15 years helping New Zealand businesses
choose better software

Viewpoint Vista Reviews

About Viewpoint Vista

Centralize information, create timely and data-rich financial reports, that offer visibility into the office, project teams, and field.

Learn more about Viewpoint Vista

Pros:

And Vista integrates with Viewpoint One to provide a comprehensive construction software.

Cons:

THe training I received when we first bought the product was HORRIBLE.

Viewpoint Vista ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.4
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Viewpoint Vista has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 248 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viewpoint Vista before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (248)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall our experience has been very good.

Pros:

Vista is a very powerful program! Is very customizable.

Cons:

Viewpoint's Customer Service! We hear from our clients all the time that the Viewpoint customer service is horrid.

Bo
Controller in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Robust & Intuitive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: While it is tough to gauge, our efficiency & productivity has increased for better time management and more effective processes.

Pros:

The software can handle just about anything! It has drastically changed our efficiency company-wide, especially with the projection/forecasting for our project teams. Having our teams getting live data and immediate access helps them more effectively manage their projects.

Cons:

Some of the features within the EM & IN seem to be less of a priority for functionality and user-friendliness.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Bo!

Kate
Senior Accountant in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for multiple companies, updates often break other features

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I've used this software for 10 years now, and really have few complaints. The bugs after updates have only impacted report features and printing options, the data has always still be good.

Pros:

Really easy to move between companies. It's helpful to be able to pull reports from any company without switching first.

Cons:

Pretty stable, but they have regular problems when they do updates. This is our biggest complaint.

Derek
SYS ADM in US
Commercial Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

DO NOT PURCHASE - Look elsewhere $$$$$

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Miserable. A product with good intentions but hamstrung by inept support staff and slimy sales process.

Pros:

It's got a ton of configurability if you have a full dev team ready to sit down and dig in with the subject matter expert for each department.

Cons:

Their support staff is a 2/10 on most days and there are frequent questions they just don't know the answer to and if you get to that point they just shrug and close your issue. We were railroaded into getting a half baked cloud solution that took us back to the dark ages in performance and it cost 5x what we were paying for on prem. Trimble is the parent company and we have other software for different things from them. This one is the worst. If you have a massive dev team, 5000 spare labor hours and a mountain of cash, then you could benefit from this after the on-boarding process of 30-1600 days. You will be into time and materials billings at the last 90% of your engagement.

Lindsey
AR in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vista is ok

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I like the ease of it syncing with other software's.

Cons:

There are so many steps to get to where you need to be. The invoices freeze for over 24 hours if you open them twice.

Sheryl
Director of Business Administration in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Vista

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am pretty satisfied with Vista.

Pros:

The Project Management/Accounting Integration.

Cons:

The amount of training it really takes to be successful. Also, if you are not a report writer or large enough company to have one on staff, it can be costly to hire that out.

Alexia
Project Assistant in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Task Lists, Hard to Navigate

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like it better than Sage 100 contractor, but it still seems based in the 90's. it could be much easier to navigate. the people that have been using it for 3 years or more seem to still have some issues with navigating the system.

Pros:

I like that you can set up your own task list for the items you use the most.

Cons:

its difficult to find reports, unless you know the name of it, or where it is located. it would be nice to be able to run a targeted search.

Jamie
CFO in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very poor implementation and support

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: Extremely frustrating -- we had multiple on site consultants during our conversion and go live process. We spent more time re-doing what the previous consultant set-up because each one had a "better solution". Be prepared to have an onsite programmer or hire a consultant to help you with custom features. Viewpoint support is TERRIBLE! They expect you to read through numerous "articles" (if you can get the links to open) to solve your own issues. They're based in Portland, OR; therefore, if you're located on the East coast --- forget any help until after noon. They rarely respond during the same day.

Pros:

Has robust capabilities and custom reporting options

Cons:

The setup was a nightmare and we still have a few issues that are ongoing after nearly 2 years of using the software.

Jon
Jon
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely customizable software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software itself is customizable and very good overall. Their knowledgebase is extensive, but the search features in it don't yield correct results as often as they should. Vista is very customizable, which is extremely importane. You can create user defined fields and tables. You can also connect to the data via SQL, Excel, etc.

Cons:

They have a suggestion box but getting anything implemented takes multiple years the vast majority of the time. Chat support gets a needs improvement. Far too often in the middle of the day no one is available (including today at 2 PM EST).

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Hi Jon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback!

Rebecca
Ow er in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I love how easy it is to just use it and hit helpgul

Cons:

Customer support could be easier to reach

Jackie
CFO in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vista by Viewpoint

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Vista has given us the tools and information we need to stay profitable. There are constant changes to technology and I have no doubt Vista will be a leader in the process.

Pros:

Vista is very user friendly and offers a solid base of accounting modules as well as the extension of the employee portal for all employees. We have found new users learn the system quickly.

Cons:

There are a lot of canned reports but if you don’t have someone on staff that knows Crystal Report programming, it makes it difficult. On the other hand, there are options to export the data into Excel.

Vaughn
Vista Applications Support in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The program that does it all

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I came up as a user. It was not easy to learn on my own. But over the years Vista has offered better help screens, new training screens and videos. I have been using Vista for over 20 years. It has always been solid. They keep adding new and better features. It just keeps getting better. It is detail oriented but that is required for all that we ask it to do. I like it.

Pros:

It is a one stop shop that includes all the various aspects of business. It is solid and proven to work together. It is adaptable when needed. We customize everything and Vista does it well.

Cons:

The more we ask it to do the more complicated it gets. There are a lot of options that we do not use or want. But others may love those same features. Not a big fan of the form searches. Most experienced users tell you to use the GRID search and not the form search. Too many issues.

Candace
Database Report Developer/Vista Admin in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using the Vista software

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The ability to manage security in different ways so only the data you want users to see is a huge benefit. Email capabilities for sending invoices to AR Customers was a huge improvement. The AP invoice approval process saves a lot of time tracking down people to get an invoice approved for payment.

Cons:

The ability to have more than one MS Invoice Edit batch open with MS Invoices to deliver has been a challenge as the software will send blank invoices to customers. Since moving to the cloud environment with Viewpoint One the users have complaints of lagging data entry times and payroll processing has been slower.

Chris
Accounting / Contracts in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Vista, Field Time Console Product Review

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The best thing about Vista is the "one-stop-shop" vision they have been striving for. Everything Accounting (AP, AR, Cash Management, GL, Job Billing, Payroll), Document Management (RFIs, Submittals, Purchase Orders, Subcontracts, etc.), Project Management (PM, Job Cost, Service Management, etc.) including a host of other options including Equipment Management, Inventory management, a Business Analytics & reporting feature. It is also highly customizable.

Cons:

The only downside I would say is that some of the training for customization is considered billable or is outsourced to a third-party developer / partner

Christina
Controller in Canada
Design, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very happy with this software!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is an all in one product. We can do everything from our project budgets and cost tracking to HR items, all accounting functions, the list goes on and on. Prior to this software we were using many different and basic programs to run our company but now we are all one the same system. This has created synergies and made us more efficient.

Cons:

Since there are so many programs and reports available, sometimes it can be hard to find what you are looking for. And at times you can get many errors if you missed a step or entered something incorrectly but this is a minor annoyance.

Nicholas
Tax Accountant in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Viewpoint Vista has a plethora of programs that allow you to better facilitate jobs and accounting. It has a lot of very customizable features that enable you to create specific reports or transactions that you need for jobs.

Cons:

Viewpoint has a very steep learning curve. It is not an easy software to understand and can be very confusing and time consuming to use. Many of the programs take quite some time to load and it can be frustrating trying to change information or export information.

Michele
Accounting Office Mgr. in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used Viewpoint software since 1995

4.0 9 years ago

Pros:

I like the fact that with the exception of our bidding software and blacktop plant tickets software, everything is integrated so information entered hits every required module without duplicate entry. The information from our blacktop plant and bidding software can easily be imported into Vista.

Cons:

Viewpoint is sometimes, in my opinion, slow to add processes being used by many of our customers and vendors. For instance, we cannot bill our vendors electronically or add attachments to employee payroll checks sent by email. They sometimes have steps that seem to be unnecessary. For example, when entering cash receipts, if you wish to record a discount taken you must go to a second screen (Payment detail) to enter the discount. You must then check a box that says "remove input restriction". It should not be necessary to go into another screen to make changes and you should not then have to do an additional step of checking a box to record discount.

Craig
Director of Finance in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

VISTA Fits How We Do Construction

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Like a good marriage - there have been some ups and downs, but mostly ups.

Pros:

Field can easily do what they need to do and also manage their jobs from anywhere Fully integrated with accounting functions - PR, AP, AR, GL Easy customization Viewpoint listens to us - their customers Aggressively pursues solutions to keep us competitive On the leading edge of technology

Cons:

Customer service can be slow sometimes, but have come up with alternative self-serve solutions through "Clearview" - I love the "Knowledge Base" solution

Brenda
US
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Review of Viewpoint Software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, we love Viewpoint. It is one of the better construction software on the market today. Viewpoint listens to the needs of its users and is always striving to improve the product.

Pros:

Viewpoint is very user friendly and easy to use. It allows you to integrate the accounting functions without having to use a different software. It is a great fit for the construction industry.

Cons:

I did not like the Financial Management system. But viewpoint listened and they are coming out with a new financial software.

Braxton
Tax Manager in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly Customizable Construction ERP

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The customizability of Vista is by far my favorite. We have created a variety of custom reports to help increase efficiencies and present information according to a user's desire.

Cons:

Vista sometimes pushes out updates that don't seem to be completely vetted. Updates will sometimes create more problems than they fix and users have to wait until Viewpoint fixes the additional issues.

zubair khan
student in Pakistan
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awesome Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Vista is powerful and has the functionality that the customer can make it customize it to fit our company. I used it from recent two years and have great efficiency. I like it so much.............

Pros:

Vista software is user-friendly and easy to use efficiently. This software is a powerful tool which helps in the business to make the smart decision and easily can customizable and can create also a different module. The vista has great security for the customer and I like their security.

Cons:

Nothing in this software that I should compliments on them because all the functionality of the vista can work properly.

Brian
CFO in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Construction Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great Software, it you want to customize it they can do it or have a third party vendor that can do it.

Pros:

Extensive Import Module - Saves tons of data entry time Allow tons of 3rd party vendors to create great supplemental products Great customization so it can be set up to what is important to your company

Cons:

I wish every form had a grid tab view available In Material Sales, I wish you could enter multiple products on 1 ticket

Lindsay
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ERP software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

ERP with both PM and accounting functions. Work centers for focused work flows quick keys- F3, F4, F5

Cons:

SM module is an add-on that does not function well with the rest of the program. No updates seem to be done in this module. Customer service is not good. Chat is usually not helpful and cases are not responded to timely.

Taylor
Project Manager in US
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Robust but Very Difficult

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very robust software that can do just about anything from finances (contracts, purchasing, forecasting, billings, etc), project management (RFIs, submittals, drawing tracker, etc.) to HR (timecards, training, etc.)

Cons:

VERY difficult to learn and get used to the dynamics. It takes a lot of stick time to understand how things work and the best way of doing them.

Kadi
ERP Solutions Engineer in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The Positive Review are Not Possibly Legitimate

1.0 6 years ago

Cons:

This software is a joke. It is so extremely limited in what it can do. In the case that you can actually get someone on the phone from Vista to discuss your concerns or suggestions, you will always find yourself hearing the words "this is a known issue", resulting in a "case closed" mentality. I'm convinced there are less than 3 people on their entire support/customer service team. We routinely won't hear back for 3+ weeks on urgent issues, even if we call to "escalate" our case and despite paying per month for support. I wouldn't wish this software on my worst enemy. Don't buy their lies about the exciting features and flashy demos: the software does not do what they claim it can do.