15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

SAP Business One Reviews

About SAP Business One

Increase control over your small or midsize business with SAP Business one - a software designed to grow with you.

Learn more about SAP Business One

Pros:

SAP Business One's interface was easy to use and intuitive. It was simple to use and understand, and it provided me with quick and easy access to the data and reports I required for my business.

Cons:

Can be extremely difficult. Searching for a particular report or document may need several steps and be too involved for straightforward reporting.

SAP Business One ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SAP Business One has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 306 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SAP Business One before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (306)

Rami
Rami
Internal Auditor in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Great fully integrated Enterprise Resource Planning System

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am totally happy with this software because it's customizable to fit our business processes.

Pros:

I am a huge fan of SAP Business One, As a Internal Auditor what I need first is all reports and transactions has been made to check and make sure the business is on track and SAP Business One helped me a lot with reporting feature. And how this software amazingly is fully integrated, When the accountant create a new customer name or add a new item the customer or item appears in all modules, And the feature of Non-Duplicate data which secure master-data from any duplicated entry.

Cons:

SAP Business One is working just great with our business and I didn't face and issue or weak point when I'm using it.

Audrey
Audrey
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SAP business one simplifies organization management

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: SAP in the workplace helps us to organize our files and reduce the amount of paper we use. We are able to successfully plan for the future of our company by using information from our sap business software. Our efficiency has increased because to Sap's business features.

Pros:

The reporting tools in SAP Business One are fantastic, and I highly recommend them. I am able to create reports on a wide range of subjects, which has really aided my performance monitoring and decision-making. Sap business one has made it much simpler for us to run our company. Assist us in keeping track of our stock and making sure we don't waste money on unneeded expenses.

Cons:

The Human Resources Management subfield is a little corner of the business world. There is less emphasis on production planning when compared to SAP's All-in-One Software. In addition, accessibility via mobile devices presents a number of difficulties.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall my experience has been good but I would expect much more from this software

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I usually use the bank management module is very friendly when creating seats and visualize movements in bank, to register suppliers or customers is great because it links the information of the RIF directly with the seniat platform so there is no error at the time of creating a new client, what I like about the system is that it is not integrated like others that have an administrative system and another accounting system that has it all in one single and at the moment of making a record they can be visualized in the reports .

Cons:

What I liked the least about this software is that it does not have the necessary support by the company that implements the system, they do not have timely answers to some questions which makes it difficult to work, on the other hand when creating seats if There was an error in the project if you let the change, however, the same thing does not happen with the distribution rule. I feel that it should not happen because it does not cause more impact, as it would be to modify the amount and / or the date of the seat.

Hanane
Freelance in Morocco
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Business Administration

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: A very wonderful experience and still like you

Pros:

Its ease of Use and comprehensive functionality , scalability, integration capabilities, customization options, reporting and analytics tools, user-friendly interface, and powerful support system make it a popular choice for companies looking to streamline operations

Cons:

From a financial point of view .It is expensive for micro companies

Joshua
Senior SAP Business One Consultant in Kenya
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

This is one of the best if not the best ERP for Small and Medium Sized Entities

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Overall, most clients who have chosen to upgrade to SAP Business One from smaller legacy app never regret the decision. As long as you work with a good SAP partner company to implement the solution well/properly, you will get full value for your money.

Pros:

- I have taken part in SAP Business One implementation of over 30 companies in various industries in my 8 years experience as a SAP Business One Consultant. I can confidently say that this is a more than sufficient ERP solution for small and medium sized entities. It has all the business areas covered in one system. Some of this business areas/modules include: finance, inventory, supply chain(sales and procurement), producing, CRM, project management etc.- One of the main strengths that SAP Business One is known for is the customization capabilities it comes with. There are numerous customization tools that helps us consultants tailor the product to a specific customer's needs. Consultants can create custom queries, crystal reports, formatted searches(FMS), approval procedures, alerts, user defined fields, user defined tables, user defined objects. controls etc. - You can easily integrate SAP Business One to other external applications to seamlessly send data between eternal applications to SAP Business One. An example of this, you can have an external app used by sales people at the field to book orders. The orders can then be pulled into SAP in the order table. This can be a good way to save money on SAP B1 license costs.

Cons:

- It is not a very affordable ERP option for most small companies. The cost of licenses and the implementation cost can be a heavy investment.

Gordon
Senior SAP Consultant in Canada
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best ERPs in the Market for Small and Medium Sized Companies

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall, I love SAP Business One and I am glad I got into this career. It's a fulfilling career to be able to help transform lives using technology.

Pros:

- I have been a SAP Consultant for over 6 years now and I have seen how the system has transformed companies for the better. SAP Business One is a fully fledged ERP system that has all the functionalities you would need in an ERP system from financial management and reporting, Accounting, inventory management, Customer Relationship Management(CRM), Production, Full Supply chain management just to name a few of the main functionalities. - One of the strongest factors about SAP Business One has to be the customization capabilities. Let me talk about Addons. If a specific customer requirement cannot be met by SAP Business One, a developer develop an addon on top of SAP Business One to provide that specific functionality. For example, there is a client we had to develop 5 addons for since their business was quite unique and abit complex. At the end of the implementation, we had met al the requirements and the client was happy.- In terms of customization, SAP Business One provides tools like, user defined tables, user defined fields, queries, crystal reports, alerts, approvals, etc to help configure a company to their own unique specifications.-

Cons:

Not many companies can afford SAP Business One in terms of the implementation cost and licensing cost. It's a huge lifetime investment so getting a client who is ready to make that switch from their legacy ERP is usually a lengthy process which involves a lot of financial considerations.

Deserie
Tax Analyst in US
Food Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent for consolidating multiple business areas/ reporting

4.0 8 months ago

Pros:

During the closing period, consolidating various business area reports into a single system significantly simplifies the process and reduces the likelihood of errors.

Cons:

Getting accustomed to all the navigation and features proved to be a learning curve. However, I'm uncertain if it's specific to our company's setup, but I find that the system logs me out quite quickly, necessitating multiple logins throughout the day when I use it.

Maddie
Maddie
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An easy to use, small ERP for most enterprises

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Everything in one convenient location. It is not difficult to find items if you have a clear idea of what you are looking for. Strong controls throughout the organization. The management and running of the business, the variety of services it provides, and its compatibility with other software all come into play here.

Pros:

SAP Business One is a very comprehensive piece of management software. It integrates everything in real time, from customer relationship management to after-sales care, as well as accounting and project management. The potential for B.I. on board are also quite fascinating to consider. A sturdy and dependable instrument.

Cons:

It is possible for there to be an excessive amount of complexity; locating a particular report or document may require a number of steps, and the level of detail may be excessive for straightforward reporting.

Maddie
Maddie
Game Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great ERP solution for our company

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: In the realm of enterprise resource planning (ERP), SAP Business One stands out as a preferred option for smaller and medium-sized enterprises. SAP Business One is an excellent option for companies for several reasons.

Pros:

With one of the greatest systems for in-app modification via user-defined fields, this tiny program covers everything from purchasing to inventory to production to sales to accounting support.

Cons:

Smaller companies may balk at the initial expenditure required to implement SAP Business One because of the software's high price tag.

Courtney
Courtney
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Superb and trustworthy accounting tool

4.0 last year

Comments: No other program comes close to SAP Business One in terms of functionality, such as the Standard Reports included in the software, the Query generation tool, the Relation map feature, and the customizable dashboard widgets.

Pros:

SAP Business One is a practical application. It's not hard to figure out and will help you get more done in less time. It has great facilities for handling financial transactions, which I appreciate. From the tried and true to the cutting edge, you can skip keeping a journal and instead enter your observations directly into a database.

Cons:

We were restricted by a small number of user licenses and made an effort to expand the system's functionality through the development of add-ons, but these required a long time to plan and even longer to implement across the business. The interface may also be difficult to use for certain people.

Sekou Djibril
Fondateur Président de CSK in Guinea
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SAP Business One: A powerful integrated management tool for SMEs

4.0 last year

Comments: SAP Business One is a powerful and complete integrated management software for small and medium-sized businesses. Although it can be required and complex to set up, it offers complete integration of all business functions, scalability and customization according to business needs.SAP Business One offers a wide range of functionality, including accounting, sales, purchasing, inventory, and production, allowing users to manage all of their business processes from one place. Customizable features allow businesses to configure custom reports, dashboards, and workflows to meet their specific needs.However, high costs, complexity, setup time, and reliance on external resources are drawbacks to consider before deciding if SAP Business One is right for an organization. Despite these drawbacks, SAP Business One remains a popular choice for companies looking to improve operational efficiency, productivity, and profitability. In summary, SAP Business One is a solid integrated management solution for SMBs looking to streamline their operations and achieve their business goals.

Pros:

SAP Business One is a leading integrated management software (ERP) that offers a full suite of features for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Here are some of the major benefits of SAP Business One:Complete integration: SAP Business One integrates all business functions, including accounting, sales, purchasing, inventory and production, into a single platform. This allows businesses to manage all of their business processes from one place, reducing costs and improving operational efficiency.Customizable Features: SAP Business One offers a wide range of features and can be customized to meet the specific needs of each business. Users can configure custom reports, dashboards, and workflows to meet their business needs.User friendliness: SAP Business One is easy to use and has an intuitive user interface. Users can easily navigate the software and quickly access the information they need.Scalability: SAP Business One is scalable and can be scaled as the business grows. Businesses can add additional features as they grow, helping them stay competitive in an ever-changing marketplace.Quality support: SAP offers quality technical support for SAP Business One. Users can contact support for assistance with any issues or questions, which ensures a smooth user experience.In summary, SAP Business One is a robust and customizable integrated management tool that can help SMBs improve their operational efficiency, productivity and profitability.

Cons:

Although SAP Business One is a leading integrated management software for small and medium-sized businesses, there are also some disadvantages to consider. Here are some of the major disadvantages of SAP Business One:High cost: SAP Business One can be reserved for small businesses that have a limited budget. In addition to licensing costs, there may also be additional costs for software customization, training, and maintenance.Complexity: SAP Business One is complex software with many features, which can make it difficult to use for inexperienced users. Training may be required to understand all features and get the most out of the software.Setup Time: Setting up SAP Business One can take time due to the customization and configuration required to meet business needs. This can cause delays and disruptions to the business during the transition period.Dependence on external resources: Small businesses may be dependent on external resources for setting up and maintaining SAP Business One, as they may not have the necessary internal resources. This can increase costs and make the business dependent on third parties.In summary, SAP Business One is powerful integrated business software, but it can also be price-compensating, complex, and require time and resources to set up. Small businesses should weigh the pros and cons before deciding if SAP Business One is the best solution for them.

Mauricio
Account Executive in Paraguay
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SAP Business One Review from User, and former SAP sales employee

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Despite the pros and cons of ERP, SAP Business One is one of the most reliable enterprise software solutions in the world. It provides a solid financial backing, which is essential for any company, regardless of size. So, my final conclusion is, if you have the money to invest, do it. If you don't have it and you plan to go into debt to do it, I would advise you to look at the market as there are several interesting alternatives for much less money.

Pros:

SAP Business One is the best ERP in the world because it requires companies that adopt the software to change their processes and customs to align with the best practices that SAP has identified over years of working with the world's largest companies. This is a major step towards innovation and process digitization for effective business management. SAP Business One offers up to 13 native SAP modules, along with numerous proprietary and third-party applications that can be of great assistance in the effective management of your business.

Cons:

The downside of SAP Business One is the cost. This would be the overall cost. The annual maintenance cost is usually between 17% and 20% of the value of the total licenses you have acquired. The cost of these licenses is usually between $1,750 and $2,500. So, if your company has 50 employees and your total license cost is approximately $85,000, your annual maintenance renewal is approximately $14,450. In addition, SAP consulting is the most expensive of all consulting or professional services in the ERP world. Without a doubt, due to the high costs, you can find a good ERP that can help you save more.

Rom Rulida
Rom Rulida
Marketing Funnel Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use with almost complete functionality

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy-to-use ERP System with not-so-complicated functionalities.

Pros:

SAP Business One is an ERP System that is designed for Small and Medium Entities. With a highly interactive Graphical User Interface (GUI), it allows users to easily navigate the system within a few minutes of using it. Another good feature of SAP Business One is how it divided the different business functions by modules which allow a point-and-click capability to users. Unlike its more complex counterpart, SAP All-in-One, SAP Business One removed the need to use T-codes which is a huge advantage for users who are not particular in memorizing hundreds of codes to process transactions. With that in mind, SAP Business One still covers almost all of the fundamental business process of entities along with the capability to be customized using Table and Fields Management Queries.

Cons:

Considering that it is an ERP Software, the adaption of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles is not fully maximized. Users that are particular in accounting might notice that some of the journal entries are not in accordance with the applicable standard in their country. This is due to the fact that there's only a limited option when it comes to the Chart of Account to be used as well as the customization of accounts.

Katerina
Manager in Türkiye
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid Business Management Solution for Growing Operations

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: I've been using SAP BO for about two years and I can say that it's one of the most powerful business management solutions you can have as you expand your operations. We rely on in for inventory, order management, fulfillment, and a lot more. It's very customizable and integrates well with outside tools. All in all, it's definitely driven value for our business.

Pros:

I love how customizable SAP products are. Most of the time, with other tools, you're conformed with the boundaries of the product, whereas with SAP, we've been able to customize everything that comes with it to fit our needs, and even set up the product to work in tandem with processes we have that rely on other tools.

Cons:

I think the support aspect needs a bit of improvement. We could definitely benefit from having people to help with issues and councel us as to how else we can use the product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All in one product for manufacturing firms

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We use this software for order management, inventory tracking, financial matters such as tax purposes, and other accounting purposes and it has been great so far to work with. The only thing I would want is fewer modules and more flexibility in adding some fields in some scenarios.

Pros:

It has the capability to handle all business functionalities including orders, inventories, invoices, and accounting management things as well. One can use this for both financial and non-financial purposes.

Cons:

sometimes it has a limited number of fields that can be edited, which can be made better by allowing users to add those fields. Also, it has a lot of modules which makes it harder for beginners to understand and a professional has to switch between the modules back and forth to go from one to another.

Ryan
Staff Accountant in US
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very powerful ERM

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am satisfied with SAP and I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros:

SAP is an incredibly powerful ERM tool. We use it to manage all aspects of the business from the beginning creating quotes all the way thru to paying our bills, invoicing the customers, and receiving incoming payments. We also use it to create our financial statements and manage our assets. SAP also has the ability to track and manage inventory though this is a function we do not use as we do not have inventory. Lastly, it can also be used to create your own queries allowing you to slice and dice your data any way you see fit. Of course, you can always export this to excel and do as you see fit with the data there.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve with SAP. Some of its functions are not very intuitive. Also, the interface could be a little more appealing.

Dheeraj
Dheeraj
Business Development Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic UI and a stable and effective economic system

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, this programme is nice, although it may be expensive and has a reasonable learning curve. streamlined every procedure and obtained complete responsibility for every single transaction. Process monitoring in real-time and the capacity to obtain useful managerial information. Reports and management reports are often well-liked by business managers.

Pros:

Comparing the program to other local programs, it offers a reasonable price-performance ratio. The solution is quite adaptable and may be tailored to your company plan as well as to each department's unique needs inside your organisation. If you are willing to invest a lot of money over time, your potential to alter for your personal usage is practically endless. Because it seamlessly connects with other SAP systems, it is perhaps the greatest robust, dependable, compliance solution for corporate and large companies.

Cons:

Can be extremely difficult. Searching for a particular report or document may need several steps and be too involved for straightforward reporting. Its main components do not include an embedded HR Module. Instead of adding fees for each upgrade, they ought to incorporate additional features in the base package.

Don
President in US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

12 year SAP Business One veteran

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

SAP pours a lot of R&D into this product. I have worked with it for 12 years - as an implementation consultant. Its capabilities, performance and reliability has changed dramatically during this period. Technologically, it is head and shoulders above the crowd. The capability to tailor the product and features to meet a customer's requirements is outstanding. The ERP functionality is complete - from accounting to service functions, to distribution and manufacturing functions. It comes with mobile apps available as part of the system. Dashboards are included with the system. Functions such as email alerts, approvals and workflows are embedded in the product. I also develop add-ons for SAP Business One. The software development kit (SDK) provided by SAP makes 'add-on' functionality 100% transparent to the user - they don't know which screens or popups are SAP's and which are the add-ons. And there are hundreds of programmers available to produce add-ons.

Cons:

SAP Business is complex to install. It takes a staff of people with up to date IT experience to perform the install. It's not a long process (8 - 10 hours), just complex.

John
Controller in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Can do almost anything, but it's not easy (or cheap) to learn or set up

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have used SAP in two previous jobs. I love what it can do, but a common issue I have seen are companies wanting what it offers, but balking at the cost to implement and/or maintain. A poor implementation can be a disaster - make sure the "experts" you rely on have a good track record. Also, lack of training and/or in-house experts (post implementation) can result in poor use of the system, excessively complicated processes, and offline processes (thus defeating much of the real value of the system).

Pros:

Very powerful software, very reliable, very good documentation, good training courses available, and an extensive user group (very helpful to get involved with)

Cons:

Not easy to just sit down and figure it out, training can be very expensive, implementation and on going in-house support are critical and can also be very expensive

Aileen
Senior Consultant in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Choosing an Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software like SAP Business One

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I cannot think of any problems using SAP Business One but it's always a gain for me as a consultant as this product saves all the companies I implemented to reduce manual processing and improve daily activities when it comes to operations and financial aspects

Pros:

I like most about SAP Business One is how intelligently designed it is and easy to use. SAP Business One has user-friendly configuration that can easily used for entire company and even individual users.

Cons:

I like least about SAP Business One is the HR module, I believe this module can improve more due to luck of functionalities only but still easy to get additional fields and tables if needed as SAP Business One can do customization itself.

Siara
Manager in Dominican Republic
Dairy, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sap Business is an excellent software

5.0 last year

Comments: The problems of inventory and optimal delivery to the customer have ended with Sap business, the creator of this system has given a 360-degree turn to the organization in general sense of companies

Pros:

The most impressive functions are the excellent inventory control, the excellent management of the logistics of delivery of orders, the speed of the same because it is not a software that is fried or paralyzed. Fitting it to our work system was my best investment because since we have Sap Business we have managed to maintain the satisfaction of our customers and our client portfolio has risen significantly.

Cons:

If you had a GPS system added so from the same system you can locate the address of the client would be great

Angie
Angie
Accounts Receivable/Payable and Operations Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All in one ERP!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This system allowed us to combine everything into one place. No longer did we have an order entry software, an accounting software, and an EDI software all separate. We were able to merge everything into one. We have used this for 8 or so years and are continuing to grow into the system and learn new things all the time.

Cons:

Out of the box it's not 100% ready for a more complex company set up. We have had to purchase third party add ons to make it work the way we needed it to work. It's also so complex that even 8 years later we are still learning new things about how it works. Can take a while to learn.

Adnan
Supply Chain Planner in Pakistan
Wholesale, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Features with Flexibility!!

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It can handle pretty much the entire business management. The product is extremely flexible and customizable according to not only your business plan but each department that works differently in each organization. It can offer the controls where each individual can only view or change the document according to their department's profile. The real time data can help you make decision correctly.

Cons:

The cost might be the only reason why an organization will not opt for it as it is a bit high.

Raul
IT Business Analyst in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP ECC 6.0

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: With business one I use the software in HR business process such as hiring , leaving , time management and payroll. Also all vendors and customer payments.

Pros:

The structure of the modules and the configuration tab. It is easy to browse and move around the user graphical Interface.

Cons:

There are configuration which is displayed with german language. These features should be removed as is difficult investigate when issues displayed.

Valerian
Support in Georgia
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A wide range of capabilities.

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall SAP worth every dollars you pay. It will help daily.

Pros:

SAP Business One is one the best accounting platform you can find on the market. SAP always offers features that fully meets customers needs. It has very useful reporting service. It's multifunctional.

Cons:

Despite SAP Business One is useful software it has some cons. For example the software isn't easy to use. It requires some trainings and skills to understand.