of queries on personalized screens the product loses a lot of performance. Creating micro-slowness. Even in the transition of their product. This could definitely be better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020
Denise W.
Technical Publications Support Specialist / PetroWiki Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"I used Cherwell as a client is enjoyed it"

Pros: Cherwell is easy to use and set up. Creating multiple threads for multiple projects is a plus. Its easy with adding or removing participants to the threads.

Cons: Cherwell has no real cons in its software or platform. I have had no issues that I can report. Its just a great software and I enjoy using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Delcia M.
Senior Technical Analyst
Translation & Localisation, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Once you go Codeless you'll never go back"

Comments: Cherwell has allowed our I.T. to really mature our IT and Business processes. We have made huge gains in providing our I.T. department with dashboards that provide real-time information. We no longer spend hours gathering reporting information. With Search Manager and Report Manager, you'll wonder how you ever did with out these. They are huge time savers and the best part of working within Cherwell Service Management is that you don't have to rely on Vendor support or Developers to re-customize and configure. It's all at your fingertips. Cherwell has certainly made our lives easier. We are looking forward to future gains that can be made with this super great ITSM tool.

Pros: It's codeless and super friendly

Cons: I don't have any cons at this point

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
John K.
Technology Operations Manager
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Excellent Service Management Software"

Comments: Cherwell is an excellent service management platform and can be used for just about anything you want to track and record. My organization started using it for ITSM and has expanded to volunteer management, project management and time tracking. The tool takes time to learn but after you understand the principles almost anything is possible.

Pros: The flexibility it provides, excellent customer service, ability to share mApps with others.

Cons: Takes some time using the software to become proficient at making modifications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Keth E.
Software Engineer
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/06/2017

"A lot of flexibility & functionality when compared to other top players in this realm."

Comments: We are still in the learning process of all the benefits and about to roll it out and go-live.

Pros: Ability to make changes to forms is very easy. We can also created and adjust workflow pertaining to incident/problem tickets as well as change tickets, which can all be done without having to recycle services during the off-hours. Such changes to the code are captured in snapshots which can then be easily restored if we discovered something we changed isn't working correctly. ITIL is also built into the tool and yet it can be tweaked to meet our needs. Likewise, dynamic reporting capabilities without having to go to an 3rd party bolt-on vendor. I'll also add that configuration item comes with the product, something we have desired for a long time in order to increase productivity and reduce outages related to our weekly Change Meetings.

Cons: Not too much I don't like. I guess learning the administration portion was a bit overwhelming at first, a lot a material to try to grasp and then apply when those situations arise that require us to dig thru the old memory banks on how to go about accomplishing what is needed. HOWEVER, I'm sure all Service Mgmt. tools are like this, in fact the tool we left was so overwhelming that most of our work had to be contracted out which made it hard to support later down the road.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/06/2017
Neil A.
Head of Enterprise Service Management
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Deployment in large global FMCG"

Comments: Started implementing in early 2016 for multiple business service units HR, Finance and IT finance and IT and now live for all. Approximately 3500 resolvers and agents (including third party outsourcers) and a user base of 50,000 internal consumers.

Pros: Flexibility for all needs
Features
Cloud Based
Licensing model (concurrent resolvers)
Serves HR and Finance as well as IT
Covers our global needs

Cons: Professional services arm is less developed and less experienced in project management
Language translations model proved troublesome for our requirements of many languages

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Jason H.
IT Manager
Environmental Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Easy to use and easy to be productive"

Comments: I find the software tool is so robust and easy to customize. Out of the box is great, but there is so much more magic you can do to make your team productive.

Pros: Ease of use and ability to customize everything

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Zsolt P.
IT service manager
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"To the future with Cherwell"

Comments: We have implenented Cherwell 3 years ago, that was the 4.30 version. We have made a lot of customization and now we have 8.2.1 version there were any big problems with the upgrade, this is what other softwares can't do :)

Pros: Flexibility
Customable

Cons: Need better portal features like web2.0

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Jason J.
ITSM Spec.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Cherwell Review"

Comments: Great Customer Service. Would like to see a responsive web portal. But overall software ease is nice. and Great tool for our organization.

Pros: ease of use and great customer service

Cons: Responsive Portal an easier to migrate UI from older versions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Chris C.
ITSM Analyst
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Customer focused software"

Comments: Cherwell as a platform is fully customizable and almost limitless in what it can achieve. Cherwell as a company is a user focused support network made up of great employees and a community of peers who are always willing to help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
M S.
Service Director
Environmental Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Most flexible"

Comments: Our ERP of IT and moving beyond IT. Many simple out if the box features or easily create your own with basic knowledge.

Pros: Easy and powerful

Cons: Documentation, though they are wirking hard to enhance

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Peter O.
Lead Cherwell System Admin
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Cherwell software"

Comments: Overall the software is very flexible. I really enjoy the web service integration. I was able to get dell warranty data from the dell web service and populate CMDB

Pros: Flexibility

Cons: Support for SaaS customers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Austin G.
Senior Infrastructure Administrator
Accounting, 501-1,000 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Great value for the price"

Pros: This product contains the same features as many ITSM tools on the market but at a fraction of the cost. Their concurrent licensing model makes it easy to afford a solution that includes complete ITIL-aligned workflows and templates (out-of-the-box), a self-service portal and the ability to run Powershell commands within custom workflows. Available in both SaaS and On-prem flavors, this tool will meet anyone's needs without breaking the bank.

Cons: The UI is somewhat dated but still functional. Their web-based console (for technicians) has about 90% the functionality of the thick client.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Tester
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2017

"An impressivly smooth operating system."

Pros: The ability to customerise this software to your own business needs is very impressive. You can have a different dashboard (each dashboard fulfilling an entire team's needs) for multiple different teams.

Cons: Learning how to assign functions to widgits and modify/place them was quite awkward due to the vast array of available functions that can be amended on this system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2017
Houston G.
developer
Building Materials, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/10/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: Great

Pros: Very customizable. I like the freedom. So many options.

Cons: Hard to get intouch with customer support and hard to get someone to solve our issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Sr. Forecasting Analyst
Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"Cherwell is a solid technical support software suit"

Pros: Cherwell is very through and can support many types of help tickets for all types of support events. I specifically like the ability to past in screen shots from clients and the ability to rout the ticket to a specific person or team for support. It is easy to search for tickets and keep your support organized.

Cons: The dashboard can look busy and is difficult for newer users to navigate. Training is necessary for new users as there is a bit of a learning curve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Daniela M.
Change Analyst
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Super flexible!"

Comments: Cherwell has the capability to be used in a variety of ways and is easily customized. It has tremendous flexibility.

Pros: How easily it is customized.

Cons: You can go down a rabbit hole customizing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Christina F.
IT Services Transition and IT Operations Lead
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"You can implement fast, but should you."

Comments: We were challenged with implementing Cherwell very quickly before our last ITSM tool contract expired. We had 8 weeks to implement incident, problem and change. We were able to do this, but it did not give us the time to build out the tool the way we would have liked before rolling it out. We spent a lot of time finding bugs as our users were in the tool. We are learning together, but the differences between the client and the browser has caused several implementation setbacks and even caused some lost of trust with our IT team members.

Pros: You do not need a heavy development background to help build onesteps and forms.

Cons: Client and browser do not match in function

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Sandy A.
Lead Tech
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Great Support for Smaller Orgs"

Comments: We recently implemented Cherwell. We love the product and the support has been wonderful. Setting up can be complicated but their training is above others. Their staff has been great. Only downside I think is you can't get the rich client native on Mac OS.

Pros: Support / Cost / flexibility / API integrations

Cons: Not fully multi- / cross-platform

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Kyle K.
Computer Systems Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"CGC16 Review"

Comments: Software has been excellent for our university. We recently finished the implementation and went live before the start of the school semester. It was an easy transition as we had been previously using a frontrange product which had a lot of similar features. We are a few months in now and we feel like we're just scratching the surface of of the software! Being new to the software this is also my first Cherwell conference and it is well beyond expectation. It is an extremely positive environment that and everyone is very friendly. I look forward to coming back and working more with the software!

Pros: I like how versatile and adaptable the software is to your needs

Cons: I haven't found anything to complain about. There are multiple ways to accomplish your goals so the power is really in your hands.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Mark T.
Senior Programmer
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Great Transition"

Comments: Currently implementing Cherwell, coming from a BMC solution. As the Cherwell Administrator, I found the the admin client a little different to navigate at first. However, once I became comfortable in the tool, I was very pleased in the actual ease of use and the power of it. I am able to do things in Cherwell that I never could in our previous solution. I look forward to unlocking even more of its capabilities.

Pros: It is easy to maintain and to configure functionality.

Cons: I am not a big fan of the blueprints. Currently we would only have a single admin working at a time but the idea of stepping on toes and overwriting someone's work worries me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Wade W.
ITS Operations Performance Manager
Airlines/Aviation, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Awesome product"

Comments: Codeless technology is exceptional. Upgrades are very cost effective because they dont break things.

Pros: Codeless technology.

Cons: User Interface

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Jon S.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016

"Cherwell Rocks"

Comments: Cherwell helped with automating a lot of our operations which helped save our corporation time and money.

Pros: Cherwell has unlimited possibilities.

Cons: None

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/10/2016
Heather H.
Service Desk Coordinator
Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"Lovin' Cherwell Service Management!"

Comments: Vetting the application we saw an incredible application that would serve our current needs as well as allow for ample growth for our IT Operations as well as HR and possibly other departments within our company.

Pros: The functionality and the capabilities. The automation continues to amaze me with the possibilities!

Cons: My learning curve as a new admin is a bit daunting, but glad to have access to user groups and forums.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Susan L.
Assistant Directore, IT Support Services
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016

"New Cherwell Customer"

Comments: We just made the decision to implement Cherwell Service Management to replace our existing system. Throughout the RFP process, they were the leading vendor. They have the functionality and flexibility we need, but most importantly, their sales, engineering, and support teams are very customer focused and honest.

Pros: Distributed administration, multiple integrated service catalogs, mergable Apps, great Customer Service!

Cons: Nothing to see here!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/10/2016